Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Cannon safes review: a brand that publishes a lot, and never the one number that matters

Cannon Safe sells more than 50 current models through its own store. Across every one of them we checked, there is no independent burglary listing — and that single absence decides what a Cannon is for.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

    Best-equipped Cannon

    Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

    Access box3.9 /10

    The most heavily specified safe Cannon currently sells — 14-gauge body and door, seven 4-inch bolts, LED bars, two outlets and 73 firearms of capacity — but the fire claim has no test temperature and contradicts itself on the same page, and there is still no burglary listing.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

  • Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

    Most capacity per dollar

    Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

    Access box3.9 /10

    A 73-gun, 14-gauge Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 60-minute fire rating and California firearm-safety-device approval but no burglary listing and no stated fire-test temperature, for high-capacity storage where children and casual access are the main concern.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

  • Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

    Clearest fire claim

    Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

    Access box3.6 /10

    The only current Cannon whose fire claim comes with a temperature attached — 60 minutes at up to 1,200°F — in the same 525-lb shell Cannon also sells as a 45-minute, 46-gun safe, with no steel gauge published and no burglary listing.

    $1,499.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

  • Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

    Cannon's mid-range 46-gun

    Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

    Access box3.4 /10

    Cannon's mid-range 46-gun safe, with a Cannon-claimed 45-minute fire rating at up to 1,200°F, a backup key and no published steel gauge or burglary rating — and sold under two different names and SKUs by the same company, so confirm which safe you are buying before you pay.

    $1,399.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

  • Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

    The one you can buy on Amazon

    Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

    Access box4.0 /10

    An imported, 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 30-minute fire rating and California DOJ certification that keeps hands out but carries no burglary listing, for buyers who want basic locked long-gun storage from Amazon.

    $1,355.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

Heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

This review is built from Cannon's own two websites — the brand catalog at cannonsafe.com and the store at cannonsecurityproducts.com, which is where you actually buy — plus its published warranty, the California Department of Justice certified-device roster and the CPSC recall database. Every figure in the tables links to the document it came from. Cannon is scored on the same published gun-safe rubric as every other brand on this site (how we rate), which weights an independent burglary listing at 30 percent, construction and fire evidence at 20 percent each, then lock, fit and support. That weighting is why no Cannon scores well here, and the rest of this page explains exactly why.

Cannon at a glance

EvidenceCannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DSCannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DSCannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DSCannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26
TierAccess boxAccess boxAccess boxAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingNot stated by the maker (California DOJ approval is the only rating claimed)Not stated by the maker (California firearm safety device approval only)Not stated by the maker (California DOJ approval is the only rating claimed)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker (California DOJ certification is the only rating listed)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 75 min, with no test temperature and no lab named — and the same page's feature list calls it "an hour of defense"Manufacturer claim: 60 min; Cannon calls it "certified" but names no lab and states no test temperatureManufacturer claim: 60 min at up to 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 45 min at up to 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)
Body steel14 gauge14 gaugeNot stated (the page describes "heavy-duty" construction without a gauge)Not stated (maker says "heavy duty steel")14 gauge (exterior)
Door steel14 gauge14 gauge———
LockElectronic keypad behind a hardened anti-drill plate (lock model not named)Electronic keypad (lock model not named)Electronic keypad behind a hardened steel anti-drill plate (lock model not named)Electronic alphanumeric keypad behind a hardened steel anti-drill plate; 9-volt alkaline battery, lockout penalty, no multiple user codes, unlit keypadElectronic keypad (lock model not named)
Backup entryNot stated on this product page (Cannon's other current pages state a physical backup key; this one does not)Physical backup keyPhysical backup key ("the physical backup key ensures you're never locked out")Manual override backup key (2 keys supplied)Backup key
CA DOJMaker's store spec table states "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes"Maker states a "California-approved Firearm Safety Device, meeting Penal Code section 23655"Maker's store spec table states "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes"Maker's store spec table states "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes"California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet)
Capacity73 firearms: 64 long guns, plus 8 handguns and 1 shotgun or AR on the door (maker-stated)73 firearms: 64 long guns, plus 8 handguns and 1 shotgun or AR on the door (maker-stated)49 firearms: 40 long guns plus 9 handguns on the door (maker-stated; the page's own spec table says "40 Long Guns")46 firearms: 40 long guns plus 6 handguns on the door (maker-stated)24 long guns and 4 handguns (maker-stated)
Weight669.5 lb622.7 lb525 lb525 lb280 lb
Score3.9/103.9/103.6/103.4/104.0/10
Figures as published by the maker or the named listing body; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

Read across the burglary row and the brand resolves in one line: five safes, five times "not stated by the maker". Then read the fire row, where the minutes climb from 30 to 75 and the evidence behind them never changes. What does improve as you move up the range is everything else — bolt count, lighting, outlets, door organizers, interior layout — and those are real improvements for a family that wants its long guns behind steel rather than in a closet. They are just not the improvements our rubric rewards most.

Who makes Cannon safes now?

Cannon Security Products, of Las Vegas, Nevada. Its about page dates the brand to 1965 and describes a "multi-brand security platform" covering three names you will recognize on a shelf: Cannon Safe, GunVault and Stack-On, which it says it acquired in 2017 (Cannon Security Products, About Us). All three brands sell from the same storefront today.

That 2017 deal is also the reason the company you are buying a lifetime warranty from today is not quite the company that wrote it. The merger loaded the group — then named Alpha Guardian — with debt, and in February 2020 Alpha Guardian, Cannon Safe, Cannon Security Products, Stack-On Products and GunVault USA all filed Chapter 11 in the District of Nevada. The restructuring advisor that ran the case says a plan was confirmed in August 2020, with "over $100 million of senior secured debt and over $30 million of junior claims" converted into trust interests and equity in the reorganized business (Force 10 Partners).

We are not raising that to be unkind about a company that survived its own balance sheet. We raise it because Cannon's headline promise is a lifetime warranty, and the practical value of any lifetime promise depends on the company still being there and still honoring it. Liberty, whose warranty we read in our Liberty safes review, makes a lifetime promise too, and theirs transfers to the next owner. Cannon's does not. That difference is worth more than a feature bullet.

One thing Cannon does not publish anywhere we could find is where its safes are made. The about page names no factory and no country, and neither the brand pages nor the store listings carry a country-of-origin line. If origin matters to you, our guide to American-made gun safes covers the brands that do state it, and you should ask Cannon or the dealer for the origin marked on the specific safe before ordering.

Are Cannon safes UL rated?

Not as containers, on current evidence. We pulled every product listing on Cannon's own store — 50 live Cannon, Stack-On and Vital Impact entries — and searched the full description text of each for "UL", "RSC" and "Underwriters". Exactly one listing matched: a 43+6-gun Cannon, currently out of stock, described as having "an easy to use UL Listed electronic lock with 6-digit combination" (Cannon store, gun safes). Not one listing claims a UL listing for the safe body, and the phrase "Residential Security Container" does not appear anywhere on the store or the brand site.

To be fair to Cannon: it has sold RSC-rated safes in the past. A retailer spec sheet for the discontinued 1965 Series CA594024 describes it as "UL RSC Burglar Rated", which we noted in our Liberty vs Cannon comparison. That listing is for a model Cannon no longer sells. If a dealer tells you a current Cannon is RSC-listed, ask for the listing by model number, in writing, before you pay — and if they can produce one, we will update this page.

Because no Cannon we document carries a burglary listing, every one of them sits in our access box tier. That tier is honest about what it stops: children and unauthorized hands, not a determined burglar with tools. For a family whose real worry is a curious ten-year-old, an access box bolted to the floor is a genuine answer, and we say so in how to store guns safely with kids. It is not the answer to a break-in.

What Cannon's fire minutes actually measure

Cannon states fire ratings from 30 to 90 minutes across its range, and across the five safes here they run 30, 45, 60, 60 and 75 minutes. Not one of those claims names a testing laboratory. We searched the store's 50 listings and the brand site for "ETL" and "Intertek" as well as "UL" and found nothing. Compare that with an independently classified rating: under UL 72, "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records", the class is an absolute ceiling on interior temperature, and the minutes are how long the safe held it in UL's own furnace (UL 72).

Two of Cannon's current claims are also internally inconsistent, which is worth seeing rather than being told about.

  • The Fortified-X 73 disagrees with itself on one page. The description says the safe "is fire-rated for 75 minutes"; the feature list a few inches below says "Certified protection gives you an hour of defense against high-heat emergencies" (Fortified-X 73 product page). Seventy-five minutes and an hour are not the same claim, and neither one states a temperature.
  • One shell carries two different fire ratings. The Fortified-X 49 and the Fortified 46 are both 55 by 27 by 19 inches and both weigh 525 lb, per Cannon's own spec tables. The 49 is rated 60 minutes at up to 1,200°F; the 46 is rated 45 minutes (Fortified-X 49, Fortified 46). Identical dimensions and identical weight with a 15-minute difference in the fire claim is a question for Cannon, and a reason to treat these minutes as marketing tiers rather than measurements.

None of that means a Cannon offers no fire protection. Fireboard, a triple-fin intumescent door seal and a sealed shell do real work, and a 45-minute claim is not a lie simply because nobody independent checked it. It means the minutes on the label are not comparable with another brand's minutes, and they are certainly not comparable with a UL 72 classification. Our guide to safe fire ratings explained shows how to read both kinds of number, are fireproof safes really fireproof covers what a house fire actually does, and our fire-rated gun safe ranking starts with the safes whose ratings an outside lab verified. Cannon does not appear in the top of that ranking for exactly this reason.

The California roster check, and what it found

California is the one place where Cannon does point at an outside authority. Four of the five safes here carry a line in Cannon's own spec table reading "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes", and the Fortified 73 is described as a "California-approved Firearm Safety Device, meeting Penal Code section 23655". So we checked the roster.

Searching the California Attorney General's list of certified firearm safety devices for manufacturer "Cannon Safe" on October 1, 2026 returns 110 Cannon models (DOJ certified-device search, roster). That is a real, substantial listing, and far more than most brands manage. Then it gets more interesting:

  • On the roster: AZ6022-RIHEB-26, which is plainly the AZ6022-R1HEB-26 we document (one of the two documents has transcribed the "1" as an "I"), plus TS24-R1HEB-25 and recent entries in the MC6026, MC6030, MC6034, TRN6022, TRN6030 and OV64 families.
  • Not on the roster, as searched: no entry matching FD6040, FD6030, DD6026 or DD6050 — the model families covering both Fortified 73s, both FD6030 models and the American Eagle range, including the four safes whose pages print "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes".

It is also worth being clear about what the California certification proves, because it is routinely sold as a security rating and it is not one. California's gun-safe standard sets construction minimums — including "minimum 12-gauge thick steel for a single-walled safe" and at least three half-inch locking bolts — and it accepts a UL RSC listing as an alternative route to compliance (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII). It is a child-access and minimum-construction rule. Our guide to CA DOJ approved gun safes walks through what the listing does and does not establish.

The recall record across Cannon's brands

A dated CPSC recall search sits behind every product on this site, and Cannon's own record is clean. A search of the CPSC recall database for "Cannon" on October 1, 2026 returns 17 notices, every one of them a Cannondale bicycle or another unrelated product, and none for a safe (CPSC recalls). No Cannon Safe product has ever been recalled as far as that database shows.

The same cannot be said for the company's other brands, and because Cannon Security Products owns all three, this is the record standing behind your warranty card.

  • January 2025, open warning. CPSC urged consumers to stop using the biometric feature on roughly 183,000 Stack-On biometric safes sold since 2015, after a report of severe injury, and states that "Stack-On Products Co. has refused to agree to an acceptable recall" (CPSC warning). No Cannon-branded product is named.
  • March 2019, recall. Alpha Guardian recalled about 1,250 Stack-On Sentinel safes because "a bolt malfunction can cause the safe to open without the use of a key or combination" (CPSC).
  • November 2004, recall. 1,320 Stack-On Strong Box safes, which "can be opened without the use of a combination by jiggling with the door knob" (CPSC).
  • November 2000, recall. About 3,300 Stack-On and Sentinel gun cabinets with push-button locks "that can be opened without the use of a key" (CPSC).

Three recalls and an open warning, all for the same failure mode — a lock that lets go — and in the most recent case the company declined the remedy CPSC asked for. That is why Stack-On products do not appear in our rankings, why no biometric Cannon is featured on this page (the one biometric model in Cannon's catalog is currently out of stock), and why we would take Cannon's keypad-and-key models over any fingerprint reader in this family. Our guide to whether biometric gun safes are reliable sets out the wider recall picture, and safest gun safes ranks on exactly this evidence.

Model by model

Fortified-X 73: the best-equipped Cannon

The top of the current range, and the one place Cannon publishes a gauge for the door as well as the body — 14 gauge both. Seven active 4-inch locking bolts, a hardened anti-drill plate over the lock, external hinges, a raised floor, half-partition shelving, magnetic LED light bars, a power box with two AC outlets, MOLLE side panels and a top steel basket. At 669.5 lb it is 47 lb heavier than the standard Fortified 73 in the same 60-by-40-by-24-inch shell, so the extra money is buying material and not only paint. Two cautions: the fire claim is the one that disagrees with itself, and this is the only current Cannon page that never mentions a backup key.

Fortified 73: the most rack space per dollar

The same shell for less money and 47 lb less safe. Cannon publishes 14 gauge for the body and door, seven active 4-inch bolts, an anti-drill plate, a built-in power box with two AC outlets, a door organizer for 8 handguns and a shotgun or AR, and a physical backup key stated plainly. The fire claim is 60 minutes with no stated temperature, which is weaker evidence than the smaller Fortified-X 49 offers. If what you need is 64 long guns behind a locked door with an outlet for a dehumidifier, this is the efficient choice in the range.

Fortified-X 49: the clearest evidence in the range

Our pick if you want a Cannon. It is the only current model whose fire claim carries a temperature — 60 minutes at up to 1,200°F — it states a physical backup key, and it lists five active solid-steel 4-inch bolts, heavy-duty external hinges and a triple-fin door gasket. At 525 lb and 27 inches wide it is also the only safe here with a realistic chance of getting through a standard interior doorway without a rigging crew. The gap in its sheet is the gauge: Cannon publishes no steel thickness for this model at all, which is the one construction number we would most like to have. Note also that the page's spec table says "40 Long Guns" while the description sells 49 firearms; the difference is the door organizer, not the cabinet.

American Eagle 46: the same safe under two names

This is the one to read the label on twice. Cannon's brand site sells it as the "American Eagle Series 46-Gun 45-Minute Fire-Resistant Gun Safe", SKU DD6026-H12TEB-26-DS (brand page). Cannon's own store sells what reads as the identical safe — word-for-word the same description, which even opens "The Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun Fire Resistant Gun Safe" — under the name "Fortified 46-Gun" and the SKU FD6030-DGPTEB-26-DS (store listing). The store is the one with a price, a spec table and a buy button, so that is where our link goes. The store listing is also the only one of the five that publishes real lock detail: alphanumeric keypad, 9-volt alkaline battery, two keys supplied, lockout penalty, no multiple user codes, unlit keypad. Neither page states a steel gauge.

Cannon 24-Gun AZ6022: the one you can buy on Amazon

The smallest and best-documented of the five on construction: a 14-gauge exterior, six locking bars 4 inches long and 1 inch thick, a 58.75 by 20.75 by 13.75-inch interior, 280 lb, a keypad with a backup key and "California DOJ Certified: Yes" on the spec sheet (Cannon store). It is also the only one of the five whose model number we could match on the California roster. The fire claim is the weakest in the group at 30 minutes up to 1,200°F, and 24 long guns means 24 rack slots, not 24 scoped rifles — our gun safe size guide explains the difference, and most buyers should assume about 60 percent of a stated capacity.

The lifetime warranty's three catches

Cannon leads with a lifetime warranty on the Fortified pages, and the document behind it is a "Limited Lifetime Warranty ... for residential use only" covering defects in workmanship and materials "as well as damage to the safe resulting from burglary attacks and fires" (Cannon product warranty). That is a genuinely broad promise. Three clauses narrow it, and all three are worth knowing before you buy rather than after a fire.

  1. Your insurer goes first. For a burglary or fire claim, the customer "must first file with their property insurance provider. If the claim is denied, the customer may then file proof of denial." In practice the warranty is a backstop for when your homeowners policy will not pay, not a parallel route to a replacement safe.
  2. Register inside 30 days, and it never transfers. The warranty says to "register your safe within 30 days" and that the safe "must be registered to activate any claims under warranty", and it states plainly: "This warranty is not transferable." Buy a Cannon used and you have no warranty at all. Buy one new and forget the registration card, and the same is true.
  3. Six months to file. "All claims, including those for workmanship defects or break-ins, must be filed within six months of the issue." A door that starts binding two years in, noticed late, is outside the window.

Two more exclusions matter day to day. Locks carry a five-year limited warranty, with parts and labor in year one and parts only in years two to five. And the warranty explicitly excludes "lost or forgotten combinations, lost keys, weak or dead batteries" — plus "any loss or damage to contents in and or around the safe, under any circumstances". No safe warranty covers your contents; your insurer does. The practical lesson is the same one we give for every electronic lock in electronic vs mechanical safe locks: change the factory code on day one, write the new one somewhere outside the safe, keep both backup keys away from the safe, and change the battery on a schedule rather than when the keypad starts complaining.

Buying, delivery and bolt-down

Cannon runs two websites and they do different jobs. cannonsafe.com is the catalog — seven products at the time of writing, no prices and no checkout (brand products page). cannonsecurityproducts.com is the store, with 50 Cannon, Stack-On and Vital Impact listings, prices, stock status and a cart; when we checked, six of its gun safes were in stock and the rest were not, so availability is the first thing to confirm. Cannon also sells through big-box and farm-and-ranch retailers, which is where several of those model codes come from, and a handful of Cannon safes are on Amazon, the AZ6022 among them. Prices across the five safes here span roughly the low to high four figures on Cannon's own store; we do not print numbers that will be wrong next month, so use the buy buttons for the current figure.

Then weigh the thing. These safes run from 280 lb to 669.5 lb empty, before guns, ammunition or a safe full of documents. Check the route in and the floor before you order: our guides to whether your floor can support a gun safe and how to move a gun safe cover both. And because none of these safes has a burglary listing, anchoring is not optional — an unbolted 525-lb box can be walked out on a dolly by two people, which is exactly how an access box becomes no protection at all. How to bolt down a gun safe covers the hardware, and where to put a gun safe covers placement, including why the garage is the worst room for a fire claim.

Which Cannon to buy, and when not to

  • One Cannon, best published evidence: the Fortified-X 49. A stated fire temperature, a stated backup key and a size you can get indoors.
  • Most guns behind a locked door: the Fortified 73, or the Fortified-X 73 if you want the lighting, the heavier build and the published door gauge.
  • Buying on Amazon, smaller collection: the AZ6022, with the clearest construction sheet and a California roster entry you can verify yourself.
  • Buying in California: confirm the rostered model string with the dealer first, whichever model you choose.
  • If burglary resistance is your first requirement: none of them. Start with our UL RSC-listed gun safes or best gun safes, where a listed safe comes first, and read gun safe red flags before you believe any brand's own numbers — Cannon's included.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

Best-equipped Cannon

Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

Access box3.9 /10

The most heavily specified safe Cannon currently sells — 14-gauge body and door, seven 4-inch bolts, LED bars, two outlets and 73 firearms of capacity — but the fire claim has no test temperature and contradicts itself on the same page, and there is still no burglary listing.

How the 3.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
6
Fire protection evidence (20%)
3
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
6

What the evidence supports

  • Cannon publishes a gauge for the body AND the door here — 14 gauge both — which most of its range does not.
  • Seven active 4-inch locking bolts and a hardened anti-drill plate over the electronic lock.
  • The best-equipped interior in the range: raised floor, half-partition shelving, magnetic LED light bars and a power box with two AC outlets.
  • 47 lb heavier than the standard Fortified 73 in the same shell, so the extra build is not only cosmetic.

Where it falls short

  • No UL burglary listing, so it sits in our access-box tier despite being the top of Cannon's range.
  • The fire claim states no test temperature, and the page's own feature list says "an hour" where the description says 75 minutes.
  • Unlike Cannon's other current safes, this page never states a backup key for the electronic lock.
  • Dealer-only: not sold on Amazon, and at 669.5 lb it needs a delivery crew and a solid floor.

Skip this if…

…you want a fire rating you can compare with another brand's: Cannon publishes no test temperature for this model and the page disagrees with itself on the minutes.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS

Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Most capacity per dollar

Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Access box3.9 /10

A 73-gun, 14-gauge Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 60-minute fire rating and California firearm-safety-device approval but no burglary listing and no stated fire-test temperature, for high-capacity storage where children and casual access are the main concern.

How the 3.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
3.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
6

What the evidence supports

  • Door organizer holds 8 handguns and a shotgun or AR, per Cannon.
  • Seven active 4-in locking bolts and an anti-drill plate over the electronic lock.
  • Built-in power box with two AC outlets for a dehumidifier or lighting.

Where it falls short

  • No UL burglary listing: access-box tier despite its size.
  • The fire claim gives no test temperature, so it cannot be compared with ratings stated at 1,200°F.
  • Not on Amazon, and the listing's title and description name different finishes (gray vs. desert sand): confirm the finish before ordering.

Skip this if…

…you want a burglary rating or a fire rating with a stated test temperature: Cannon publishes neither for this model.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

Clearest fire claim

Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

Access box3.6 /10

The only current Cannon whose fire claim comes with a temperature attached — 60 minutes at up to 1,200°F — in the same 525-lb shell Cannon also sells as a 45-minute, 46-gun safe, with no steel gauge published and no burglary listing.

How the 3.6 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
4
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6
Support & transparency (5%)
5

What the evidence supports

  • The fire claim names a temperature — 60 minutes at up to 1,200°F — which Cannon's two Fortified 73s do not.
  • Five active solid-steel 4-inch locking bolts, heavy-duty external hinges and a triple-fin door gasket.
  • A physical backup key alongside the keypad, stated plainly on the page.
  • At 525 lb and 27 in wide it is the most realistic Cannon to get into a normal room without a rigging crew.

Where it falls short

  • No UL burglary listing: access-box tier.
  • Cannon publishes no steel gauge for this model, which is the single most useful construction number.
  • Identical shell, dimensions and weight to the 46-gun Fortified that Cannon rates at 45 minutes — the same box carries two different fire claims.
  • The page's spec table lists "40 Long Guns" while the description sells 49 firearms; the gap is the door organizer.

Skip this if…

…steel thickness is one of your deciding criteria: Cannon does not publish a gauge for this safe anywhere we could find.

$1,499.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS

Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

Cannon's mid-range 46-gun

Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

Access box3.4 /10

Cannon's mid-range 46-gun safe, with a Cannon-claimed 45-minute fire rating at up to 1,200°F, a backup key and no published steel gauge or burglary rating — and sold under two different names and SKUs by the same company, so confirm which safe you are buying before you pay.

How the 3.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
0.5
Construction (20%)
3
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4.5
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
5.5
Support & transparency (5%)
5

What the evidence supports

  • Door organizer holds 6 handguns and the interior has adjustable shelving, per Cannon.
  • Integrated power box with two AC outlets and a triple-fin gasket seal.
  • Manual override key for entry if the keypad fails, and Cannon's store publishes unusually full lock detail.
  • External hinges, which free the door swing and remove an interior gap.

Where it falls short

  • Cannon's brand page publishes no steel gauge and no burglary rating.
  • No UL burglary listing: access-box tier.
  • The same safe appears as "American Eagle 46-Gun DD6026-H12TEB-26-DS" on cannonsafe.com and as "Fortified 46-Gun FD6030-DGPTEB-26-DS" on Cannon's own store, with identical copy.
  • Not sold on Amazon under either name at the time of writing.

Skip this if…

…you want to compare published specs before buying: Cannon states no steel gauge and no burglary rating for this model.

$1,399.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026

Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

The one you can buy on Amazon

Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

Access box4.0 /10

An imported, 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 30-minute fire rating and California DOJ certification that keeps hands out but carries no burglary listing, for buyers who want basic locked long-gun storage from Amazon.

How the 4.0 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • Complete maker spec sheet: 14-gauge exterior, six 1-in-thick locking bars and a 58.75 x 20.75 x 13.75 in interior.
  • Backup key alongside the keypad, plus pre-drilled anchoring holes.
  • California DOJ certified, per Cannon.
  • Sold on Amazon.

Where it falls short

  • No UL burglary listing, so it is an access box in our tiers.
  • Cannon's lifetime warranty is non-transferable, requires registration within 30 days, and burglary or fire claims must go to your property insurer first.
  • The 30-minute fire rating is Cannon's own claim; no lab is named.

Skip this if…

…you need burglary-rated storage: Cannon cites no UL RSC listing for this model.

$1,355.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Cannon's two websites, warranty, the California DOJ roster and the CPSC recall database all checked 2026-10-01. Correction carried over to our other Cannon pages: the American Eagle 46 is SKU DD6026-H12TEB-26-DS on Cannon's current brand page, not the DD6030 we previously cited from an archived capture, and Cannon's store sells the same safe as the Fortified 46-Gun FD6030-DGPTEB-26-DS.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are Cannon safes good?
They are solid access boxes and poor burglary safes. Cannon publishes real construction detail — gauges, bolt counts, interior dimensions, lock behavior — and no current model states a UL RSC burglary listing or an independently verified fire rating. If your worry is children, casual theft and keeping a lot of long guns behind steel, a bolted-down Cannon does that job. If your worry is a break-in, buy a listed safe instead. This is based on published documents.
Are Cannon safes UL rated?
Not the safes themselves, on current evidence. We searched all 50 live listings on Cannon's own store: the only "UL" claim is "UL Listed electronic lock" on one out-of-stock model, and "Residential Security Container" appears nowhere on either Cannon website. Cannon has sold RSC-rated safes in the past — a retailer sheet for the discontinued 1965 Series CA594024 says "UL RSC Burglar Rated" — but we could not confirm a current one.
Who makes Cannon safes?
Cannon Security Products of Las Vegas, Nevada, which also owns GunVault and Stack-On and dates the Cannon brand to 1965. The group, then called Alpha Guardian, filed Chapter 11 in Nevada in February 2020 after its 2017 Stack-On merger; a reorganization plan was confirmed in August 2020 and the business continues under the Cannon Security Products name.
Where are Cannon safes made?
Cannon does not say. There is no country of origin on its about page, its brand product pages or its store listings, and we will not fill that gap with a guess. Ask Cannon or your dealer for the origin marked on the specific safe before you order.
Are Cannon safes California DOJ approved?
Cannon has 110 models on California's certified firearm safety device roster, searched on October 1, 2026 — more than most brands. But the model families covering the current Fortified, Fortified-X and American Eagle safes (FD6040, FD6030, DD6026, DD6050) did not appear in that search, even though four of their pages print "DOJ Approved (CA): Yes". The AZ6022 and TS24 do appear. If you are buying in California, ask for the exact rostered model string and check it yourself.
Are Cannon safes fireproof?
No safe is fireproof. Cannon claims 30 to 90 minutes depending on the model, every claim is Cannon's own with no testing laboratory named, and two current claims contradict themselves: the Fortified-X 73 page says both 75 minutes and "an hour", and the 525-lb FD6030 shell is sold as both a 60-minute and a 45-minute safe. Treat the minutes as marketing tiers, not measurements.
Have Cannon safes ever been recalled?
Not Cannon-branded ones. A CPSC database search on October 1, 2026 returns no safe recalls for Cannon. Its sibling brand Stack-On, owned by the same company, has three recalls (2019 Sentinel safes, 2004 Strong Box safes, 2000 gun cabinets) and an open January 2025 CPSC warning on about 183,000 biometric safes that CPSC says Stack-On "refused to agree to an acceptable recall" for.
Is Cannon's lifetime warranty transferable?
No. The warranty states "This warranty is not transferable", requires registration within 30 days of purchase, gives you six months from an issue to file, and for burglary or fire requires you to claim on your property insurance first and supply written proof of denial. Locks are covered for five years, and contents are never covered.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Cannon Security Products — About Us: 1965, the Las Vegas address, and the Cannon Safe / GunVault / Stack-On brand family (checked 2026-10-01)
  2. Cannon Security Products — gun safes collection, all 50 current listings with prices and stock status; searched for UL / RSC / ETL / Intertek claims (checked 2026-10-01)
  3. Cannon Safe — brand products page: the seven-model catalog, no prices, no checkout (checked 2026-10-01)
  4. Cannon Security Products — Fortified-X 73-Gun FD6040-R24FEB-26-DS: 14-gauge body and door, 75 min vs "an hour", spec table (checked 2026-10-01)
  5. Cannon Security Products — Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS: 60 min, backup key, 622.7 lb (checked 2026-10-01)
  6. Cannon Security Products — Fortified-X 49-Gun FD6030-R24FEB-26-DS: 60 min at 1,200°F, 525 lb, 27 x 19 x 55 in (checked 2026-10-01)
  7. Cannon Security Products — Fortified 46-Gun FD6030-DGPTEB-26-DS: the American Eagle 46 as the store sells it, with full lock detail (checked 2026-10-01)
  8. Cannon Safe — American Eagle Series 46-Gun 45-Minute, SKU DD6026-H12TEB-26-DS (checked 2026-10-01)
  9. Cannon Security Products — Cannon 24-Gun AZ6022-R1HEB-26: 14-gauge exterior, six 4 x 1 in locking bars, 280 lb, California DOJ Certified (checked 2026-10-01)
  10. Cannon Security Products — Cannon product warranty: the insurance-first clause, 30-day registration, non-transferability, six-month filing limit and exclusions (checked 2026-10-01)
  11. California DOJ — certified firearm safety device search: 110 Cannon Safe entries; no FD6040 / FD6030 / DD6026 / DD6050 match (searched 2026-10-01)
  12. California DOJ — roster of firearm safety devices certified for sale
  13. CPSC — recall database search for "Cannon": 17 notices, none for a safe (searched 2026-10-01)
  14. CPSC — January 2025 warning: stop using the biometric feature on about 183,000 Stack-On safes; Stack-On "refused to agree to an acceptable recall"
  15. CPSC — March 2019 recall: Alpha Guardian recalls Stack-On Sentinel gun safes for a bolt malfunction
  16. CPSC — November 2004 recall: Stack-On Strong Box safes openable by jiggling the knob
  17. CPSC — November 2000 recall: Stack-On and Sentinel gun cabinets openable without a key
  18. Force 10 Partners — Alpha Guardian (Cannon Safe, Stack-On, GunVault) Chapter 11 and the August 2020 plan confirmation
  19. UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
  20. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  21. California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standard), via Cornell LII

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes