Gun Safes · The rankings
The safest gun safes: judged on how they fail, not how they look
Most gun-safe rankings measure how hard a safe is to break into. This one starts somewhere else: the recall record of the lock, whether a child can defeat it, and whether it opens for you at 2 a.m.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() American Security BFX6030 A UL RSC burglary listing, an ETL-verified fire rating and a UL-rated mechanical dial as standard. No battery, no firmware, no reported lock failure mode. | Safest gun safe overallUL RSC | 9.1 /10 | Where to buy |
| 2 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box A Simplex mechanical push-button lock in a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door, on the CA DOJ roster. There is nothing in it that can flatten, glitch or open for a stranger's finger. | Safest quick-access boxAccess box | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Liberty Presidential 25 A 7-gauge body, half-inch bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock as standard, with electronic options offered rather than imposed. | Safest big safe with the most steelUL RSC | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe AR Gunlocker (98190) CA DOJ approved, and Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance. RFID plus keypad plus barrel keys: three ways in, all yours. | Safest fast-access long-gun lockerAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Stealth UL14 A UL RSC listing at $1,399.99 list. Its standard lock is electronic with no override key, so budget for spare batteries or take the mechanical dial option. | Safest listed safe at a mid priceUL RSC | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) 16-gauge steel, a Simplex mechanical lock behind an internal steel lock cover, and a CA DOJ listing. No electronics to recall. | Safest budget handgun boxAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Ask which gun safe is safest and you will usually be shown steel gauges and bolt counts. That answers a different question: how hard is this to break into. It is a fair question, and our main ranking answers it by starting with the burglary listing.
This page starts from a harder one: how does this safe fail, and who gets hurt when it does? Go through the public record and the answer is uncomfortable. The safes that have injured and killed people in the last few years did not fail because somebody cut them open. They failed because the lock opened for a person who should not have been able to open it, usually a child.
The recall record nobody ranks on
Every biometric safe is not dangerous, and our review of whether biometric gun safes are reliable goes through the record in detail. But if the question is which safe is safest, a lock with no electronics has no firmware to misread a fingerprint, no battery to go flat and nothing to recall.
The four tests we applied
- Has this lock type hurt anyone? Mechanical dials and Simplex push-button locks have no CPSC recall history in this category. Cheap biometric readers have a bad one.
- Is it certified against child access? California's roster of approved firearm safety devices is the only widely available third-party check most buyers can look up. Three picks here are on it.
- Does it open for you when you need it? A backup route that works with dead batteries, or no batteries at all.
- Has it been timed against tools? A UL RSC listing, last rather than first, because a burglary is the least likely of these failures to end in an injury.
The picks side by side
Look at the lock row rather than the steel row. Four of the six open with a mechanical lock that has no batteries and no reader. The Hornady is the exception that earns its place: it is CA DOJ approved and Hornady states it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance, which is a specific external benchmark rather than a marketing line.
How we ranked these
We have not attacked, dropped or opened any of these. Each is scored on the published rubric at how we rate, and then ordered by the four tests above rather than by score alone, because the rubrics weight burglary certification first and this page deliberately does not.
The BFX6030 leads because it is the only pick carrying a UL RSC listing, an independently verified fire rating and a mechanical dial at the same time. Fort Knox is second because for a quick-access box, which is the product most likely to be in a bedroom within a child's reach, a Simplex lock in a 10-gauge body is the lowest-failure design sold. The Presidential 25 is third on steel and an S&G mechanical lock. The AR Gunlocker is fourth on its ASTM and CA DOJ claims. The Stealth UL14 is fifth: a real listing, held back by an electronic lock with no override key. The V-Line closes the list as the cheapest way to get a mechanical lock.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand on this page and found no recall covering these models. Each card shows its dated check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoSafest gun safe overall
American Security BFX6030
A UL RSC burglary listing, an ETL-verified fire rating and a UL-rated mechanical dial as standard. No battery, no firmware, no reported lock failure mode.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 security rating |
| Fire rating | ETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F (ETL-verified) |
| Body steel | 11 gauge outer and 12 gauge inner steel liner, with concrete insulation between the walls |
| Door steel | 1/2-in steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-rated mechanical dial lock (electronic lock option) |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 22 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59.25 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 1,081 lb |
| Warranty | 5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 9.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 9
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Both evidence fields come from outside labs: UL RSC Level 1 for burglary and an ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F.
- 1/2-in steel plate door, 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, and a double steel wall (11-gauge outer, 12-gauge inner), per the retailer spec sheet.
- UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, with an electronic lock available.
- Made in the USA, per AMSEC.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: buy through an AMSEC dealer.
- 1,081 lb in a 30-in-wide footprint: plan delivery and floor load.
- The 5-year parts-and-labor coverage applies only with a factory-installed AMSEC lock.
Skip this if…
…you need to buy on Amazon or keep the safe under 1,000 lb: this is a dealer-sold, 1,081-lb safe.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 2
Stock photoSafest quick-access box
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
A Simplex mechanical push-button lock in a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door, on the CA DOJ roster. There is nothing in it that can flatten, glitch or open for a stranger's finger.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 3
Stock photoSafest big safe with the most steel
Liberty Presidential 25
A 7-gauge body, half-inch bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock as standard, with electronic options offered rather than imposed.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- 7-gauge body, the thickest steel in Liberty's lineup, with twelve 1/2-in-thick locking bars on the 25, per Liberty.
- UL-listed S&G mechanical lock standard, with Dormakaba or S&G Spartan electronic locks available at order.
- Factory dehumidifier, motion-sensing lighting and a velvet-lined jewelry drawer are included, per Liberty.
- Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.
Where it falls short
- The 2.5-hour fire rating is Liberty's own claim; no independent lab is named.
- The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-listed safe body".
- 1,021 lb with a 26.5-in minimum doorway (per Liberty): plan floor load and delivery access.
Skip this if…
…you want a TL-15 or TL-30 commercial burglary rating: the Presidential is a residential RSC-class safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25
Rank 4
Stock photoSafest fast-access long-gun locker
Hornady RAPiD Safe AR Gunlocker (98190)
CA DOJ approved, and Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance. RFID plus keypad plus barrel keys: three ways in, all yours.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker states California DOJ safety-device criteria and ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards
- Three ways in: RFID tag, keypad and two barrel keys, with AC and battery power
- 16-gauge housing with four hardened locking lugs, plus pre-drilled holes and a security cable
- Mounts vertically in a closet or horizontally under a bed
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating
- 40.5 in interior length limits it to short (tactical-length) rifles and shotguns
- The product page does not state warranty terms
Skip this if…
…your long guns are over about 40 in overall or you need more than two stored
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe AR Gunlocker (98190)
Rank 5
Stock photoSafest listed safe at a mid price
Stealth UL14
A UL RSC listing at $1,399.99 list. Its standard lock is electronic with no override key, so budget for spare batteries or take the mechanical dial option.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
- 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
- UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
- Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
- The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
- 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit
Skip this if…
…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
Rank 6
Stock photoSafest budget handgun box
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
16-gauge steel, a Simplex mechanical lock behind an internal steel lock cover, and a CA DOJ listing. No electronics to recall.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
What to look for in the safest gun safe
- A lock you can reason about. A dial has a combination. A Simplex has a mechanical code. A fingerprint reader has a threshold somebody chose, and you cannot inspect it.
- A backup entry route, stated by the maker. Fort Knox and V-Line need none. The Hornady supplies barrel keys. The Stealth UL14 lists no override key at all, which is its one real weakness.
- A third-party child-access listing. Check the exact model on California's roster; see CA DOJ approved gun safes.
- A recall search before you buy. Search the brand on CPSC.gov. It takes a minute and it is the single most useful thing a buyer can do in this category.
- A UL RSC listing if the budget reaches it. UL describes the Level 1 test as a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools (UL).
- Anchoring. The safest safe in the world is unsafe leaning on a wall where it can tip onto a child. See how to bolt down a gun safe.
Safest for a house with children
If children live in or visit the house, the ranking on this page changes shape: the quick-access box beside the bed matters more than the big safe in the basement, because that is the firearm a child can actually reach.
- Prefer mechanical. Every incident in the recall record above involved a fingerprint reader.
- Test it adversarially. If you do choose biometrics, enrol your prints and then have someone unenrolled try repeatedly. If it ever opens, stop using the reader.
- Use the longest code the lock allows, and never a birthday or a house number.
- Store ammunition separately so neither container alone is enough. Our ammo storage picks cover the locked-cabinet approach.
- Have the conversation anyway. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids covers the routines that hold up when a safe does not.
Safest is not the same as slowest
A safe that takes ninety seconds to open is not automatically safer. If a firearm has a defensive role and the safe is slow, the predictable outcome is that the firearm stops living in the safe. That is the failure mode nobody writes a recall notice about.
Which is why two of our six picks are fast-access boxes. A Simplex lock opens in about a second in the dark and cannot be defeated by a flat battery. If you need speed, buy speed in a design that has no electronic failure mode, rather than buying a slow safe and then leaving it open. See how to store a handgun for home defence.
What the law asks for
Storage requirements vary by state and are written around the device rather than the category. California's standard, for example, sets minimums such as "minimum 12-gauge thick steel for a single-walled safe" and "a minimum of three steel locking bolts of at least 1/2-inch thickness", and accepts a UL RSC rating from a nationally recognised laboratory as an alternative route (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII).
Meeting a legal minimum and being the safest available are different bars, and this page is about the second one. This is a summary of published rules, not legal advice; check your own state's current requirements.
Common mistakes when shopping for the safest safe
- Equating "safest" with "thickest steel" when the documented harm comes from locks.
- Buying a cheap biometric box for a bedside because it is convenient, without testing an unenrolled finger.
- Choosing an electronic lock with no override key and no plan for a flat battery.
- Never searching the brand on CPSC.gov before buying.
- Buying a slow safe for a firearm that has a defensive role, then leaving it unlocked.
- Leaving the safe unanchored, which turns it into a tipping hazard as well as a portable one.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. CPSC recall and warning notices, UL and California standard text, and maker specs all checked 2026-09-28.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the safest gun safe you can buy?
Are biometric gun safes safe?
Is a mechanical lock safer than an electronic one?
Does a UL RSC listing make a safe the safest?
What is the safest gun safe for a house with children?
How can I check whether a gun safe has been recalled?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best gun safesThe same field ranked burglary-listing first.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?The recall record in full, and how to test your own.
- Best gun safes with a mechanical lockThe lock type with no recall history in this category.
- How to store guns safely with kidsThe routines that matter more than the steel.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesThe child-access listing most buyers can actually look up.
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat five minutes of tested resistance does and doesn't prove.
Receipts
Sources
- CPSC — Fortress Safe recall of biometric gun safes (2024, one death reported)
- CPSC — SA Consumer Products recall of Sanctuary and Sports Afield biometric gun safes (2024)
- CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standards), via Cornell LII
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.