Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
The best biometric gun safes have a backup you can trust
A fingerprint reader is the fastest way in and the part most likely to fail without warning. We rank fingerprint safes on the keypad, key and power that get you in when the reader doesn't, and on the steel behind them.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Vaultek MX Series Four ways in (an 80-fingerprint scanner, a keypad, a Nano Key and two manual keys), so one failed scan never strands you, and the heaviest published steel of any fingerprint safe here: a 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door. It needs wall power. | Best biometric safe overallAccess box | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Vaultek 20 Series V20i A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge. | Best compact biometric safeAccess box | 7.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() SentrySafe QAP2BLX A two-pistol fingerprint safe with a keypad and override key, CA DOJ certification and a documented low-battery light, for a bedroom or closet shelf where it can be bolted down. | Best biometric safe for two pistols on a shelfAccess box | 7.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i An 80-fingerprint nightstand drawer with keypad and key entry, app tamper alerts and a CA DOJ roster listing. It ranks fourth for its 18-gauge steel, the lightest here, and because it is built to stay plugged in. | Best biometric nightstand drawerAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Vaultek Slider Series Essential Ranked last here despite a higher overall score: that score rests on its mount and keypad, and the fingerprint scanner is an option on what is mainly a keypad safe. Choose the biometric version for the quick-release plate and seat-rail car mount, not for the reader. | Best biometric under-desk or car mountAccess box | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a fingerprint lock has to prove
A biometric gun safe promises three things at once: no code for a child to watch you enter, no key for a child to find, and entry in the dark with one hand. That is the appeal for parents. The catch is that the reader is also the part most likely to fail in a way you can't see, and the recall record shows how much is at stake when it does.
So this ranking asks a narrower question than our all-handgun-safe list: among fingerprint safes, which ones give you a trustworthy way in when the reader, the battery or your own finger doesn't cooperate? Every pick here has at least one mechanical key and a second electronic method, and none is named in a CPSC recall or warning in our searches.
The recalls every biometric buyer should know
The practical lesson is simple. After you program any fingerprint safe, have another adult try a finger that is not enrolled. It should be refused every time. If it opens, stop using the reader, lock the safe with its key, and contact the maker.
How fingerprint readers fail in everyday use
Recalls are the extreme case. Everyday conditions can also cause misreads, and Vaultek's 10/20 Series support page warns that "excessive moisture, lotions, or dirt will affect your fingerprint and may cause inaccurate sensor reading." Its setup advice is worth following on any brand: place "the core of the fingerprint flat over the center of the scanner" and "rotate your finger slightly between registration scans to store print variations for increased accuracy." Each Vaultek print takes five registration scans.
Then there are lockouts, which cut both ways. Vaultek says the V20i "will not accept any entries for four minutes" after six failed attempts. SentrySafe's QAP2BLX owner's manual describes a two-minute lockout after five wrong entries, and the DS2i goes into a security sleep mode after repeated misses. That protects against a child pressing fingers on the reader. It also means a wet or cut finger at 3 a.m. can lock you out, which is exactly why the keypad and the key matter as much as the scanner.
| What goes wrong | What you notice | What protects you |
|---|---|---|
| Wet, dirty or lotioned finger | Repeated misreads | Careful enrollment, a second enrolled finger, and a keypad code |
| Too many failed tries | A timed lockout (two to four minutes on the models above) | The mechanical key, which Vaultek and SentrySafe both point to during a lockout |
| Weak or dead batteries | A low-battery signal, if the maker documents one | Scheduled battery changes, plug-in power, and the key |
| A reader that accepts unenrolled prints | Nothing, unless you test it | Testing with an unenrolled finger after setup, and checking CPSC notices |
Vaultek's support page says "the included backup keys can be used at any time," and that the sleep mode clears when the safe is opened "by any authorized access method including the backup keys." SentrySafe's manual offers the override key as the alternative to waiting out its two minutes. For other models, follow the owner's manual.
Power and backups compared
Batteries are the one failure you can plan for, and the picks handle power very differently. The MX is designed to stay plugged in, with four AAA batteries that Vaultek says give "backup power for 3 months +" during an outage. The DS2i also runs on its AC adapter, with two AAA batteries as short-term backup. The V20i runs about a year on three AAA batteries and warns you when they're low. The QAP2BLX runs on four AA alkalines, blinks a yellow LED when they're weak, and its manual says not to use rechargeable batteries.
How we scored biometric safes
We haven't handled these safes. Scores come from maker specifications, owner's manuals, California's safety-device roster and dated CPSC recall searches, weighted on our published quick-access rubric. Access reliability evidence carries 30%: a documented backup that works with a dead battery, a documented low-battery warning, and a documented lockout. Construction carries 25% and rewards a published steel gauge; our steel gauge explainer shows why 14-gauge beats 18-gauge. Child-access standards (20%), mounting (15%) and support (10%) complete the score.
All five are access boxes: none cites a UL burglary listing, which the UL RSC explainer covers. If you're weighing fingerprint against keypad or mechanical locks in general, start with electronic vs mechanical safe locks.
How the five picks compare
1. Vaultek MX Series
The most complete set of ways in: fingerprint, an 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, a Nano Key and two manual keys. It pairs that with the heaviest steel any fingerprint safe here publishes, interior-mounted hinges and an impact alarm, per Vaultek's MX page. It sits third on our all-handgun-safe list, behind two mechanical boxes that have no reader at all. Among fingerprint safes it leads clearly. Plan for a power outlet and shelf space: it holds up to eight handguns and stands 11.6 inches tall.
2. Vaultek 20 Series V20i
The compact choice for one or two pistols. It stores up to 20 fingerprints, documents a low-battery warning, keeps working on backup keys, and accepts plug-in power if the keys are lost and the battery dies. It's on California's roster. Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series steel gauge, which caps its construction score.
3. SentrySafe QAP2BLX
A two-pistol shelf safe with fingerprint, keypad and an override key, a gas-strut lid that opens automatically, and bolt-down hardware in the box. Its manual documents the low-battery light and the lockout. SentrySafe describes the body only as "solid steel" and doesn't show warranty terms on the product page, so it ranks just below the V20i.
4. Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
The nightstand drawer version, with app alerts for tampering and impacts and a roster listing. It ranks fourth on construction: Vaultek lists 18-gauge steel, and hard mounting needs a separately sold plate. Our bedside ranking compares it with other nightstand options.
5. Vaultek Slider Series Essential (biometric version)
The Slider's strengths are its mount, not its reader: a quick-release plate with VESA patterns and a seat-rail car mount sold separately. On Vaultek's Slider page the fingerprint scanner is an option that "stores up to 20 unique prints," added to the standard backlit keypad and backup key. Its overall score rests on the mount and keypad evidence, so on a page about fingerprint safes it ranks last.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest biometric safe overall
Vaultek MX Series
Four ways in (an 80-fingerprint scanner, a keypad, a Nano Key and two manual keys), so one failed scan never strands you, and the heaviest published steel of any fingerprint safe here: a 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door. It needs wall power.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel (progressive formed) |
| Door steel | 12-gauge steel |
| Lock | Biometric scanner (80 fingerprints), 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, Nano Key included |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys included |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet) |
| Capacity | Up to 8 handguns, maker-stated (6 in pistol racks, 2 on the top shelf) |
| Exterior dimensions | 15 x 11.5 x 11.6 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 32 lb |
| Power | Plug-in power with 4 AAA backup batteries (not included); maker lists plug-in and backup batteries as required |
| Warranty | 3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Heavier steel than most quick-access safes publish: Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body and a 12-gauge door
- Four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, two manual keys), so a failed scan or a dead battery doesn't lock you out
- CA DOJ certification is stated on the maker's spec sheet
- Vaultek lists an impact-detection alarm, dual anti-impact latches and interior-mounted hinges
Where it falls short
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek treats the AAA batteries as backup power
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating (Vaultek says its safes are not fire rated)
- At 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf, not in a nightstand drawer
Skip this if…
…you want one handgun in a nightstand drawer or a safe that runs on batteries alone; the MX expects wall power and is nearly a foot tall.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
Rank 2
Stock photoBest compact biometric safe
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
- Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models
Where it falls short
- Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series
Skip this if…
…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Rank 3
Stock photoBest biometric safe for two pistols on a shelf
SentrySafe QAP2BLX
A two-pistol fingerprint safe with a keypad and override key, CA DOJ certification and a documented low-battery light, for a bedroom or closet shelf where it can be bolted down.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker (peril type listed as 'Security') |
| Body steel | 'Solid steel' per the maker; gauge not stated |
| Lock | Biometric fingerprint scanner plus digital keypad |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down hardware included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'QAP2BLX' (under Master Lock); SentrySafe also states 'California DOJ Certified' |
| Capacity | Two pistols, maker-stated; 0.115 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 3.2 x 16.4 x 9.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 15.75 lb |
| Power | Four AA alkaline batteries; a yellow LED blinks three times when battery power is low; two-minute lockout after five wrong entries |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe pistol safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and override key; the owner's manual documents a low-battery LED and a lockout after five wrong entries
- On California's roster, and SentrySafe states CA DOJ certification on the product page
- Gas-strut lid opens automatically, with interior lighting, per SentrySafe
- Bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published, only 'solid steel'
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Warranty terms are not shown on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want to compare steel thickness before buying; SentrySafe doesn't publish the gauge for this model.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe QAP2BLX
Rank 4
Stock photoBest biometric nightstand drawer
Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
An 80-fingerprint nightstand drawer with keypad and key entry, app tamper alerts and a CA DOJ roster listing. It ranks fourth for its 18-gauge steel, the lightest here, and because it is built to stay plugged in.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and manual-key entry, with Wi-Fi app alerts for tampering, impacts and temperature or humidity changes, per Vaultek
- Goes into a security sleep mode after repeated wrong codes or unrecognized fingerprints
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Low-profile drawer sized for a nightstand, with a security cable included
Where it falls short
- Light steel for a handgun safe: Vaultek lists 18-gauge
- Designed to run on wall power; the two AAA batteries are short-term backup only
- Hard mounting needs a separately sold mounting plate
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that runs for months on batteries or has steel heavier than 18-gauge.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
Rank 5
Stock photoBest biometric under-desk or car mount
Vaultek Slider Series Essential
Ranked last here despite a higher overall score: that score rests on its mount and keypad, and the fingerprint scanner is an option on what is mainly a keypad safe. Choose the biometric version for the quick-release plate and seat-rail car mount, not for the reader.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Quick-release plate plus Vaultek's seat-rail car mount (sold separately) make it a bracket-mounted vehicle option
- Maker-stated 16-gauge steel and CA DOJ certification
- Keypad (or fingerprint) plus a backup key; runs on batteries or stays plugged in
- Vaultek says it also mounts under a desk or nightstand
Where it falls short
- The vehicle mount costs extra
- Battery-powered keypad, and Vaultek publishes no operating temperature range for vehicle use
- One pistol only, held by a single anti-impact latch
Skip this if…
…you want a lock with no batteries in a parked car; the Slider's keypad runs on AAA batteries or a power cable.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek Slider Series Essential
Set it up so the backup actually works
- Enroll slowly. Follow the manual's scan count and placement. On Vaultek models that means five scans per finger, rotating slightly between them.
- Enroll more than one finger, including one on your other hand, so a cut or bandaged finger isn't your only way in. On the V20i, the first two prints are administrator prints that authorize everyone else.
- Enroll only the adults who need access. Every enrolled print is a key.
- Test an unenrolled finger. It must be refused. This is the check the recalled safes failed.
- Set your own keypad code. On the V20i the master code runs 4 to 8 digits, and Vaultek's support page says to "avoid easy-to-guess digits such as 1234, 1111, 2222."
- Put the keys somewhere safe, away from the safe and out of children's reach. A backup key in the nightstand drawer is a spare key for anyone who opens the drawer.
- Schedule battery changes with the battery type the maker specifies, and keep plug-in models plugged in.
- Open it regularly. A reader that's starting to misread is better discovered on a quiet afternoon than in an emergency.
Check a fingerprint safe before you buy it
One of the recalled safes above was sold only on Amazon, so a familiar storefront is no guarantee. A few minutes of checking before you buy costs nothing:
- Search CPSC for the brand and model. CPSC posts recalls and warnings at CPSC.gov/Recalls. Search the brand name and "biometric" and read anything that matches your model number.
- Read the manual or support page first. Look for enrollment steps, a documented lockout, a documented low-battery warning and a way to delete prints. Vaultek's support pages and SentrySafe's owner's manual for the models here are online, so you can check before you pay.
- Confirm the backup. A mechanical key at minimum, plus a second electronic method such as a keypad. Plug-in power is a bonus.
- Check California's roster, even if you live elsewhere. The Roster of Firearm Safety Devices is a public record of lock boxes and locks certified for sale in the state.
- Look for a published steel gauge. Of the five picks here, only the MX (14-gauge body, 12-gauge door), the Slider (16-gauge) and the DS2i (18-gauge) publish one.
When a fingerprint safe is the wrong choice
If your hands are often wet, dirty or coated with lotion, Vaultek's own list of conditions that hurt accuracy describes your daily life. An RFID tag or a keypad may serve you better; our comparison of biometric, keypad and RFID gun safes lays out the trade-offs. If you distrust electronics altogether, a mechanical pistol safe has no reader and no battery. And if you'll store the safe unplugged for long stretches, skip the MX and DS2i, which are built around wall power.
For a longer look at reader failures, enrollment and the recall history, read are biometric gun safes reliable?
Common biometric safe mistakes
- Trusting the reader without testing it. Test an unenrolled finger after setup, and again after any reset.
- Enrolling only one finger. One injury away from the keypad.
- Losing track of the keys. They are the way in when everything electronic fails.
- Buying an unfamiliar brand with no documentation. Several recalled safes were sold online. Check CPSC.gov for the model before you buy.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are biometric gun safes reliable?
Is a biometric gun safe worth it?
What happens if the battery dies on a biometric gun safe?
Have biometric gun safes been recalled?
How many fingerprints should I enroll?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?Why readers fail, how to enroll, and the recall record.
- Biometric vs keypad vs RFIDWhich lock fits your hands, household and habits.
- Best bedside gun safesNightstand and under-surface safes for quick access at night.
- Best handgun safesEvery lock type ranked on the same rubric.
- Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD SafeFingerprint against RFID, compared on published evidence.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksBatteries, lockouts and code changes, compared.
Receipts
Sources
- CPSC — Fortress Safe recall of biometric gun safes (October 19, 2023)
- CPSC — Bulldog Cases recall of biometric gun safes (February 22, 2024)
- CPSC — Warning on Stack-On biometric gun safes (January 30, 2025)
- CPSC — BBRKIN and MouTec biometric gun safe recall (July 9, 2026)
- Vaultek — 10/20 Series Essential support page
- Vaultek — MX Series product page
- SentrySafe — QAP2BLX owner's manual (PDF)
- Vaultek — Slider Series Essential product page
- CPSC — Recalls search
- California DOJ — Roster of Firearm Safety Devices Certified for Sale
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.