Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best home safes: which one stops the threat you actually face?
Fire, burglary and curious hands are three different threats with three different ratings. We sort home safes by what each one's evidence shows it stops.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() AMSEC BF1512 The only home safe we list with both a UL RSC Level I burglary rating and a fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F), built around a 1/2 in steel plate door. Sold through AMSEC dealers, not Amazon. | Best home safe for burglary and fireUL RSC | 7.1 /10 | See at maker |
| 2 | ![]() Stealth HS4 Ranked above higher-scoring fire safes because it carries the burglary rating they lack: the maker states a UL RSC rating and a UL-listed lock. Its score is held down by a fire claim (60 min at 1,200°F) that names no lab. | Best UL RSC home safe on AmazonUL RSC | 5.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Master Lock STW123GTCML The strongest fire evidence here: UL-classified for 2 hr at 1,850°F, ETL-verified water resistance, and the maker says both hold when it's bolted down. Ranked below the RSC safes because it has no burglary rating. | Best if fire is the main threatFire chest | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe SFW205GQC 2 cu ft with a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F rating and ETL-verified water resistance. Per SentrySafe's manual, the water rating stops applying once it's bolted down. | Best roomy fire and water safeFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SentrySafe X055 No burglary, fire or water rating: a 14.2 lb keypad box with two override keys and bolt-down hardware, for keeping children and visitors away from small valuables. | Best small box for curious handsAccess box | 6.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Stealth EHS4 The same 21 x 15 x 13 in interior as the HS4 in 14-gauge steel, without the RSC rating; its 30-minute fire claim names no lab. It ranks last because the HS4 adds the burglary rating in the same footprint. | Best unrated steel safe for the sizeAccess box | 5.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Start with the threat, not the safe
"Home safe" covers boxes that do very different jobs. A small keypad box keeps a curious child away from your cash. A fire safe keeps the inside below a set temperature for a rated time. A burglary-rated safe slows down someone who came with tools. Few safes do all three, and the box rarely tells you which one you're holding.
So this list is sorted by what each safe's evidence shows it stops, using the four protection tiers we apply across the site. The higher the tier, the more determined the attack the rating covers. Within a tier, picks are ordered by score.
| Tier | What it honestly stops | Picks on this page |
|---|---|---|
| UL TL-rated | A timed expert attack including power tools (commercial) | None: TL-rated safes are commercial-grade and rarely sold on Amazon |
| UL RSC | A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools) | AMSEC BF1512, Stealth HS4 |
| Fire chest | Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal | Master Lock STW123GTCML, SentrySafe SFW205GQC |
| Access box | Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools | SentrySafe X055, Stealth EHS4 |
Two of our picks sit in the top home tier, and only one of them, the AMSEC BF1512, also carries a fire rating the maker says UL tested. That's why it's first.
Fire safe or burglary safe? What each rating proves
The two ratings answer different questions, and neither one answers the other.
A burglary rating on a home safe usually means UL 1037, the Residential Security Container (RSC) standard. UL describes Level 1 as a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers" (UL). That's an entry-level rating measured in minutes, not a vault rating, and it says nothing about fire. "RSC-style" or "meets RSC standards" without a UL listing is marketing.
A fire rating worth trusting names the lab that ran it, usually UL (under UL 72) or Intertek (ETL). UL 72 classes are named for the maximum interior temperature: "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records" (UL Standards & Engagement). The hour figure is how long the interior stayed under that limit in the furnace test. A "60 minutes at 1,200°F" claim from the maker's own test is a manufacturer claim, and we score it that way.
The fire safes on this page are sold with tough-sounding language. Master Lock, for example, says the STW123GTCML's "4 bolts, solid steel construction and pry-resistant hinge bars" give its "best protection from forced entry and tool attacks." That is the maker's description, not a UL burglary rating. The Stealth HS4 is the mirror image: a UL RSC burglary rating, and a fire claim with no lab named. Read the evidence rows below with that in mind.
How we ranked these home safes
We haven't bought, opened or lab-tested any of these safes. Each pick is scored from its certifications, published specs and a dated CPSC recall search, using the rubrics published on how we rate. Two rubrics apply on this page, and their scores are not comparable with each other:
- The AMSEC BF1512, Stealth HS4, Master Lock STW123GTCML and SentrySafe SFW205GQC are scored on our fire and home-safe rubric, which puts 35% of the score on fire-rating evidence, 15% on water-rating evidence and 20% on burglary resistance.
- The SentrySafe X055 and Stealth EHS4 are access boxes, scored on our access-control rubric: access reliability, construction and pry resistance, child-access standards, mounting and support.
Because the fire rubric weights fire evidence heavily, the Master Lock outscores both RSC safes. We still rank it third. On a general home-safe list, a safe with a burglary rating ranks above one without, and the BF1512 has lab evidence on both counts. The HS4 scores lowest of the four because its fire claim names no lab and it has no water rating; it ranks second because it's the only burglary-rated pick sold on Amazon. For the detail behind each rating, see our UL RSC rating explainer and our guide to safe fire ratings.
Our search of CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-19 found no recall for AMSEC, Stealth, SentrySafe or Master Lock safes; the one Master Lock recall it turned up (from 2000) covered gun locks, not safes. Each product card shows its dated recall check.
What each pick is for
AMSEC BF1512: burglary and fire, both rated
American Security's BF1512 carries a UL RSC Level I burglary rating and a fire rating of 60 minutes at 1,700°F that the maker says was "independently tested by UL." The door is a 1/2 in solid steel plate with a full-length dead bar, and the standard lock is a mechanical dial, with electronic lock options. The trade-offs are real: it weighs 288 lb for a 15 x 12 x 13 in interior, it has no water rating, and it's sold through AMSEC dealers rather than Amazon, so its button goes to the maker's site.
Stealth HS4: the burglary-rated safe on Amazon
Stealth states a UL RSC burglary rating for the HS4 and a UL-listed electronic lock behind a hard plate with an internal re-locker. Door and body are 12-gauge steel, six 1.25 in bolts secure the door, and four pre-drilled holes let you bolt it down. Its 60-minute, 1,200°F fire rating is a maker claim with no lab named, and there's no water rating, so papers you can't replace are better protected by a UL-classified fire safe or chest.
Master Lock STW123GTCML: when fire is the bigger worry
This is the strongest fire evidence we list for a home safe: UL-classified for 2 hours at up to 1,850°F, ETL-verified against 8 in of water for 24 hours, and bolt-down hardware that Master Lock says secures the safe "while maintaining fire and water protection" (Master Lock product page). It has no burglary rating, and its key is a secondary lock rather than an override key. It also leads our fire-first rankings.
SentrySafe SFW205GQC: more room for papers and drives
At 2 cu ft, the SFW205GQC holds more than the Master Lock's 1.19 cu ft, with a UL-classified 1-hour rating at 1,700°F and ETL-verified water resistance. Two cautions come from SentrySafe's own documents. The product page is inconsistent about the lock (its spec table says digital, its overview mentions a dial), so confirm the lock on the listing. And the owner's manual says the safe is "not water resistant once it is bolted down" (SentrySafe owner's manual).
SentrySafe X055 and Stealth EHS4: access control, not ratings
Neither carries a burglary rating or a lab-verified fire rating. The X055 is a 14.2 lb keypad box with two override keys, bolt-down hardware and a maker-stated California DOJ certification for firearm storage; it has no fire rating at all. The EHS4 shares the HS4's 21 x 15 x 13 in interior in 14-gauge steel, without the RSC rating, and its 30-minute fire claim names no lab. Both keep children and visitors out. Neither is the safe for a burglary or a fire.
Which pick fits your household
- You want one safe for valuables and papers, and can buy from a dealer: the AMSEC BF1512. Check that its 15 x 12 x 13 in interior holds what you plan to store, and that you can get 288 lb to where it will be bolted.
- Break-ins worry you more than fire, and you want to buy on Amazon: the Stealth HS4, bolted down. Put passports and deeds in a UL-classified fire chest as well.
- Fire worries you more, and you want to bolt the safe down without losing the water rating: the Master Lock STW123GTCML.
- You have more paper than a 1.2 cu ft safe holds: the SentrySafe SFW205GQC, accepting that its water rating ends if you bolt it down.
- You mainly need to keep children away from cash, medication or keys: the SentrySafe X055, with its override keys stored away from the safe.
- You want a large steel safe and don't need a rating: the Stealth EHS4, though the HS4 adds the RSC rating in the same footprint.
What about a money safe for cash?
Cash is paper, so it needs what documents need: a fire rating built around paper (UL's Class 350 threshold) and, if theft is the worry, a burglary rating plus a bolt-down. A small keypad box with no rating keeps cash away from curious hands and not much more. If you keep enough cash at home to worry about a break-in, the BF1512 or a bolted HS4 is the honest answer.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest home safe for burglary and fire
AMSEC BF1512
The only home safe we list with both a UL RSC Level I burglary rating and a fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F), built around a 1/2 in steel plate door. Sold through AMSEC dealers, not Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level I security rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | UL 60 min at 1,700°F (maker says "independently tested by UL") |
| Door steel | 1/2 in solid steel plate door; full-length dead bar |
| Lock | Mechanical key-locking spy-proof dial standard; ESL5 or ESL10 electronic lock options; three 1 in solid steel bolts |
| Bolt-down | 1 recessed anchor bolt hole; mounting hardware provided |
| Capacity | Interior 15 x 12 x 13 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 20.25 x 17.25 x 18.75 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 288 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire replacement warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- UL RSC Level I burglary rating plus a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F
- 1/2 in solid steel plate door with a full-length dead bar
- Made in the USA with a choice of mechanical or electronic lock
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (plain reference link)
- 288 lb for a small 15 x 12 x 13 in interior
- No water rating
Skip this if…
…you want an Amazon purchase or need more than a small interior
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 2
Stock photoBest UL RSC home safe on Amazon
Stealth HS4
Ranked above higher-scoring fire safes because it carries the burglary rating they lack: the maker states a UL RSC rating and a UL-listed lock. Its score is held down by a fire claim (60 min at 1,200°F) that names no lab.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC (Residential Security Container) burglary rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 12 gauge |
| Lock | UL-listed electronic lock (NL UR-2020) behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial upgrade available; six 1.25 in bolts |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included |
| Capacity | Interior 21 x 15 x 13 in (H x W x D); leather-lined shelf; interior power outlet |
| Exterior dimensions | 24 x 18 x 20 in (H x W x D), add 1 5/8 in depth for handle |
| Weight | 191 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty plus 2-year parts and labor |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Stealth safes; the biometric gun-safe recalls found in the search (Awesafe, Fortress, SA Consumer Products) are other brands. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 4
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker states a UL RSC burglary rating, rare for a home safe sold on Amazon
- UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate and re-locker
- 12-gauge door and body with six 1.25 in bolts
- Lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
- No water rating
- 191 lb: needs a plan for delivery and placement
Skip this if…
…fire is your main risk and you want a UL-classified fire rating; look at the AMSEC BF1512 or a UL-classified fire safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4
Rank 3
Stock photoBest if fire is the main threat
Master Lock STW123GTCML
The strongest fire evidence here: UL-classified for 2 hr at 1,850°F, ETL-verified water resistance, and the maker says both hold when it's bolted down. Ranked below the RSC safes because it has no burglary rating.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 10
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
- A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
- Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key; the key only adds a second lock
- 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML
Rank 4
Stock photoBest roomy fire and water safe
SentrySafe SFW205GQC
2 cu ft with a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F rating and ETL-verified water resistance. Per SentrySafe's manual, the water rating stops applying once it's bolted down.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
- 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
- Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
- Interior light and bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
- Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
- No burglary rating and no override key
Skip this if…
…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC
Rank 5
Stock photoBest small box for curious hands
SentrySafe X055
No burglary, fire or water rating: a 14.2 lb keypad box with two override keys and bolt-down hardware, for keeping children and visitors away from small valuables.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None (maker lists security protection only) |
| Water rating | None |
| Body steel | Solid steel; gauge not published |
| Lock | Battery-powered digital keypad (1-8 digit code); 2 live-locking bolts |
| Backup entry | Two override keys |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down hardware included |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ certified for firearm storage (maker states) |
| Capacity | 0.58 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 8.5 x 13.6 x 8.7 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 8.7 x 13.8 x 10.2 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 14.2 lb |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- Maker states California DOJ certification for firearm storage
- Override keys for a dead battery or forgotten code
- Bolt-down hardware included; 14 lb, fits a shelf or cabinet
Where it falls short
- No fire rating and no water rating
- No burglary rating; light enough to carry off unless bolted down
- Small 0.58 cu ft interior
Skip this if…
…you need any fire protection for documents; pair it with a fire chest or choose a fire safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe X055
Rank 6
Stock photoBest unrated steel safe for the size
Stealth EHS4
The same 21 x 15 x 13 in interior as the HS4 in 14-gauge steel, without the RSC rating; its 30-minute fire claim names no lab. It ranks last because the HS4 adds the burglary rating in the same footprint.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no RSC rating listed for the EHS4) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 14 gauge |
| Door steel | 14 gauge |
| Lock | SecuRam SafeLogic TopLight electronic lock, 5-minute lockout after four wrong codes; mechanical dial upgrade available; four 3/4 in bolts |
| Bolt-down | 2 pre-drilled bolt-down holes |
| Capacity | Interior 21 x 15 x 13 in (H x W x D); 1 adjustable shelf; interior power outlet |
| Exterior dimensions | 24 x 18 x 20 in (H x W x D), add 1.5 in depth for handle |
| Weight | 110 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and labor |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Stealth safes; the biometric gun-safe recalls found in the search (Awesafe, Fortress, SA Consumer Products) are other brands. |
How the 5.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Published 14-gauge door and body with bolt-down holes
- Lifetime replacement warranty after break-in, attempted break-in or house fire
- Built-in power outlet and door storage pockets
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
- No RSC burglary rating; the same maker's HS4 carries one
- No water rating
Skip this if…
…you want a UL-rated burglary safe; the Stealth HS4 is the same footprint with a UL RSC rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EHS4
What to look for in a home safe
- A burglary rating the maker names. Look for "UL" and "RSC" (or UL 1037) on the maker's own page, as with the BF1512 and HS4. A thick-sounding steel spec helps, but it isn't a rating; our steel gauge explainer shows what the gauge numbers mean in inches.
- A fire rating with a lab's name on it. "UL Classified" or a UL 72 class, with hours and temperature, beats a bare "60 minutes at 1,200°F."
- A water rating if floods or firehose water are a risk, and a check on whether it survives the bolt-down (see below).
- Backup entry. SentrySafe's SFW manual and Master Lock's STW manual both call the key "a secondary locking feature not an override key," so a keypad fault can lock you out. The X055 has true override keys, and Stealth offers a mechanical dial upgrade for the HS4. Our electronic vs mechanical lock guide covers the trade-off.
- Interior size, not exterior size. The BF1512's 288 lb body holds a 15 x 12 x 13 in interior. Measure the folders, boxes and drives you plan to store before you order.
Bolt it down, the right way
A safe that can be carried out isn't protecting much from a burglar. UL's RSC standard builds this in: products weighing 750 pounds or less must pass a drop test unless they're reliably mounted using the maker's installation provisions (UL). Every safe on this page weighs well under that, and every one has bolt-down holes or hardware.
Fire safes add a wrinkle. SentrySafe's and Master Lock's manuals say to drill through the feet into the floor, and warn that the safe "should not be bolted to a wall, this will compromise the fire rating" (Master Lock manual). On SentrySafe's SFW models, the ETL water claim "applies to product prior to the application of a bolt-down kit." If you need a fire safe that's both anchored and water-rated, the Master Lock STW123GTCML is the one whose maker says both ratings hold after bolting down.
Mistakes that leave a home safe doing less than you think
- Trusting "fireproof" on the box. No fire safe is truly "fireproof." A rating is a time and a temperature that someone measured; check who.
- Keeping a handgun in a fire safe. SentrySafe's fire-safe manual lists firearms, other weapons, combustible materials and medication as items that "should NOT be stored in this unit." Handguns belong in a safe designed for them.
- Assuming the water rating survives the bolt-down. On the SentrySafe SFW line, it doesn't.
- Storing delicate items straight in a fire safe. SentrySafe says its fire insulation "has a high moisture content" and recommends an airtight container for items such as watches, stamps and photos.
- Keeping the backup key or the code inside the safe. Store backup keys and written codes somewhere else, where a trusted adult can find them.
Sizing and placement
The picks here run from 14.2 lb (X055) to 288 lb (BF1512), so plan delivery and placement before you order the heavier ones. SentrySafe suggests closets, offices, basements and bedrooms "out of direct line of sight from prying eyes." If a fire safe goes in a basement, its water rating matters more, and so does the bolt-down caveat above. Our guide to where to put a safe in your house covers rooms, floors and concealment in more detail.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are home safes a good idea?
Do home safes need to be bolted down?
Is a fire-resistant safe the same as a "fireproof" safe?
What is the best home safe for cash?
How do I open my home safe if the battery dies?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best "fireproof" home safesFire-first rankings, sorted by who certified the fire rating.
- Best "fireproof" document safesChests and file boxes for passports, deeds and records.
- Best home safes for jewelryTheft-first picks, with drawers where the evidence allows.
- How to choose a home safeThreat, then rating, then size, then placement.
- Safe fire ratings explainedWhat UL 72 classes and hour ratings actually measure.
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat a Residential Security Container listing does and doesn't cover.
Receipts
Sources
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (SFW123GDC, SFW205GQC)
- Master Lock — STW123GTCML product page
- Master Lock — STW123GTCML owner's manual P74055
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-19)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.