Safe Ratings Explained · Guide
Gun safe steel gauge explained: what 10, 12 and 14 gauge mean in inches
Gauge runs backward, the steps are smaller than they sound, and the door often isn't the number on the box. Here is the chart, and where gauge stops being useful.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Steel gauge is the most quoted number on a gun safe's spec sheet, and one of the easiest to misread. It runs backward, so a smaller number means thicker steel. The steps between common gauges are measured in hundredths of an inch. And the number on the box usually describes the body, not the door.
None of that makes gauge useless. It is one of the few construction facts a maker publishes in a form you can convert and compare. This guide gives you the conversion, shows where each gauge turns up in real safes, and explains why we still rank a listed safe above a thicker unlisted one. We haven't measured any safe's steel ourselves: gauge figures come from each maker's published specs, and the inch values come from standard gauge charts published by steel and fastener suppliers.
Gauge to inches: the chart
These are standard (mild) sheet-steel values from Metal Supermarkets' gauge chart, with 3, 19 and 21 gauge from All Points Fasteners' chart, which runs from 3 to 36 gauge and matches on every shared row. Metal Supermarkets notes that actual thickness will vary due to tolerances, and that gauge systems differ by metal: 18-gauge steel is 0.0478 in, but 18-gauge aluminum is 0.0403 in.
| Gauge | Inches (standard steel) | Where it shows up in our registry (maker-published) |
|---|---|---|
| 3 | 0.2391 | Hollon Republic RG-22 door |
| 7 | 0.1793 | Liberty Presidential 25 body; California's single-layer door minimum |
| 8 | 0.1644 | SnapSafe 75414 in-wall safe door |
| 9 | 0.1495 | Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 body |
| 10 | 0.1345 | Liberty Lincoln 25 and Hollon RG-22 bodies; Fort Knox pistol box body |
| 11 | 0.1196 | AMSEC NF6036 and Liberty Franklin 29 bodies; AMSEC BFX6030 outer wall |
| 12 | 0.1046 | Stealth UL14 and UL28, Kodiak KGX5933W, Winchester Ranger 26, Liberty Colonial 23; California's single-wall minimum |
| 14 | 0.0747 | Stealth EGS14, Liberty Centurion 24, Cannon AZ6022, Kodiak KBX5629, Winchester Bandit 14 |
| 16 | 0.0598 | V-Line Top Draw XD and Hornady Lock Box XL handgun boxes; SnapSafe in-wall safe body |
| 18 | 0.0478 | Vaultek DS2i body |
| 19 | 0.0418 | Surelock Combat 10 gun cabinet door |
| 21 | 0.0329 | Surelock Combat 10 gun cabinet body |
Some makers publish millimeters instead of gauge. Barska lists a 3 mm steel body on its AX13106 jewelry safe, which works out to about 0.118 in, between 12 and 11 gauge. A plate door is usually given as a fraction of an inch: 1/4 in is 0.25 in, more than three times the thickness of 14-gauge sheet.
10 vs 12 vs 14 gauge: how big are the steps?
Each step from 14 to 12 to 10 gauge adds the same 0.0299 in, about three hundredths of an inch. In relative terms that is a real difference: 12 gauge is about 40 percent thicker than 14 gauge, and 10 gauge is about 29 percent thicker than 12. Put another way, 10 gauge is just over 1/8 in, and 7 gauge is just under 3/16 in.
Thicker steel also means a heavier safe. Stealth sells two gun safes in the same 55 x 20 x 17 in footprint: the 14-gauge EGS14 at 230 lb and the 12-gauge UL14 at 365 lb. Steel isn't the only difference (the UL14 also has more and larger bolts, working in four directions instead of two), but the pair shows what heavier construction does to delivery and floor load. Weight is part of the protection, too: a heavier safe is harder to carry off, though anchoring does that job better.
Is 14 gauge steel good for a gun safe?
It is fine for keeping children and casual hands out, which is the job of our access-box tier. It is thinner than California's 12-gauge single-wall minimum for gun safes. And in our registry, no 14-gauge gun safe carries a UL RSC burglary listing. If burglary is on your list, treat 14 gauge as a first safe, not a final one.
Is 12 gauge steel good for a gun safe?
It is the most common gauge among the UL RSC-listed gun safes we track, and every RSC-listed gun safe in our registry uses 12 gauge or thicker for its body. Twelve gauge is also California's single-wall benchmark. For a home gun safe it is a reasonable baseline, provided the rest of the evidence is there.
Doors vs bodies: the number on the box is usually the body
Most gun-safe specs lead with body gauge. Doors are built differently and often described differently, so read the door line on its own:
- Composite doors. Steelwater describes the Heavy Duty 20 door as a 4 7/8 in composite with two layers of fireboard. That thickness includes insulation, so it tells you nothing about the steel. Liberty's Presidential door is a composite with a 1/4 in inner steel plate.
- Plate doors. AMSEC gives its door steel as plate: 1/4 in on the NF6036, 3/16 in on the SF6030 and 1/2 in on the BFX6030. Hollon pairs a 3-gauge door (0.2391 in) with a 1/4 in hard plate on the RG-22.
- Same gauge throughout. Stealth publishes matching door and body gauges: 12 on the UL series, 14 on the EGS14.
- Door not published. Kodiak and Winchester publish body gauge for the KGX5933W and Ranger 26 but no door steel figure. When the door isn't published, ask the maker for it in writing.
Two practical rules. First, overall door thickness is not steel thickness. Second, an unpublished door spec is a question to ask, not a reason to assume the best. Our list of gun safe red flags covers other spec-sheet gaps, such as "heavy duty steel" with no gauge at all, which is how Cannon describes its American Eagle series.
Gauge on pistol boxes and gun cabinets
Smaller containers use a much wider range of steel, and the gauge says a lot about the job each one is built for:
- Heavy pistol boxes. Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body and a 3/16 in plate door for its Original Pistol Box, the heaviest published steel among the handgun boxes in our registry.
- Mid-weight quick-access safes. Vaultek's MX Series pairs a 14-gauge body with a 12-gauge door; Hornady's RAPiD Safe 4800KP uses 14-gauge steel.
- Light boxes. V-Line's Top Draw XD and Desk Mate and Hornady's Lock Box XL use 16-gauge steel (0.0598 in); Vaultek's DS2i uses 18 gauge (0.0478 in).
- Gun cabinets. Surelock's Combat 10 cabinet publishes a 21-gauge body and a 19-gauge door. At 0.0329 in, 21 gauge is less than a third the thickness of 12-gauge sheet. Cabinets like this are for keeping children and casual hands away from long guns, and our gun safe vs gun cabinet comparison explains where that stops.
- No steel at all. Some cases are polymer. Vaultek's LifePod 10, for example, is a non-metal case, so gauge doesn't apply.
For a small box, gauge matters mostly alongside mounting: a light box that is bolted down or cabled in place is a different proposition from the same box sitting loose on a shelf.
California's steel benchmarks (11 CCR §4100)
The clearest published steel minimums for gun safes in the US come from California's gun-safe standard, 11 CCR §4100. Converted with the chart above, they read like this:
| Part | What §4100(a) requires | In inches |
|---|---|---|
| Body, single wall | "Minimum 12-gauge thick steel" | 0.1046 in |
| Body, two walls | "The sum of the steel walls shall add up to at least 0.100 inches" | 0.100 in combined |
| Door, one layer | "Minimum one layer of 7-gauge steel plate reinforced construction" | 0.1793 in |
| Door, two layers | "At least two layers of a minimum 12-gauge steel compound construction" | 0.2092 in combined |
| Bolts | "Minimum of three steel locking bolts of at least 1/2-inch thickness" | 0.5 in |
Two details stand out. The door minimum is well above the body minimum: one layer of 7-gauge plate is about 70 percent thicker than 12-gauge sheet. And the whole list is optional: §4100(b) accepts, instead, a safe listed as meeting UL's Residential Security Container standard by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory. Our California DOJ gun-safe guide covers the rest of the standard and how to check a maker's claim.
Why gauge is one input, and a listing tells you more
A gauge figure describes one sheet of the safe. A UL RSC listing describes the finished safe under attack. UL's notice on the RSC standard describes Level 1 as a five-minute attack by one technician using "common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers." The test is run on the finished safe, so the result reflects the steel, bolts, hinges, door fit and lock protection working together, not one sheet in isolation.
That is why we rank a listed 12-gauge safe above an unlisted safe with heavier published steel. Hollon's Republic RG-22 publishes a 10-gauge body and a 3-gauge door, far more steel on paper than Stealth's 12-gauge UL14. But Hollon names no UL burglary listing, so nobody outside the company has measured how that steel performs as a safe. Stealth's UL14 carries a maker-stated UL RSC listing. In our rubric the independent listing is worth 30 percent of a gun safe's score and construction 20 percent, as set out on how we rate.
How to read a gauge claim
- Find the body and the door separately. If only one is published, you know half the story.
- Make sure it's steel. Gauge numbers mean different thicknesses in different metals, so a gauge with no material named isn't comparable.
- Convert millimeters. Divide by 25.4 to get inches, then compare with the chart.
- Add up double walls. AMSEC's BFX6030 has an 11-gauge outer wall and a 12-gauge inner liner, per a retailer spec sheet: 0.1196 plus 0.1046, or about 0.224 in of steel in total. California's standard counts the sum for two-walled safes.
- Separate door thickness from door steel. A thick composite door is mostly insulation.
- Treat words as missing numbers. "Heavy duty," "thick" or "solid" steel with no gauge is an unpublished spec.
- Allow for tolerance. Chart values are nominal; the supplier notes that actual thickness varies.
Six products compared on published steel
From a thin-steel gun cabinet to Liberty's heaviest series. Notice that the burglary rating doesn't simply follow the gauge: the thickest unlisted safe here has no rating, and the listed safes run from 12 gauge to 7.
| Evidence | Surelock Security Combat 10 Gun Cabinet | Stealth EGS14 | Stealth UL14 | Hollon Republic RG-22 | American Security NF6036 | Liberty Presidential 25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tier | Access box | Access box | UL RSC | Access box | UL RSC | UL RSC |
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker (page lists California DOJ approval, which is not a burglary rating) | UL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating' | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) | UL RSC Level 1 | UL Listed RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet) |
| Body steel | 21 gauge | 14 gauge | 12 gauge | 10 gauge solid steel body | 11 gauge | 7 gauge |
| Door steel | 19 gauge | 14 gauge | 12 gauge | 3 gauge solid steel door, plus a 1/4 in steel hard plate | 1/4-in steel plate door | Composite door with a 1/4-in inner steel door plate |
| Weight | 52 lb | 230 lb | 365 lb | 800 lb | 977 lb | 1,021 lb |
Listed safes at three steel weights
Pick the listing first, then the steel. These three all carry UL RSC listings and publish their steel, from a 12-gauge closet-sized safe to Liberty's 7-gauge Presidential. If budget decides it, our best-value gun safes show where extra steel is and isn't worth paying for.
Our picks for this
The listing first, then the steel
A 12-gauge, an 11-gauge with a plate door, and a 7-gauge body. All three carry UL RSC listings.
Stock photoBest compact UL RSC gun safe
Stealth UL14
UL RSC7.4/1012-gauge door and body, the California single-wall benchmark, with a maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20-inch-wide footprint.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
Stock photoBest independently rated gun safe on Amazon
American Security NF6036
UL RSC8.5/10An 11-gauge body behind a 1/4 in steel plate door, with a UL RSC Level 1 listing and an ETL-verified fire rating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to American Security NF6036
Stock photoBest for maximum steel in a Liberty
Liberty Presidential 25
UL RSC8.2/10A 7-gauge body, the thickest steel in Liberty's range, with a UL RSC rating per a retailer spec sheet (Liberty says UL-listed body).
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is 14 gauge steel good for a gun safe?
Is 12 gauge steel good for a gun safe?
Is 10 gauge thicker than 12 gauge?
How thick is 7 gauge steel?
What steel thickness does California require for a gun safe?
Does thicker steel mean a safe is burglary rated?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat the burglary listing tests, and how to check a claim.
- Gun safe red flagsMissing gauges, vague steel claims and other spec-sheet warnings.
- TL-15 vs TL-30 vs RSCThe burglary-rating ladder, from residential to commercial.
- Best gun safes for the moneyWhere listing, steel and fire evidence are worth paying for.
- Gun safe vs gun cabinetWhat thin-steel cabinets stop, and what they don't.
Receipts
Sources
- Metal Supermarkets — Sheet Metal Gauge Chart (mild steel, 7-28 gauge)
- All Points Fasteners — Sheet Metal Gauge Thickness Chart (standard steel, 3-36 gauge)
- Cornell LII — Cal. Code Regs. tit. 11, § 4100, Gun Safe Standards
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (August 1, 2017)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.