Setup & Safe Storage · Gift guide
Gifts for gun owners that make a home safer
You don't need to know anything about guns to give a good one. You need to know what they already own, and this page tells you what to look for.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier Our top gift because it's the hardest to get wrong: it needs no outlet in the safe, Eva-Dry lists safes among its uses, and its 333 cu ft rating is far more than the gun safe interiors makers publish. Higher-scoring picks below depend on details you may not know. | Best gift for anyone who owns a gun safeAccessory | 6.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141) A locked but quick-to-open home for one or two handguns, with RFID, keypad and key entry and a CA DOJ roster listing. It scores higher than our #1 on a different rubric, but ranks second because you need to know the handgun fits. | Best gift for a handgun kept at homeAccess box | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor A hygrometer that records highs and lows inside the safe. It fits any safe and needs no outlet; it ranks below the dehumidifier because it measures moisture rather than removing it. | Best small gift for a safe ownerAccessory | 7.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Lockdown Automatic Cordless 25 LED Vault Light (2-pack) Two battery lights that switch on when the safe door opens, per Lockdown. It ranks above the higher-scoring rod because it works in any safe, with no outlet or cord hole needed. | Best lighting giftAccessory | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.) A plug-in rod that runs continuously, with a limited lifetime warranty on Golden Rod products. It's only a good gift if the safe has an outlet or cord hole, so check first. | Best gift if their safe has an outletAccessory | 7.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock Listed by model number on California's firearm safety device roster. It scores highest here, but ranks sixth because it's a small gift on its own and the recipient may already own a lock like it. | Best stocking stuffer for guns outside the safeAccessory | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Hornady Premium Safe Anchoring Kit 95851 Four 3/8 in. concrete anchors plus the matching bit, socket and leveling shims. It suits a safe on a concrete floor only, and the install needs a hammer drill. | Best gift if their safe isn't bolted downAccessory | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Start with one question: what do they already own?
The best gun-owner gifts aren't about the guns. They're about where the guns live: the safe, the lock, the room. A gift that keeps that storage dry, lit, locked and anchored makes the home a little safer every day. The trick is matching the gift to what the person already has, and you can usually find that out without spoiling the surprise.
- They own a gun safe. Moisture control, a hygrometer or a light are the easy wins. A plug-in rod only works if the safe has power.
- They keep a handgun at home, but not in a quick-access safe. A small safe that opens fast for them and stays shut for everyone else is the most meaningful gift here.
- Some guns live outside the safe. A cable lock is a small, practical add-on.
- Their safe isn't bolted down. An anchoring kit closes a gap that undercuts a safe's protection, if the floor is concrete.
How we chose and ordered these
Every gift here comes from the same evidence-checked product list we use across the site. We haven't bought, opened or tested any of them. Each one carries a score built from the maker's published specs, safety listings and a dated CPSC recall search, explained on how we rate.
Two things about the order. First, accessories and handgun safes are scored on different rubrics, so the Hornady safe's 8.0 and the dehumidifier's 6.9 aren't directly comparable. Second, we ranked this list for a gifter, not a buyer shopping for themselves: the higher a gift sits, the less you need to know about the recipient's setup for it to fit. Each pick's note says why it sits where it does.
For the safe they already own
A cordless dehumidifier is the gift that almost can't miss. The Eva-Dry E-333 sits in the safe with no cord, pulls up to 13 oz of moisture per charge and signals with color-changing moisture beads when it needs a 10-12 hour recharge from a wall outlet. Eva-Dry lists safes and storage boxes among its intended uses.
A hygrometer answers a question no one can answer by looking: how damp is it in there? The Liberty monitor records highs and lows, so it shows what happened while the door was shut. It pairs well with the dehumidifier as a two-part gift.
A light makes the safe quicker to use and quicker to close. The Lockdown cordless pair mounts by magnet or screw and needs no wiring. Our gun safe lighting guide covers the plug-in options if their safe has power.
A plug-in rod like the Lockdown Golden Rod is the set-and-forget choice, but only when the safe has an outlet or a cord hole. If you can't check, choose the cordless dehumidifier instead.
For a handgun kept at home
If the person you're buying for keeps a handgun in a drawer or closet for home defense, a quick-access safe is the gift that changes the most. It keeps the gun away from children and visitors while staying fast to open for its owner. The Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP opens by RFID tag, keypad or key, and Hornady says it holds two 1911 pistols or one large revolver. It's on California's firearm safety device roster, and Hornady lists 14-gauge steel. It runs on 12V AC or four AA batteries, and its owner's manual describes a battery-check light that flashes yellow when power is low, so the recipient gets a warning before the batteries fail.
Be clear about what it is: an access-control box. It stops curious hands, not a burglar with tools. For more options sized to a nightstand, see our best bedside gun safes.
For guns outside the safe, and a safe that isn't anchored
A cable lock is a modest but useful extra for a gun that isn't in a safe at that moment. The Lockdown 15 in. lock is one you can verify: the California DOJ lists model 110149 on its Roster of Firearm Safety Devices. A lock disables a gun but doesn't stop someone carrying it off, which is why it's an add-on, not a substitute for a safe.
An anchoring kit addresses a real weak point. UL's residential security container standard treats mounting as part of the design: products of 750 pounds or less must pass a drop test unless reliably mounted using the maker's installation provisions. The Hornady kit is for concrete floors, and the retailer we checked notes it works with any safe that has a 3/8 in. anchor hole. Our bolt-down guide walks through the job.
What each gift actually protects against
Gun storage deals with different threats, and no single gift covers all of them. Here's what each one does, and what it doesn't:
| Gift | Helps with | Doesn't help with |
|---|---|---|
| Dehumidifier or hygrometer | Moisture and rust inside the safe | Children, theft or fire |
| Safe light | Seeing inside, so the door is open for less time | Anything once the door is shut |
| Quick-access handgun safe | Children and unauthorized hands, with fast access for the owner | A determined burglar with tools, or fire |
| Cable lock | Disabling a gun that isn't in a safe | Someone carrying the gun away |
| Anchoring kit | A safe being tipped over or carried off | A safe left unlocked |
Gifts that work well together
- Dehumidifier plus hygrometer. One removes moisture, the other proves it's working. Both are cordless and fit any safe.
- Light plus dehumidifier. A complete safe upgrade for someone who already owns a good safe. If the safe has an outlet, a rod and a plug-in light may compete for it, so the cordless versions are the safer pairing.
- Handgun safe plus cable lock. The safe covers the handgun kept for home defense; the lock covers a gun that's out of the safe for the day.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest gift for anyone who owns a gun safe
Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Our top gift because it's the hardest to get wrong: it needs no outlet in the safe, Eva-Dry lists safes among its uses, and its 333 cu ft rating is far more than the gun safe interiors makers publish. Higher-scoring picks below depend on details you may not know.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | Absorbs up to 13 oz of moisture per charge (maker-stated) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges by plugging into a 110-120V outlet for about 10-12 hours |
| Warranty | Limited warranty against manufacturer defects; must be registered within 30 days of purchase (length not stated) |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Eva-Dry dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- No cord inside the safe, so no pass-through or drilling needed
- Color-changing beads show when it needs recharging (maker)
- Renewable silica gel: no refills or replacement packs (maker)
- Maker lists safes and storage boxes among its intended uses
Where it falls short
- Has to come out of the safe and be plugged in for about 10-12 hours each recharge
- Eva-Dry's page states no UL or ETL listing for the recharging plug
- Warranty length is not published, and the warranty must be registered within 30 days
Skip this if…
…you want set-and-forget humidity control; a plug-in rod runs continuously with no recharge cycle.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Rank 2
Stock photoBest gift for a handgun kept at home
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
A locked but quick-to-open home for one or two handguns, with RFID, keypad and key entry and a CA DOJ roster listing. It scores higher than our #1 on a different rubric, but ranks second because you need to know the handgun fits.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest small gift for a safe owner
Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor
A hygrometer that records highs and lows inside the safe. It fits any safe and needs no outlet; it ranks below the dehumidifier because it measures moisture rather than removing it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 3.1 x 2.6 x 0.8 in. |
| Power | 1 AAA battery (included) |
| Warranty | 1 year, parts only, on Liberty accessories |
| Readings | Humidity and temperature; 10-second refresh; records highs and lows |
| Mounting | Flip-out stand or magnet |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Liberty Safe products in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 7.5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- High/low memory shows what humidity did while the door was shut
- Magnet or stand mounting
- Battery included
- Dimensions are published
Where it falls short
- Accuracy (plus or minus % relative humidity) is not published
- You have to open the safe to read it; there is no remote display
- 1-year, parts-only warranty
Skip this if…
…you want to read the safe's humidity without opening the door; the Hornady 95907 uses a remote sensor and a separate display.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor
Rank 4
Stock photoBest lighting gift
Lockdown Automatic Cordless 25 LED Vault Light (2-pack)
Two battery lights that switch on when the safe door opens, per Lockdown. It ranks above the higher-scoring rod because it works in any safe, with no outlet or cord hole needed.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 7
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 6.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Automatic sensor lights the safe when the door opens (maker)
- No wiring or power pass-through needed
- Magnet or screw mounting
- Two lights let you light more than one shelf or side
Where it falls short
- Batteries not included; rated runtime is about 6 hours of continuous use per light
- 70 lumens per light is modest next to plug-in strip lights
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…your safe already has an outlet; a plug-in light never needs batteries.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Automatic Cordless 25 LED Vault Light (2-pack)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest gift if their safe has an outlet
Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
A plug-in rod that runs continuously, with a limited lifetime warranty on Golden Rod products. It's only a good gift if the safe has an outlet or cord hole, so check first.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-rated coverage is up to 200 cu ft at the 18 in. length
- No recharge cycle: it runs continuously once plugged in
- Mounting brackets and a quick-plug attachment are included (maker)
- Limited lifetime warranty and made in the USA (maker)
Where it falls short
- Needs power: the cord has to reach an outlet, usually through the safe's power pass-through
- Lockdown's page states no UL or ETL listing and no wattage
- It warms and circulates air rather than collecting water, so pair it with a hygrometer to confirm the result
Skip this if…
…your safe has no power pass-through and you won't add one; a rechargeable desiccant unit needs no cord in the safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Rank 6
Stock photoBest stocking stuffer for guns outside the safe
Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Listed by model number on California's firearm safety device roster. It scores highest here, but ranks sixth because it's a small gift on its own and the recipient may already own a lock like it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 9
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Roster-verified: the CA DOJ lists model 110149 as a certified cable lock
- Maker says it fits most pistols, handguns, rifles, shotguns and modern sporting rifles
- High-visibility green for instant verification (maker)
- Two keys included
Where it falls short
- A cable lock disables the gun but does not stop someone carrying it off; a locked container does both
- Keyed only, so the key has to be stored as carefully as the gun
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need fast access to a defensive handgun; a quick-access safe keeps it ready and locked.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Rank 7
Stock photoBest gift if their safe isn't bolted down
Hornady Premium Safe Anchoring Kit 95851
Four 3/8 in. concrete anchors plus the matching bit, socket and leveling shims. It suits a safe on a concrete floor only, and the install needs a hammer drill.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 6.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Includes the drill bit and socket sized to the anchors, not just the bolts
- Four polymer shims help level the safe in place (maker)
- Hornady lays out the full install sequence on its product page
Where it falls short
- Concrete floors only; wood floors need different hardware
- Designed for Hornady safes, so confirm your safe's anchor holes take 3/8 in. bolts
- Needs a hammer drill; warranty terms are not stated
Skip this if…
…your safe sits on a wood-framed floor; you need hardware made for wood.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Premium Safe Anchoring Kit 95851
What to check before you buy
You can learn most of this with a quick look, or by asking a family member who lives with the recipient:
- The safe's brand and model. It's usually on a badge on the door. With it you can look up the interior size and whether it has an outlet or a cord hole.
- Power inside the safe. An outlet or cord hole means a plug-in rod or light will work. No power, or you can't tell, means buy cordless.
- The handgun, if you're buying a handgun safe. The make and model tells you whether it fits. Hornady sizes the 4800KP for two 1911 pistols or one large revolver.
- The floor under the safe. The Hornady anchoring kit is for concrete floors only, and the safe needs 3/8 in. anchor holes. A safe on a wood-framed floor needs different hardware.
- Whether the safe is a Liberty. Some accessories, such as Liberty's Clearview wand lights, only fit Liberty safes. Every gift on this page is brand-neutral.
If they rent
Drilling into a floor may not be allowed in a rental. Skip the anchoring kit unless you know the recipient owns the home or has the landlord's permission. Everything else on this list installs without drilling: the Lockdown lights mount by magnet, and the Hornady handgun safe includes a security cable.
Gifts to skip
- A "safe" that its maker says isn't one. StopBox, for example, states plainly that the StopBox is NOT a safe and shouldn't be left unattended. That's an honest label, and it's why a box like that isn't a storage gift.
- Unqualified "fireproof" claims. A fire rating means something only when you know who measured it. Our explainer on what "fireproof" really means covers what to look for.
- A plug-in accessory for a safe you haven't checked. Without power inside, it's a return.
What they might still need
If the person has guns but no real safe, a storage accessory is the wrong starting point. Our best gun safes ranking begins with the independent burglary listing. If they've only just bought their first gun, our gifts for new gun owners focus on starter storage instead.
And if there are children in the home, storage gifts matter more than usual. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids covers the layered setup, from quick-access safes to keeping keys and codes out of reach.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is a good gift for a gun owner who has everything?
Is a gun safe dehumidifier a good gift?
What size dehumidifier should I buy for someone's gun safe?
How do I know a handgun safe will fit their gun?
Is a gun lock a good gift?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best gun safe dehumidifiersEvery dehumidifier we rank, rod, rechargeable and desiccant.
- Best gun safe lighting kitsBattery and plug-in lights, and the power check to do first.
- Best bedside gun safesQuick-access safes sized for a nightstand.
- Gifts for new gun ownersStarter storage for someone who just bought a first gun.
- How to bolt down a gun safeAnchoring into concrete and wood, and the mistakes to avoid.
Receipts
Sources
- Eva-Dry — E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier product page
- Hornady — RAPiD Safe 4800KP product page
- California DOJ — Roster of Firearm Safety Devices, Battenfeld Technologies (Lockdown) entries
- Safe and Vault Store — Hornady 95851 Premium Safe Anchoring Kit listing
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.