Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · The rankings

Best gun safes made in the USA: who actually says where the safe is built

Plenty of brands wrap themselves in a flag. Far fewer name a city, a factory and the steel. This page ranks the ones that do, and names the ones that stay quiet.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Liberty Presidential 25

Built in Payson, Utah from American-made steel, per Liberty. A 7-gauge body, half-inch bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock as standard.

Best American-made gun safe overallUL RSC8.2 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Browning Medallion 33

Browning states "Made in America" on the page; the safes are built by ProSteel in Provo, Utah. A 10-gauge body with the full AXIS interior, LED lighting and an outlet.

Best American-made BrowningUL RSC7.9 /10Where to buy
3
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Winchester USA Made Western 6036

The one Winchester line the maker labels "Proudly made in the USA": a 10-gauge body, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a SecuRam electronic lock backed by an S&G mechanical lock.

Best American-made WinchesterUL RSC7.6 /10Where to buy
4
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Liberty Franklin 29

The same Payson, Utah factory and American steel lower down the range, with an 11-gauge body and a deluxe electrical outlet kit for a dehumidifier.

Best American-made mid-rangeUL RSC7.4 /10Where to buy
5
Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wall
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

Fort Knox: "handcrafted in Orem, Utah using American steel and American labor." A 10-gauge body, a 3/16 in plate door and a Simplex mechanical lock.

Best American-made handgun boxAccess box8.8 /10Check price · Amazon
6
Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wall
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

V-Line states it is "designed and manufactured in the USA," and says plainly that some lock components may come from outside it. 16-gauge steel and a Simplex lock.

Best American-made budget boxAccess box8.3 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Coiled steel sheet in an industrial factory
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

"Made in the USA" is the easiest claim in this industry to imply and the hardest to pin down. Almost every safe brand uses American imagery. Far fewer will name the town the safe is welded in, and fewer still will tell you which parts are not American. That difference is the entire basis of this page.

We did not audit anyone's supply chain, and we are not in a position to. What we did is read what each maker publishes about its own manufacturing, quote it, date it and link it. A brand that names a city and then volunteers which products are imported is telling you more than a brand that says nothing at all.

What counts as made in the USA, and what to watch for

Who states what, brand by brand

BrandWhat the maker publishesStated exceptions
LibertyManufactured in Payson, Utah using American-made steel (source)"Some products, including handgun vaults and select accessories, are imported"
Fort KnoxHandcrafted in Orem, Utah using American steel and American labor (source)None stated
Browning / ProSteel"Made in America" on the Medallion page; the safes are built by ProSteel in Provo, Utah (source)None stated; not every Browning series carries the label
Winchester"Proudly made in the USA", applied to the USA Made Western line (source)The label is model-specific, not range-wide
V-Line"Designed and manufactured in the USA" (source)"Some lock components may be from outside the United States"
StealthNo manufacturing location stated on the product page; the page says only that the electronic lock is assembled and tested in the USA (source)n/a
SecureItNo manufacturing location stated on its About page (source)n/a

All claims above quoted and checked on 2026-09-28. Makers change this wording; the links are there so you can re-check it.

The picks side by side

EvidenceLiberty Presidential 25Browning Medallion 33Winchester USA Made Western 6036Liberty Franklin 29Fort Knox Original Pistol BoxV-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
TierUL RSCUL RSCUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingUL Listed RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)UL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.UL-listed RSC (maker: "UL Listed for burglary protection, RSC")UL RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 2.5 hr at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 140 min at 1,200°F (2026 catalog also lists 110 min at 1,700°F for the series). ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.Manufacturer claim: 90 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 110 min at 1,200°F; Liberty calls it "certified" but names no testing labNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Body steel7 gauge10 gauge (9/64 in), maker-stated10 gauge ("solid steel 10 ga. body")11 gauge (Dual Fusion folded steel frame)10-gauge steel body16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design
Door steelComposite door with a 1/4-in inner steel door plate1-11/16 in Duo-Formed steel door, multiple layers formed together and reinforced with a full second panelComposite steel door with an added layer of UL-rated fireboard (gauge not stated)—3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate—
LockUL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf mechanical lock (Dormakaba 702D or UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic available)Electronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypad, plus a backup S&G mechanical lockUL-listed S&G Direct Drive electronic lock (mechanical lock option)Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteriesGenuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries
Backup entry—None. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".Backup S&G mechanical lock—Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed)Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed)
Bolt-down—Anchoring instructions and hardware are covered in the owner's manual: "Placing your safe on a concrete floor and anchoring it to the floor provides the maximum protection for your valuables."Pre-drilled for anchoring to the floorBolted down from the inside as part of Liberty dealer installationFour pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holesPre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable
CA DOJCalifornia DOJ-approved firearm safety device (maker states)Not claimed for this model. Browning's 2026 catalog names only one series for it: "The FMJ Series carries the California DOJ rating." Ask the dealer before buying into California.Maker states it "Exceeds California DOJ Requirements"California DOJ-approved firearm safety device (maker states)Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in)Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved'
Capacity22 long guns (maker-stated)33 long guns (7 on the door, 14 front row, 12 back row) plus 21 handguns, maker-stated; 29 cu ftUp to 25 long guns (maker-stated, with GunStiXX); 33.8 cu ft29 long guns (maker-stated)—Up to two handguns, maker-stated
Weight1,021 lb895 lb964 lb760 lb22 lb12 lb (ship weight)
WarrantyTransferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warranty5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).Lifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attack (registration required; parts 5 years, UL-listed lock 5 years)Transferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warrantyLimited lifetime warranty; made in the USALimited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser)
Score8.2/107.9/107.6/107.4/108.8/108.3/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. The two handgun boxes are scored on the access-control rubric and the four safes on the gun-safe rubric, so compare within a category.

Two things are worth noticing here. The American-built safes are not automatically the best-certified ones: only the Winchester Western states a UL RSC listing among these, and the fire ratings are maker-run. And the American-built handgun boxes are unusually good, because Fort Knox and V-Line both use Simplex mechanical locks with no batteries, which is a design choice rather than a nationality.

The brands that do not say

We would rather name these than leave a reader assuming. Stealth's UL28 page does not state where the safe is manufactured; it states only that the electronic lock is assembled and tested in the USA. SecureIt's About page describes military heritage and design expertise without naming a manufacturing location. Hollon, Steelwater, Sports Afield and Barska do not make American-manufacture claims on the pages we cite elsewhere on this site.

None of that is a mark against those products, and several of them appear on our other rankings on their merits. It simply means they do not belong on a page about a claim they have not made.

How we ranked these

We have not visited any factory or bought any of these safes. Each is scored on the published rubric at how we rate for the job it does. Country of manufacture is not a rubric metric and does not add points: it is the entry requirement for this page, and the ordering within the page is then the usual evidence.

The Presidential 25 leads on the strongest published construction of any American-made safe we track, plus a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock as standard. The Medallion 33 is second on a 10-gauge body and the full AXIS interior. The Western 6036 is third and is the only pick here whose maker states a UL RSC listing. The Franklin 29 is the mid-range version of the first pick. Fort Knox and V-Line close the page as the handgun answers.

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here; each product card shows its dated recall check.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best American-made gun safe overall

Liberty Presidential 25

UL RSC8.2 /10

Built in Payson, Utah from American-made steel, per Liberty. A 7-gauge body, half-inch bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock as standard.

How the 8.2 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8.5
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
9
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 7-gauge body, the thickest steel in Liberty's lineup, with twelve 1/2-in-thick locking bars on the 25, per Liberty.
  • UL-listed S&G mechanical lock standard, with Dormakaba or S&G Spartan electronic locks available at order.
  • Factory dehumidifier, motion-sensing lighting and a velvet-lined jewelry drawer are included, per Liberty.
  • Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.

Where it falls short

  • The 2.5-hour fire rating is Liberty's own claim; no independent lab is named.
  • The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-listed safe body".
  • 1,021 lb with a 26.5-in minimum doorway (per Liberty): plan floor load and delivery access.

Skip this if…

…you want a TL-15 or TL-30 commercial burglary rating: the Presidential is a residential RSC-class safe.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best American-made Browning

Browning Medallion 33

UL RSC7.9 /10

Browning states "Made in America" on the page; the safes are built by ProSteel in Provo, Utah. A 10-gauge body with the full AXIS interior, LED lighting and an outlet.

EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested

TierUL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools).
Burglary ratingUL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 140 min at 1,200°F (2026 catalog also lists 110 min at 1,700°F for the series). ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.
Body steel10 gauge (9/64 in), maker-stated
Door steel1-11/16 in Duo-Formed steel door, multiple layers formed together and reinforced with a full second panel
LockElectronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.
Backup entryNone. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".
Bolt-downAnchoring instructions and hardware are covered in the owner's manual: "Placing your safe on a concrete floor and anchoring it to the floor provides the maximum protection for your valuables."
CA DOJNot claimed for this model. Browning's 2026 catalog names only one series for it: "The FMJ Series carries the California DOJ rating." Ask the dealer before buying into California.
Capacity33 long guns (7 on the door, 14 front row, 12 back row) plus 21 handguns, maker-stated; 29 cu ft
Exterior dimensions60 x 32 x 26 in (H x W x D; 28.5 in deep with the hub and handle); interior 54 x 26 x 17.5 in
Weight895 lb
Warranty5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).
Burglary rating (label wording)Owner's manual: "Browning Safes with the UL tool attack label which certifies the design and construction have been tested by Underwriters Laboratories and passed the Residential Security Container test specifications." Check the label on the safe you are buying.
Locking bolts12 chrome-plated hardened steel Max Bolts, 4 x 1 in, on every side of the door (top, sides and bottom); four-way active
Country of manufactureMaker-stated "Made in America" on the product page; the 2026 catalog repeats "Made in the USA" for the Medallion series.
Warranty (fire and break-in)Lifetime repair or replace after an attempted break-in, a break-in or a fire, for the original purchaser of a safe built after January 1, 2006 — but only "provided the purchaser's homeowners insurance does not cover the claim". Needs a police or fire report, an insurance denial and proof of purchase; contents, acts of God, terrorism and war and commercial use are excluded; the replacement comes back curbside.
Recall checkSep 24, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Browning Safes or ProSteel Security Products. A CPSC recall-database search returns five Browning notices (pistol holsters 2020, a junior hoodie 2013, Umarex air pistols 2011, knife sheaths 2009, flashlight batteries 2004) and none for a safe; a search for ProSteel returns nothing.
How the 7.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • 10-gauge body and a 1-11/16-inch Duo-Formed door with a full second panel: the thickest steel in this group by a clear margin.
  • Twelve 4 x 1-inch Max Bolts on all four sides of the door, four-way active, with the Gear Drive locking system diverting handle and bolt force away from the lock.
  • Browning's longest claimed fire time, and the catalog publishes a second figure at a higher furnace temperature.
  • "Made in America" stated on the page, with LED lighting, an interior outlet and steel AXIS shelves rated at 75 lb.

Where it falls short

  • 895 lb for 29 cu ft and 33 long guns: you are buying steel, not space, and the Rawhide holds more for less weight.
  • The 140-minute rating is still ProSteel's own furnace test, measured at 1,200°F, with no outside lab named.
  • No mechanical dial option is stated, and Browning's electronic locks have no key override.

Skip this if…

…capacity is what you are short of: at 29 cu ft this holds fewer long guns than Browning's mid-range safes while weighing more than most of them.

See it at Browning Safes (maker's store)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best American-made Winchester

Winchester USA Made Western 6036

UL RSC7.6 /10

The one Winchester line the maker labels "Proudly made in the USA": a 10-gauge body, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a SecuRam electronic lock backed by an S&G mechanical lock.

How the 7.6 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
8.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
9
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • The only Winchester gun-safe series whose product page states it is made in the USA.
  • A UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with an S&G mechanical lock as a backup, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out.
  • 10-gauge body, 14 1.25-inch bolts and external vault hinges, per Winchester; maker-stated UL RSC listing.
  • Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock.

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon: you buy from winchestersafes.com or a Winchester dealer (our link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link).
  • Priced well above the Big Daddy for a smaller safe; you are paying for origin and finish.
  • The 90-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim with no outside lab named.

Skip this if…

…country of origin isn't on your list: the Big Daddy and Legacy give you the same maker-stated listing and more capacity for less.

See it at Winchester Safes (maker's site)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best American-made mid-range

Liberty Franklin 29

UL RSC7.4 /10

The same Payson, Utah factory and American steel lower down the range, with an 11-gauge body and a deluxe electrical outlet kit for a dehumidifier.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
8
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 11-gauge body with ten 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 29, dual relockers and a slip-clutch mechanism, per Liberty's spec table.
  • Deeper interior than Liberty's 12-gauge lines: 54.5 x 25.25 x 20.5 in on the 29, per Liberty.
  • Deluxe electrical outlet kit, with interior lighting included on current production, per Liberty.
  • Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in.

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon: buy through a Liberty dealer or libertysafe.com.
  • The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-Listed safe body".
  • The 110-minute fire rating is Liberty's own; no testing lab is named.

Skip this if…

…you want to buy through Amazon: the Franklin is sold through Liberty dealers and libertysafe.com.

See it at Liberty Safe (maker's site)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wallStock photo

Best American-made handgun box

Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

Access box8.8 /10

Fort Knox: "handcrafted in Orem, Utah using American steel and American labor." A 10-gauge body, a 3/16 in plate door and a Simplex mechanical lock.

How the 8.8 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
9.5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
9.5
Child-access standards (20%)
8.5
Mounting (15%)
7
Support & transparency (10%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
  • Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
  • Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
  • Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA

Where it falls short

  • About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
  • No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
  • No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move

Skip this if…

…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

Rank 6

Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wallStock photo

Best American-made budget box

V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

Access box8.3 /10

V-Line states it is "designed and manufactured in the USA," and says plainly that some lock components may come from outside it. 16-gauge steel and a Simplex lock.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
9
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
7
Child-access standards (20%)
9
Mounting (15%)
8
Support & transparency (10%)
8.5

What the evidence supports

  • Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
  • Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
  • CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
  • Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)

Where it falls short

  • 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
  • The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
  • No UL burglary listing

Skip this if…

…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

What to look for if American manufacture matters to you

  1. A city, not a flag. "American made quality" is marketing. "Payson, Utah" and "Orem, Utah" are claims you can hold a company to.
  2. Whether the steel is named. Liberty and Fort Knox both say American steel specifically. A safe assembled domestically from imported steel is a different thing, and honest makers distinguish the two.
  3. Whether the exceptions are stated. Liberty volunteering that handgun vaults are imported, and V-Line volunteering that lock components may not be American, are the most trustworthy sentences on this page.
  4. Whether the claim is range-wide or model-specific. Winchester's USA Made Western line carries the label; the Ranger and Big Daddy pages do not.
  5. The lock, separately. Locks are their own supply chain. Sargent & Greenleaf and SecuRam are the names you will see; a UL listing on the lock is worth more than its passport.
  6. Then the actual evidence. A UL RSC listing, published steel and a fire rating with a named lab still decide whether the safe is any good. See how to choose a gun safe.

Where American manufacture actually matters

  • Warranty service and parts. A domestic factory usually means a domestic parts line and a locksmith who can get a replacement lock. Liberty, Fort Knox, Winchester and Browning all publish lifetime warranty terms.
  • Repeatable steel. Liberty's stated reason for American steel is consistency and fewer failure points. Whether or not you weight that, it is a specific, checkable claim rather than a slogan.
  • Accountability. A named factory is a named defendant. That is not nothing when a safe fails.
  • Your own reasons. Plenty of buyers want American manufacture for reasons that are not technical at all. That is a legitimate way to spend money, and this page exists to make it possible to do it on evidence.

And where it does not

Country of manufacture is not a safety rating. It does not tell you whether a technician with hand tools can open the safe in five minutes, which is what a UL residential security container listing measures, and it does not tell you who tested the fire claim.

Two of the best-evidenced safes on this site are not on this page, because their makers do not publish a manufacturing location. If your priority is a listing rather than a factory address, start at our UL RSC roundup instead, and treat American manufacture as a tie-breaker rather than a filter.

Common mistakes

  • Reading a flag graphic or an American brand name as a manufacturing claim. Winchester licenses its name; the safes are built by another company.
  • Assuming a brand's whole range shares one label when the maker applies it to a single line.
  • Paying a premium for domestic manufacture and skipping the burglary listing.
  • Ignoring a maker that states its exceptions in favour of one that says nothing at all.
  • Forgetting the lock has its own origin, and that the UL listing on it matters more.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Every manufacturing claim quoted from the maker's own page and dated 2026-09-28; CPSC recall searches run per brand.

Questions

Frequently asked

Which gun safes are actually made in the USA?
On the makers' own published statements: Liberty (Payson, Utah, American steel), Fort Knox (Orem, Utah, American steel and labour), Browning/ProSteel (Provo, Utah), Winchester's USA Made Western line, and the handgun boxes from Fort Knox and V-Line. Liberty and V-Line both name exceptions, which is a point in their favour.
Are Liberty safes made in America?
Liberty states that it manufactures its gun safes, home safes, gun cabinets, ammo cans and ammo cabinets in Payson, Utah using American-made steel, and says in the same place that "some products, including handgun vaults and select accessories, are imported". Read the model page for the product you are buying.
Is a US-made gun safe better than an imported one?
Not automatically. Country of manufacture is not a test result. Only one pick on this page states a UL RSC burglary listing, and several imported safes we rank elsewhere carry stronger certification evidence. Treat American manufacture as a tie-breaker after the listing, the steel and the lock.
Where are Winchester safes made?
Winchester licenses its name to a safe manufacturer, and it applies the "Proudly made in the USA" label to its USA Made Western line specifically rather than to the whole range. Our Winchester review goes through the range and what each line actually claims.
Do American-made safes cost more?
Generally yes, and this page does not try to argue otherwise. What it does is make sure the premium buys a claim the maker has committed to in writing, rather than a flag on the packaging.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Liberty Safe — Made in the USA page (Payson, Utah; American steel; stated import exceptions)
  2. Fort Knox — Fort Knox Difference FAQ (handcrafted in Orem, Utah; American steel and labor)
  3. Winchester Safes — USA Made Western 6036 product page
  4. Browning Safes — Medallion Series 33-Gun Safe product page
  5. V-Line — Top Draw XD product page (US manufacture, with lock-component exception)
  6. Stealth Safes — UL28 product page (no manufacturing location stated)
  7. SecureIt Gun Storage — About us page (no manufacturing location stated)
  8. UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
  9. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes