Gun Safes · Head to head
Winchester safes review: what the listings and specs show, series by series
Winchester is the rifle name on a safe built by a Texas company. Here is what its own product pages, FAQ and warranty establish about each series, and what they leave out.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoBest all-round Winchester
Winchester Big Daddy
UL RSC7.4 /10An 11-gauge, 42-inch-wide safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam lock, 14 locking bolts and a maker-claimed 90-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for a household that wants width for long guns and a maker-stated listing.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Big Daddy
Stock photoEntry to a UL RSC-rated Winchester
Winchester Ranger 26
UL RSC7.1 /10A 12-gauge gun safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock and a maker-claimed 60-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for buyers who want a maker-stated RSC listing from a brand sold on Amazon.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Ranger 26
Stock photoMost steel Winchester sells
Winchester Legacy 53
UL RSC7.7 /10Winchester's heaviest standard series: a 10-gauge body with a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate, 18 two-inch bolts, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a maker-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for a buyer who wants the most steel Winchester sells and has a floor for 1,624 lb.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Legacy 53
Stock photoThe US-made series, dealer-only
Winchester USA Made Western 6036
UL RSC7.6 /10The one Winchester series the maker labels "Proudly made in the USA": a 10-gauge body, a maker-stated UL RSC listing, a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock backed by an S&G mechanical lock, and a maker-claimed 90-minute fire rating, sold through Winchester and its dealers rather than Amazon.
See it at Winchester Safes (maker's site)Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Stock photoEntry model, no burglary listing
Winchester Bandit 14
Access box4.8 /10A 314 lb, 22-inch-wide 14-gauge safe with a backup key and a maker-claimed 45-minute fire rating, for a first-time owner with up to a dozen long guns who wants a key fallback for the keypad.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Bandit 14

We haven't handled, installed or tested a Winchester safe. This review is built from Winchester's product pages, its FAQ, its published warranty terms and its company history page; every value in the table links to its source. We score Winchester on the same published gun-safe rubric as every other brand (how we rate), with an independent burglary listing weighted first. Winchester sells more series than the five covered here (Outrider, Evolution, Defender, Grand American and the TS line among them); these are the five whose current spec pages we checked and that span the range from entry to flagship.
Winchester at a glance
The pattern is the same one we found at Liberty. As you move up Winchester's line, the body steel gets thicker (14 gauge to 10 gauge), the claimed fire time gets longer (45 minutes to 2.5 hours), the bolts get bigger (eight 1-inch bolts on the Bandit 14, eighteen 2-inch bolts on the Legacy 53) and the safe gets heavier (314 lb to 1,624 lb). The burglary evidence changes only once: between the Bandit, which has no listing, and everything above it.
Who makes Winchester safes?
Not the gun maker. Winchester Safes is a brand of Granite Security Products, Inc., a company based in Mansfield, Texas, which says it "partnered with Winchester" in 1991 and has "manufactured Winchester Safes for well over 30 years" (Winchester Safes, history). The horse-and-rider logo is licensed heritage; the safe's construction, listings and warranty are Granite Security's, and that is who you deal with if you ever make a claim. This matters for one practical reason: judge the safe on the evidence for the safe, not on the name on the door.
Are Winchester safes UL rated?
Most are, and Winchester draws the line in a single sentence in its FAQ: "All safe models built with 12 ga. or thicker steel are U.L. Listed as a Residential Security Container (RSC)" (Winchester Safes FAQ). The product pages back that up.
- Ranger, Big Daddy and Legacy: each product page says "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", and the Big Daddy and Legacy pages also name the classification, "Residential Security Container 9L60". This is maker-stated evidence, and it is clearer than most brands manage.
- USA Made Western: the page says "UL Listed for burglary protection, RSC".
- Bandit: 14-gauge steel, below Winchester's own 12-gauge line. The Bandit 14 page names no UL listing for the safe and none for its lock, so we tier it as an access box.
What an RSC listing means: at Level 1, UL describes a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers" (UL). It's an entry-level burglary rating, not a vault rating, and it says nothing about fire. Winchester's wording doesn't state an RSC level, and none of these five claims a commercial TL rating. Our UL RSC explainer covers what the listing does and doesn't prove.
Winchester also says on its Advantage page that it "was the first safe manufacturer worldwide to be listed by UL under the RSC" category (Winchester Safes, the Winchester advantage). We can't verify a "first", so treat it as the company's claim about its history, not as evidence about the safe in front of you. Likewise "Exceeds California DOJ Requirements" appears on every page we checked; it tells you Winchester says the safe meets California's firearm safety device rules, not that a lab attacked it. Our CA DOJ guide explains that distinction.
Series by series
Bandit 14: entry level, no burglary listing
A 14-gauge, 314-lb safe rated by Winchester for up to 20 long guns, with a SecuRam electronic lock and a backup key, eight 1-inch bolts and a Winchester-claimed 45 minutes at 1,400°F. It is 22 inches wide, which is why it appears in our apartment gun safe picks. The backup key is a real convenience, but Winchester states no UL listing for the safe or the lock (Bandit 14 page). It keeps children and casual hands out; it is locked storage, not burglary-rated storage.
Ranger 26: the entry to a rated Winchester
12-gauge steel, the RSC listing stated on the page, a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock, twelve 1-inch bolts and a claimed 60 minutes at 1,400°F. Winchester rates it for up to 35 long guns and 6 handguns, and it ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports. At 594 lb and 30 inches wide it is the easiest rated Winchester to get into a house, and it is sold on Amazon. It also ranks in our best gun safes for the money.
Big Daddy: the wide body
An 11-gauge body, the RSC listing and the 9L60 classification both stated, a UL-listed SecuRam lock, fourteen 1.25-inch bolts and a claimed 90 minutes at 1,400°F. The point of the Big Daddy is width: 42 inches outside and 38 inside, which Winchester rates for up to 46 long guns with its GunStiXX vertical racks. It ships with the same dehumidifier, light and power dock as the Ranger, weighs 956 lb and is sold on Amazon and through dealers. Measure your doorway first; 42 inches is wider than a standard interior door.
USA Made Western 6036: the domestic series
The one Winchester gun-safe series whose page says "Proudly made in the USA". A 10-gauge body, the RSC listing stated, a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with an S&G mechanical lock as a backup, fourteen 1.25-inch bolts and a claimed 90 minutes at 1,400°F. Winchester rates it for up to 25 long guns; it weighs 964 lb (Western 6036 page). It is sold through winchestersafes.com and dealers, not Amazon, and it is priced well above the Big Daddy for a smaller safe. You are paying for origin, the gloss finishes and the dual lock, not for a better listing.
Legacy 53: the most steel
A 10-gauge body with an "additional 1/4 heat-treated steel outer plate in the door", the RSC listing and 9L60 classification stated, eighteen 2-inch bolts, external vault hinges, double Palusol door seals and a claimed 2.5 hours at 1,400°F. Winchester rates it for up to 60 long guns. It scores highest of the five on our rubric because of the steel, but at 1,624 lb and 72 inches tall it is a professional-delivery safe, and it is the first to check against our guide to whether your floor can support a gun safe. It is listed on Amazon and through dealers; Amazon stock has come and gone.
Fire ratings: Winchester's own numbers
Every Winchester fire rating we checked is Winchester's claim, stated at 1,400°F, with no independent lab named. Several pages call the rating "proven" without saying who proved it. That doesn't make the claims false; it means you can't check how they were measured. Winchester's fire system is a Palusol heat-expanding door seal, which it says "expands to over 6x its size when subjected to heat", plus layers of fireboard in the ceiling, walls and door.
One wording trap is worth naming. Winchester's pages describe "UL® rated fireboard protection". That is a statement about the board inside the walls, not a UL fire classification of the safe. An independently verified rating reads differently: under UL 72, "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records", the class is the maximum interior temperature allowed, and the time is how long the device held it in UL's furnace (UL 72). Winchester doesn't publish a UL 72 classification for any of these safes. If fire is your first concern, compare Winchester's claims against a safe whose rating an outside lab verified; our guide to safe fire ratings explains how to read both, and our fire-rated gun safe ranking starts with the verified ones.
Where are Winchester safes made?
Winchester answers this for one series only. The Western series is sold as "USA Made", and its product page says "Proudly made in the USA". The Bandit, Ranger, Big Daddy and Legacy pages we checked don't state a country of manufacture, and neither does the FAQ or the history page. The existence of a separately labeled US-made line is the strongest hint about the rest; we won't go further than that. You will find third-party articles that name specific countries for Winchester's standard series, and they contradict one another, so we haven't repeated any of them. If origin matters to you, ask Winchester or your dealer for the country of origin marked on the specific safe before you order.
Locks, codes and lockouts
Winchester's rated series ship with a SecuRam electronic lock that the product pages describe as UL-listed. The Bandit's lock is described as a "SECURAM Electronic Lock with Backup Key" with no UL listing stated, and the Western adds an S&G mechanical lock as a backup to its electronic one. If a dead keypad worries you, that is the order to think about them: the Western gets you in with a dial, the Bandit with a key, and the Ranger, Big Daddy and Legacy rely on the electronic lock and its battery. Our electronic vs mechanical lock guide weighs the trade-off.
Two FAQ points deserve a plain reading. First, Winchester says its electronic locks ship with a published factory default code and tells owners to change it at setup and store the new code somewhere separate; do that on day one. Second, Winchester offers a lost-combination service: "the most important aspect of this process is for us to verify the true ownership of the safe", with a notarized signature, proof of purchase and a fee (Winchester Safes FAQ). That is a useful safety net, and it also tells you Winchester keeps a way back into your lock. We didn't find a published Winchester policy on law-enforcement requests or on deleting that record; Liberty publishes both, and our Liberty safes review covers them. Whatever brand you buy, it is reasonable to ask.
Warranty fine print
The product pages lead with "Lifetime Limited Warranty" and a "Lifetime Free Replacement Guarantee" after a fire or a burglary attack. The warranty document is narrower than the headline, and it is worth reading before you buy (Winchester limited lifetime warranty):
- Registration activates it. The safe must be registered, and claims need proof of purchase.
- Parts are five years. Defects in materials and workmanship (handles, bolts, paint, fire seals, hinges) are covered for five years from purchase; interior shelving two years; light kits and dehumidifiers one year.
- Locks are five or two years. UL-listed locks carry five years, non-UL-listed locks two, with paid extensions offered.
- The lifetime replacement has conditions. A fire claim needs a fire report with photos and insurance documentation; a burglary claim needs a police report; claims must be filed within six months of the loss; and the safe must show approved damage, such as a melted keypad or compromised welds.
- Exclusions: contents, neglect, misuse, tampering, batteries and water damage. The document doesn't spell out who pays delivery and installation of a replacement.
For comparison, Liberty's warranty page states that its replacement includes delivery and installation. Winchester's doesn't say, so ask before you count on it.
Buying and delivery
Four of the five series are listed on Amazon (the Bandit, Ranger, Big Daddy and Legacy); the USA Made Western is sold through winchestersafes.com and dealers, so our link for it is a plain reference. Winchester's FAQ says that for most in-stock safes "delivery typically occurs within 1-2 weeks" and calls bolting the safe down "very important". Every one of these safes is pre-drilled for floor anchors; our guide to bolting down a gun safe covers the hardware. Check the route in before you order: the Big Daddy and Legacy are 42 inches wide, and only the Ranger and Bandit are realistic for a two-person move up a flight of stairs.
A recall check is part of every product we list. As of September 21, 2026, we found no CPSC recall for Winchester Safes or Granite Security Products (CPSC recalls). For how Winchester's models rank against every other brand, see best gun safes; for a rival brand read the same way, see our Liberty safes review.
Which Winchester to buy
- A family that wants a rated safe with room to grow: Big Daddy, if a 42-inch safe fits your route in.
- A rated safe that two people can move: Ranger 26.
- The most steel, on a floor that can take it: Legacy 53.
- Country of origin first, with a mechanical backup lock: USA Made Western 6036, through a dealer.
- Kid-proofing only, in a closet: Bandit 14, knowing it has no burglary listing.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoBest all-round Winchester
Winchester Big Daddy
An 11-gauge, 42-inch-wide safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam lock, 14 locking bolts and a maker-claimed 90-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for a household that wants width for long guns and a maker-stated listing.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 8
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright on the product page, and names the RSC classification (9L60).
- 11-gauge body with 14 1.25-inch bolts, dead-locking bolts on the hinge side and external strap hinges, per Winchester.
- Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.
- Sold on Amazon as well as through Winchester dealers.
Where it falls short
- The 90-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim; the "UL rated" wording on the fire side refers to the fireboard, not a UL fire classification of the safe.
- 956 lb and 42 in wide: check the doorway, the route in and the floor before ordering.
- Winchester does not publish the door's steel gauge.
Skip this if…
…your route in has a standard 36-inch doorway or you want an independently verified fire rating: this is a 42-inch-wide safe with a maker-claimed rating.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Big Daddy
Stock photoEntry to a UL RSC-rated Winchester
Winchester Ranger 26
A 12-gauge gun safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock and a maker-claimed 60-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for buyers who want a maker-stated RSC listing from a brand sold on Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL-listed RSC (maker: "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC") |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge, formed with robotic continuous welds |
| Lock | UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypad |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for anchoring to the floor |
| CA DOJ | Maker states it "Exceeds California DOJ Requirements" |
| Capacity | Up to 35 long guns and 6 handguns (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 25 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 594 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attack |
| Recall check | Sep 21, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Winchester Safes (Granite Security Products) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction (20%)
- 7
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright on the product page.
- Twelve 1-in solid steel bolts (7 active, 5 dead-locking), external strap hinges and anti-pry tabs, per Winchester.
- Includes a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.
- Sold on Amazon.
Where it falls short
- The 60-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim; the "UL rated" wording on the fire side refers to the fireboard, not a UL fire classification of the safe.
- 12-gauge body: lighter steel than 10- or 11-gauge alternatives.
Skip this if…
…you want an independently verified fire rating: Winchester names no lab for the 60 minutes.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Ranger 26
Stock photoMost steel Winchester sells
Winchester Legacy 53
Winchester's heaviest standard series: a 10-gauge body with a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate, 18 two-inch bolts, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a maker-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for a buyer who wants the most steel Winchester sells and has a floor for 1,624 lb.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 9
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- 10-gauge body plus a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate: the thickest steel in Winchester's standard range, per Winchester.
- Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright and names the 9L60 classification.
- 18 two-inch bolts, external vault hinges and double Palusol door seals, per Winchester.
- Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock; sold on Amazon and through dealers.
Where it falls short
- The 2.5-hour fire rating is Winchester's own claim with no outside lab named.
- 1,624 lb and 72 in tall: this is a professional-delivery safe, and many wood-framed floors need checking first.
- Amazon listings for this model have gone in and out of stock; a dealer may be the quicker route.
Skip this if…
…you can't confirm your floor and route can take a 1,624 lb, 42 x 30 in safe, or you'd rather pay for an independently verified fire rating than for claimed hours.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Legacy 53
Stock photoThe US-made series, dealer-only
Winchester USA Made Western 6036
The one Winchester series the maker labels "Proudly made in the USA": a 10-gauge body, a maker-stated UL RSC listing, a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock backed by an S&G mechanical lock, and a maker-claimed 90-minute fire rating, sold through Winchester and its dealers rather than Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.6 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- The only Winchester gun-safe series whose product page states it is made in the USA.
- A UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with an S&G mechanical lock as a backup, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out.
- 10-gauge body, 14 1.25-inch bolts and external vault hinges, per Winchester; maker-stated UL RSC listing.
- Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: you buy from winchestersafes.com or a Winchester dealer (our link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link).
- Priced well above the Big Daddy for a smaller safe; you are paying for origin and finish.
- The 90-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim with no outside lab named.
Skip this if…
…country of origin isn't on your list: the Big Daddy and Legacy give you the same maker-stated listing and more capacity for less.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Stock photoEntry model, no burglary listing
Winchester Bandit 14
A 314 lb, 22-inch-wide 14-gauge safe with a backup key and a maker-claimed 45-minute fire rating, for a first-time owner with up to a dozen long guns who wants a key fallback for the keypad.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 45 min at 1,400°F (maker calls it 'proven'; no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 14 gauge ('solid steel 14 ga. body') |
| Lock | SECURAM electronic lock |
| Backup entry | Backup key ('SECURAM Electronic Lock with Backup Key') |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for anchoring to the floor |
| CA DOJ | Maker says it 'Exceeds California DOJ Requirements' |
| Capacity | Up to 20 long guns (maker-stated); 13.8 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 60 x 22 x 18 in (H x W x D; add 1.5 in depth for handle and hinges); interior 57.5 x 20.5 x 12 in |
| Weight | 314 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or burglary attack |
| Locking bolts | 8 solid steel bolts, 1 in (4 dead-locking, 4 active) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Winchester Safes gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 4.8 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 5.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Backup key for the electronic lock, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out
- Dead-locking bolts on the hinge side and a recessed door with reinforced jambs
- 22 x 18 in footprint at 314 lb suits a closet or spare room
- Published interior dimensions and a lifetime replacement guarantee after fire or burglary
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel and 1 in bolts are an entry-level build
- The 45-minute fire rating is the maker's figure, not an independent lab's
- The maker does not state a UL listing for the lock
Skip this if…
…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or a UL-listed lock at this size; look at the Stealth UL14
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Bandit 14
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are Winchester safes good?
Are Winchester safes UL rated?
Who makes Winchester safes?
Where are Winchester safes made?
Are Winchester safes fireproof?
What if I forget my Winchester safe combination?
Is the Winchester warranty really lifetime?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Liberty safes reviewThe most-searched rival brand, read the same way: listings, fire claims, origin and policies.
- Best gun safesHow Winchester's models rank against every other brand we cover.
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat Winchester's residential security container listing actually tests.
- Safe fire ratings explainedHow to read a maker's 1,400°F claim against a lab-verified rating.
- Gun safe red flagsThe spec-sheet warning signs to check on any brand, fireboard wording included.
- Best long gun safesWhere the Ranger 26 lands among rifle-capacity safes.
Receipts
Sources
- Winchester Safes — Bandit 14 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — Ranger 26 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — Big Daddy product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — Legacy 53 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — USA Made Western 6036 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — FAQ: RSC listing by steel gauge, lost combinations, delivery (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — Limited Lifetime Warranty terms (checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — The history of Winchester Safes (Granite Security Products; checked 2026-09-21)
- Winchester Safes — The Winchester advantage: RSC testing and fire construction claims (checked 2026-09-21)
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- CPSC — Recalls search, no Winchester Safes / Granite Security Products notice found (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.