Setup & Safe Storage · The rankings
The best gun safe dehumidifiers for safes with power and without
A dehumidifier won't stop a burglar or a fire. It stops the slow damage a damp safe does to what's inside. The right one depends mostly on whether your safe has power.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Eva-Dry E-500 High-Capacity Dehumidifier No cord in the safe, the highest maker-rated coverage here (500 cu ft) and 20 oz of capacity per charge, so it fits a safe with or without a power port and goes longer between recharges. | Best overall: works in any safeAccessory | 7.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.) Ties the E-500 on score. If your safe already has an outlet or cord hole, this rod runs around the clock with no recharge routine and carries a limited lifetime warranty. | Best for a safe with a power portAccessory | 7.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier The smaller Eva-Dry: 333 cu ft and 13 oz per charge (maker-stated), for a safe without power where you'll recharge a little more often. | Best cordless pick for a mid-size safeAccessory | 6.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900 Only 1.5 in. thick with a mounting bracket, and the only rechargeable here whose maker publishes its power draw (60W). | Best slim rechargeableAccessory | 6.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Lockdown Rechargeable Dehumidifier Same 333 cu ft rating as the Hornady in a bulkier body, with a stated recharge time of about 12 hours and a 1-year warranty. | Best for a mid-size safe without powerAccessory | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Lockdown Dehumidifier Rod (12 in.) The short rod Lockdown rates for about 100 cu ft. Its warranty is 1 year, against the Golden Rod's limited lifetime coverage. | Best for a small safe or cabinet with powerAccessory | 6.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g) A steel canister of silica gel with no cord or plug at all. The catch is oven reactivation at 325°F for 3 hours or more. | Best no-power, no-electronics optionAccessory | 5.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 8 | ![]() Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor Ranked last although it scores highest, because it removes no moisture: it's the hygrometer that tells you whether the pick you chose is doing its job. | Add-on: proof it's workingAccessory | 7.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Who this page is for
You already own a gun safe, or you're about to, and you want to keep what's inside from rusting. That's a different job from the one most of this site covers. A dehumidifier does nothing about a child, a burglar or a house fire. It protects the contents from moisture, which does its damage slowly and out of sight behind a closed steel door.
How dry is dry enough? Liberty Safe, citing the NRA, writes that the NRA recommends keeping the humidity in a vault room or gun safe between 30% and 50%. We couldn't find the NRA's own page for that figure, so treat it as a widely repeated guideline rather than a lab standard. Our gun safe humidity guide covers the target in detail, including garages and seasonal swings.
How we scored these
We haven't bought, installed or lab-tested any of these units. Every score comes from what the maker publishes, plus a dated CPSC recall search for each product. Accessories are scored on their own published rubric, explained in full on how we rate:
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%). The maker's stated cubic feet, checked against the interior volume of real gun safes.
- Power and maintenance (25%). Plug-in, rechargeable or passive, and how much routine each asks of you.
- Safety listing (20%). Whether a plug-in or charging device states a UL or ETL listing.
- Fit and installation (15%). Footprint, mounting and cord routing.
- Support and transparency (10%). Warranty terms and how complete the spec sheet is.
The safety-listing line is where every dehumidifier here loses points. A UL or ETL mark means a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory tested the product to a safety standard. Intertek, for example, describes its ETL Listed Mark as proof that a product has been independently tested and certified to applicable safety standards. For a heating rod that stays plugged in inside a closed steel box, that's worth knowing. None of the makers in this list states a UL or ETL listing on its product page. That isn't evidence of a problem. It's missing evidence, and we score it that way.
Rods, rechargeables and desiccant: three ways to dry a safe
Plug-in rods don't collect water. Lockdown says its Golden Rod works by slightly increasing the air temperature inside the gun safe so warm air circulates continuously. The appeal is that there's nothing to empty or recharge. The requirement is power: the cord has to reach an outlet, usually through a hole the safe maker provides.
Rechargeable units hold a desiccant (silica gel beads in the Eva-Dry units, what Lockdown calls water glass crystals in its rechargeable) that soaks up moisture until an indicator changes color. Then you take the unit out and plug it in to dry the desiccant, which takes about 10-12 hours for the Eva-Dry units and about 12 hours for the Lockdown, per the makers. No cord stays in the safe.
Passive desiccant like the Hydrosorbent canister uses no power at all while it works. When the indicator changes, the whole canister goes into a kitchen oven to reactivate.
If you're weighing the first two against each other, our electric vs rechargeable comparison goes deeper on power, upkeep and coverage.
What the cubic-foot numbers mean
Every dehumidifier here comes with a maker-stated coverage figure, from 57 cu ft for the Hydrosorbent canister to 500 cu ft for the Eva-Dry E-500. The product pages we checked don't explain how those figures were measured, so read them as the maker's claim.
Now compare them with real safes. Hollon lists the interior of its Crescent Shield CS-12E at 7.36 cubic feet. Winchester lists 13.8 cu ft for the Bandit 14, and Hollon lists 16.93 cu ft for the Republic RG-22. Even the smallest coverage figure on this page is several times larger than those interiors.
So on paper, any of these units covers the volume of a typical gun safe. What actually decides how dry the safe stays is how often the door is opened, how humid the room is and how well the door seals. That's why our ranking leans on power and upkeep more than on raw coverage, and why the last pick on the list is a hygrometer.
Why the picks rank where they do
The Eva-Dry E-500 and the Lockdown Golden Rod tie at 7.0. The E-500 takes first place because it works in any safe. It needs no power port, it has the largest maker-rated coverage here and its 20 oz capacity per charge (against 13 oz for the E-333) means fewer recharges. It loses points because Eva-Dry doesn't publish its dimensions or warranty length, and its warranty has to be registered within 30 days.
The Golden Rod is the better buy if your safe already has an outlet or cord hole. Once it's installed there's no routine at all, and Lockdown backs Golden Rod products with a limited lifetime warranty. It loses points for the missing wattage and safety listing.
The E-333, Hornady 95900 and Lockdown Rechargeable all carry a 333 cu ft rating. The E-333 edges ahead on its published per-charge capacity. The Hornady publishes the most complete spec sheet (60W draw, 6.0 x 4.1 x 1.5 in., 1.0 lb) but no recharge time or warranty. The Lockdown states its recharge time and warranty but is the bulkiest of the three.
The 12 in. Lockdown rod suits a small safe or cabinet with power. The Hydrosorbent canister is for anyone who wants no electricity near the safe at all and doesn't mind the oven routine.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest overall: works in any safe
Eva-Dry E-500 High-Capacity Dehumidifier
No cord in the safe, the highest maker-rated coverage here (500 cu ft) and 20 oz of capacity per charge, so it fits a safe with or without a power port and goes longer between recharges.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | Absorbs up to 20 oz of moisture per charge (maker-stated) |
| Coverage | Up to 500 cu ft (maker-stated) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges from 110-120V in about 10-12 hours (maker says to plug it into a power strip) |
| Warranty | Limited warranty against manufacturer defects; must be registered within 30 days of purchase (length not stated) |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Eva-Dry dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8.5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Highest maker-rated coverage of the cordless units in our lineup (500 cu ft)
- 20 oz capacity per charge versus 13 oz for the E-333 (maker specs), so fewer recharges
- No cord inside the safe during use
- Color-changing beads show when to recharge (maker)
Where it falls short
- Still needs a 10-12 hour recharge outside the safe
- Dimensions are not published on the product page, so check your shelf space
- No UL or ETL listing stated; warranty length not published
Skip this if…
…you'd rather never handle a recharge; a plug-in rod runs continuously if your safe has power.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Eva-Dry E-500 High-Capacity Dehumidifier
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for a safe with a power port
Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Ties the E-500 on score. If your safe already has an outlet or cord hole, this rod runs around the clock with no recharge routine and carries a limited lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-rated coverage is up to 200 cu ft at the 18 in. length
- No recharge cycle: it runs continuously once plugged in
- Mounting brackets and a quick-plug attachment are included (maker)
- Limited lifetime warranty and made in the USA (maker)
Where it falls short
- Needs power: the cord has to reach an outlet, usually through the safe's power pass-through
- Lockdown's page states no UL or ETL listing and no wattage
- It warms and circulates air rather than collecting water, so pair it with a hygrometer to confirm the result
Skip this if…
…your safe has no power pass-through and you won't add one; a rechargeable desiccant unit needs no cord in the safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod (18 in.)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest cordless pick for a mid-size safe
Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
The smaller Eva-Dry: 333 cu ft and 13 oz per charge (maker-stated), for a safe without power where you'll recharge a little more often.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | Absorbs up to 13 oz of moisture per charge (maker-stated) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges by plugging into a 110-120V outlet for about 10-12 hours |
| Warranty | Limited warranty against manufacturer defects; must be registered within 30 days of purchase (length not stated) |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Eva-Dry dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7.5
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- No cord inside the safe, so no pass-through or drilling needed
- Color-changing beads show when it needs recharging (maker)
- Renewable silica gel: no refills or replacement packs (maker)
- Maker lists safes and storage boxes among its intended uses
Where it falls short
- Has to come out of the safe and be plugged in for about 10-12 hours each recharge
- Eva-Dry's page states no UL or ETL listing for the recharging plug
- Warranty length is not published, and the warranty must be registered within 30 days
Skip this if…
…you want set-and-forget humidity control; a plug-in rod runs continuously with no recharge cycle.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Eva-Dry E-333 Renewable Mini Dehumidifier
Rank 4
Stock photoBest slim rechargeable
Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
Only 1.5 in. thick with a mounting bracket, and the only rechargeable here whose maker publishes its power draw (60W).
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 6.0 x 4.1 x 1.5 in. |
| Weight | 1.0 lb (450 g) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated effective volume) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges from a 110V wall outlet; rated 120V 60Hz 60W |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady Security products in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker publishes power draw (60W), dimensions and weight
- Quick-connect mounting bracket for safes, closets or pantries (maker)
- Color-shifting crystals signal when to recharge (maker)
- 1.5 in. thick body takes little shelf space
Where it falls short
- Recharge time is not stated on the product page
- No UL or ETL listing stated
- Warranty terms are not stated on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want to skip a recharge routine entirely; choose a plug-in rod if your safe has power.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Rechargeable Gun Safe Dehumidifier 95900
Rank 5
Stock photoBest for a mid-size safe without power
Lockdown Rechargeable Dehumidifier
Same 333 cu ft rating as the Hornady in a bulkier body, with a stated recharge time of about 12 hours and a 1-year warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 8.5 x 6 x 2.5 in. (L x W x D) |
| Coverage | Up to 333 cu ft (maker-stated) |
| Power | Cordless in use; recharges from a wall outlet in about 12 hours (charging cord included) |
| Warranty | 1 year from date of manufacture |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Lockdown dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. The only Lockdown recall found (April 2013) covered certain three-digit combination handgun vaults, not this product. |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker states 333 cu ft coverage and a recharge of about 12 hours
- Indicator window shows when it needs recharging (maker)
- Maker says the crystals will not release moisture back into the air
- Charging cord included; nothing plugged in while it sits in the safe
Where it falls short
- Bulkier than the Hornady 95900 for the same 333 cu ft rating (8.5 x 6 x 2.5 in. vs 6.0 x 4.1 x 1.5 in.)
- No UL or ETL listing stated on Lockdown's page
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…shelf space is tight; the Hornady 95900 carries the same 333 cu ft rating in a thinner body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Rechargeable Dehumidifier
Rank 6
Stock photoBest for a small safe or cabinet with power
Lockdown Dehumidifier Rod (12 in.)
The short rod Lockdown rates for about 100 cu ft. Its warranty is 1 year, against the Golden Rod's limited lifetime coverage.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 12 in. long (also sold in 18 in.) |
| Coverage | About 100 cu ft (12 in.) or about 200 cu ft (18 in.), maker-stated |
| Power | Plug-in, 110/120V AC; warms the air continuously |
| Warranty | 1 year from date of manufacture (Lockdown limited warranty for non-Golden Rod products) |
| Safety listing | No UL or ETL listing stated on the maker's product page |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Lockdown dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. The only Lockdown recall found (April 2013) covered certain three-digit combination handgun vaults, not this product. |
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 7
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 7
- Safety listing (20%)
- 4
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker publishes coverage per length: about 100 cu ft (12 in.) or 200 cu ft (18 in.)
- Mounting brackets included; maker says to install it horizontally at the lowest point in the safe
- Continuous operation: no recharge schedule to remember
Where it falls short
- Only a 1-year warranty, versus the limited lifetime warranty on Lockdown's Golden Rod
- No UL or ETL listing or wattage stated on Lockdown's page
- Needs a cord routed to an outlet
Skip this if…
…you can't get power into the safe, or you want lifetime warranty coverage (the Golden Rod has it).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Dehumidifier Rod (12 in.)
Rank 7
Stock photoBest no-power, no-electronics option
Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)
A steel canister of silica gel with no cord or plug at all. The catch is oven reactivation at 325°F for 3 hours or more.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 750 g of blue-to-pink indicating silica gel (an orange-to-clear version is also sold) |
| Exterior dimensions | Steel canister, 4 in. diameter x 6 in. high |
| Coverage | Up to 57 cu ft of enclosed space (maker-stated) |
| Power | No power in use; reactivate the whole canister in a 325°F oven for at least 3 hours when the indicator changes color |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hydrosorbent dehumidifiers in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 6
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No cord, no plug and no electronics
- Heavy-duty steel canister (maker)
- Inspection window shows when to reactivate
- Maker says no refills or replacement parts are needed
Where it falls short
- Lowest maker-rated coverage in our lineup (57 cu ft), so check it against your safe's interior volume
- Reactivation ties up your oven at 325°F for 3 hours or more
- No warranty terms published
Skip this if…
…you don't want to bake a canister in your kitchen oven; a plug-in-recharge unit like the Eva-Dry E-333 is simpler.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hydrosorbent SG-750 Silica Gel Canister (750 g)
Rank 8
Stock photoAdd-on: proof it's working
Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor
Ranked last although it scores highest, because it removes no moisture: it's the hygrometer that tells you whether the pick you chose is doing its job.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Accessory. Not a container. It supports a safe you already own. |
|---|---|
| Exterior dimensions | 3.1 x 2.6 x 0.8 in. |
| Power | 1 AAA battery (included) |
| Warranty | 1 year, parts only, on Liberty accessories |
| Readings | Humidity and temperature; 10-second refresh; records highs and lows |
| Mounting | Flip-out stand or magnet |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Liberty Safe products in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 7.5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- High/low memory shows what humidity did while the door was shut
- Magnet or stand mounting
- Battery included
- Dimensions are published
Where it falls short
- Accuracy (plus or minus % relative humidity) is not published
- You have to open the safe to read it; there is no remote display
- 1-year, parts-only warranty
Skip this if…
…you want to read the safe's humidity without opening the door; the Hornady 95907 uses a remote sensor and a separate display.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor
Check your safe's power before you choose
This one check decides between a rod and a rechargeable. Open the safe and look at the back wall and floor, or read the spec sheet. You'll find one of three setups:
- A factory outlet inside the safe. Hollon lists "Electric Outlet Installed" for the Republic RG-22, and Liberty says its Electrical Outlet Kit is standard on Franklin and higher models. Any pick works here. A rod is the low-effort choice.
- A cord hole but no outlet. Winchester lists a small power cord exit hole at back of safe for the Bandit 14. A rod's plug can run through to a wall outlet behind the safe.
- No power access at all. Hollon's series page lists no electrical features for the CS-12E. Choose a rechargeable or the Hydrosorbent canister. If you'd rather add a pass-through, ask the safe maker first: a new hole goes through the body and any fire lining, and warranty terms vary.
That last point connects to fire protection. If your safe's fire rating matters to you, read how safe fire ratings work before you modify anything.
Which pick for which safe
| Your safe | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Full-size safe with an outlet or cord hole | Lockdown Golden Rod (18 in.) | Runs continuously; limited lifetime warranty on Golden Rod products |
| Small safe or cabinet with power | Lockdown Dehumidifier Rod (12 in.) | Maker-rated for about 100 cu ft; the shorter rod fits a narrower floor |
| Any safe without power | Eva-Dry E-500 | 500 cu ft and 20 oz per charge (maker-stated), so fewer recharges |
| No power, tight on shelf space | Hornady 95900 | 1.5 in. thick with a mounting bracket |
| No power, and you want no electronics at all | Hydrosorbent SG-750 | No cord or plug; reactivates in an oven |
Installation and upkeep
Rods
Lockdown says its dehumidifier rod installs horizontally at the lowest point in a gun safe, and it includes mounting brackets. Route the cord so it can't be pinched by the door, and keep the rod clear of anything stored on the safe floor. After that, the only upkeep is checking your hygrometer.
Rechargeables
Mount the unit where you can see the indicator without unloading a shelf. Hornady includes a quick-connect bracket for the 95900. When the indicator changes, recharge the unit outside the safe for the maker's stated time. Eva-Dry tells E-500 owners to plug the unit into a power strip to recharge. The safe goes without moisture control for that half-day or so, so if that worries you, a second unit lets you swap one in while the other recharges.
Desiccant canister
Hydrosorbent's instructions are to place the entire unit, not disassembled, in a 325 degree F oven for at least 3 hours, and not to remove the cap with the inspection window. Plan for your oven being tied up for an afternoon.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying on coverage alone. As shown above, every unit here is rated for far more space than a gun safe's interior. Choose on power and upkeep.
- Skipping the hygrometer. Without a reading, you're trusting a maker's claim with the contents of your safe.
- Letting a rechargeable sit saturated. Once the indicator changes, a rechargeable has stopped pulling moisture. Put the recharge on your calendar.
- Fixing the symptom instead of the room. A safe in a damp garage or basement is working against the dehumidifier. Our guide on where to put a gun safe weighs each location.
- Forgetting the basics. A dry safe that isn't bolted down or is left unlocked still fails at its main job.
Confirm it with a hygrometer
The Liberty Safe Humidity and Temperature Monitor, last on the list above, records highs and lows. That shows what the humidity did while the door was shut, not just the moment you open it. Its accuracy isn't published, so treat it as a trend gauge rather than a lab instrument. Put it at shelf height away from the dehumidifier, check it after a week, then again when the weather turns. If readings sit above the range you're aiming for, move up a size, add a second unit, or look at where the safe is placed.
If you're still choosing the safe itself, start with our best long-gun safes. A few of them come with a factory outlet, which makes this whole decision easier.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Do gun safes need a dehumidifier?
What size dehumidifier do I need for a gun safe?
Is a dehumidifier rod or a rechargeable better for a gun safe?
How do you dehumidify a gun safe without electricity?
Are gun safe dehumidifier rods UL listed?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Gun safe humidity levelsThe target range, where to put the hygrometer, and garages and seasons.
- Electric vs rechargeable dehumidifiersRod or cordless: power, upkeep and coverage side by side.
- Best long-gun safesSafes for rifles and shotguns, some with factory power.
- Where to put a gun safeGarage, closet, bedroom or basement, including humidity trade-offs.
- Best gun safe lighting kitsThe other accessory that depends on your safe's power port.
Receipts
Sources
- Liberty Safe — The Impact of Humidity on Firearms (cites the NRA's 30-50% recommendation)
- Intertek — ETL Listed Mark
- Lockdown — Golden Rod Dehumidifier Rod product page
- Lockdown — Dehumidifier Rod 12 in. product page (installation guidance)
- Hollon Safe — Crescent Shield gun safe series (CS-12E interior volume)
- Hollon Safe — 2 Hour Republic gun safe series (RG-22 interior volume and outlet)
- Winchester Safes — Bandit 14 product page (interior volume, power cord exit hole)
- Liberty Safe — Clearview LED Wand Light Kit (Electrical Outlet Kit standard on Franklin and higher)
- Eva-Dry — E-500 product page (recharge instructions)
- Hydrosorbent — Reactivation instructions
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.