Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Liberty vs Cannon gun safes: what the listings and spec sheets show

Two big names, two different kinds of evidence. We lined up each brand's published ratings, steel and warranty terms so you can see where they actually differ.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • Liberty SafeNo image

    Liberty's entry to a UL RSC rating

    Liberty Colonial 23

    UL RSC9.3 /10

    A 12-gauge Liberty with a UL RSC burglary rating (per retailer Dean Safe's spec sheet; Liberty says "UL-listed body") and a Liberty-claimed 75-minute fire rating, for owners who want a listed burglary baseline and a choice of electronic or dial lock without paying for thicker steel.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Colonial 23

  • Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

    Cannon's 24-gun model on Amazon

    Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

    Access box8.5 /10

    An imported, 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 30-minute fire rating and California DOJ certification that keeps hands out but carries no burglary listing, for buyers who want basic locked long-gun storage from Amazon.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

  • Liberty SafeNo image

    Liberty's entry model (no burglary listing)

    Liberty Centurion 24

    Access box8.7 /10

    A 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Liberty that keeps kids and casual hands out and carries a Liberty-claimed 40-minute fire rating, but Liberty cites no UL burglary listing for it, so buy it as entry-level locked storage, not burglary-rated storage.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Centurion 24

  • Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

    Cannon for maximum capacity

    Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

    Access box8.5 /10

    A 73-gun, 14-gauge Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 60-minute fire rating and California firearm-safety-device approval but no burglary listing and no stated fire-test temperature, for high-capacity storage where children and casual access are the main concern.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

A note on method before the tables. This is a spec-and-listing comparison: every figure below comes from Liberty's and Cannon's own product and warranty pages or a named retailer's spec sheet, and every value in the tables links to its source. Scores follow the published gun-safe rubric on how we rate, which weights an independent burglary listing most heavily (30 percent), then construction and fire evidence (20 percent each), then lock, fit and support.

The entry-level matchup: Centurion 24 vs Cannon 24-Gun

These two are the closest like-for-like pair in the two line-ups. Both are rated by their makers for 24 long guns, both use 14-gauge steel, both are sold on Amazon, and neither carries a burglary listing.

Figures as published by the maker or the named listing body; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

The Liberty is the bigger, heavier box: 375 lb and 28.25 inches wide, against the Cannon's 280 lb and 22 inches. Liberty claims 40 minutes at 1,200°F; Cannon claims 30 minutes at 1,200°F. Neither names a testing lab. Liberty names its lock, a UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic; Cannon lists an electronic keypad with a backup key but doesn't name the lock model.

On the burglary question these two are a tie at the bottom: both keep kids and unauthorized hands out, and neither has been rated against a timed tool attack. The bigger practical difference is the warranty, which we cover below. Liberty's transfers with the safe; Cannon's doesn't.

The step-up models

Above entry level the two lines split. Liberty adds a burglary listing and thicker steel as you move up its series. Cannon's larger models add capacity, door organizers and power outlets, but on the pages we could check, no burglary listing.

EvidenceLiberty Colonial 23Liberty Lincoln 25Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DSCannon American Eagle Series 46-Gun DD6026
TierUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingUL RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)UL residential security container (RSC), per Liberty; "UL-listed 10-gauge steel safe body"Not stated by the maker (California firearm safety device approval only)Not stated by the maker
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 75 min at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 120 min at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min; Cannon calls it "certified" but names no lab and states no test temperatureManufacturer claim: 45 min at up to 1,200°F (no independent lab named)
Body steel12 gauge10 gauge14 gaugeNot stated (maker says "heavy duty steel")
Door steel——14 gauge—
LockUL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock; optional S&G mechanical dial lockChoice of Dormakaba 702D electronic, UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic, or mechanical lockElectronic keypad (lock model not named)Electronic alphanumeric keypad behind a hardened steel anti-drill plate; 9-volt alkaline battery, lockout penalty, no multiple user codes, unlit keypad
Capacity25 long guns, standard interior (maker-stated)27 long guns (maker-stated)73 firearms: 64 long guns, plus 8 handguns and 1 shotgun or AR on the door (maker-stated)46 firearms: 40 long guns plus 6 handguns on the door (maker-stated)
Weight577 lb767 lb622.7 lb525 lb
WarrantyTransferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warrantyTransferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warrantyLimited lifetime warranty for residential use (non-transferable; register within 30 days); locks 5-year limitedLimited lifetime warranty for residential use (non-transferable; register within 30 days); locks 5-year limited
Score9.3/109.5/108.5/108.4/10
Figures as published by the maker or the named listing body; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

Capacity is where Cannon leads. The Fortified 73 is 40 inches wide and Cannon rates it for 73 firearms, counting 8 handguns and a shotgun or AR on the door. The Colonial 23 is rated for 25 long guns and the Lincoln 25 for 27. Treat every one of those numbers as a maximum rack count, not a count of scoped rifles.

Burglary ratings: the difference that matters most

A UL RSC listing means the design passed UL's Residential Security Container test. At Level 1, UL describes a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers" (UL). It is an entry-level burglary rating measured in minutes, not a vault rating, and it says nothing about fire. Our UL RSC explainer covers all three levels.

Liberty. The Lincoln page names the listing itself: a "UL-listed 10-gauge steel safe body" rated as a residential security container. The Colonial, Franklin and Presidential pages say "UL-listed body" without naming the standard; retailer Dean Safe's spec sheets list all three as UL RSC. The Centurion is the exception. Its lock is UL-listed, but Liberty cites no UL listing for the safe itself.

Cannon. The AZ6022 spec sheet lists California DOJ certification as its only rating. Cannon describes the Fortified 73 as a "California-approved Firearm Safety Device, meeting Penal Code section 23655". The American Eagle page names no burglary rating at all. To be fair to Cannon, it has sold RSC-rated safes: a retailer listing for Cannon's 1965 Series CA594024 describes it as "UL RSC Burglar Rated" (PartsSource listing). We couldn't confirm a current RSC-listed model on Cannon's own site, so none appears here. If you shop Cannon at a dealer, ask for the UL listing by model number and get it in writing. Our Cannon safes review goes further on this point: we searched all 50 current listings on Cannon's own store and the only "UL" claim anywhere refers to a lock.

A California DOJ statement is not a burglary rating. California's gun-safe standard sets construction minimums, including "minimum 12-gauge thick steel for a single-walled safe" and at least three 1/2-inch locking bolts, and it accepts a UL RSC rating as an alternative (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII). A maker's DOJ statement tells you the maker says the safe meets California's rules. It doesn't tell you a lab attacked it.

Fire claims: neither brand names a lab

Every fire rating in both line-ups is the maker's own. Liberty's run from 40 minutes on the Centurion to 2.5 hours on the Presidential, all stated at 1,200°F. Liberty calls the Franklin's 110 minutes "certified" but names no testing lab. Cannon states 30 minutes at 1,200°F for the AZ6022 and 45 minutes at up to 1,200°F for the American Eagle. The Fortified's 60 minutes is also called "certified", with no lab and no test temperature, so it can't be lined up against the others at all.

An independent fire rating reads differently. Under UL 72, "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records": the class number is the maximum interior temperature the device must hold, and the time is how long it held it in UL's furnace test (UL 72). Neither brand publishes a UL 72 classification for these gun safes. A longer maker claim may reflect more fireboard, but without a named lab you can't check how it was measured. Our guide to safe fire ratings shows how to read both kinds of claim.

Steel: Liberty publishes more of it

Steel gauge runs backward: a lower number is thicker steel. Liberty publishes a gauge for every series we checked: 14 (Centurion), 12 (Colonial), 11 (Franklin), 10 (Lincoln) and 7 (Presidential), and the Presidential also lists a composite door with a 1/4-inch inner steel plate. Cannon lists 14 gauge for the AZ6022's exterior and for both the body and door of the Fortified 73. The American Eagle page says only "heavy duty steel", with no gauge, dimensions or weight.

Gauge is a construction input, not a result. A listing is the result: it shows a design survived a timed attack. That's why a 14-gauge Cannon and a 14-gauge Liberty sit in the same tier, and why the 12-gauge Colonial, with its RSC rating, sits above both. Our steel gauge explainer converts gauges to inches.

Warranties: the clearest difference on paper

Liberty offers a "transferable lifetime warranty" on the safe body. After a fire or an attempted break-in, Liberty says it repairs or replaces the safe, including "free delivery and installation of the new replacement safe" and removal of the damaged one. You must register to activate it. UL-listed locks carry a separate 5-year warranty, and lock damage is excluded from the lifetime coverage (Liberty warranty page).

Cannon offers a limited lifetime warranty "for residential use only". It states: "This warranty is not transferable." You must register within 30 days to activate any claim, and for burglary or fire claims, "customers must first file with their property insurance provider", filing proof of denial if the insurer turns the claim down. Locks carry a five-year limited warranty: parts and labor in year one, parts only in years two to five (Cannon warranty page).

If you might sell the safe or hand it down, Liberty's terms follow it and Cannon's end with you. If a fire or break-in happens, Liberty's process starts with Liberty; Cannon's starts with your insurer.

Where they're made

Liberty says it "proudly manufactures its gun safes, home safes, and vault doors in Payson, Utah using American-made steel", and that "some products, including handgun vaults and select accessories, are imported" (Liberty, Made in the USA). Cannon's spec sheet for the AZ6022 lists its country of origin as "Imported" (Cannon product page). We didn't find an origin statement on the Fortified or American Eagle pages, so we don't generalize to the whole Cannon line. These are the makers' statements; we haven't audited either supply chain.

What the spec sheets don't show

  • How the fire tests were run. Neither brand names a lab, a test method or the interior temperature reached.
  • The RSC level. Liberty's wording and the retailer sheets say "RSC" without stating Level 1, 2 or 3.
  • Build quality. Welds, door fit and how the boltwork engages are only visible in person, and we haven't seen these safes.
  • What "Level 9 Security" means. Liberty ranks its safes on its own 10-level scale. It's a useful map of Liberty's line-up, not a third-party certification.
  • Basic specs on Cannon's American Eagle. No gauge, dimensions or weight, which you need before planning a delivery.
  • Stored codes. Liberty keeps combination recovery information on file unless you ask it to delete it; our Liberty safes review covers that policy and the 2023 controversy behind it. We didn't find a published Cannon policy on this, so ask any maker whether it stores a reset code for your lock.

Who should buy which

  • Liberty Colonial 23: the family that wants a UL RSC-rated safe from Amazon, with a choice of electronic or dial lock and a warranty that transfers.
  • Liberty Lincoln 25: the buyer who wants the listing stated on the maker's own page and a 10-gauge body. It's 767 lb, so plan the floor and delivery first.
  • Liberty Centurion 24: only when kids and casual access are the whole threat and you value Liberty's transferable warranty over a burglary listing.
  • Cannon AZ6022: basic locked storage for up to 24 long guns in a 22-inch-wide footprint, with a backup key for the keypad.
  • Cannon Fortified 73: the largest capacity here, with a built-in power box. It isn't on Amazon, and its listing names two different finishes, so confirm before ordering.
  • Cannon American Eagle 46: only after a dealer confirms the gauge, weight and dimensions in writing.

If you want both a burglary listing and a fire rating verified by an outside lab, neither line-up here offers that combination. The American Security NF6036, for example, pairs a UL RSC Level 1 listing with an ETL-verified 90 minutes at 1,200°F, and it appears in our overall gun safe rankings.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Liberty SafeNo image

Liberty's entry to a UL RSC rating

Liberty Colonial 23

UL RSC9.3 /10

A 12-gauge Liberty with a UL RSC burglary rating (per retailer Dean Safe's spec sheet; Liberty says "UL-listed body") and a Liberty-claimed 75-minute fire rating, for owners who want a listed burglary baseline and a choice of electronic or dial lock without paying for thicker steel.

How the 9.3 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
7
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

Metric scores are on the 0-10 rubric. The published 9.3 places that weighted rubric result on our 8.4-9.8 recommendation scale, the same scale for every product on the site.

Why we picked it

  • Sold with either a UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock or an S&G mechanical dial, chosen at order.
  • 12-gauge body, eight 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 23, a slip-clutch handle and three hardened plates guarding the lock, per Liberty.
  • Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in, per Liberty.
  • Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.

Good to know

A good fit unless you want an independently verified fire rating: Liberty names no outside lab for the Colonial's 75 minutes.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Colonial 23

Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

Cannon's 24-gun model on Amazon

Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

Access box8.5 /10

An imported, 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 30-minute fire rating and California DOJ certification that keeps hands out but carries no burglary listing, for buyers who want basic locked long-gun storage from Amazon.

How the 8.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

Metric scores are on the 0-10 rubric. The published 8.5 places that weighted rubric result on our 8.4-9.8 recommendation scale, the same scale for every product on the site.

Why we picked it

  • Complete maker spec sheet: 14-gauge exterior, six 1-in-thick locking bars and a 58.75 x 20.75 x 13.75 in interior.
  • Backup key alongside the keypad, plus pre-drilled anchoring holes.
  • California DOJ certified, per Cannon.
  • Sold on Amazon.

Good to know

A good fit unless you need burglary-rated storage: Cannon cites no UL RSC listing for this model.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon 24-Gun Safe AZ6022-R1HEB-26

Liberty SafeNo image

Liberty's entry model (no burglary listing)

Liberty Centurion 24

Access box8.7 /10

A 14-gauge, 24-long-gun Liberty that keeps kids and casual hands out and carries a Liberty-claimed 40-minute fire rating, but Liberty cites no UL burglary listing for it, so buy it as entry-level locked storage, not burglary-rated storage.

How the 8.7 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
8.5

Metric scores are on the 0-10 rubric. The published 8.7 places that weighted rubric result on our 8.4-9.8 recommendation scale, the same scale for every product on the site.

Why we picked it

  • Liberty's lifetime warranty is transferable and, per Liberty, covers repair or replacement after a fire or attempted break-in, including delivery and installation of the replacement.
  • UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock and a maker-stated California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval.
  • Fit is easy to check before ordering: Liberty publishes a 56 x 26.25 x 13.5 in interior and a 22-in minimum doorway for the CN 24.
  • Sold on Amazon (as a size option on Liberty's Centurion series listing) as well as through Liberty dealers.

Good to know

A good fit unless you need a safe with an independent burglary listing: Liberty cites no UL RSC listing for the Centurion.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Centurion 24

Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Cannon for maximum capacity

Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

Access box8.5 /10

A 73-gun, 14-gauge Cannon with a Cannon-claimed 60-minute fire rating and California firearm-safety-device approval but no burglary listing and no stated fire-test temperature, for high-capacity storage where children and casual access are the main concern.

How the 8.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
3.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
6

Metric scores are on the 0-10 rubric. The published 8.5 places that weighted rubric result on our 8.4-9.8 recommendation scale, the same scale for every product on the site.

Why we picked it

  • Door organizer holds 8 handguns and a shotgun or AR, per Cannon.
  • Seven active 4-in locking bolts and an anti-drill plate over the electronic lock.
  • Built-in power box with two AC outlets for a dehumidifier or lighting.

Good to know

A good fit unless you want a burglary rating or a fire rating with a stated test temperature: Cannon publishes neither for this model.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Cannon Safe Fortified 73-Gun FD6040-DGPTEB-26-DS

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is Liberty better than Cannon?
On published evidence, yes for burglary protection: every Liberty series we checked from the Colonial up carries a UL RSC rating, and none of the current Cannon models we documented does. At entry level the two are closer, since the Liberty Centurion and the Cannon AZ6022 both lack a burglary listing. Cannon's larger models hold more guns.
Are Cannon gun safes UL rated?
No current Cannon model we have documented cites a UL burglary listing on Cannon's pages. A retailer listing for Cannon's 1965 Series CA594024 describes it as "UL RSC Burglar Rated". Ask a Cannon dealer for the UL listing by model number before you buy.
Are Cannon safes made in the USA?
Cannon's spec sheet for the AZ6022 lists the country of origin as "Imported". We didn't find an origin statement for the Fortified or American Eagle models. Liberty, by contrast, says it builds its gun safes in Payson, Utah from American-made steel.
Which has the better warranty, Liberty or Cannon?
Liberty's lifetime warranty transfers to a new owner and covers repair or replacement after a fire or attempted break-in, per Liberty. Cannon's limited lifetime warranty is not transferable, must be registered within 30 days, and sends burglary and fire claims to your property insurer first. Both cover locks for five years.
Are Liberty or Cannon fire ratings independently verified?
Not for the models we checked. Every Liberty and Cannon fire rating here is the maker's own figure, and neither brand names a testing lab. Two are called "certified" (the Liberty Franklin and the Cannon Fortified) without saying who certified them.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
  2. Cornell LII — Cal. Code Regs. tit. 11, § 4100, California gun safe standard
  3. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  4. Liberty Safe — Made in the USA (checked 2026-09-19)
  5. Liberty Safe — Lifetime warranty page (checked 2026-09-19)
  6. Cannon Security Products — Cannon product warranty (checked 2026-09-19)
  7. Cannon Security Products — Cannon 24-Gun AZ6022 product page, country of origin (checked 2026-09-19)
  8. PartsSource — Cannon 1965 Series CA594024 retailer listing (checked 2026-09-19)

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes