Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best fireproof and waterproof home safes: read the water claim twice
Water does more damage after a house fire than most buyers expect, and water ratings are written far more loosely than fire ratings. Here is which claims an outside lab checked, and which ones your own bolt-down can cancel.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Master Lock STW123GTCML The strongest pair of verified claims here: UL Classified 2 hours at up to 1,850°F and an ETL-verified 8 inches of water for 24 hours, and Master Lock says it keeps both when bolted to the floor. | Best waterproof home safe overallFire chest | 8.0 /10 | $356.24Amazon |
| 2 | SentrySafe SFW205GQC Two cubic feet behind a UL Classified 1-hour fire rating and an ETL-verified 8 inches of water for 24 hours, on six 1-inch bolts. | Best capacity with a verified water ratingFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | SentrySafe SFW123GDC Same UL hour and ETL water depth as its bigger sibling at 86.69 lb, but read the manual: SentrySafe says the ETL water claim applies before the bolt-down kit is installed. | Best verified pair at a lighter weightFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | SentrySafe FPW082HTC A UL Classified hour and an ETL-verified 5 inches of water for 24 hours in a 55-lb resin case, with an override key. The manual says not to bolt it to a wall. | Best for a shelf or a cupboardFire chest | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SentrySafe CFW20201 The longest water claim on the page: ETL-verified flood protection up to 72 hours, plus a UL Classified hour of fire. A privacy key lock, so it is not security. | Best flood-rated document chestFire chest | 6.3 /10 | $86.82Amazon |
| 6 | Honeywell 2605 Honeywell claims 8 hours submerged under 8 inches of water and names no lab. It also has the only motion and tilt alarm here. | Longest submersion claim, unverifiedFire chest | 5.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

"Fireproof and waterproof" is one of the most-searched phrases in this category, and it is the pair of claims makers are loosest about. Fire ratings have a published standard behind them, UL 72, with classes and times and furnace temperatures. Water claims have no equivalent consumer standard, so each maker writes its own: some give a depth and a duration, some give a flood duration with no depth, some say "waterproof" and leave it there.
This page ranks home safes that carry both claims, on three questions: who verified the water claim, what it actually specifies, and whether anything you do during installation cancels it. Every figure is the maker's own published specification or its owner's manual, linked where it is used and checked 2026-10-10.
Why water matters after a fire
A house fire ends with water. A single attack line puts out well over a hundred gallons a minute, and anything that survives the heat then sits in it, often for hours before anyone is allowed back inside. Add the other two routes water takes into a safe — a burst pipe and a flood — and the water rating stops being a bonus feature and starts being the second half of the job.
That is also why FEMA's Emergency Financial First Aid Kit recommends keeping your household documents together and protected, with copies elsewhere. A safe is one layer of that plan, not all of it; our what to keep in a fireproof safe guide covers what should be inside and what should not.
How water claims are written, and what to look for
The second question is who checked it. Most verified water claims in this category come from Intertek's ETL Verified program, which confirms a specific performance claim rather than certifying the product against a safety standard. Five of our six picks state an ETL water verification. One does not. That is the single biggest separator on this page.
The claims side by side
Read the fire column alongside it. The Master Lock STW123GTCML publishes the longest UL-classified fire rating here, two hours at up to 1,850°F, and its manual adds an ETL-verified impact test: heated to 1,850°F, dropped 30 feet into rubble, then reheated for 45 minutes. Under UL 72, the paper standard behind these ratings, the class number is the maximum interior temperature the device had to hold and the time is how long it held it; safe fire ratings explained unpacks that label in full.
The bolt-down clause almost nobody reads
None of these safes carries a burglary rating at all, which is the other thing to be clear about. They are fire and water containers with locks. A thief who can pick the box up has defeated it, and these weigh between 20 and 128 lb. That is the argument for bolting down, and it is why our best home safes roundup sorts by which threat you are actually facing, and home safe vs safe deposit box compares the alternative.
Verified beats bigger
If you take one rule from this page: prefer a shorter claim somebody independent checked over a longer claim nobody did. The Honeywell 2605 has the most dramatic water claim here — fully submerged for eight hours — and it is the only one with no lab named, which is why it ranks last despite the headline. The same logic runs through our fireproof home safe roundup and are fireproof safes really fireproof.
What belongs in a fireproof, waterproof safe
- Paper you cannot reprint: birth certificates, passports, deeds, titles, wills, insurance policies. All of these are protected by a Class 350 rating, which is what every fire claim here is.
- Cash and small valuables, accepting that none of these safes resists burglary; our fireproof safes for cash page covers the trade-off.
- Not drives, discs or photographs, unless the safe has a media-specific rating. Paper survives 350°F; magnetic media does not. See fireproof safes for digital media.
- Nothing you need while evacuating. Keep a copy of the essentials outside the safe.
First Alert sells directly against these models with a looser claim: "waterproof seal keeps contents dry even when safe is submerged", with no depth, no duration and no lab. We take that comparison apart in SentrySafe vs First Alert, which also covers the one thing First Alert does better here — bolting down without voiding the seal.
Common mistakes
- Reading "waterproof" as submersible. Most claims specify a depth and a duration. Check both against the floor the safe will stand on.
- Bolting down a safe whose water rating depends on an intact floor. Read the manual before you drill, not after.
- Standing it in a basement. That is the first place water collects. A ground-floor interior closet is usually better for a water-rated safe.
- Assuming a fire rating implies a water rating. They are separate claims, usually verified by different parties.
Read next
Two pages extend the water question:
- are gun safes waterproof — why almost no gun safe carries a water rating at all.
- cards and collectibles — where humidity, not flooding, is the damage you will actually see.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best waterproof home safe overall
Master Lock STW123GTCML
The strongest pair of verified claims here: UL Classified 2 hours at up to 1,850°F and an ETL-verified 8 inches of water for 24 hours, and Master Lock says it keeps both when bolted to the floor.
EvidenceResearched
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 10
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
- A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
- Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key; the key only adds a second lock
- 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML
Rank 2
Best capacity with a verified water rating
SentrySafe SFW205GQC
Two cubic feet behind a UL Classified 1-hour fire rating and an ETL-verified 8 inches of water for 24 hours, on six 1-inch bolts.
EvidenceResearched
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
- 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
- Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
- Interior light and bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
- Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
- No burglary rating and no override key
Skip this if…
…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC
Rank 3
Best verified pair at a lighter weight
SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Same UL hour and ETL water depth as its bigger sibling at 86.69 lb, but read the manual: SentrySafe says the ETL water claim applies before the bolt-down kit is installed.
EvidenceResearched
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
- Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
- The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
- Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program
Where it falls short
- Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
- No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out
Skip this if…
…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Rank 4
Best for a shelf or a cupboard
SentrySafe FPW082HTC
A UL Classified hour and an ETL-verified 5 inches of water for 24 hours in a 55-lb resin case, with an override key. The manual says not to bolt it to a wall.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (not a steel body) |
| Lock | Backlit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in bolts |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating) |
| Capacity | 0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 55 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 7.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 3.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
- Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
- ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
- 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe
Where it falls short
- Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
- Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC
Rank 5

Best flood-rated document chest
SentrySafe CFW20201
The longest water claim on the page: ETL-verified flood protection up to 72 hours, plus a UL Classified hour of fire. A privacy key lock, so it is not security.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
- ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
- Carry handle; about 20 lb
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
- Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201
Rank 6
Longest submersion claim, unverified
Honeywell 2605
Honeywell claims 8 hours submerged under 8 inches of water and names no lab. It also has the only motion and tilt alarm here.
EvidenceResearched
How the 5.4 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 5
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 4
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Emergency access keys, so a dead battery does not lock you out
- Mounting plate, bolt-down hardware and a motion/tilt alarm included
- 5-year limited warranty plus lifetime after-fire replacement
Where it falls short
- Fire and water ratings name no testing lab, so they score as maker claims
- Product page says 1,850°F; the manual says 1,550°F for the same 2-hour claim
- Not found on Amazon.com search; sold through the maker's store (plain reference link)
Skip this if…
…you want a fire rating a named lab (UL or Intertek) stands behind
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Honeywell 2605
How to buy a fireproof, waterproof home safe
1. Decide which water event you are planning for
Firefighting water and a burst pipe are shallow and short; a basement flood is deeper and longer. A claim of 8 inches for 24 hours covers the first two comfortably. For the third, put the safe upstairs instead of buying a bigger number.
2. Prefer a verified claim
An ETL-verified water claim and a UL Classified fire rating together are the strongest evidence available at this end of the market. Five of our six picks have the first; all but one have the second.
3. Read the bolt-down instructions before you buy
Decide now whether the safe will be anchored, because on some models that choice ends the water rating. If you want both, the Master Lock pick is the one that states it keeps both.
4. Size it to your documents, not to the room
Measure your deepest file, add a little, and shop the published interior figures rather than the cubic-foot number. Capacity here runs from 0.28 to 2 cubic feet.
5. Treat the lock as the weak point
Two of these use privacy key locks, which keep children and casual hands out and nothing more. Our electronic vs mechanical locks comparison covers the failure modes of the keypad models, and how to open a safe with a dead battery is worth reading before you rely on one.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked on who verified each water claim and on whether the maker's own installation instructions preserve it, after finding one manual that voids the water rating when the bolt-down kit is fitted.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are waterproof safes really waterproof?
Does bolting down a safe void the waterproof rating?
Do waterproof home safes also stop burglars?
Can I keep a hard drive in a fireproof waterproof safe?
Where should a waterproof safe go in the house?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- SentrySafe vs First AlertA depth and a duration against the word 'submerged'.
- Best fireproof home safesThe same registry ranked on who measured the fire rating.
- What to keep in a fireproof safeWhat survives a Class 350 rating and what does not.
- Best fireproof document safesChests and file boxes, including the 72-hour flood pick here.
- Safe fire ratings explainedReading the class, the time, the temperature and the tester.
- Where to put a safe in your houseWhy a water-rated safe should not live in the basement.
Receipts
Sources
- SentrySafe — STW123GTCML (Master Lock) product page, UL 2-hour fire and ETL water verification (checked 2026-10-10)
- SentrySafe — SFW123GDC product page, UL and ETL claims (checked 2026-10-10)
- SentrySafe — SFW123GDC owner's manual (PDF): bolt-down kit and water claim, ETL impact test (checked 2026-10-10)
- Honeywell Safes — 2605 steel waterproof safe product page, submersion claim (checked 2026-10-10)
- Intertek — ETL Verified mark: what a verified performance claim covers
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- FEMA — Emergency Financial First Aid Kit (EFFAK), document protection guidance (PDF)
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.