Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best "fireproof" document safes for papers you can't replace
A document chest has one job: keep paper below the temperature that ruins it, and keep water out afterward. We rank chests and file boxes on who verified both.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() SentrySafe CFW20201 A full hour at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified) and ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours, in a 20 lb chest with a carry handle. Privacy key lock only. | Best document chestFire chest | 6.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() SentrySafe FHW40100 Takes hanging file folders, with a UL-classified 30-minute rating at 1,550°F and ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. SentrySafe doesn't say whether letter or legal folders fit. | Best for hanging filesFire chest | 5.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() SentrySafe CHW20221 The same 0.28 cu ft chest as the CFW20201 with half the fire time (UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F) and the same ETL 72-hour flood rating: the entry point for passports and a backup drive. | Best grab-and-go chestFire chest | 5.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Honeywell 1103 Honeywell's manual names Underwriters Laboratories for the 30-minute, 1,550°F fire rating, but the water claim names no lab, and the page (100 hr) and manual (24 hr) disagree. | Best Honeywell chestFire chest | 4.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SentrySafe 1170 Hanging files and a UL-classified 30-minute rating, but no water rating at all: firehose water or a flood can still ruin what's inside. | Fire-only file boxFire chest | 4.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() SentrySafe FPW082HTC Scores higher than every chest here but is a small front-opening safe, not a chest, so we list it last as the step-up: UL 1 hr at 1,700°F, ETL water rating and a keypad with a real override key. | Step up: keypad with override keyFire chest | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a document chest actually protects
This page is for the passport, the birth certificate, the deed, the will and the insurance policy: papers that are slow or impossible to replace. The threats are fire and the water that follows it (a firehose, a burst pipe, a flooded basement). Theft is a different problem, and a chest barely touches it.
Every pick here is a fire chest in our tier system: it resists heat for its rated time, and its burglary resistance is minimal. SentrySafe describes the CFW20201's lock as a "privacy key lock" that "keeps unwanted viewers or children away from the contents" (SentrySafe). That's honest, and it's the right expectation for all six picks. If theft is your main worry, you need a bolted-down safe; see our best home safes.
Class 350 vs media ratings: what paper needs
UL 72, the standard behind credible fire ratings on record containers, names its classes for the maximum temperature the interior may reach. "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records." Class 150 covers "paper and nonpaper records such as EDP media (magnetic tapes) and photographic records," and Class 125 is "intended to also protect flexible computer disks" (UL Standards & Engagement). The hour or half-hour figure is how long the interior stayed under that limit in the furnace test.
SentrySafe's chest pages print a time and a furnace temperature ("UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for 1 hour in up to 1700°F" on the CFW20201), not a class name. For paper, the time is the number to compare: the CFW20201 is the only chest here rated for a full hour.
No pick in our registry carries a UL Class 150 or Class 125 media rating. SentrySafe's pages list USB drives, CDs and DVDs among the things its chests protect, and the FPW082HTC manual lists an ETL-verified "1 hour fire protection of CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives." The same manual says the safe is "not intended to protect magnetic media or photo negatives" (SentrySafe FPW manual). So keep film negatives, old tapes and irreplaceable photo prints in more than one place, and treat a backup drive in a chest as one copy, not the only one. Our guide to what to keep in a fire safe sorts papers from media.
Will letter and legal papers fit?
None of the makers states letter or legal fit for these chests. What they do publish is the interior, so here it is next to the paper. A US letter sheet is 8.5 x 11 in and a legal sheet is 8.5 x 14 in (PaperSizes.org).
| Pick | Interior (H x W x D) | Hanging files | Letter or legal fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| SentrySafe CFW20201 | 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in | No | Not stated |
| SentrySafe FHW40100 | 11.6 x 12 x 8.1 in | Yes (folder size not stated) | Not stated |
| SentrySafe CHW20221 | 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in | No | Not stated |
| Honeywell 1103 | 3.70 x 13.11 x 8.46 in | Not stated | Not stated |
| SentrySafe 1170 | 10.4 x 12 x 8.5 in | Yes (folder size not stated) | Not stated |
| SentrySafe FPW082HTC | 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in | Not stated | Not stated |
What the numbers suggest, before you measure your own papers:
- Legal size won't lie flat in any of them. No published interior reaches 14 in in any direction, so legal papers would have to be folded.
- Letter size is tight in the flat chests. The SentrySafe chests' 8.5 in depth matches a letter sheet's width exactly, with no clearance, and the Honeywell's 8.46 in is a hair short. Expect to curl or fold thick stacks.
- The file boxes are 12 in wide. That clears an 11 in letter sheet, but hanging-folder hooks add width and SentrySafe doesn't state a folder size, so test one of your folders against the interior.
- The FPW082HTC has the most room around a flat letter sheet (12.4 x 11.5 in floor), which is one reason it's here as the step-up.
Key lock or keypad?
The five chests and file boxes use simple key locks: tubular keys on the CFW20201 and CHW20221, privacy key locks on the FHW40100 and 1170, and a privacy key with compression latches on the Honeywell 1103. A key lock has no batteries to fail, which suits something you might open once a year. The risk is the key itself: SentrySafe's chest manual warns that keys "could potentially be locked inside unit" (SentrySafe chest manual).
The FPW082HTC swaps the key for a backlit keypad with a motor-driven lock, and keeps a genuine override key for a dead battery or a forgotten code. That's more convenient day to day, and neither lock type turns a chest into a burglary safe. Our electronic vs mechanical lock guide covers the trade-offs in more depth.
How we ranked these document safes
We haven't bought, opened or burned any of these chests. All six are scored on the same fire and home-safe rubric published on how we rate, so their scores are comparable: 35% fire-rating evidence, 15% water-rating evidence, 20% burglary resistance, 15% lock and entry, 10% capacity and fit (including whether letter or legal fit is published), and 5% support.
The CFW20201 leads because it's the only chest with a full-hour UL rating plus an ETL flood rating. The FHW40100 is second for hanging files. The Honeywell 1103 ranks below the SentrySafe chests because its water claim names no lab and its own page and manual disagree on the hours. The 1170 has no water rating at all. The FPW082HTC outscores every chest, but this page is for chests and file boxes, so it sits last as the step-up; it also appears on our fire safe rankings.
Brand matters less than the evidence line, but if you're weighing the two names on this page, our SentrySafe vs Honeywell comparison sets their listings and water claims side by side. We also searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-19 and found no recall for SentrySafe or Honeywell safes or chests; the Honeywell-branded recalls in the search covered heaters, humidifiers and fire-alarm equipment. Each product card shows its dated recall check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest document chest
SentrySafe CFW20201
A full hour at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified) and ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours, in a 20 lb chest with a carry handle. Privacy key lock only.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
- ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
- Carry handle; about 20 lb
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
- Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for hanging files
SentrySafe FHW40100
Takes hanging file folders, with a UL-classified 30-minute rating at 1,550°F and ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. SentrySafe doesn't say whether letter or legal folders fit.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Privacy key lock |
| Capacity | 0.66 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 11.6 x 12 x 8.1 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 14.1 x 16.6 x 13.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 41 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.7 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Holds hanging file folders, so records stay organized
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating
- Carrying handle for moving the file out quickly
Where it falls short
- 30-minute fire rating
- Privacy key lock only; no burglary resistance
- SentrySafe does not state letter or legal folder fit; the interior is 12 in wide
Skip this if…
…your records are legal-size and you have not confirmed they fit a 12 in wide interior
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FHW40100
Rank 3
Stock photoBest grab-and-go chest
SentrySafe CHW20221
The same 0.28 cu ft chest as the CFW20201 with half the fire time (UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F) and the same ETL 72-hour flood rating: the entry point for passports and a backup drive.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock to keep children and unwanted viewers out |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20.4 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating, both named on the maker's page
- Carry handle and in-lid organizer for a grab-and-go document kit
- About 20 lb, so it goes under a bed or on a closet shelf
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: a thief can carry the whole chest away
- 30-minute fire rating, half the time of a 1-hour chest
- Letter or legal paper fit is not stated by the maker (interior is 12.8 x 8.5 in)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from theft or room for hanging file folders
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CHW20221
Rank 4
Stock photoBest Honeywell chest
Honeywell 1103
Honeywell's manual names Underwriters Laboratories for the 30-minute, 1,550°F fire rating, but the water claim names no lab, and the page (100 hr) and manual (24 hr) disagree.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 4.9 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 4.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Manual names Underwriters Laboratories as the fire tester
- Compression latches for a tighter water seal
- 5-year limited warranty, longer than SentrySafe's one year on chests
Where it falls short
- Water rating names no lab, and the page (100 hr) and manual (24 hr) disagree
- Privacy lock only; no burglary resistance
- Small 0.24 cu ft interior
Skip this if…
…you want a lab-verified water rating; SentrySafe's chests name ETL for theirs
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Honeywell 1103
Rank 5
Stock photoFire-only file box
SentrySafe 1170
Hanging files and a UL-classified 30-minute rating, but no water rating at all: firehose water or a flood can still ruin what's inside.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: maker says these safes "provide basic protection and are not intended for tool attacks" |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | None (maker lists fire and security only) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Privacy key lock |
| Capacity | 0.61 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 10.4 x 12 x 8.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.6 x 15.3 x 12.1 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 27.99 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 4.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 30-minute fire rating at an entry-level size
- Takes hanging file folders
- About 28 lb, easy to place
Where it falls short
- No water rating: firefighting water or a flood can still ruin the contents
- Maker says it is not intended for tool attacks
- 30-minute rating only
Skip this if…
…your home is in a flood-prone area or you want protection from firehose water
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe 1170
Rank 6
Stock photoStep up: keypad with override key
SentrySafe FPW082HTC
Scores higher than every chest here but is a small front-opening safe, not a chest, so we list it last as the step-up: UL 1 hr at 1,700°F, ETL water rating and a keypad with a real override key.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (not a steel body) |
| Lock | Backlit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in bolts |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating) |
| Capacity | 0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 55 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 7.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 3.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
- Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
- ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
- 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe
Where it falls short
- Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
- Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC
What to look for in a document safe
- "UL Classified" and a time. A named lab plus a half-hour or hour rating. For paper, longer is better; the CFW20201's hour doubles the 30 minutes of most chests here.
- A flood or water rating someone verified. ETL (Intertek) verification on the CFW20201, CHW20221 and FHW40100 covers up to 72 hours of flood protection. The 1170 has none.
- An interior that fits your papers flat. Measure your largest document and compare it with the table above.
- A lock you'll manage. Keys never need batteries; keypads need a backup entry, which the FPW082HTC has.
- A handle, if you'd grab it in an evacuation. The CFW20201, CHW20221 and FHW40100 have one.
Which chest fits your papers
- A small set of originals (passports, birth and marriage certificates, a deed): the CFW20201. Its 4.4 in deep interior is shallow, so it suits a flat stack rather than folders, and the hour-long rating is the most fire time in a chest here.
- Records you file and refer to (tax years, medical, estate papers): the FHW40100, which takes hanging folders in an 11.6 in tall interior.
- A grab-and-go kit on a tighter budget: the CHW20221, the same chest body as the CFW20201 with a 30-minute rating.
- You'd rather have Honeywell's longer warranty: the 1103, knowing its water claim is the maker's own.
- Hanging files in a home where water isn't a concern: the 1170. Anywhere near a basement, choose the FHW40100 instead.
- You want a keypad, more room around a flat sheet and a bolt-down option: the FPW082HTC.
When to step up from a chest to a fire safe
A chest is the right tool when the goal is fire and flood protection for papers you could carry out the door. It stops being enough when you need more room, a lock that doesn't depend on one key, or an anchor. The FPW082HTC is the smallest step up: a 0.81 cu ft front-opening safe with a keypad, an override key and a bolt-down kit, though its manual says it should not be bolted to a wall because that "will compromise the fire rating." It's still resin-cased, so it's a fire box, not a burglary safe. Larger steel fire safes, and the one pick with a burglary rating as well, are on our fire safe rankings.
Warranties and after-fire replacement
The SentrySafe chests and file boxes (CFW20201, CHW20221, FHW40100 and 1170) carry a limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus SentrySafe's Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program. Honeywell backs the 1103 with a 5-year limited warranty and a lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee, the longest manufacturing warranty among these picks. Whichever you buy, register it as the maker directs, and keep proof of purchase somewhere other than the chest.
Keeping papers dry inside the chest
Fire insulation can work against you on an ordinary day. SentrySafe's manuals say its fire-protective insulation "has a high moisture content" and that its water-resistant models close airtight, so moisture can build up inside. The maker's advice: leave the included desiccant packet in, open the unit every two weeks, and put delicate items such as stamps or photos in an airtight container first.
Keep copies somewhere else
A chest protects the original piece of paper. It doesn't protect the information if the chest is lost, carried off or opened after a fire longer than its rating. Scan or photograph the documents inside, keep that copy somewhere other than the house, and keep a short list of what's in the chest with it. If you ever need to replace a passport or make an insurance claim, that list is where you'll start.
Where to keep a document chest
SentrySafe's chest manual says: "To assure that the unit will perform properly in case of a fire, store it closed and locked, with the feet down." Keep the chest somewhere you could reach it on the way out, and out of sight: a 20 lb chest with a handle is as easy for a burglar to carry as it is for you. If theft is a concern, move the most valuable contents to a bolted-down safe, or weigh keeping rarely needed originals in a bank box. Our home safe vs safe deposit box comparison covers which papers belong where.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a fire-only box (like the 1170) for a basement or a flood-prone area.
- Storing film negatives or tapes in a chest built around paper.
- Locking the only key inside, or keeping it on a ring that's lost in the same fire.
- Assuming a privacy lock stops theft. It keeps children and casual snoops out, and that's all.
- Folding legal papers you'll need unfolded later, when a larger box would have fit them.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What documents should I keep in a fire safe?
Will legal-size papers fit in a "fireproof" document box?
Can I store USB drives or photos in a document safe?
Is a "fireproof" lock box enough, or do I need a safe?
Do document chests need to be bolted down?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- What to keep in a fire safeWhich papers go in the chest and which belong elsewhere.
- Best "fireproof" home safesLarger fire safes, including one that stays water-rated when bolted down.
- Safe fire ratings explainedUL 72 classes, and why paper and media need different limits.
- Home safe vs safe deposit boxWhich documents to keep at home and which at the bank.
- Best home safesWhen theft matters too: safes ranked by the threat they stop.
Receipts
Sources
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- PaperSizes.org — US paper sizes (Letter and Legal)
- SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page
- SentrySafe — fire-resistant chests & files manual P44679
- SentrySafe — FPW082HTC owner's manual P71885
- SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (moisture and desiccant guidance)
- Honeywell Safes — waterproof fire chest manual (1101-1108)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-19)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.