Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Home & Fire Safes · The rankings

Best "fireproof" home safes: whose fire rating can you trust?

Every fire safe has a limit. The useful question is who measured it: UL, Intertek, or only the maker. We rank home fire safes by the answer.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Master Lock STW123GTCML

The longest UL fire classification on this page (2 hr at 1,850°F), ETL-verified water resistance (8 in for 24 hr), and the maker says both hold when it's bolted to the floor.

Best fire safe overallFire chest8.0 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
SentrySafe SFW205GQC

More room (2 cu ft) with a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F rating and ETL-verified water resistance. The manual says the water rating stops applying once it's bolted down.

Best large fire and water safeFire chest7.5 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
SentrySafe SFW123GDC

1.23 cu ft, UL-classified for 1 hr at 1,700°F and ETL-verified against 8 in of water for 24 hr. Same outside dimensions as the Master Lock, with half its rated fire time.

Best mid-size fire and water safeFire chest7.5 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: an electronic safe door with a keypad and a key in the lock
AMSEC BF1512

A fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F) plus a UL RSC Level I burglary rating, in a 288 lb body. No water rating, and it's sold through AMSEC dealers.

Best fire safe that's also burglary-ratedUL RSC7.1 /10See at maker
5
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
SentrySafe FPW082HTC

UL-classified for 1 hr at 1,700°F in a 55 lb resin-cased body, with ETL-verified water resistance (5 in for 24 hr) and a real override key. It's a fire box, not a theft deterrent.

Best compact fire safe with an override keyFire chest7.1 /10Check price · Amazon
6
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Honeywell 2605

Listed for contrast: a steel safe with emergency keys and a motion/tilt alarm, but its 2-hour fire claim names no lab, and the product page and manual give different test temperatures.

Maker's fire claim, no named labFire chest5.4 /10See at maker

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Firefighters working to put out a house fire
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

This page is for the reader whose main worry is a house fire: passports, deeds, wills, backup drives and family papers that can't be replaced. It ranks larger fire safes. If you need a small chest or file box instead, see our document safe picks.

Who stands behind the fire rating

Fire claims on home safes come in three kinds, and they don't carry the same weight.

  • UL Classified. UL ran the fire test (or a lab UL recognizes did) under UL 72. SentrySafe and Master Lock print this as "UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for 1 hour in up to 1700°F" or similar. Five of the six picks here carry a UL fire rating, per their makers.
  • ETL Verified. Intertek, which issues the ETL mark, checked a specific performance claim. Intertek calls its ETL Verified mark "a symbol of performance integrity of the products that bear the mark" (Intertek). On these safes it usually backs the water rating, a drop test or a data-media claim, not the main fire rating.
  • Maker claim. The maker states a time and temperature without naming a lab. Honeywell's 2605 page promises "2 Hour Verified fire protection" but doesn't say who verified it. We score claims like that well below a UL classification.
EvidenceMaster Lock STW123GTCMLSentrySafe SFW205GQCSentrySafe SFW123GDCAMSEC BF1512SentrySafe FPW082HTC
TierFire chestFire chestFire chestUL RSCFire chest
Fire ratingUL Classified: 2 hr at up to 1,850°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL 60 min at 1,700°F (maker says "independently tested by UL")UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)
Water ratingETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)
Burglary ratingNot stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)UL RSC Level I security rating (per maker)Not stated by the maker
Backup entryNone: the manual says the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"None: the manual says the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"None: the manual says the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"; batteries (4 AAA) load from the outside keypadOverride key
Bolt-downBolt-down hardware included; maker says it maintains fire and water protection when bolted down (floor only, per manual)Bolt-down hardware included; the manual says the ETL water claim applies only before the bolt-down kit is installedBolt-down hardware included; the manual says the ETL water claim applies only before the bolt-down kit is installed1 recessed anchor bolt hole; mounting hardware providedBolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating)
Capacity1.19 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)2 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)1.23 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)Interior 15 x 12 x 13 in (H x W x D)0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D)
Weight128.2 lb124.8 lb86.69 lb288 lb55 lb
Score8.0/107.5/107.5/107.1/107.1/10
Each cell links to its source. A dash means the maker doesn't publish that figure.

UL 72 classes in plain English

UL 72 is the standard behind most credible fire ratings on record safes. Its classes are named for the highest temperature the inside may reach during the test, and each class matches a kind of record (UL Standards & Engagement):

  • Class 350: "intended to protect paper records."
  • Class 150: "intended to protect paper and nonpaper records such as EDP media (magnetic tapes) and photographic records."
  • Class 125: "intended to also protect flexible computer disks."

The time rating (1/2 hour, 1 hour, 2 hours) is how long the interior stayed under the class limit in the furnace. The tests also include an explosion test and, for impact-rated equipment, a fire-and-impact test with a 30 ft drop.

Consumer fire safes rarely print the class name. SentrySafe's product pages give an hour and a furnace temperature; its SFW owner's manual adds that for the hour, "the safe interior will remain below 350°F," the paper threshold behind Class 350 (SentrySafe manual). That's why this page treats these safes as paper-first protection. Drop claims also vary by document: the SFW manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft drop after heating, Master Lock's STW manual lists 30 ft, and the STW product page separately describes a UL-classified impact rating "from up to 15 feet." Our fire ratings explainer goes deeper on classes and hours.

Water ratings, and the bolt-down catch

Fires are put out with water, and basements flood. That's why the water line matters. The SentrySafe and Master Lock picks carry ETL-verified water ratings: 8 in of water for up to 24 hours on the SFW123GDC, SFW205GQC and STW123GTCML, and 5 in for 24 hours on the FPW082HTC. Honeywell claims 8 hours under 8 in of water for the 2605, again with no lab named. The AMSEC BF1512 has no water rating.

Here's the catch. SentrySafe's SFW manual says: "Product is not water resistant once it is bolted down. The ETL verified water resistance claim applies to product prior to the application of a bolt-down kit." Master Lock says the opposite about the STW123GTCML, whose bolt-down hardware secures it "while maintaining fire and water protection" (Master Lock). If you want a fire safe that's anchored and still water-rated, that difference decides it.

Sizes and weights

PickCapacity (maker-stated)Interior (H x W x D)Weight
Master Lock STW123GTCML1.19 cu ft13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in128.2 lb
SentrySafe SFW205GQC2 cu ft19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in124.8 lb
SentrySafe SFW123GDC1.23 cu ft13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in86.69 lb
AMSEC BF1512Not stated in cu ft15 x 12 x 13 in288 lb
SentrySafe FPW082HTC0.81 cu ft9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in55 lb
Honeywell 26050.90 cu ft12.7 x 9.8 x 12.4 in109.2 lb

The Master Lock and the SFW123GDC share the same interior dimensions; the Master Lock is about 40 lb heavier and rated for twice as long. The SFW205GQC is the only pick here with room for a tall stack of folders. The FPW082HTC is light enough for a closet shelf, which also makes it easy to carry off.

How we ranked these fire safes

We haven't bought, opened or burned any of these safes. Every pick is scored on the fire and home-safe rubric published on how we rate: 35% fire-rating evidence (who tested, class and time), 15% water-rating evidence, 20% burglary resistance, 15% lock and entry, 10% capacity and fit, 5% support. All six share that rubric, so their scores are comparable.

The Master Lock leads on the longest UL fire rating and a water rating that survives the bolt-down. The two SFW safes tie on score; the larger SFW205GQC ranks first because this page is for households with more to protect. The AMSEC BF1512 is the only pick with a UL burglary rating as well, but it ranks fourth on a fire-first list because it has no water rating and a shorter fire rating than the Master Lock. The Honeywell ranks last because no lab is named for its fire or water claims, and its own documents disagree on the test temperature.

We also searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-19. We found no recall for SentrySafe, Master Lock, AMSEC or Honeywell safes; the Honeywell-branded recalls in the search covered heaters, humidifiers and fire-alarm equipment, and the Master Lock recall covered gun locks. Each product card shows its dated recall check.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best fire safe overall

Master Lock STW123GTCML

Fire chest8.0 /10

The longest UL fire classification on this page (2 hr at 1,850°F), ETL-verified water resistance (8 in for 24 hr), and the maker says both hold when it's bolted to the floor.

How the 8.0 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
10
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
  • A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
  • Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
  • Limited lifetime warranty

Where it falls short

  • No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key; the key only adds a second lock
  • 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery

Skip this if…

you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best large fire and water safe

SentrySafe SFW205GQC

Fire chest7.5 /10

More room (2 cu ft) with a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F rating and ETL-verified water resistance. The manual says the water rating stops applying once it's bolted down.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
  • 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
  • Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
  • Interior light and bolt-down hardware included

Where it falls short

  • The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
  • Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
  • No burglary rating and no override key

Skip this if…

you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best mid-size fire and water safe

SentrySafe SFW123GDC

Fire chest7.5 /10

1.23 cu ft, UL-classified for 1 hr at 1,700°F and ETL-verified against 8 in of water for 24 hr. Same outside dimensions as the Master Lock, with half its rated fire time.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
  • Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
  • The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
  • Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program

Where it falls short

  • Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
  • No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out

Skip this if…

you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: an electronic safe door with a keypad and a key in the lockStock photo

Best fire safe that's also burglary-rated

AMSEC BF1512

UL RSC7.1 /10

A fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F) plus a UL RSC Level I burglary rating, in a 288 lb body. No water rating, and it's sold through AMSEC dealers.

How the 7.1 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
0
Burglary resistance (20%)
9
Lock & entry (15%)
7.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • UL RSC Level I burglary rating plus a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F
  • 1/2 in solid steel plate door with a full-length dead bar
  • Made in the USA with a choice of mechanical or electronic lock

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (plain reference link)
  • 288 lb for a small 15 x 12 x 13 in interior
  • No water rating

Skip this if…

you want an Amazon purchase or need more than a small interior

See it at American Security (maker's site)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best compact fire safe with an override key

SentrySafe FPW082HTC

Fire chest7.1 /10

UL-classified for 1 hr at 1,700°F in a 55 lb resin-cased body, with ETL-verified water resistance (5 in for 24 hr) and a real override key. It's a fire box, not a theft deterrent.

How the 7.1 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
7.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
3.5
Lock & entry (15%)
7
Capacity & fit (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
  • Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
  • ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
  • 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe

Where it falls short

  • Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
  • Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
  • One-year manufacturing warranty

Skip this if…

theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC

Rank 6

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Maker's fire claim, no named lab

Honeywell 2605

Fire chest5.4 /10

Listed for contrast: a steel safe with emergency keys and a motion/tilt alarm, but its 2-hour fire claim names no lab, and the product page and manual give different test temperatures.

How the 5.4 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
5
Water rating evidence (15%)
4
Burglary resistance (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
6.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
5.5

What the evidence supports

  • Emergency access keys, so a dead battery does not lock you out
  • Mounting plate, bolt-down hardware and a motion/tilt alarm included
  • 5-year limited warranty plus lifetime after-fire replacement

Where it falls short

  • Fire and water ratings name no testing lab, so they score as maker claims
  • Product page says 1,850°F; the manual says 1,550°F for the same 2-hour claim
  • Not found on Amazon.com search; sold through the maker's store (plain reference link)

Skip this if…

you want a fire rating a named lab (UL or Intertek) stands behind

See it at Honeywell Safes (maker's site)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

What to look for in a fire safe

  1. A named lab and a time. "UL Classified ... 1 hour" or a UL 72 class tells you who ran the test. A time and temperature with no lab is a maker claim.
  2. The interior limit for what you store. Paper records need Class 350-level protection; magnetic media and photographic records need Class 150 or 125, which none of these picks claims.
  3. Separate water and impact claims. Check who verified each and what the manual says about bolting down.
  4. Backup entry. The FPW082HTC and Honeywell 2605 come with override or emergency keys. On the SFW and STW safes, the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key," so a keypad fault can lock you out. Our lock explainer weighs keypads against dials.
  5. Interior dimensions that fit your papers. Use the table above, and measure your folders.

Which size fits what you're protecting

  • Passports, a few certificates and a backup drive: the 0.81 cu ft FPW082HTC. Its 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in interior is the smallest here, and at 55 lb it's the lightest.
  • A household's core papers in folders, plus drives: the 1.19 cu ft Master Lock STW123GTCML or the 1.23 cu ft SentrySafe SFW123GDC, which share a 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in interior. Choose the Master Lock for the 2-hour rating and the bolt-down water guarantee, the SentrySafe for the lighter weight.
  • Several years of records, or papers for more than one household: the 2 cu ft SFW205GQC, whose 19.6 in interior height takes a taller stack.
  • Papers plus valuables a burglar would want: the AMSEC BF1512, the only pick with a burglary rating, sold through dealers.

Locks and backup entry on fire safes

A fire safe you can't open is a problem on an ordinary Tuesday, not just after a fire. The SentrySafe SFW123GDC uses a keypad with a programmable 5-digit code, and SentrySafe notes its 4 AAA batteries load from the outside keypad. The Master Lock STW123GTCML uses a similar 5-digit keypad. On both, and on the SFW205GQC, the included key only adds a second lock; it won't open the safe if the keypad fails.

The FPW082HTC is different: a backlit keypad with a lithium battery the maker rates for five-plus years, and a true override key. Honeywell's 2605 includes two emergency access keys and adds a motion and tilt alarm. The AMSEC BF1512 ships with a mechanical key-locking dial as standard, with electronic lock options, so there's no battery to plan around unless you choose one.

After a fire: warranties and replacement

If a rated safe goes through a fire, several makers will replace it. SentrySafe lists a Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program for the SFW models (its manual says to register within 30 days of purchase) and for the FPW082HTC, alongside a one-year manufacturing warranty on the FPW. Master Lock gives the STW123GTCML a limited lifetime warranty against defects. Honeywell pairs a 5-year limited warranty with a lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee on the 2605, and AMSEC lists a lifetime fire replacement warranty on the BF1512. Register the safe when it arrives, and keep the receipt somewhere other than the safe.

What a fire safe won't do

  • Stop a burglar with tools. Only the AMSEC BF1512 here carries a UL burglary rating. The others describe bolts, steel and hinge bars, which is the maker's language, not a rating.
  • Protect everything equally. SentrySafe's manuals say not to store pearls, because damage to them "occurs at temperatures much lower than the 350°F" interior limit, and the FPW082HTC manual says it is "not intended to protect magnetic media or photo negatives" (SentrySafe FPW manual). Its ETL-verified "data protection" covers CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives.
  • Store firearms. SentrySafe's fire-safe manuals list firearms, other weapons, combustible materials and medication as items that "should NOT be stored in this unit."
  • Stay dry inside on its own. SentrySafe says its insulation "has a high moisture content" and asks owners to keep the desiccant packet in and open the safe every two weeks.

Placement and installation

Bolt through the feet into the floor, following the manual. SentrySafe and Master Lock both warn that the safe "should not be bolted to a wall, this will compromise the fire rating" (Master Lock manual), and the FPW082HTC manual says the same. Weigh that against the SFW water caveat above before you drill.

SentrySafe suggests closets, offices, basements and bedrooms "out of direct line of sight from prying eyes." If the safe goes in a basement, favor a water rating that holds after bolting down. Our guide to where to put a safe in your house covers rooms and floors.

Common fire-safe mistakes

  • Buying on the word "fireproof" instead of a named lab and a time.
  • Bolting down a SentrySafe SFW safe and assuming the water rating still applies.
  • Storing negatives, tapes or old disks in a safe built around a 350°F interior limit.
  • Throwing away the desiccant packet, then finding damp papers a year later.
  • Leaving the door open or unlatched day to day. SentrySafe's chest manual says to store units "closed and locked" so they perform properly in a fire.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are "fireproof" safes really "fireproof"?
No. A fire-resistant safe keeps its interior below a set temperature for a rated time in a standardized furnace test, such as 1 hour below 350°F for paper. Past that, protection isn't promised. Our explainer on what "fireproof" really means covers the limits.
How long does a "fireproof" safe last in a fire?
As long as its rating says, under test conditions: 30 minutes, 1 hour or 2 hours for the safes on this page. A real fire isn't a furnace test, so a longer UL rating, like the Master Lock's 2 hours, gives you more margin than a shorter one.
Is fire resistant the same as "fireproof"?
In practice, fire-resistant is the honest term. Makers and shoppers say "fireproof," but every rating has a time and temperature limit, and only a named lab like UL or Intertek makes that limit more than a claim.
Do "fireproof" safes need to be bolted down?
Bolting down stops someone carrying the safe away, but read the manual first. SentrySafe says its SFW safes lose the ETL water rating once bolted down, while Master Lock says the STW123GTCML keeps its fire and water protection. Bolt through the feet into the floor, never into a wall.
Can I keep USB drives and photos in a fire safe?
SentrySafe's manuals list ETL-verified protection for CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives on these models, but they say the safes aren't intended for magnetic media or photo negatives. None of our picks claims a UL Class 150 or 125 media rating, so keep copies of irreplaceable photos elsewhere too.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  2. Intertek — ETL Verified Mark
  3. SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (SFW123GDC, SFW205GQC)
  4. SentrySafe — FPW082HTC owner's manual P71885
  5. SentrySafe — fire-resistant chests & files manual P44679
  6. Master Lock — STW123GTCML product page
  7. Master Lock — STW123GTCML owner's manual P74055
  8. Honeywell Safes — 2605 product page
  9. Honeywell Safes — 2605/2607/2609 owner's manual
  10. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-19)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Home & Fire Safes