Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Home & Fire Safes · Head to head

SentrySafe vs First Alert: same claims, very different paperwork

Both brands sell keypad fire-and-water safes at similar money, and both print an hour at 1,700°F. Only one of them tells you who measured it, and only one of them survives bolting down with its water claim intact.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • SentrySafeNo image

    Best evidence, mid size

    SentrySafe SFW123GDC

    Fire chest7.5 /10

    UL Classified for 1 hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified to 8 inches of water for 24 hours, with a documented 15-foot fire-impact drop. 1.23 cu ft at 86.69 lb.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC

  • SentrySafeNo image

    Best evidence, larger

    SentrySafe SFW205GQC

    Fire chest7.5 /10

    The same UL hour and ETL water depth in 2 cu ft on six 1-inch bolts, with the interior and exterior dimensions published so you can plan a cupboard around it.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC

  • First AlertNo image

    Most capacity for the money

    First Alert 2096DF

    Fire chest4.9 /10

    2.1 cu ft listed at $499 on First Alert's own store, with a shelf, key rack and door pocket. Its title says UL; its description states the hour without naming a lab.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to First Alert 2096DF

  • First AlertNo image

    Best if it has to be bolted down

    First Alert 2092DF-BD

    Fire chest4.4 /10

    1.3 cu ft at $379 with the bolt-down designed in, and the maker says the seal still works bolted down. The fire claim names no lab at all.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to First Alert 2092DF-BD

A stack of black ring binders with colored labels
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

These two brands sit on the same shelf, at the same money, selling what looks like the same product: a steel or resin-cased box with a keypad, an hour of fire protection at 1,700°F and a waterproof seal. Buyers flip a coin or go on looks. The difference is not in the headline numbers, which are nearly identical. It is in what sits behind them.

Everything below comes from the two brands' own product pages and owner's manuals, the published standards and the CPSC recall record, linked where it is used and checked 2026-10-12. We do not test safes, so the question we can answer is the one that decides these purchases anyway: which claims has somebody outside the company checked?

The verdict

What each brand actually sells right now

First Alert's safes collection runs from small push-button chests up to the 2.1 cu ft 2096DF, with mechanical and digital versions of several models and a bolt-down variant of others. We checked availability before writing: the two models on this page are shown available on the brand's own store at $499.00 and $379.00 respectively on 2026-10-12. SentrySafe sells the SFW-series steel fire-and-water safes alongside the resin document chests we cover in best fireproof document safes.

We paired the models by what a buyer would actually cross-shop: the 1.23 cu ft SFW123GDC against the 1.3 cu ft 2092DF-BD, and the 2 cu ft SFW205GQC against the 2.1 cu ft 2096DF. Same job, same rough size, same bracket.

The claims side by side

EvidenceSentrySafe SFW123GDCSentrySafe SFW205GQCFirst Alert 2096DFFirst Alert 2092DF-BD
TierFire chestFire chestFire chestFire chest
Fire ratingUL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)Maker's product title: "UL Fire Rated 60 minutes at 1700°F/927°C". The description on the same page says only "Protects contents from fire in temperatures up to 1,700 degrees F for up to 1 hour", with no lab named and no UL class statedManufacturer claim: "Fire-resistant design withstands temperatures of up to 1,700 degrees F for up to 1 hour" (no testing lab named on the product page)
Water ratingETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)Manufacturer claim: "Waterproof seal keep contents dry even when fully submerged" (no depth, duration or lab stated)Manufacturer claim: "Waterproof seal keeps contents dry even when safe is submerged" (no depth, duration or lab stated)
Burglary ratingNot stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)
LockBattery-powered digital keypad (programmable 5-digit code) plus dual key; four 1 in boltsSpec table: digital; six 1 in bolts (the page overview separately mentions a combination dial)Digital lock (maker calls it a "Ready-Seal safe"); bolt count not publishedDigital electronic lock (maker calls it a "Ready-Seal digital safe"); bolt count not published
Bolt-downBolt-down hardware included; the manual says the ETL water claim applies only before the bolt-down kit is installedBolt-down hardware included; the manual says the ETL water claim applies only before the bolt-down kit is installedMaker says it "protects valuables from fire, water, and theft even when bolted down"; no bolt-down kit is named on the pageBolt-down feature; the maker says the safe "protects valuables from fire, water and theft even when bolted down"
Capacity1.23 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)2 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)2.1 cu ft (maker-stated), with an adjustable shelf, hanging key rack and door pocket. Interior dimensions not published1.3 cu ft (maker-stated; the product title says 1.32 cu ft). Interior dimensions not published
Exterior dimensions17.8 x 16.3 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)23.8 x 18.6 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)Not published on the maker's product pageNot published on the maker's product page
Weight86.69 lb124.8 lbNot published on the maker's product pageNot published on the maker's product page
Score7.5/107.5/104.9/104.4/10
Every value links to the maker page or owner's manual it came from. A dash means the maker does not publish that figure on the listing we checked.

Read the dashes as part of the comparison. Four rows that SentrySafe fills in — exterior dimensions, interior dimensions, weight and bolt count — are blank on both First Alert listings. That is not a trivial omission if the safe has to go inside a cupboard or get carried up a flight of stairs.

Who measured the fire rating

Both brands claim an hour at 1,700°F. Here is the exact wording, which is the whole story:

  • SentrySafe SFW123GDC and SFW205GQC: "UL Classified" for 1 hour at up to 1,700°F, stated on each product page. Under UL 72, the standard for fire resistance of record protection equipment, a classification means the device held its interior below the class limit for the stated time in a furnace at the stated temperature.
  • First Alert 2092DF-BD: "Fire-resistant design withstands temperatures of up to 1,700 degrees F for up to 1 hour." No lab, no classification, no class number anywhere on the page.
  • First Alert 2096DF: the product title reads "UL Fire Rated 60 minutes at 1700°F/927°C" — and then the description on the same page says only "Protects contents from fire in temperatures up to 1,700 degrees F for up to 1 hour," with no lab named.

We treat both First Alert models as manufacturer fire claims rather than independently verified ratings, because a lab named in a product title and absent from the body copy is not the same evidence as a stated classification. That is the same standard we applied to Honeywell in SentrySafe vs Honeywell, and our safe fire ratings explained guide sets out how to read any of these labels. If you want the decision rule in one line: a verified half hour beats an unverified two hours.

The water claim is where they really split

This matters more than buyers expect, because the water usually arrives after the fire does: a single attack line puts out well over a hundred gallons a minute, and anything that survives the heat then sits in it. Our waterproof home safes roundup ranks this category on exactly that question and explains how the three shapes of water claim compare.

Bolting down: First Alert's one clear win

Here the paperwork runs the other way, and it is worth being fair about it. SentrySafe ships bolt-down hardware with the SFW safes, but its owner's manual states that the ETL-verified water claim applies before the bolt-down kit is installed — the kit puts a hole through the floor of the safe. So on a SentrySafe you are choosing between the anchor and the water rating.

First Alert states the opposite: the Ready-Seal design "protects valuables from fire, water and theft even when bolted down," and the 2092DF-BD has the bolt-down feature in its product name rather than as an accessory. If your situation is "this has to be anchored and I still want the seal," First Alert has the better answer on paper. Two caveats: the claim is the maker's own, like the rest of its claims, and the 2096DF repeats the "even when bolted down" wording without naming a bolt-down kit on the page at all.

Either way, anchoring is what stops a 90-pound box walking out of the house, which is the realistic theft scenario for every safe on this page. Our bolt-down guide covers doing it without compromising a fire rating, and where to put a safe in your house covers choosing the spot first.

What each brand publishes about its own product

We score support and transparency in every rubric at how we rate, and this comparison is a clean illustration of why. SentrySafe publishes, per model: the UL classification, the ETL water verification, interior and exterior dimensions, weight, the number and diameter of locking bolts, and a manual that is specific enough to contradict the marketing (it tells you the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"). First Alert publishes the capacity, the hour, the seal, the hinges and a price — and, on these two listings, nothing else.

Note what SentrySafe's transparency costs it: that override-key disclosure is a genuine mark against the SFW safes, because a keypad fault can strand you outside your own documents. We would rather know. If that risk is your main worry, read how to open a safe with a dead battery and best fireproof safes with a keypad before you choose either brand.

Neither of these is a burglary safe

Not one model here states a UL Residential Security Container listing. Both brands talk about concealed, pry-resistant hinges, which is a real design feature and not a rating. For context: an RSC listing at Level 1 means the design resisted a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools, explained in our UL RSC rating explained guide, and the distinction between the two kinds of label is the subject of fire rating vs burglary rating.

If burglary is the threat you are buying against, neither brand is the answer: our best home safes roundup sorts the category by the threat each safe's evidence shows it stops, and the two home safes in our registry with a stated UL RSC listing are both from other makers.

The recall record

We run a dated CPSC search per brand and print it on every product card. For First Alert, the recalls on CPSC's manufacturer page cover fire extinguishers (2000), safety gates (1997) and smoke alarms (2006) — we found no recall affecting First Alert safes. For SentrySafe, our CPSC recall search found no recall for its fire, water or security safes. Both brands are clean on safes, and we are not going to imply otherwise from recalls on unrelated products.

Which should you buy?

  1. Documents you cannot replace, safe stays unbolted: SentrySafe SFW123GDC. The UL hour, the ETL water depth and the documented impact drop are the strongest evidence in this bracket.
  2. The safe must be anchored: First Alert 2092DF-BD, on the maker's own statement that the seal survives bolting down, with the caveat that no lab is named for any of its claims.
  3. You need the most room: First Alert 2096DF at 2.1 cu ft, or the SentrySafe SFW205GQC at 2 cu ft if you want the certification and published dimensions instead of the extra tenth of a cubic foot.
  4. Burglary is the real risk: neither. Start with best home safes.

One housekeeping note on prices. We print First Alert's published list prices because the brand publishes them on its own store, with the date we checked; they move, so the buy button is always the current figure. We do not print a number we cannot cite, for either brand.

In detail

The contenders, in full

SentrySafeNo image

Best evidence, mid size

SentrySafe SFW123GDC

Fire chest7.5 /10

UL Classified for 1 hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified to 8 inches of water for 24 hours, with a documented 15-foot fire-impact drop. 1.23 cu ft at 86.69 lb.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
  • Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
  • The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
  • Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program

Where it falls short

  • Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
  • No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out

Skip this if…

…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC

SentrySafeNo image

Best evidence, larger

SentrySafe SFW205GQC

Fire chest7.5 /10

The same UL hour and ETL water depth in 2 cu ft on six 1-inch bolts, with the interior and exterior dimensions published so you can plan a cupboard around it.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
  • 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
  • Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
  • Interior light and bolt-down hardware included

Where it falls short

  • The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
  • Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
  • No burglary rating and no override key

Skip this if…

…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC

First AlertNo image

Most capacity for the money

First Alert 2096DF

Fire chest4.9 /10

2.1 cu ft listed at $499 on First Alert's own store, with a shelf, key rack and door pocket. Its title says UL; its description states the hour without naming a lab.

How the 4.9 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
5
Water rating evidence (15%)
4
Burglary resistance (20%)
3
Lock & entry (15%)
5
Capacity & fit (10%)
9
Support & transparency (5%)
5

What the evidence supports

  • 2.1 cu ft is more capacity than any SentrySafe fire safe we document
  • The only First Alert page in the line that names UL at all, in its product title
  • Adjustable shelf, hanging key rack and door pocket are standard
  • Published $499 list price direct from the brand, shown available

Where it falls short

  • The UL wording is in the title only: the description states the hour with no lab named
  • Water claim has no depth and no duration, so it cannot be compared with an ETL-verified figure
  • No burglary rating, no steel gauge, no bolt count, no dimensions and no weight published
  • Says it protects "even when bolted down" without naming a bolt-down kit on the page

Skip this if…

…you need the fire rating in writing from a lab, or you need published dimensions to plan a cupboard or closet around: First Alert publishes neither on this listing.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to First Alert 2096DF

First AlertNo image

Best if it has to be bolted down

First Alert 2092DF-BD

Fire chest4.4 /10

1.3 cu ft at $379 with the bolt-down designed in, and the maker says the seal still works bolted down. The fire claim names no lab at all.

EvidenceResearched

TierFire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal.
Burglary ratingNot stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: "Fire-resistant design withstands temperatures of up to 1,700 degrees F for up to 1 hour" (no testing lab named on the product page)
Water ratingManufacturer claim: "Waterproof seal keeps contents dry even when safe is submerged" (no depth, duration or lab stated)
LockDigital electronic lock (maker calls it a "Ready-Seal digital safe"); bolt count not published
Backup entryNot stated on the product page (First Alert lists an emergency access override key on other models in the line)
Bolt-downBolt-down feature; the maker says the safe "protects valuables from fire, water and theft even when bolted down"
Capacity1.3 cu ft (maker-stated; the product title says 1.32 cu ft). Interior dimensions not published
Exterior dimensionsNot published on the maker's product page
WeightNot published on the maker's product page
WarrantyNot stated on the product page; First Alert publishes warranty terms separately from the listing
DoorMaker: "Pry-proof concealed hinges deter thieves and resist crowbar entry"
Maker list price$379.00 on First Alert Safes, the brand's own store, shown available (checked 2026-10-12)
Recall checkOct 12, 2026: No CPSC recall found for First Alert safes. The First Alert recalls on CPSC's manufacturer page cover fire extinguishers (2000), safety gates (1997) and smoke alarms (2006), not safes.
How the 4.4 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
4
Water rating evidence (15%)
4
Burglary resistance (20%)
3
Lock & entry (15%)
5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
5

What the evidence supports

  • Bolt-down is designed in rather than an accessory kit, and the maker says the seal still works bolted down
  • 1.3 cu ft of capacity at a published $379 list price
  • Concealed pry-resistant hinges, stated by the maker
  • Currently purchasable direct from the brand's own store

Where it falls short

  • The fire claim names no testing lab anywhere on the product page
  • "Submerged" with no depth and no duration is the loosest water claim in our registry
  • No burglary rating, and the maker publishes neither steel gauge nor bolt count
  • No exterior dimensions, interior dimensions or weight on the maker's page

Skip this if…

…you want a fire rating a lab verified: SentrySafe states a UL classification and an ETL-verified water depth and duration on comparable models, and First Alert does not.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to First Alert 2092DF-BD

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are First Alert safes UL rated?
Partly, and inconsistently. The 2096DF's product title says "UL Fire Rated 60 minutes at 1700°F/927°C", but the description on the same page restates the hour without naming a lab, and the 2092DF-BD page never mentions UL at all. We therefore treat both as manufacturer fire claims. SentrySafe, by contrast, states "UL Classified" on each comparable product page.
Is SentrySafe better than First Alert?
On evidence, yes: SentrySafe states a UL classification, an ETL-verified water depth and duration, and publishes dimensions, weight and bolt counts. First Alert publishes more capacity per dollar and a bolt-down design its maker says keeps the seal intact, which SentrySafe's own manual says its bolt-down kit does not. Choose on which of those two things you need.
Does bolting down a fire safe ruin the waterproof rating?
On SentrySafe's SFW safes, the manual says the ETL-verified water claim applies before the bolt-down kit is installed, because the kit puts a hole through the floor. First Alert states its Ready-Seal safes protect contents even when bolted down. Read the manual for your exact model before you drill.
Can a First Alert or SentrySafe safe stop a burglar?
Neither carries a UL Residential Security Container listing, so treat both as fire and water containers with a lock. Anchoring them is what prevents the realistic attack, which is somebody carrying an 80-to-125-pound box out of the house. For burglary resistance you want a listed safe.
Which brand is better for a 2 cubic foot safe?
First Alert's 2096DF gives 2.1 cu ft with a shelf, key rack and door pocket at a published $499 list price. SentrySafe's SFW205GQC gives 2 cu ft with a UL Classified hour, an ETL-verified 8 inches of water for 24 hours, six 1-inch bolts and published interior and exterior dimensions. The tenth of a cubic foot is not the deciding factor; the paperwork is.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. SentrySafe — SFW123GDC product page: UL classification and ETL water verification (checked 2026-10-12)
  2. SentrySafe — SFW205GQC product page: UL classification, ETL water, bolts and dimensions (checked 2026-10-12)
  3. SentrySafe — owner's manual P44621 (PDF): bolt-down kit vs the water claim, key wording, ETL impact test
  4. First Alert Safes — 2092DF-BD product page, the brand's own store: maker wording, capacity and $379.00 list price (checked 2026-10-12)
  5. First Alert Safes — 2096DF product page: 'UL Fire Rated 60 minutes' title wording, capacity and $499.00 list price (checked 2026-10-12)
  6. First Alert Safes — safes collection page: current line and availability (checked 2026-10-12)
  7. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  8. Intertek — ETL Verified mark: what a verified performance claim covers
  9. CPSC — First Alert manufacturer recall page (searched 2026-10-12: no safe recalls)
  10. CPSC — recall database, searched for SentrySafe fire, water and security safes

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Home & Fire Safes