Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Home & Fire Safes · The rankings

Best fireproof safes for digital media: why the paper rating isn't enough

A paper safe is allowed to reach 350°F inside. Data dies long before that. The rating you want is UL Class 125, and almost no consumer safe carries it.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Phoenix DataCare 2002

UL Class 125 for 2 hours: the interior is held below 125°F, the threshold drives and tapes actually need. 238 lb, key lock, no burglary rating.

Best media safe overallFire chest6.8 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Phoenix DataCare 2001

The same Class 125 protection in a 108 lb body. Phoenix's own range table rates it at 1 hour, even though retailers advertise 2.

Best compact media safeFire chest6.2 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
SentrySafe FPW082HTC

Not a Class 125 safe. Its ETL-verified data claim covers CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives, and the manual says it is not intended for magnetic media or photo negatives.

Best consumer safe for USB drives and discsFire chest7.1 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Master Lock STW123GTCML

UL-classified 2 hr at 1,850°F and ETL-verified against water, with a documented drop test. That's a paper rating: treat any drive inside it as a copy, not the original.

Best if fire duration matters moreFire chest8.0 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
SentrySafe SFW123GDC

UL 1 hr at 1,700°F and ETL water verification. The manual's interior promise is below 350°F, which is a paper threshold, not a data one.

The common default, with the usual caveatFire chest7.5 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

An external hard drive connected to a laptop by a USB cable
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

This page exists because of one number. A consumer fire safe is built to a paper standard, and the paper standard allows the inside of the safe to reach 350°F. Paper chars at around 450°F, so that works. A hard drive, an SSD, a tape or a memory card is not paper. The data on it is gone long before 350°F, and the drive can look completely undamaged when you pull it out.

So "is this safe fireproof?" is the wrong question for digital media. The question is: what interior temperature is it rated to hold, and who certified that?

125°F is the whole story

SentrySafe's own SFW owner's manual is explicit that, for the rated hour, "the safe interior will remain below 350°F" ( SentrySafe manual). That is a promise about paper. Read it as a warning about anything else.

UL 72 classes in one table

ClassInterior limitIntended forWho sells it
Class 350350°FPaper recordsEvery consumer fire safe: SentrySafe, Master Lock, Honeywell
Class 150150°FMagnetic tape and photographic recordsCommercial record-protection equipment
Class 125125°F, and under 85% relative humidityComputer media: tapes, discs, cartridges, drivesMedia-safe specialists: Phoenix, FireKing

Note the second half of the Class 125 definition. It is not only a temperature limit; it also caps interior humidity during the test. That is because steam is what actually ruins a drive in a fire, and a gypsum-based insulation gives off water vapour as it heats. A paper safe does not control for that, because paper tolerates it.

The picks side by side

EvidencePhoenix DataCare 2002Phoenix DataCare 2001SentrySafe FPW082HTCMaster Lock STW123GTCMLSentrySafe SFW123GDC
TierFire chestFire chestFire chestFire chestFire chest
Fire ratingUL Class 125, 2 hr (maker's published media-safe range table); Phoenix also describes it as explosion-testedUL Class 125, 1 hr per Phoenix's published media-safe range table. Several dealer listings advertise the same model as 2-hour; we publish the maker's figureUL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 2 hr at up to 1,850°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)
Water ratingMaker states double-door construction with internal seals to repel sprinkler spray and fire-hose streams; no rated depth or duration publishedDealer listing states tight seals to repel fire-hose and sprinkler spray; no rated depth or duration published by PhoenixETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)
Burglary ratingNone stated by the makerNone stated by the makerNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)Not stated by the maker (no UL burglary or RSC rating on the product page)
LockKey lock (Phoenix describes a pick-resistant 7-pin dimple key lock on the DataCare range)Pick-resistant 7-pin dimple key lockBacklit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in boltsProgrammable 5-digit digital keypad plus dual key; 4 live-locking boltsBattery-powered digital keypad (programmable 5-digit code) plus dual key; four 1 in bolts
Backup entryKey only: no keypad, no batteriesKey only: no keypad, no batteriesOverride keyNone: the manual says the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"None: the manual says the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key"; batteries (4 AAA) load from the outside keypad
Capacity0.58 cu ft; interior 15 x 9.25 x 7.25 in (H x W x D). Maker rates it for 36 LTOs in cases, 35 DLT tapes or 99 CDs in cases0.26 cu ft; interior 9.5 x 6.25 x 7.75 in (H x W x D). Rated for 14 LTOs in cases, 12 DLT tapes or 31 CDs in cases0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D)1.19 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)1.23 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)
Exterior dimensions23.625 x 18.5 x 18.5 in (H x W x D)16.5 x 13.875 x 17 in (H x W x D)13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D)17.8 x 16.3 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)17.8 x 16.3 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)
Weight238 lb108 lb55 lb128.2 lb86.69 lb
WarrantyMaker states a full three-year materials and labour warranty plus free after-fire replacement coverPhoenix states a full three-year materials and labour warranty across its range, with after-fire replacementLimited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement ProgramLimited lifetime warranty against defects in materials or workmanshipLimited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program (register within 30 days)
Score6.8/106.2/107.1/108.0/107.5/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. Only the two Phoenix safes carry a UL Class 125 media classification.

The weight column tells the story better than the price. The Phoenix 2002 weighs 238 lb for 0.58 cu ft. The SentrySafe SFW123GDC weighs 86.69 lb for 1.23 cu ft. Media protection is not a marketing tier, it is twice the insulation for half the space, and that is why so few makers sell it.

What the consumer "data protection" claims actually cover

SentrySafe and Master Lock do make data claims on some models, and they are real, but they are narrower than shoppers assume. The FPW082HTC manual describes ETL-verified protection covering CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives, and in the same document says the safe is "not intended to protect magnetic media or photo negatives" (SentrySafe FPW manual). So:

  • Solid-state media in a consumer fire safe: covered by an Intertek-verified claim on some models. Better than nothing, and clearly stated.
  • Spinning hard drives, tapes, negatives: explicitly out of scope on those same models.
  • Anything in a safe with no named lab: unverified. Our UL fire-rated picks separate the two.

That distinction is why the FPW082HTC ranks third here rather than nowhere. If your "digital media" is two USB sticks and a wedding photo archive on flash, a 55 lb consumer safe with an ETL data claim is a proportionate answer. If it is a decade of RAID backups on spinning disks, it is not.

How we ranked these

We have not burned, dropped or opened any of these safes. Each is scored on the fire and home-safe rubric on how we rate: 35% fire-rating evidence, 15% water-rating evidence, 20% burglary resistance, 15% lock and entry, 10% capacity and fit, 5% support. On this page the fire-rating weight is doing almost all the work, and a Class 125 classification scores far above a Class 350 one for this use.

The Phoenix 2002 leads on the only media classification here at the longest duration. The 2001 is the same protection, smaller, and we publish Phoenix's own 1-hour figure rather than the 2-hour claim several resellers print (Phoenix Safe USA). The FPW082HTC ranks third for its stated ETL data-protection scope plus a real override key. The Master Lock ranks fourth on the longest paper rating on the site. The SFW123GDC ranks fifth as the common default, included so you can see exactly what it does and does not promise.

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-26 for Phoenix Safe, SentrySafe and Master Lock and found no recall covering these models. Each card shows its dated recall check.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best media safe overall

Phoenix DataCare 2002

Fire chest6.8 /10

UL Class 125 for 2 hours: the interior is held below 125°F, the threshold drives and tapes actually need. 238 lb, key lock, no burglary rating.

How the 6.8 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9.5
Water rating evidence (15%)
6
Burglary resistance (20%)
3
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Capacity & fit (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • UL Class 125: the interior limit is 125°F, the threshold that matters for drives and tapes
  • Two hours at that limit, the longest media rating in Phoenix's compact range
  • Impact- and explosion-tested, with internal seals against sprinkler and hose water
  • Three-year warranty plus after-fire replacement, and no batteries anywhere

Where it falls short

  • 238 lb for 0.58 cu ft: media insulation is heavy, and this needs a ground floor
  • No burglary rating at all: it resists fire, not a person with tools
  • Key lock only, so key control is your whole access policy

Skip this if…

…you want burglary resistance, or you only need to protect paper (a Class 350 safe is cheaper and lighter)

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Phoenix DataCare 2002

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best compact media safe

Phoenix DataCare 2001

Fire chest6.2 /10

The same Class 125 protection in a 108 lb body. Phoenix's own range table rates it at 1 hour, even though retailers advertise 2.

How the 6.2 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
8.5
Water rating evidence (15%)
5.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
3
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Capacity & fit (10%)
5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • A real UL Class 125 media classification in a body small enough for a home office
  • 108 lb rather than 238 lb, so it can go upstairs
  • Pick-resistant key lock with no electronics

Where it falls short

  • Phoenix's own table says 1 hour; treat the 2-hour claims you see at retail as unverified
  • 0.26 cu ft: a couple of drives and a short stack of discs, no more
  • No burglary rating, and 108 lb is carryable by two people

Skip this if…

…you need two hours of media protection, or more than about a quarter of a cubic foot

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Phoenix DataCare 2001

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best consumer safe for USB drives and discs

SentrySafe FPW082HTC

Fire chest7.1 /10

Not a Class 125 safe. Its ETL-verified data claim covers CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives, and the manual says it is not intended for magnetic media or photo negatives.

How the 7.1 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
7.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
3.5
Lock & entry (15%)
7
Capacity & fit (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
  • Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
  • ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
  • 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe

Where it falls short

  • Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
  • Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
  • One-year manufacturing warranty

Skip this if…

…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

Best if fire duration matters more

Master Lock STW123GTCML

Fire chest8.0 /10

UL-classified 2 hr at 1,850°F and ETL-verified against water, with a documented drop test. That's a paper rating: treat any drive inside it as a copy, not the original.

How the 8.0 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
10
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
  • A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
  • Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
  • Limited lifetime warranty

Where it falls short

  • No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key; the key only adds a second lock
  • 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery

Skip this if…

…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a storeStock photo

The common default, with the usual caveat

SentrySafe SFW123GDC

Fire chest7.5 /10

UL 1 hr at 1,700°F and ETL water verification. The manual's interior promise is below 350°F, which is a paper threshold, not a data one.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
  • Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
  • The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
  • Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program

Where it falls short

  • Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
  • No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out

Skip this if…

…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC

What to look for in a media safe

  1. The class, printed as a class. "Class 125" is a specification. "Protects digital media" is a sentence. Ask which one the page says.
  2. The hours at that class. Phoenix publishes 1 hr for the 2001 and 2 hr for the 2002. A longer paper rating is not a substitute for a shorter media rating.
  3. Whether humidity is in the claim. Class 125 caps interior relative humidity at 85% during the test. Steam kills drives, and a rating that ignores it is not a media rating.
  4. Impact testing. Phoenix describes the DataCare range as impact- and explosion-tested. If the floor gives way in a fire, the safe lands somewhere.
  5. Weight, honestly assessed. 238 lb for 0.58 cu ft means a ground floor and a plan. Read can your floor support it before you order.
  6. What it does not do. No safe on this page has a burglary rating. If the drives are valuable to someone else as well as to you, that is a separate purchase.

What to actually put in a media safe

  • Cold backups you would grieve for: family photo and video archives, a business's accounting history, scanned documents, password and recovery material.
  • The drive, in a sealed bag, with a desiccant sachet. Both to slow moisture and to stop the insulation's own humidity reaching it.
  • A printed index. A drive with no label is a drive nobody restores.
  • Recovery keys on paper, not only on the drive. An encrypted backup you cannot decrypt is a brick, and paper survives a Class 350 safe perfectly well.

What not to put in: the only copy of anything. See below. Also nothing SentrySafe's manuals warn against storing, which on fire safes includes firearms, combustibles and medication.

A safe is not a backup

A media safe protects against a fire in your house. It does not protect against theft of the safe, a flood that outlasts its seals, ransomware that encrypts the drive before you disconnect it, or the drive simply dying on a shelf. All of those are more likely than a house fire.

Treat the safe as the on-site copy in an ordinary backup plan: three copies of the data, on two kinds of media, with one of them off-site. The media safe is an excellent second copy and a poor only copy. That is not a criticism of the product; it is what the product is for.

Humidity, the other killer

SentrySafe says its fire insulation "has a high moisture content" and asks owners to keep the desiccant packet inside and open the safe every couple of weeks. That is the trade for fire protection: the material that absorbs heat also holds water.

For media that matters. Store drives in sealed bags, replace the desiccant, and if the safe lives in a basement or garage, put a hygrometer in with them. Our humidity guide gives the target range, and the small rechargeable units in our dehumidifier picks fit a safe this size.

Common mistakes with digital media and fire safes

  • Assuming a "2-hour fireproof" safe protects a hard drive. Two hours at Class 350 still cooks it.
  • Reading a retailer's hour figure rather than the maker's. Phoenix says 1 hr for the 2001; several shops say 2.
  • Storing spinning drives in a safe whose own manual excludes magnetic media.
  • Putting the only copy of the family archive in any single box, in any single building.
  • Leaving drives loose with no bag, no desiccant and no label.
  • Forgetting the safe has no burglary rating and sitting it in plain view in a home office.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. UL 72 class definitions, Phoenix range figures and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.

Questions

Frequently asked

Will a fireproof safe protect a hard drive?
Usually not. A standard home fire safe is built to UL 72 Class 350, which allows the interior to reach 350°F. Drives and tapes fail far below that. You need a Class 125 media safe, such as the Phoenix DataCare 2002, where the interior is held below 125°F and under 85% relative humidity for the rated time.
What is a UL Class 125 media safe?
A safe classified under UL 72 for computer media. During the furnace test the interior must stay below 125°F and below 85% relative humidity, with the outside of the safe at furnace temperatures for the rated period. Class 150 covers magnetic tape and photographic records; Class 350, the consumer standard, covers paper only.
Can I keep USB drives and SD cards in a normal fire safe?
On some models, yes, within a stated claim. SentrySafe's FPW082HTC manual describes ETL-verified protection covering CDs, DVDs, memory sticks and USB drives while excluding magnetic media and photo negatives. Solid-state media is more heat tolerant than a spinning disk, so that claim is plausible, but keep a second copy elsewhere.
Is the Phoenix DataCare 2001 a 1-hour or a 2-hour safe?
Phoenix's own media-safe range table lists the 2001 as UL Class 125 for 1 hour, while several retailers advertise it as 2-hour. We publish the maker's figure. If you need two hours at Class 125, the 2002 is the model Phoenix rates that way (Phoenix Safe USA).
Do media safes protect against burglary?
No. Neither Phoenix model carries a burglary rating, and neither do the consumer fire safes here. A 238 lb safe is awkward to steal, but awkward is not a rating. If theft is part of your risk, see our home safes ranked by threat.
Is a media safe worth it, or should I just use the cloud?
Use both, for different failure modes. Cloud storage survives your house burning down; a media safe survives your account being locked, your provider changing terms, or a ransomware event that reaches synced storage. The safe is the offline copy, not the whole plan.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  2. Phoenix Safe USA — Media Safes range page (Class 125 hours, dimensions, capacities)
  3. Phoenix Safe USA — DataCare 2002 product page
  4. Filing.com (Phoenix dealer) — Phoenix DataCare 2001 product page
  5. SentrySafe — FPW082HTC owner's manual P71885
  6. SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (SFW123GDC)
  7. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Home & Fire Safes