Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best safes for guns and documents: one box has to pass two different tests
Firearms need steel, bolts and ideally a burglary listing. Paper needs a fire rating somebody independent measured. Very few safes publish both, and the ones that do are not the ones with the loudest marketing.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | AMSEC SF6030 The only safe here whose fire rating is verified by an outside lab: AMSEC says ETL tested it for 60 minutes at 1,200°F. 3/16 in plate door, 14 bolts, and a 53.5 x 26 x 19 in interior that takes long guns and a document drawer. | Best for guns and documents overallAccess box | 6.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | AMSEC BF1512 A UL RSC Level I burglary rating and a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F in one 288 lb body. The catch is the size: a 15 x 12 x 13 in interior holds handguns and papers, not rifles. | Best both-ratings safe for a small collectionUL RSC | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Stealth UL28 A UL-listed Residential Security Container with twelve 1.25 in bolts and a 56.5 x 25.5 x 16.5 in interior. The 60-minute fire claim at 1,200°F is Stealth's own, with no lab named. | Best UL RSC body for a mixed collectionUL RSC | 7.5 /10 | $1,799.99Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Stealth HS4 A maker-stated UL RSC rating on a 12-gauge body with a UL-listed lock, in a 24 x 18 x 20 in shell. Fire is a maker claim at 1,200°F for 60 minutes, so papers get a hedge, not a verified hour. | Best compact both-jobs safe on AmazonUL RSC | 5.6 /10 | $1,199.99Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Hollon Republic RG-22 A 3-gauge plate door on a 10-gauge body with 14 active bolts, and a 120-minute claim at 1,400°F. No burglary listing and no lab named for the fire figure, which is why it ranks below the AMSEC pair. | Longest maker fire claimAccess box | 5.5 /10 | $3,032.00Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

"A safe for guns and documents" is one of the most common searches we see, and it hides a conflict. Burglary resistance comes from thick steel, a tight door gap and bolts on every side. Fire resistance comes from a layer of insulating board or poured amalgamate that has to sit somewhere in that same wall thickness. A safe designed to be good at one is usually compromised at the other, and the marketing on both sides is written to hide that.
We do not test safes. Every figure below is the maker's published specification or a named retailer's spec sheet, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. Each brand carries a dated CPSC recall search on its product card.
Two tests, and only one of them is usually independent
Hold both standards at once and the market shrinks fast. In our registry exactly two products carry a UL RSC burglary rating and an independently verified fire rating in the same body, and only one of them, the AMSEC BF1512, is a home safe you would also put a handgun in.
How we ranked them
Same rubric as every ranked page here (how we rate), with one addition for this page: a pick has to publish an interior that can physically hold both kinds of content. A 22-gun safe with no shelf and no drawer is not a document safe just because paper fits in the bottom.
- Independent burglary listing, then independent fire verification, then the maker's own claims.
- Published plate thickness and bolt pattern, because that is what a pry attack meets.
- An interior layout with somewhere for files that is not the floor of the safe.
What each one actually proves
Read that table from the left. The AMSEC SF6030 publishes no UL burglary listing, which costs it points, but it is the only safe on this page whose fire rating somebody other than the manufacturer measured. The BF1512 is the one that holds both certificates at once, and the price it pays is volume: a 15 x 12 x 13 in interior inside a 288 lb body. The Stealth UL28 and HS4 carry maker-stated UL RSC listings with in-house fire claims, and the Hollon Republic RG-22 is the opposite trade again: the thickest door steel here, a 3-gauge plate, with the longest unverified fire claim.
Interiors: where the paper actually goes
A long-gun safe is mostly vertical space with a rifle rack in it. Documents want horizontal space with a shelf or a drawer, out of contact with the walls, because the walls are the part that gets hot. Three things to look for in the published interior:
- A half-shelf or a drawer. The SF6030's 53.5 x 26 x 19 in interior takes a long-gun bank on one side and shelving on the other; that is the layout you want.
- Clearance from the door and walls. In a fire the interior air temperature is the rated figure; the inside surfaces of the walls run hotter. Keep paper and drives towards the middle.
- Room for the second box. If the safe is big enough, the cheapest upgrade in this whole category is a small UL-classified chest sitting inside it.
The two-box answer, which is often better
If you already own a gun safe, or you want long-gun capacity and a real fire class, do not hunt for the mythical safe that is excellent at both. Put a UL-classified fire chest inside the gun safe. The SentrySafe CFW20201 is 0.28 cu ft and 20 lb, carries a UL-classified hour at 1,700°F and an ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating, and fits on a gun safe's shelf.
That arrangement gives the papers a verified fire class inside a container that is bolted down and hard to open, which is more than any single-box option on this page delivers. Its weakness is capacity and the fact that a chest's lock is a privacy lock, which does not matter once it lives inside a locked safe. Our fireproof document safe rankings cover the chest options, and legal-size documents matters if your records are 14 inches long.
Documents, firearms and the humidity problem
Both contents dislike the same thing. Fireboard holds moisture by design, a sealed steel box has no airflow, and paper and steel both suffer for it. The fix is cheap and it is the same for either: measure first with a hygrometer, then add a dehumidifier sized to the interior volume. Gun safe humidity levels gives the target range and how to read it.
Common mistakes
- Assuming a gun safe is a fire safe. Most gun safe fire figures are measured by the company selling the safe. See gun safe fire ratings.
- Assuming a fire safe resists theft. A fire chest is designed to be light enough to be carried out of a burning house, which is also why it leaves in the back of a car.
- Buying on gun count. Rack counts assume bare, unscoped rifles. Our gun safe size guide explains the realistic figure.
- Skipping the anchor. Every pick here ships pre-drilled, and the burglary half of the warranty on several of them requires the safe to be properly anchored.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Best for guns and documents overall
AMSEC SF6030
The only safe here whose fire rating is verified by an outside lab: AMSEC says ETL tested it for 60 minutes at 1,200°F. 3/16 in plate door, 14 bolts, and a 53.5 x 26 x 19 in interior that takes long guns and a document drawer.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated on the maker's product page (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | ETL-verified 60 min at 1,200°F (maker: 'independently tested by ETL') |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 0.1875 in (3/16 in) solid steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-cut anchor holes; mounting hardware included (dealer page) |
| CA DOJ | Dealer lists it as a 'California DOJ Approved Firearm Safety Device'; not stated on the maker's page |
| Capacity | 30 in the safe + 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D); interior 53.5 x 26 x 19 in |
| Weight | 748 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty against theft and fire; 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | (9) 1.5 in active bolts + (5) deadbolts = 14 bolts, 4-way |
| Lock options | Optional Group II combination lock (dealer page) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating verified by ETL (Intertek), not just the maker
- 3/16 in solid steel plate door over a 12-gauge body
- UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock, with a Group II mechanical option through dealers
- Anchor holes and hardware included; lifetime theft and fire warranty
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named on the maker's page, so it is rated here as an unlisted safe; a dealer describes the SF series as UL RSC, which we could not confirm with the maker or a UL listing
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (the link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link)
- 748 lb and 26 in deep: plan the floor, doorways and delivery before ordering
Skip this if…
…you need an Amazon purchase or a maker-stated UL RSC listing, or your floor can't carry a 748 lb safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to AMSEC SF6030
Rank 2
Best both-ratings safe for a small collection
AMSEC BF1512
A UL RSC Level I burglary rating and a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F in one 288 lb body. The catch is the size: a 15 x 12 x 13 in interior holds handguns and papers, not rifles.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level I security rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | UL 60 min at 1,700°F (maker says "independently tested by UL") |
| Door steel | 1/2 in solid steel plate door; full-length dead bar |
| Lock | Mechanical key-locking spy-proof dial standard; ESL5 or ESL10 electronic lock options; three 1 in solid steel bolts |
| Bolt-down | 1 recessed anchor bolt hole; mounting hardware provided |
| Capacity | Interior 15 x 12 x 13 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 20.25 x 17.25 x 18.75 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 288 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire replacement warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- UL RSC Level I burglary rating plus a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F
- 1/2 in solid steel plate door with a full-length dead bar
- Made in the USA with a choice of mechanical or electronic lock
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (plain reference link)
- 288 lb for a small 15 x 12 x 13 in interior
- No water rating
Skip this if…
…you want an Amazon purchase or need more than a small interior
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to AMSEC BF1512
Rank 3

Best UL RSC body for a mixed collection
Stealth UL28
A UL-listed Residential Security Container with twelve 1.25 in bolts and a 56.5 x 25.5 x 16.5 in interior. The 60-minute fire claim at 1,200°F is Stealth's own, with no lab named.
EvidenceResearched
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- The maker states a UL RSC burglary listing, the independent burglary standard this site ranks gun safes on
- 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts on all four sides of the door
- UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker, and a mechanical dial offered for buyers who want no electronics
- Bolt-down holes come with hardware, and the lifetime warranty covers break-ins and house fires
Where it falls short
- The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure; no independent lab is named
- At 529 lb it needs a ground-floor or slab location and a delivery plan
- No override key is listed for the electronic lock; keep spare batteries and consider the dial option
Skip this if…
…you need a fire rating verified by an independent lab, or your floor or stairs can't take a 529 lb safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28
Rank 4

Best compact both-jobs safe on Amazon
Stealth HS4
A maker-stated UL RSC rating on a 12-gauge body with a UL-listed lock, in a 24 x 18 x 20 in shell. Fire is a maker claim at 1,200°F for 60 minutes, so papers get a hedge, not a verified hour.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC (Residential Security Container) burglary rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 12 gauge |
| Lock | UL-listed electronic lock (NL UR-2020) behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial upgrade available; six 1.25 in bolts |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included |
| Capacity | Interior 21 x 15 x 13 in (H x W x D); leather-lined shelf; interior power outlet |
| Exterior dimensions | 24 x 18 x 20 in (H x W x D), add 1 5/8 in depth for handle |
| Weight | 191 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty plus 2-year parts and labor |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Stealth safes; the biometric gun-safe recalls found in the search (Awesafe, Fortress, SA Consumer Products) are other brands. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 4
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker states a UL RSC burglary rating, rare for a home safe sold on Amazon
- UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate and re-locker
- 12-gauge door and body with six 1.25 in bolts
- Lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
- No water rating
- 191 lb: needs a plan for delivery and placement
Skip this if…
…fire is your main risk and you want a UL-classified fire rating; look at the AMSEC BF1512 or a UL-classified fire safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4
Rank 5

Longest maker fire claim
Hollon Republic RG-22
A 3-gauge plate door on a 10-gauge body with 14 active bolts, and a 120-minute claim at 1,400°F. No burglary listing and no lab named for the fire figure, which is why it ranks below the AMSEC pair.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 120 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 10 gauge solid steel body |
| Door steel | 3 gauge solid steel door, plus a 1/4 in steel hard plate |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled anchor holes (mounting hardware not included) |
| CA DOJ | Maker says it 'Far Exceeds California Department of Justice Regulatory Standards for Residential Security Containers' |
| Capacity | 22 guns (maker-stated); 16.93 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 24 in (H x W x D); interior 56 x 26 x 16 in |
| Weight | 800 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage); 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | 14 active 1.5 in chrome-plated solid steel bolts, 4-way |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- 10-gauge body and 3-gauge door: heavy published steel for the class
- Fourteen 1.5 in active bolts on all four sides, with a 1/4 in hard plate and spring-loaded re-locker
- 16 in interior depth leaves real room for scoped rifles
- Lifetime fire replacement guarantee is published
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named, so the burglary claim rests on published steel alone
- The maker's series page does not name the lock; the Amazon listing describes a dial lock and a 1-hour fire rating, so confirm the version you are buying matches the maker's 120-minute spec
- 800 lb needs a slab or reinforced floor, and anchor hardware is not included
Skip this if…
…you need a named, UL-listed lock or burglary rating, or your floor can't carry 800 lb
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Republic RG-22
How to buy one safe for both jobs
1. Count the long guns first
If the answer is zero, a home safe like the BF1512 is a far better buy than a tall gun safe, because the burglary and fire ratings are both real and the footprint is small.
2. Decide whether an unverified fire claim is acceptable
It often is, for insurance paperwork you can reproduce. It is not, for the only copy of something. Where the papers are genuinely irreplaceable, insist on UL or ETL naming, or use the two-box route.
3. Check the door, not the gun count
Plate thickness, bolt diameter and how many sides they cover. The published numbers here range from a 3-gauge plate door to a 12-gauge formed door, and that is the real difference between these safes.
4. Plan the floor and the anchor
These run from 288 to 800 lb before contents. Read can your floor support a gun safe for anything above a slab, and anchor into framing.
5. Add the inside kit
A hygrometer, a dehumidifier and a light are what make a safe usable for documents you actually retrieve.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked on whether the burglary listing and the fire rating are independent, with the two-box alternative set out in full.
Questions
Frequently asked
Can one safe protect both guns and documents?
Is a gun safe fireproof enough for documents?
Should I buy one big safe or two smaller ones?
What fire rating do documents need?
Does bolting a safe down affect the fire rating?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Fire rating vs burglary ratingWhy the two ratings pull a safe's design in opposite directions.
- Gun safe fire ratings explainedWho measures the hour on a gun safe, and what the number covers.
- Best fireproof document safesThe chest to put inside the gun safe, ranked.
- Best home safesThe wider ranking if firearms are not part of the job.
- Best fireproof gun safesRanked on fire evidence specifically, across the gun safe market.
Receipts
Sources
- American Security (AMSEC) — SF6030 product page via the Internet Archive: ETL fire verification, plate door, interior (checked 2026-10-17)
- American Security (AMSEC) — BF1512 product page: UL RSC Level I and UL 60 min fire rating (checked 2026-10-17)
- Stealth Safes — UL28 product page: UL RSC listing, bolt pattern, interior (checked 2026-10-17)
- Stealth Safes — HS4 home safe product page: UL RSC wording and 12-gauge construction (checked 2026-10-17)
- Hollon Safe — 2 Hour Republic series page: RG-22 plate door, bolts and fire claim (checked 2026-10-17)
- SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page: UL 1 hr class and ETL 72 hr flood rating (checked 2026-10-17)
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- Intertek — what the ETL Verified mark means
- Safe & Vault Store — published explanation of the UL fire classes
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.