Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best fireproof safes with a keypad: start with what happens when the battery dies
A keypad is the right lock for a safe you open often. It is also the only lock that can strand you outside your own documents, and most makers are quieter about that than they should be.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() SentrySafe FPW082HTC The only pick here with a true override key. A backlit keypad, a lithium battery SentrySafe rates for five-plus years, and a UL-classified hour at 1,700°F. | Best keypad fire safe overallFire chest | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Master Lock STW123GTCML UL Classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F with ETL-verified water resistance. Its key is a second lock, not an override, so batteries are your only way in. | Best fire rating behind a keypadFire chest | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Stealth HS4 A UL RSC burglary rating and a 60-minute fire rating behind a 6-digit electronic lock, with 12-gauge steel and an interior power outlet. | Best keypad safe that also resists burglaryUL RSC | 5.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe SFW205GQC 2 cu ft behind a 5-digit keypad, UL Classified for an hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified against 8 in of water. Same no-override caveat as the SFW line. | Best large keypad fire safeFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SentrySafe SFW123GDC 1.23 cu ft, a programmable 5-digit code and batteries that load from the outside of the keypad, which is the detail that saves you when they die. | The common default, keypad and allFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe A larger keypad jewelry safe with two emergency backup keys. Its 30-minute fire claim names no laboratory, so treat it as a maker claim. | Best keypad safe with drawersAccess box | 5.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A keypad is the right choice for a safe you actually use. Documents come out for a mortgage application, a passport renewal, an insurance claim. Dialling a three-number combination every time gets old, and a safe that is annoying to open is a safe that ends up unlocked.
But a keypad introduces a failure mode a dial does not have, and this page ranks on it, because in this category it is far more likely than a burglary or a fire.
The question nobody asks first
Override key vs second lock, model by model
| Model | What the key does | If the keypad fails |
|---|---|---|
| SentrySafe FPW082HTC | True override key | You open the safe with the key |
| Barska AX13616 | Two emergency backup keys | You open the safe with a key |
| SentrySafe SFW123GDC / SFW205GQC | Second lock only | Batteries load from the outside of the keypad, so replace them first |
| Master Lock STW123GTCML | Second lock only | Replace batteries; no key route in |
| Stealth HS4 | Not stated as an override on the product page | Confirm with the maker before you buy |
All quoted from each maker's product page or owner's manual and checked on 2026-09-28.
The picks side by side
Where the batteries live, and why it matters
On a safe with no override key, battery access becomes the entire contingency plan. SentrySafe notes that the SFW line's four AAA batteries load from the outside of the keypad, which means a flat set is a two-minute fix rather than a locksmith call. That is a genuinely important design detail and it is easy to miss on a spec sheet.
- External battery compartment: flat batteries are an inconvenience.
- Internal battery compartment with no override: flat batteries are an emergency. Avoid this combination.
- Long-life lithium cell: SentrySafe rates the FPW082HTC's at five-plus years, which changes the maintenance rhythm entirely.
- Low-battery warning: the thing that stops you finding out the hard way.
Whatever you buy, change the batteries on a schedule rather than on a warning, and write the date on the inside of the door.
How we ranked these
We have not opened, burned or soaked any of these. Each is scored on the fire and home-safe rubric at how we rate: 35% fire-rating evidence, 15% water-rating evidence, 20% burglary resistance, 15% lock and entry, 10% capacity and fit, 5% support. On this page we then order by backup entry first, because it is the failure this category actually produces.
The FPW082HTC leads on the override key plus a UL-classified hour and a five-year battery. The Master Lock is second on the best fire evidence on the site, a UL-classified 2 hours at 1,850°F (what the classes mean), with the no-override caveat stated plainly. The Stealth HS4 is third and is the only pick that also carries a UL RSC burglary rating (Stealth). The two SFW safes follow on size. The Barska is last on fire evidence, since its 30-minute claim names no laboratory, but it does have real backup keys.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for SentrySafe, Master Lock, Stealth and Barska and found no recall covering these models.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest keypad fire safe overall
SentrySafe FPW082HTC
The only pick here with a true override key. A backlit keypad, a lithium battery SentrySafe rates for five-plus years, and a UL-classified hour at 1,700°F.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (not a steel body) |
| Lock | Backlit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in bolts |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating) |
| Capacity | 0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 55 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 7.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 3.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
- Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
- ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
- 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe
Where it falls short
- Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
- Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC
Rank 2
Stock photoBest fire rating behind a keypad
Master Lock STW123GTCML
UL Classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F with ETL-verified water resistance. Its key is a second lock, not an override, so batteries are your only way in.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 10
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
- A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
- Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key; the key only adds a second lock
- 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML
Rank 3
Stock photoBest keypad safe that also resists burglary
Stealth HS4
A UL RSC burglary rating and a 60-minute fire rating behind a 6-digit electronic lock, with 12-gauge steel and an interior power outlet.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC (Residential Security Container) burglary rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 12 gauge |
| Lock | UL-listed electronic lock (NL UR-2020) behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial upgrade available; six 1.25 in bolts |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included |
| Capacity | Interior 21 x 15 x 13 in (H x W x D); leather-lined shelf; interior power outlet |
| Exterior dimensions | 24 x 18 x 20 in (H x W x D), add 1 5/8 in depth for handle |
| Weight | 191 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty plus 2-year parts and labor |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Stealth safes; the biometric gun-safe recalls found in the search (Awesafe, Fortress, SA Consumer Products) are other brands. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 4
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker states a UL RSC burglary rating, rare for a home safe sold on Amazon
- UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate and re-locker
- 12-gauge door and body with six 1.25 in bolts
- Lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
- No water rating
- 191 lb: needs a plan for delivery and placement
Skip this if…
…fire is your main risk and you want a UL-classified fire rating; look at the AMSEC BF1512 or a UL-classified fire safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4
Rank 4
Stock photoBest large keypad fire safe
SentrySafe SFW205GQC
2 cu ft behind a 5-digit keypad, UL Classified for an hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified against 8 in of water. Same no-override caveat as the SFW line.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
- 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
- Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
- Interior light and bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
- Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
- No burglary rating and no override key
Skip this if…
…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC
Rank 5
Stock photoThe common default, keypad and all
SentrySafe SFW123GDC
1.23 cu ft, a programmable 5-digit code and batteries that load from the outside of the keypad, which is the detail that saves you when they die.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
- Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
- The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
- Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program
Where it falls short
- Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
- No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out
Skip this if…
…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Rank 6
Stock photoBest keypad safe with drawers
Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe
A larger keypad jewelry safe with two emergency backup keys. Its 30-minute fire claim names no laboratory, so treat it as a maker claim.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: up to 30 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 3 mm steel with 36 mm fire-resistant gypsum board |
| Lock | Keypad (1 PIN, 3-8 digits); alarm after 3 failed access attempts; four solid steel locking bolts; pry-resistant recessed door |
| Backup entry | 2 emergency backup keys |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes; floor mounting kit included |
| Capacity | 1.91 cu ft (maker-stated); three-drawer wooden jewelry box and glass shelf; interior 13.25 x 18.5 x 16.5 in (D x W x H) |
| Exterior dimensions | 19.5 x 21.5 x 19.5 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 190 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- Three-drawer wooden jewelry box plus open shelf space
- Four locking bolts, recessed door and a failed-code alarm
- 190 lb with a floor mounting kit included
Where it falls short
- Fire claim at 1,200°F names no testing lab
- No water rating
- Freight delivery and a 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need a verified fire rating or cannot take a 190 lb freight delivery
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe
What to look for in a keypad fire safe
- A true override key, stated as one. Read the manual rather than the bullet list. "Dual key" usually means second lock.
- External battery access, if there is no override. This is the difference between an inconvenience and a locksmith.
- A UL fire classification with a time and a temperature. Four of the six here have one; the Barska does not.
- A water rating from a named lab, and the bolt-down caveat. SentrySafe's SFW manual says the ETL water claim applies before a bolt-down kit is fitted; Master Lock says its bolt-down maintains fire and water protection. That difference decides it if you intend to anchor the safe.
- Code length. Five digits on the SentrySafe and Master Lock models, six on the Stealth. Use the full length.
- A low-battery warning. Cheap to include; not universal.
Keypad or dial? An honest comparison
We rank mechanical locks first on our safest gun safes page, so it would be inconsistent not to say where the keypad genuinely wins.
| Keypad | Mechanical dial | |
|---|---|---|
| Speed | Seconds | 30 seconds to a minute |
| Changing the code | You, in a minute | A technician |
| Failure mode | Flat battery or electronics fault | Forgotten combination |
| Maintenance | Batteries, on a schedule | None |
| Best for | A safe you open monthly | A safe you open twice a year |
For a document safe that gets opened regularly, the keypad is the right call. For a gun safe in a basement, we would take the dial. Our lock comparison goes deeper on how each is rated.
Choosing and keeping a code
- Use every digit the lock allows. A 5-digit code has 100,000 combinations; a 3-digit one has 1,000.
- Not a birthday, an address or a year. These are the first things tried, and children in the house know all of them.
- Change it from the factory default immediately. Factory codes are printed in manuals that are on the internet.
- Write it down, somewhere that is not the safe. A sealed envelope with a trusted person, or a password manager.
- Wipe the keypad occasionally. Worn or greasy keys tell an observer which digits you use.
- Keep the override key away from the safe, and out of a child's reach.
Common mistakes with keypad fire safes
- Assuming the supplied key will open the safe if the keypad fails. On most models it will not.
- Buying a safe with an internal battery compartment and no override key.
- Bolting down an SFW-series safe and assuming the ETL water rating still applies. The manual says it does not.
- Leaving the factory code in place.
- Changing batteries only when the warning appears, on a safe you open twice a year.
- Storing drives and negatives in a Class 350 paper safe. See our media safe page.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Override-key wording quoted from each maker's manual and dated 2026-09-28; CPSC recall searches run per brand.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best fireproof safe with a keypad?
What happens if the battery dies on a fireproof safe?
Does a keypad fire safe come with a key?
Is a keypad or a dial better on a fire safe?
How often should I change the batteries in a fireproof safe?
Can a keypad fire safe be bolted down?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best "fireproof" home safesThe same field ranked on fire evidence first.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksHow each lock type is rated, and where each wins.
- Best fireproof safes under $100The key-lock chests below this price bracket.
- How to choose a home safeStart from the threat, then pick the lock.
- Best fireproof safes for cashWhere the burglary column matters more than the keypad.
- Safe fire ratings explainedThe UL 72 classes behind these ratings.
Receipts
Sources
- SentrySafe — FPW082HTC product page (override key)
- SentrySafe — FPW082HTC owner's manual P71885
- SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (SFW123GDC, SFW205GQC; key is a secondary lock)
- Master Lock — STW123GTCML owner's manual P74055
- Stealth Safes — UL RSC Home 4 Safe HS4 product page
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.