Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best floor safes for a home: what the concrete does, and what the steel does
A floor safe is the one container a burglar usually never finds. That is the whole product. The steel matters second, and no floor safe here carries a fire rating.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Hollon B2500 Floor Safe A 1/2 in solid steel door, five chrome-plated bolts, a drill-resistant hard plate and a UL-listed S&G Group 2 dial, in the deepest of Hollon's standard bodies. | Best floor safe overallAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hollon B1500 Floor Safe Everything the B2500 has, in a body 11-4/5 in deep overall. Interior depth drops to 6-9/10 in, which is still plenty for cash, deeds and jewelry. | Best for a shallow slabAccess box | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Barska AX13200 Floor Safe 0.89 cu ft, a 12 mm steel lid and three deadbolts, with a slot for depositing without opening. The 4 mm body is thinner than the Hollons', so the concrete matters more. | Best for interior room and a drop slotAccess box | 6.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Hollon B6000 Floor Safe A 35 in in-ground body with the same 1/2 in door and UL-listed dial. Hollon does not publish a bolt count for this one. | Best for long, flat itemsAccess box | 6.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Barska AX12656 Floor Safe A 17 lb key-locked pan that drops into a joist bay and sits flush with the boards. Screw it down: unanchored, it is the easiest thing here to carry away. | Best for a timber floorAccess box | 4.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A floor safe changes the problem. A stand-up safe has to survive being found; a floor safe mostly has to avoid being found. Burglars work fast and search the obvious places, and a steel lid under a rug, a workbench or a closet floor is not one of them. That is why a 93 lb box set in concrete can protect more than a 400 lb safe standing in the corner of a garage.
It also means the buying criteria are different. On a full-size safe we start with a UL RSC listing. No consumer floor safe has one. So on this page we rank on what makers actually publish: door steel, bolt count, whether the lock is a listed one, and how well the body suits the floor you have.
Why a floor safe at all
- It is hidden. A lid under carpet, vinyl or a rubber mat reads as floor. Nothing about it advertises that valuables are in the room.
- It cannot be carried off. The failure mode of small home safes is theft of the whole safe. Concrete removes that option entirely.
- It cannot be attacked from five sides. A free-standing safe can be tipped, levered and hit from any angle. A floor safe presents one face, flush with the floor, with no leverage point.
- It takes no floor space. For an apartment-sized home, that is not a small thing. Our guide to where to put a safe in your house covers the alternatives.
The trade is permanence. You cut concrete once, and where you put it is where it lives. Measure twice, and think about who will own the house in ten years.
What "B-rate" actually means, and what it doesn't
Every floor safe on the market is sold as "B-rated" or "B-rate". Hollon describes the B2500 as a "B-Rated Floor Safe for Foundations" (Hollon). It is worth being precise about what that phrase is.
B-rate is an industry construction convention: broadly, a body of around 1/4 in steel with a door of around 1/2 in solid steel. It describes how the box is built. It is not a listing, there is no test behind it, and no laboratory issued it. Compare that with UL's residential security container standard, which times a technician attacking the safe with common hand tools (UL). The B-rate label tells you a thickness; the UL listing tells you a duration.
We therefore file every floor safe in our access-box tier, the same tier as a wall safe or a steel gun cabinet. That is not an insult to a 1/2 in steel door. It is a statement about the evidence: nobody independent has timed how long these bodies hold.
The picks side by side
Two patterns fall out of that table. The Hollons publish a door thickness, a bolt count, a hard plate and a listed lock, and say nothing about the body gauge. Barska publishes body and door thickness in millimetres and says nothing about a burglary rating at all, but gives you more interior room for less money and prints "Fireproof: No" instead of leaving it vague (Barska). Both kinds of honesty are useful; neither is a rating.
Concrete slab or timber joists: this decides your shortlist
Before comparing steel, work out which floor you actually have.
- A concrete slab or foundation (garage, basement, ground floor on grade) takes any of the Hollons or the Barska AX13200. You cut the slab, set the safe, and pour concrete into the gap. Barska describes exactly that process on the AX13200 page. This is the installation that makes a floor safe worth owning.
- A timber floor over joists takes only the Barska AX12656, which is 5 in deep overall and 17 lb, sized to drop into a joist bay and be screwed to the framing (Barska). It cannot be encased in anything, so it relies on screws and on nobody lifting the rug.
- An upstairs room takes neither. If you are upstairs, read our wall safe picks instead: the same hide-it-in-the-structure idea, in a wall.
How we ranked these floor safes
We have not bought, installed or attacked any of these. Every pick is scored on the access-control rubric published on how we rate: 30% access reliability evidence, 25% construction and pry resistance, 20% child-access standards, 15% mounting, 10% support and transparency. Floor safes score low on child-access standards because none is certified as a firearm safety device, and that pulls every score on this page down by the same amount, so the ranking between them still holds.
The B2500 leads because it publishes the most: a 1/2 in door, five bolts, a hard plate, a relocker and a listed mechanical lock, in the deepest standard body. The B1500 is the same safe for a thinner slab. The AX13200 ranks third on more interior room and a drop slot, against a thinner body and no burglary claim. The B6000 is a shape, not an upgrade. The AX12656 ranks last on steel and weight, and first if your floor is timber.
We also searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-26 for Hollon and Barska. We found no recall covering the floor safes on this page. Each product card shows its dated recall check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest floor safe overall
Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
A 1/2 in solid steel door, five chrome-plated bolts, a drill-resistant hard plate and a UL-listed S&G Group 2 dial, in the deepest of Hollon's standard bodies.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- 1/2 in solid steel door with five chrome-plated steel locking bolts
- UL-listed S&G Group 2 dial behind a drill-resistant hard plate, with an external relocker
- Mechanical lock: no batteries, no electronics, nothing to fail in a damp slab
- An air-spring bar and a full-length dead bar are published features, not marketing adjectives
Where it falls short
- "B-rate" is a construction description, not a laboratory listing of the container
- No fire rating: the maker makes no claim about a house fire above the slab
- Installation means cutting and re-pouring concrete, which is not reversible
Skip this if…
…you cannot cut into a concrete slab, or you need a fire rating for papers
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for a shallow slab
Hollon B1500 Floor Safe
Everything the B2500 has, in a body 11-4/5 in deep overall. Interior depth drops to 6-9/10 in, which is still plenty for cash, deeds and jewelry.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Maker states B-rate construction (1/2 in solid steel door); no UL listing of the container |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Door steel | 1/2 in thick solid steel door |
| Lock | UL Listed Sargent & Greenleaf Group 2 mechanical dial with external relocker; five solid steel locking bolts |
| Backup entry | None: mechanical dial only |
| Bolt-down | Set into a concrete floor or foundation and encased in the pour |
| Capacity | Interior 12-9/10 x 10-9/10 x 6-9/10 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 14-9/10 x 13-1/2 x 11-4/5 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 79 lb |
| Warranty | Hollon publishes a limited warranty on its safes; terms and exclusions are on the warranty page |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon floor safes or Hollon B-rated safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Same 1/2 in door, five bolts and UL-listed S&G dial as the B2500 in a shallower body
- Under 12 in deep overall, which suits a thinner slab or a crawl-space pour
- No electronics to fail underground
Where it falls short
- Only 6-9/10 in of interior depth: fine for cash, deeds and jewelry, not for a stack of folders
- No fire rating stated
- Same one-way installation as any in-floor safe
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 7 inches of interior depth
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon B1500 Floor Safe
Rank 3
Stock photoBest for interior room and a drop slot
Barska AX13200 Floor Safe
0.89 cu ft, a 12 mm steel lid and three deadbolts, with a slot for depositing without opening. The 4 mm body is thinner than the Hollons', so the concrete matters more.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Maker lists "Fireproof: No" |
| Body steel | 4 mm steel body |
| Door steel | 12 mm steel door (solid steel lid) |
| Lock | Mechanical combination lock; three steel deadbolts; anti-pry concealed door hinges |
| Backup entry | One change key supplied; no electronic override |
| Bolt-down | Installed by cutting a hole in the foundation, setting the safe and filling the gap with cement |
| Capacity | 0.89 cu ft; interior 12.75 x 14.25 x 8.5 in |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.98 x 15.55 x 12.36 in |
| Weight | 83.79 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska floor safes. Barska is not among the brands in the 2023-2025 CPSC biometric gun-safe recalls and warnings; neither of these models has a biometric lock. |
How the 6.1 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- 0.89 cu ft: the most interior room of the floor safes here
- A drop slot lets you deposit without opening the safe
- 12 mm steel lid with three deadbolts and concealed anti-pry hinges
- Mechanical combination lock: no batteries
Where it falls short
- 4 mm body is thinner than the Hollons' construction, so the concrete does more of the work
- No burglary rating stated at all, not even a B-rate construction claim
- Barska lists it as not fireproof, and the warranty is one year
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest available body steel rather than the most interior room
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX13200 Floor Safe
Rank 4
Stock photoBest for long, flat items
Hollon B6000 Floor Safe
A 35 in in-ground body with the same 1/2 in door and UL-listed dial. Hollon does not publish a bolt count for this one.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Maker states B-rate construction (1/2 in solid steel door); no UL listing of the container |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Door steel | 1/2 in thick solid steel door |
| Lock | UL Listed Sargent & Greenleaf Group 2 mechanical dial with external relocker |
| Backup entry | None: mechanical dial only |
| Bolt-down | In-ground installation, encased in concrete |
| Exterior dimensions | 11.5 in H (14.5 in max) x 35 in L x 12.5 in W |
| Weight | 135 lb |
| Warranty | Hollon publishes a limited warranty on its safes; terms and exclusions are on the warranty page |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon floor safes or Hollon B-rated safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- 35 in long: the only shape here that takes long, flat items
- Same 1/2 in door and UL-listed mechanical dial as the smaller Hollons
- Heaviest body in the range at 135 lb before the concrete goes in
Where it falls short
- Hollon does not publish a bolt count for this model
- Needs a long trench in the slab, so it is the hardest of these to retrofit
- No fire rating stated
Skip this if…
…your slab cannot take a 35-inch cut, or you want a deep box rather than a long one
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon B6000 Floor Safe
Rank 5
Stock photoBest for a timber floor
Barska AX12656 Floor Safe
A 17 lb key-locked pan that drops into a joist bay and sits flush with the boards. Screw it down: unanchored, it is the easiest thing here to carry away.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Maker lists "Fireproof: No" |
| Body steel | 3 mm steel body |
| Door steel | 6 mm steel door |
| Lock | Key lock with a 2-point dead bolt system; top-access design |
| Backup entry | Two emergency backup keys supplied |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes and mounting hardware included; sits level with the surrounding floor |
| Capacity | 0.22 cu ft; interior 6.85 x 13 x 3.15 in |
| Exterior dimensions | 8 x 15 x 5 in |
| Weight | 17.1 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska floor safes. Barska is not among the brands in the 2023-2025 CPSC biometric gun-safe recalls and warnings; neither of these models has a biometric lock. |
How the 4.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- Fits a joist bay in a timber floor: no concrete work required
- Key lock and two backup keys; nothing to power
- Mounting holes and hardware included, and it sits flush under a rug or board
Where it falls short
- 17 lb: if it is not screwed down and hidden, it leaves with the burglar
- 3.15 in of interior depth, so it holds documents and jewelry, nothing bulky
- No fire rating and a 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…your only floor is a concrete slab, or you want weight and steel rather than concealment
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX12656 Floor Safe
What to look for in a floor safe
- Door thickness, stated in a number. "Heavy duty" is not a spec. 1/2 in solid steel is. Every Hollon on this page states it; Barska states 12 mm and 6 mm for its two.
- A bolt count. Five bolts on the Hollons, three on the AX13200, two on the AX12656. More bolts spread a prying load across the lid.
- A hard plate and a relocker. These are the parts that make drilling the lock slow. Hollon lists both; Barska lists neither.
- A mechanical lock. Under a floor, in a slab, damp is a permanent condition. Every safe here uses a dial, a combination or a key precisely because there is no good place to change a battery.
- Interior depth, not cubic feet. A floor safe is loaded from the top. What matters is whether your deed envelope stands up in it: 11-3/10 in on the B2500, 6-9/10 in on the B1500, 3.15 in on the AX12656.
Installing one without ruining it
The safe is the cheap part of a floor safe. The install is the product. A few rules that apply to all of them:
- Find the rebar and the services first. Cutting a slab means cutting whatever runs in it. A scan before the saw is not optional.
- Set the lid flush, not proud. A lid standing 10 mm above the floor is a lid somebody notices and then trips over. Flush is both safer and better hidden.
- Fill every void with concrete. The concrete is the armour. An air gap round the body is a place to get a bar in. Barska's own instruction is to fill the remaining space with cement.
- Slope the surrounding floor away, or at least do not create a puddle. Water finds the lowest point, and you have just made one.
- Screw the AX12656 through every pre-drilled hole into joists, not into the floorboards. At 17 lb it is a lift-out box otherwise.
If you are also anchoring a stand-up safe, the same discipline applies there; our guide on bolting down a safe covers anchors and concrete fixings in detail.
Damp: the one problem nobody warns you about
A concrete slab wicks moisture. A sealed steel box inside a slab is therefore a cold surface in a damp environment, which is where condensation happens. None of these safes publishes a humidity figure, because none of them does anything about it.
The fix is the same as inside a gun safe: a rechargeable desiccant unit or a silica-gel canister, swapped or dried on a schedule, plus a hygrometer so you find out before your documents do. Our humidity guide gives the target range and our dehumidifier picks cover the units that fit a small space without mains power. Keep cash and paper in a sealed bag inside the safe as well; it costs nothing.
Why none of these is fire rated
Fire protection is insulation, and insulation is volume. A fire safe is a box inside a box with a gypsum-based fill between them, which is why a 1.2 cu ft fire safe weighs 86 lb. A floor safe is a single steel body sized to fit a slab cut, with no room for that layer.
In practice, being in a slab helps: the floor of a house is the coolest place in a fire, and a sealed steel box below floor level is not exposed the way a safe in a bedroom is. But nobody has tested that, no maker claims it, and we will not either. If papers are the thing you are protecting, buy a rated container for them and keep it somewhere sensible: see our document safe picks and the fire ratings explainer.
Common floor safe mistakes
- Reading "UL listed" on the lock line and believing the container is listed.
- Installing it in the garage by the door, the first place a burglar with a pry bar already is.
- Leaving an air gap round the body instead of filling it with concrete.
- Putting a heavy rug over it and then a bookcase on the rug, so you never open it.
- Storing damp-sensitive papers with no desiccant and no hygrometer.
- Telling people about it. A hidden safe stops being hidden the first time it comes up at a barbecue.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Maker specs, lock listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are floor safes a good idea for a home?
What does a B-rate floor safe rating mean?
Can a floor safe be installed in a house with wooden floors?
Are floor safes waterproof?
How much does it cost to install a floor safe?
Floor safe or wall safe?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Floor safe vs wall safeWhich hiding place suits your house, your floor and your valuables.
- Best wall safesThe between-the-studs version of the same idea.
- Best fireproof safes for cashWhere a hidden steel box fits in a cash plan, and where it doesn't.
- Best home safesHome safes ranked by the threat each one actually stops.
- Where to put a safe in your houseRooms, floors and sight lines before you cut anything.
- UL RSC rating explainedThe listing floor safes don't have, and what it would prove.
Receipts
Sources
- Hollon Safe — Floor Safes series page (B1500, B2500, B3500, B6000 spec table)
- Hollon Safe — Warranty page
- Safe and Vault Store (authorized retailer) — Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
- Barska — AX13200 0.89 Cu. ft Floor Safe With Combination Lock
- Barska — AX12656 0.22 Cu. ft Floor Safe with Key Lock
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.