Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Home & Fire Safes · The rankings

Best fireproof safes for legal-size documents: measured against a 14-inch sheet

Legal paper is 8.5 by 14 inches. Most household fire safes publish an interior under 13 inches wide, so the sheet does not lie flat. This page ranks on the measurement that decides it.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
SentrySafe SFW205GQC

The only pick whose published interior, 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in, takes a 14 in legal sheet flat with room to spare. UL-classified 1 hr at 1,700°F and an ETL-verified water rating.

Best for legal paper laid flatFire chest7.5 /10Check price · Amazon
2
SentrySafe FHW40100
SentrySafe FHW40100

0.66 cu ft built around hanging files with a 12 in wide interior, so letter folders hang and legal folders do not. UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F plus an ETL-verified 72 hr flood rating.

Best fire file for hanging foldersFire chest5.7 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Master Lock STW123GTCML
Master Lock STW123GTCML

UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F and ETL-verified against water, and the maker says both hold when it is bolted down. The 12.6 in interior width means legal sheets go in folded.

Longest verified fire timeFire chest8.0 /10$356.24Amazon
4
SentrySafe 1170
SentrySafe 1170

A 0.61 cu ft fire file with a UL-classified 30 minutes at 1,550°F, a 12 in wide interior and no water rating at all. Fine inland, risky anywhere a sprinkler or a hose could reach.

Cheapest way to get files off the floorFire chest4.3 /10Check price · Amazon
5
SentrySafe CFW20201
SentrySafe CFW20201

A 20 lb chest with a full UL-classified hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified 72 hr flood protection. The 12.8 x 8.5 in interior is for folded legal sheets and passports, not files.

Best folded-document chestFire chest6.3 /10$86.82Amazon

#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A stack of black ring binders with colored labels
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

Legal paper is 8.5 by 14 inches. That one number eliminates most of the household fire-safe market, and almost no roundup mentions it, because the specification that matters is buried in the interior dimensions rather than printed on the box. We ranked this page on it.

We do not test safes. Every figure is the maker's published specification or its owner's manual, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. Each brand carries a dated CPSC recall search on its product card.

The measurement that decides it

SentrySafe is explicit about this in one direction and silent in the other. Its fire-file pages say the safe "accommodates hanging files" but do not state whether the folders are letter or legal, and the interior width is 12 inches, which answers the question. Our document safe rankings cover the same models on broader criteria.

How we ranked them

The published rubric at how we rate applies as usual, with the legal-size test applied first as a filter rather than a tiebreak:

  1. Does the published interior take a 14 in sheet flat? One does. It leads the page.
  2. Is the fire rating UL classified? All five are, which is why this shortlist is all SentrySafe and Master Lock: they are the brands that name the lab.
  3. Is there a verified water rating? Four of five carry one from Intertek (ETL). The 1170 has none.

Published interiors, side by side

EvidenceSentrySafe SFW205GQCSentrySafe FHW40100Master Lock STW123GTCMLSentrySafe 1170SentrySafe CFW20201
TierFire chestFire chestFire chestFire chestFire chest
Capacity2 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)0.66 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 11.6 x 12 x 8.1 in (H x W x D)1.19 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (H x W x D)0.61 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 10.4 x 12 x 8.5 in (H x W x D)0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated
Exterior dimensions23.8 x 18.6 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)14.1 x 16.6 x 13.8 in (H x W x D)17.8 x 16.3 x 19.3 in (H x W x D)13.6 x 15.3 x 12.1 in (H x W x D)6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D)
Fire ratingUL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 2 hr at up to 1,850°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)
Water ratingETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)None (maker lists fire and security only)ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)
Weight124.8 lb41 lb128.2 lb27.99 lb20 lb
Interior dimensions appear inside the capacity row where the maker publishes them. Figures checked 2026-10-17.

Two notes on reading it. First, the SFW205GQC pays for its interior in bulk: 23.8 x 18.6 x 19.3 in on the outside and 124.8 lb, so it is a floor-standing safe, not a shelf box. Second, the Master Lock STW123GTCML is the strongest fire evidence on the page by a distance, UL classified for two hours at 1,850°F with a documented impact test, and it loses the top spot only on width.

Hanging files: letter and legal are not interchangeable

A letter hanging folder is about 12.25 inches across the rails; a legal folder is about 15.25. That is why a fire file with a 12 inch interior accepts letter folders and simply cannot take legal ones, whatever the listing photo suggests. If your records are legal-size and you want them hanging rather than stacked, the honest answer is that this shortlist does not contain the product: you want a rated legal-size fire file from a commercial supplier, and you should expect it to weigh several hundred pounds.

The practical workaround most households use, and the one we would suggest, is to stop hanging them. Stack legal sheets flat in the SFW205GQC, keep a labelled index on top, and use a small chest for the handful of items you would grab in an evacuation.

The fire class behind each number

Every rating here is a UL class, which is the distinction that matters in this market: a named lab held the safe in a furnace and measured the interior. The published class definitions set the ceiling at 350°F for a paper rating, which is below the point at which paper chars but well above what photographs, film and drives tolerate. Our fire ratings explainer walks the classes, and is a 30 minute fire rating enough is the page to read before buying the 1170 or the FHW40100.

One rating detail on this page is unusually well documented. The SentrySafe owner's manual records an ETL-verified fire-impact test: heated, dropped 15 ft onto rubble, then reheated. That matters if the safe sits above a basement, because a floor collapse is a normal event in a house fire.

Water ruins more records than fire does

Firefighting puts a lot of water into a house, and a sealed box full of paper sitting in it is a pulp machine. Four of five picks carry an ETL-verified water rating: 8 inches of water for 24 hours on the floor-standing safes, 72-hour flood protection on the chests. The 1170 has none, which is the single biggest reason it ranks last here despite doing the file job competently.

Common mistakes

  • Trusting "accommodates hanging files". It means letter unless the maker says legal. Check the interior width.
  • Buying cubic feet instead of dimensions. 0.66 cu ft in a 12 in wide box and 2 cu ft in a 14.8 in wide box are different products, not different sizes of the same one.
  • Ignoring the water rating inland. The water that reaches most safes comes out of a hose, not a river.
  • Treating a privacy key as security. The chests and files here are fire boxes with a lock to keep children out. Anything that needs to resist a person belongs in something with a burglary rating; see fire rating vs burglary rating.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

SentrySafeNo image

Best for legal paper laid flat

SentrySafe SFW205GQC

Fire chest7.5 /10

The only pick whose published interior, 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in, takes a 14 in legal sheet flat with room to spare. UL-classified 1 hr at 1,700°F and an ETL-verified water rating.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
  • 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
  • Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
  • Interior light and bolt-down hardware included

Where it falls short

  • The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
  • Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
  • No burglary rating and no override key

Skip this if…

…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC

Rank 2

SentrySafe FHW40100

Best fire file for hanging folders

SentrySafe FHW40100

Fire chest5.7 /10

0.66 cu ft built around hanging files with a 12 in wide interior, so letter folders hang and legal folders do not. UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F plus an ETL-verified 72 hr flood rating.

How the 5.7 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
7
Water rating evidence (15%)
8.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
1.5
Lock & entry (15%)
3.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • Holds hanging file folders, so records stay organized
  • UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating
  • Carrying handle for moving the file out quickly

Where it falls short

  • 30-minute fire rating
  • Privacy key lock only; no burglary resistance
  • SentrySafe does not state letter or legal folder fit; the interior is 12 in wide

Skip this if…

…your records are legal-size and you have not confirmed they fit a 12 in wide interior

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FHW40100

Rank 3

Master Lock STW123GTCML

Longest verified fire time

Master Lock STW123GTCML

Fire chest8.0 /10

UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F and ETL-verified against water, and the maker says both hold when it is bolted down. The 12.6 in interior width means legal sheets go in folded.

How the 8.0 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
10
Water rating evidence (15%)
8
Burglary resistance (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
5.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
  • A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
  • Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
  • Limited lifetime warranty

Where it falls short

  • No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
  • No override key; the key only adds a second lock
  • 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery

Skip this if…

…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe

$356.24$399.99−11%View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML

Rank 4

SentrySafe 1170

Cheapest way to get files off the floor

SentrySafe 1170

Fire chest4.3 /10

A 0.61 cu ft fire file with a UL-classified 30 minutes at 1,550°F, a 12 in wide interior and no water rating at all. Fine inland, risky anywhere a sprinkler or a hose could reach.

How the 4.3 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
7
Water rating evidence (15%)
0
Burglary resistance (20%)
1.5
Lock & entry (15%)
3.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 30-minute fire rating at an entry-level size
  • Takes hanging file folders
  • About 28 lb, easy to place

Where it falls short

  • No water rating: firefighting water or a flood can still ruin the contents
  • Maker says it is not intended for tool attacks
  • 30-minute rating only

Skip this if…

…your home is in a flood-prone area or you want protection from firehose water

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe 1170

Rank 5

SentrySafe CFW20201

Best folded-document chest

SentrySafe CFW20201

Fire chest6.3 /10

A 20 lb chest with a full UL-classified hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified 72 hr flood protection. The 12.8 x 8.5 in interior is for folded legal sheets and passports, not files.

How the 6.3 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
1.5
Lock & entry (15%)
3.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
  • ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
  • Carry handle; about 20 lb

Where it falls short

  • Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
  • Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
  • One-year manufacturing warranty

Skip this if…

…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off

$86.82View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201

How to buy for legal-size records

1. Measure your actual paper

Pull out the documents you mean to protect. If nothing is longer than 11 inches, you do not need a legal-size safe and your options widen enormously.

2. Decide flat or folded

Folding is fine for most records and nobody has ever rejected a folded birth certificate. If flat is non-negotiable, you need a published interior wider than 14 inches, which on this page means one model.

3. Insist on a named lab

UL for fire, Intertek (ETL) for water. In this part of the market you do not have to compromise on that, so do not.

4. Check the bolt-down and water interaction

Read the manual section before you drill. One manufacturer on this page says anchoring ends the water rating and another says it does not.

5. Keep a grab box as well

A 20 lb chest for passports and the one folder you would want in an evacuation, stored in the same place, costs very little and changes what you can do in five minutes.

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First published. Ranked on published interior width against legal paper's 14-inch dimension, with the letter-versus-legal hanging-folder problem set out.

Questions

Frequently asked

Do fireproof safes fit legal-size documents?
Most household models do not, flat. Published interior widths on this page are 12 to 14.8 inches, and legal paper needs 14. The SentrySafe SFW205GQC, at 14.8 inches wide inside, is the one that takes a legal sheet flat. Everything else needs the sheet folded once.
What is the interior width of a legal-size fire safe?
You need more than 14 inches for loose sheets, and about 15.5 inches for legal hanging folders, which is wider than any safe on this page. That is why legal-size rated fire files are usually commercial products weighing several hundred pounds.
Can I fold documents to fit a smaller fire safe?
Yes, and for most records it is the sensible answer. Deeds, titles, wills and certificates are accepted folded. Keep anything that must stay flat, such as large-format certificates or photographs, in a wider safe or a flat portfolio.
Is a 30-minute fire rating enough for documents?
It depends on how long a fire in your house would burn before it is knocked down, which depends on construction, contents and response time. An hour is the common household target, and both one-hour picks on this page carry it as a UL class. We work through the reasoning on our 30-minute page.
Do I need a water rating as well as a fire rating?
Nearly always. Firefighting water is the most likely thing to reach a safe in a house fire, and only a sealed, rated safe keeps it out. Four of the five picks here carry an ETL-verified water rating; one carries none.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. SentrySafe — SFW205GQC product page: 19.6 x 14.8 x 11.9 in interior, UL and ETL ratings (checked 2026-10-17)
  2. SentrySafe — FHW40100 product page: hanging-file capacity and 12 in interior width (checked 2026-10-17)
  3. SentrySafe — 1170 product page: UL 1/2 hr class, no water rating (checked 2026-10-17)
  4. SentrySafe / Master Lock — STW123GTCML product page: UL 2 hr at 1,850°F, bolt-down wording (checked 2026-10-17)
  5. SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page: UL 1 hr class, 12.8 x 8.5 in interior (checked 2026-10-17)
  6. SentrySafe — owner's manual P44621: ETL fire-impact test and bolt-down/water note
  7. Safe & Vault Store — published explanation of the UL fire classes
  8. CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Home & Fire Safes