Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
The best home safes for jewelry resist theft, not just scratches
A jewelry safe with velvet drawers can still be carried out under one arm. We rank on the burglary evidence first and the drawers second.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Stealth HS4 The burglary-rated choice on Amazon: the maker states a UL RSC rating, a UL-listed lock behind a hard plate and 12-gauge steel. It ranks above the higher-scoring AMSEC because both carry a UL RSC rating and the AMSEC's lead comes from its fire rating; the HS4 also has the larger interior. | Best jewelry safeUL RSC | 5.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() AMSEC BF1512 UL RSC Level I plus a fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F), in a 288 lb body with a 1/2 in steel plate door. Small interior, and sold through AMSEC dealers. | Best if you also want a UL fire ratingUL RSC | 7.1 /10 | See at maker |
| 3 | ![]() Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe Two suede-lined drawers, a 3 mm body and 8 mm door (per Barska) and backup keys, but no burglary rating, and its 30-minute fire claim names no lab: an organized jewelry cabinet, not a rated safe. | Best with built-in jewelry drawersAccess box | 6.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe A three-drawer wooden jewelry box inside a 190 lb, 1.91 cu ft steel body with four bolts and a failed-code alarm. No burglary rating, and the fire claim names no lab. | Best larger drawer-style jewelry safeAccess box | 5.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Protex PWS-1814E A velvet-lined wall safe for pieces you'd rather hide than defend: sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay, with key and power overrides. No fire rating, and no UL burglary rating. | Best hidden optionAccess box | 5.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why jewelry is a theft problem first
Jewelry is small, valuable and easy to carry. That makes the everyday threat a burglar, not a fire, and it changes what a jewelry safe has to prove. Drawers, lining and a keypad are about organization and convenience. Resisting theft comes down to two things: a body that holds up to tools for a measured time, and an anchor that stops someone carrying the whole safe to a van.
The home-safe rating that measures the first part is UL 1037, the Residential Security Container (RSC) standard. UL describes Level 1 as a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers" (UL). Five minutes sounds short, and it is an entry-level rating, but it's a measured result, which is more than most jewelry safes offer. Our UL RSC rating explainer covers the three levels.
Burglary rating vs furniture-style jewelry safes
Most products sold as "jewelry safes" lead with the interior: suede-lined drawers, a glass shelf, a wooden jewelry box. The two Barska picks are good examples, and both publish more construction detail than many rivals (a 3 mm steel body on both, and an 8 mm door on the AX13106). Neither carries a burglary rating from a lab.
Barska's own listing title for the AX13106 calls it a "Keypad Fireproof Jewelry Safe" and claims it is "Fireproof for up to 30 min at 1,400° F," without naming a testing lab (Barska). That's typical of the category, and it's why we treat these as well-built jewelry cabinets rather than rated safes. Published steel thickness is useful, but it isn't a rating; our steel gauge explainer shows how to read it.
Drawers and organization
If you want drawers, the Barskas are the only picks with them built in: two suede-lined drawers and a removable glass shelf in the AX13106, and a three-drawer wooden jewelry box plus a glass shelf in the AX13616. The Stealth HS4 is a general home safe inside: Stealth lists a gray fabric interior with a leather-lined shelf, two zippered pockets on the door, and a built-in power outlet (Stealth). With a 21 x 15 x 13 in interior, there's room to add your own jewelry trays. The AMSEC BF1512's 15 x 12 x 13 in interior is smaller, but still enough for ring and watch boxes.
So the choice is real: drawers you can buy today with no burglary rating, or a rated body you organize yourself. For pieces that matter, we'd take the rating. Organizing a plain shelf is a small job: stackable trays for rings and earrings, a roll or pouch for necklaces so chains don't tangle, and the original boxes for watches. Measure the shelf spacing before buying trays, and leave room for the airtight containers mentioned below.
Locks, lockouts and backup keys
On a jewelry safe you open every day, the lock matters as much as the steel. The picks handle it differently:
- Stealth HS4: a UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate, with an internal re-locker and six 1.25 in bolts. Stealth offers a mechanical dial as an upgrade if you'd rather not rely on batteries.
- AMSEC BF1512: a mechanical key-locking dial as standard, with electronic lock options, and three 1 in solid steel bolts plus a full-length dead bar.
- Barska AX13106: a keypad that stores two PIN codes (handy for two people who share the safe), three solid steel bolts and two backup keys.
- Barska AX13616: a keypad with one 3-8 digit PIN, an alarm after three failed attempts, four solid steel bolts, a pry-resistant recessed door and two emergency keys.
- Protex PWS-1814E: an electronic lock driving two motorized 3/4 in bolts, with a key override and a power override.
A backup key is only as safe as the place you keep it. If it lives in a nightstand next to the safe, the safe's lock is only as strong as that drawer.
Fire ratings and jewelry
Fire ratings on safes are built around paper. The common benchmark keeps the interior below 350°F, and that's too hot for some jewelry. SentrySafe's fire-safe manual says not to store pearls, because in a fire "potential damage to delicate pearls occurs at temperatures much lower than the 350°F interior performance measure" (SentrySafe manual).
Moisture is the other issue. The same manual says fire insulation "has a high moisture content" and recommends putting "jewelry with working parts, watches, stamps, or photos" in an airtight container before storing them. Barska recommends a dehumidifier for the AX13106. A fire rating is still worth having if papers share the safe; the AMSEC BF1512 is the only pick here whose fire rating the maker credits to UL.
What insurance has to do with it
A safe reduces the chance of a loss; insurance covers the loss if it happens anyway. The Insurance Information Institute says expensive items like jewelry "are covered, but there are usually dollar limits if they are stolen," and that to insure them to full value you "purchase a special personal property endorsement or floater and insure the item for its officially appraised value" (Insurance Information Institute).
We couldn't find a neutral source we'd cite on whether a safe changes what you pay for coverage, so we won't promise a discount. Ask your insurer directly, and keep appraisals and photos of each piece somewhere other than the safe.
Check the exact model, not the look
Safes that look alike can carry very different evidence. Stealth sells the EHS4 in the same 24 x 18 x 20 in footprint as the HS4, with the same 21 x 15 x 13 in interior, but in 14-gauge steel instead of 12-gauge and with no RSC rating listed. Its fire claim drops to 30 minutes at 1,200°F, again with no lab named. On a product photo, the two are hard to tell apart. On the maker's spec page, the difference is the whole point of this list. Before you buy, find the words "UL" and "RSC" on the maker's page for the exact model number in your cart.
Keep the rating in proportion, too. A UL RSC Level 1 rating reflects a five-minute hand-tool attack by one technician. It buys time; it isn't a vault, and it says nothing about fire. That's why anchoring, a hidden location and insurance all still matter for pieces you can't replace.
How we ranked these jewelry safes
We haven't bought, opened or lab-tested any of these safes. Scores come from certifications, published specs and a dated CPSC recall search, on the rubrics published on how we rate. This page mixes two of them, and their scores aren't comparable:
- The Stealth HS4 and AMSEC BF1512 (UL RSC-rated home safes) are scored on our fire and home-safe rubric, which weights fire evidence at 35%.
- The Barska jewelry safes and the Protex wall safe are access boxes, scored on our access-control rubric.
We rank burglary-rated safes above unrated ones, because theft is this page's threat. Between the two rated safes, the BF1512 scores higher mostly on its UL fire rating. For jewelry, that matters less than availability and room, so the HS4, sold on Amazon with the bigger interior, ranks first.
We also searched CPSC recall notices for every brand here on 2026-09-19 and found no recall for Stealth, AMSEC, Barska or Protex safes. Each product card shows its own dated recall check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest jewelry safe
Stealth HS4
The burglary-rated choice on Amazon: the maker states a UL RSC rating, a UL-listed lock behind a hard plate and 12-gauge steel. It ranks above the higher-scoring AMSEC because both carry a UL RSC rating and the AMSEC's lead comes from its fire rating; the HS4 also has the larger interior.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC (Residential Security Container) burglary rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 12 gauge |
| Lock | UL-listed electronic lock (NL UR-2020) behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial upgrade available; six 1.25 in bolts |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included |
| Capacity | Interior 21 x 15 x 13 in (H x W x D); leather-lined shelf; interior power outlet |
| Exterior dimensions | 24 x 18 x 20 in (H x W x D), add 1 5/8 in depth for handle |
| Weight | 191 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty plus 2-year parts and labor |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Stealth safes; the biometric gun-safe recalls found in the search (Awesafe, Fortress, SA Consumer Products) are other brands. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 4
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker states a UL RSC burglary rating, rare for a home safe sold on Amazon
- UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate and re-locker
- 12-gauge door and body with six 1.25 in bolts
- Lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
- No water rating
- 191 lb: needs a plan for delivery and placement
Skip this if…
…fire is your main risk and you want a UL-classified fire rating; look at the AMSEC BF1512 or a UL-classified fire safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4
Rank 2
Stock photoBest if you also want a UL fire rating
AMSEC BF1512
UL RSC Level I plus a fire rating the maker says UL tested (60 min at 1,700°F), in a 288 lb body with a 1/2 in steel plate door. Small interior, and sold through AMSEC dealers.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level I security rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | UL 60 min at 1,700°F (maker says "independently tested by UL") |
| Door steel | 1/2 in solid steel plate door; full-length dead bar |
| Lock | Mechanical key-locking spy-proof dial standard; ESL5 or ESL10 electronic lock options; three 1 in solid steel bolts |
| Bolt-down | 1 recessed anchor bolt hole; mounting hardware provided |
| Capacity | Interior 15 x 12 x 13 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 20.25 x 17.25 x 18.75 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 288 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire replacement warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- UL RSC Level I burglary rating plus a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F
- 1/2 in solid steel plate door with a full-length dead bar
- Made in the USA with a choice of mechanical or electronic lock
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (plain reference link)
- 288 lb for a small 15 x 12 x 13 in interior
- No water rating
Skip this if…
…you want an Amazon purchase or need more than a small interior
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 3
Stock photoBest with built-in jewelry drawers
Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe
Two suede-lined drawers, a 3 mm body and 8 mm door (per Barska) and backup keys, but no burglary rating, and its 30-minute fire claim names no lab: an organized jewelry cabinet, not a rated safe.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,400°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 3 mm steel |
| Door steel | 8 mm steel |
| Lock | Digital keypad (retains 2 PIN codes); three solid steel locking bolts |
| Backup entry | 2 backup keys |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled mounting holes; mounting hardware included |
| Capacity | 1.01 cu ft (maker-stated); 2 suede-lined jewelry drawers and a removable glass shelf; interior 9 x 14 x 13.2 in (D x W x H) |
| Exterior dimensions | 14 x 18 x 17.5 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 115 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.1 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- Two suede-lined drawers keep jewelry separated and unscratched
- Published steel thickness: 3 mm body, 8 mm door
- Keypad with two PINs, backup keys and pre-drilled mounting holes
Where it falls short
- Fire claim names no testing lab
- No water rating; maker recommends a dehumidifier
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want a lab-verified fire rating for papers stored alongside the jewelry
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe
Rank 4
Stock photoBest larger drawer-style jewelry safe
Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe
A three-drawer wooden jewelry box inside a 190 lb, 1.91 cu ft steel body with four bolts and a failed-code alarm. No burglary rating, and the fire claim names no lab.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: up to 30 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 3 mm steel with 36 mm fire-resistant gypsum board |
| Lock | Keypad (1 PIN, 3-8 digits); alarm after 3 failed access attempts; four solid steel locking bolts; pry-resistant recessed door |
| Backup entry | 2 emergency backup keys |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes; floor mounting kit included |
| Capacity | 1.91 cu ft (maker-stated); three-drawer wooden jewelry box and glass shelf; interior 13.25 x 18.5 x 16.5 in (D x W x H) |
| Exterior dimensions | 19.5 x 21.5 x 19.5 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 190 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- Three-drawer wooden jewelry box plus open shelf space
- Four locking bolts, recessed door and a failed-code alarm
- 190 lb with a floor mounting kit included
Where it falls short
- Fire claim at 1,200°F names no testing lab
- No water rating
- Freight delivery and a 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need a verified fire rating or cannot take a 190 lb freight delivery
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX13616 Keypad Jewelry Safe
Rank 5
Stock photoBest hidden option
Protex PWS-1814E
A velvet-lined wall safe for pieces you'd rather hide than defend: sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay, with key and power overrides. No fire rating, and no UL burglary rating.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Maker says "Burglary Resistant" (no UL rating cited) |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Door steel | 5/8 in formed steel door; body "heavy duty gauge steel" (gauge not published) |
| Lock | Digital electronic lock; dual live motorized 3/4 in chrome bolts; door opens automatically |
| Backup entry | Key lock override (2 keys) and power override |
| Bolt-down | Designed for 16 in on-center wall studs; 3 anchor holes per side (6 total); 16 x 20 in flange |
| Capacity | About 0.44 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 14 x 18 1/8 x 3 in (W x H x D); 2 removable shelves |
| Exterior dimensions | 14 1/8 x 18 1/4 x 3 7/8 in (W x H x D) |
| Weight | 28 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty, parts only |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Protex Safe Co. safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- Sized for a standard 16 in on-center stud bay with a flange that hides the cut
- Key override and power override for a dead battery
- Motorized bolts; velvet interior with two shelves
Where it falls short
- No fire rating: in-wall safes rarely have one
- "Burglary Resistant" is the maker's wording, not a UL rating
- Warranty covers parts only, for 1 year
Skip this if…
…you need fire protection or anything more than concealment plus a lock
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Protex PWS-1814E
What to look for in a jewelry safe
- A burglary rating named on the maker's page. "UL" and "RSC" (UL 1037). Without it, you're buying construction and a lock, not a measured result.
- Weight plus bolt-down. Every pick here has mounting holes or hardware. Use them.
- A lock that resists guessing. The Stealth HS4 uses a UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker; the Barska AX13616 sounds an alarm after three failed codes. Our electronic vs mechanical lock guide compares lock types.
- Backup entry you control. Both Barskas include backup keys; the Protex has key and power overrides. Keep backup keys away from the safe.
- Interior that fits your collection. Drawers are convenient, but measure boxes and watch winders before you rely on them.
Which pick fits your collection
- Pieces you'd struggle to replace, bought on Amazon: the Stealth HS4, bolted down, with your own trays on its shelf.
- Jewelry plus papers, from a dealer: the AMSEC BF1512, the only pick whose fire rating the maker credits to UL. Keep pearls out of it (see above).
- An everyday collection that needs drawers more than a rating: the Barska AX13106, bolted to the floor with its included hardware.
- A larger collection with boxes and watches: the Barska AX13616, if you can take a 190 lb freight delivery.
- A few pieces you want hidden, not defended: the Protex PWS-1814E, installed in a wall where nobody would think to look.
Weight, delivery and anchoring
Weight slows a thief down only until the safe is on a dolly. Anchoring is what keeps it in place, and each pick spells out its provisions differently: the Stealth HS4 (191 lb) has four pre-drilled bolt-down holes with hardware included; the AMSEC BF1512 (288 lb) has one recessed anchor bolt hole with hardware provided; the Barska AX13106 (115 lb) has four pre-drilled mounting holes and hardware; the Barska AX13616 (190 lb) comes with a floor mounting kit; and the Protex wall safe (28 lb) has six anchor holes, three per side, for the studs. The heavier safes need a plan for getting them upstairs and into a closet before the delivery truck arrives.
Warranties
Warranty terms vary widely here. Stealth lists a lifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty on the HS4, plus two years of parts and labor. AMSEC lists a lifetime fire replacement warranty on the BF1512. Both Barskas carry a 1-year limited warranty, and Protex gives the PWS-1814E a 1-year limited warranty covering parts only. For a safe that holds heirlooms, the HS4's replacement-after-break-in promise is worth reading in full before you buy.
Installation and placement
Anchor the safe to the floor with the maker's hardware. UL's RSC standard itself requires products of 750 lb or less to pass a drop test unless they're reliably mounted using the maker's provisions (UL), and every safe on this page is lighter than that. A closet floor keeps the safe out of sight. For picture-sized concealment, a wall safe like the Protex hides smaller pieces, with the trade-offs covered in our wall safe rankings. Our guide to where to put a safe in your house covers rooms and floors.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying on the drawers alone and never bolting the safe down.
- Storing pearls in a fire safe whose interior limit is built for paper.
- Putting watches with working parts straight into a fire safe without an airtight container.
- Keeping the only appraisals and photos of your jewelry inside the safe itself.
- Assuming your homeowners policy covers the full value of stolen pieces without checking its limits.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best safe for jewelry?
Are jewelry safes "fireproof"?
Should jewelry go in a home safe or a safe deposit box?
Will a home safe lower my insurance?
Do jewelry safes need to be bolted down?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best home safesHome safes ranked by the threat they stop, burglary and fire.
- Best wall safesConcealment between the studs, and what it can't do.
- Where to put a safe in your houseHide it, anchor it and keep it dry.
- How to choose a home safeThreat first, then rating, size and placement.
- Home safe vs safe deposit boxWhich valuables belong at home and which at the bank.
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat a Residential Security Container listing measures.
Receipts
Sources
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- Insurance Information Institute — What is covered by standard homeowners insurance?
- SentrySafe — Fire-Safe owner's manual P44621 (pearls and moisture guidance)
- Barska — AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe product page
- Stealth Safes — HS4 product page
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-19)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.