Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best small home safes: what fits in under one cubic foot
A small safe is a trade, not a bargain. You give up interior volume and, almost always, weight, which is the thing that stops someone carrying the box out of the house. These six publish enough detail to make that trade with your eyes open.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SentrySafe FPW082HTC The largest interior here at 0.81 cu ft, a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F fire rating, an ETL-verified water rating and a genuine override key. 55 lb, so a closet shelf will take it. | Best small home safe overallFire chest | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() SentrySafe CFW20201 0.28 cu ft and 20 lb, with a UL-classified full hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified 72 hr flood protection. A privacy key lock only: this is a fire box, not a burglary safe. | Best small safe for fire aloneFire chest | 6.3 /10 | $86.82Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() SentrySafe X055 0.58 cu ft of steel with a keypad, two override keys, bolt-down hardware and a maker-stated California DOJ certification. No fire rating at all, and 14 lb, so bolting it down is the whole point. | Best small safe with no fire job to doAccess box | 6.6 /10 | $104.99Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe CHW20221 The same 0.28 cu ft shell as the CFW20201 with half the fire time (UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F) and the same ETL 72 hr flood rating. Buy it for the carry handle, not the rating. | Best grab-and-go document chestFire chest | 5.6 /10 | $62.99Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Honeywell 1103 0.24 cu ft, with the manual naming Underwriters Laboratories for the 30-minute fire test and a 5-year warranty. Honeywell's water claim names no lab and the page and manual disagree on the hours. | Best small chest with a longer warrantyFire chest | 4.9 /10 | $98.98Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Protex PWS-1814E 0.44 cu ft inside a wall, sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay with a flange that hides the cut. No fire rating, and a 3 in interior depth. | Best small safe that takes up no floor spaceAccess box | 5.9 /10 | $229.98Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

"Small safe" is one of the most-searched phrases in this category, and it usually means one of two very different things. Either you have a short list of irreplaceable paper and a drive or two and you want them to survive a house fire, or you want a locked steel box that keeps a handgun, cash or medication away from children and visitors. The products that do those two jobs are not the same, and almost nothing under one cubic foot does both well.
We do not test safes. Every figure on this page is the maker's published specification or its owner's manual, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. Each brand also carries a dated CPSC recall search on its product card.
What "small" actually means here
Every pick on this page publishes an interior volume under one cubic foot, and the spread inside that is bigger than it sounds: 0.24 cu ft at the bottom and 0.81 at the top is more than a three-fold difference. In practical terms:
- 0.24 to 0.28 cu ft is a document chest. Passports, birth certificates, the deed, a couple of backup drives, a small amount of cash. Paper lies flat; nothing stands up.
- 0.44 to 0.58 cu ft is a lock box with shelf space: a handgun and a magazine, jewellery, cash, medication, keys.
- 0.81 cu ft is the smallest size that behaves like a safe rather than a box. The FPW082HTC publishes a 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in interior, which takes stacked letter-size folders plus a drive.
Measure the contents before you shop, not the shelf. A household's genuinely irreplaceable paper is usually thinner than people expect; our what to keep in a fireproof safe guide works through the list, and what size home safe do I need turns it into cubic feet.
How we ranked them
The rubric is the one published at how we rate: independent certification first, then construction, fire evidence, lock and entry, fit, and support. On a page of small safes two of those carry extra weight.
- Is the rating verified by a named lab? A "1 hour fire rating" means something different when UL classified it than when the maker measured it in-house. Four of our six picks name UL for the fire test and Intertek (ETL) for the water test.
- Does the maker ship bolt-down hardware? At these weights an unanchored safe is luggage. Three picks include the hardware; one is designed to be screwed into wall studs instead.
The published numbers, side by side
This is the table to shop from. Note how little the fire time tracks the size, and how far apart the water claims are once you ask who verified them.
Fire or theft: decide which one you are buying for
No safe on this page carries a burglary rating. Not one. That is not a flaw in our shortlist, it is what the category is: a UL Residential Security Container listing (UL's own notice on the standard) requires a body and door built to survive a timed attack with hand tools, and that construction does not fit in 20 lb. Our fire rating vs burglary rating explainer sets out why the two ratings pull a design in opposite directions.
So the honest decision tree is short. If the threat is a house fire, buy a UL-classified fire rating and accept the privacy lock: the CFW20201 at 0.28 cu ft gives you a full hour at 1,700°F. If the threat is a person, buy steel and bolts and accept that there is no fire rating: that is the X055. If it is both and the budget allows one box, the FPW082HTC is the compromise, with the caveat that its body is resin-cased rather than steel, so bolting it down is doing the security work.
The published UL fire classes are worth understanding before you spend: Class 350 keeps the interior under 350°F, which protects paper but not every kind of media. We walk through that in safe fire ratings explained.
Weight is the specification nobody reads
The picks here run from 10 to 55 lb. At the light end, the safe's own weight contributes nothing: two hands and a coat are enough to remove it, and the lock becomes irrelevant because the thief opens it later, somewhere else. That is why we score bolt-down provision as part of the lock-and-entry picture rather than a nice extra.
Three practical notes from the manuals, all of which catch buyers out:
- Bolting down can void a water rating. SentrySafe's SFW-series manual says the ETL-verified water claim applies before the bolt-down kit is installed, because the kit puts holes in the floor of the safe. The FPW082HTC manual separately says not to bolt that model to a wall.
- A chest with a handle is designed to leave the house. The CHW20221 and the Honeywell 1103 are grab-and-go boxes. If you want one, plan where it lives so it cannot simply be lifted by someone else.
- Anchor into framing, not just into the subfloor. How to bolt down a gun safe covers the method, and it applies to a 55 lb home safe just as much as a 500 lb one.
The in-wall alternative
If floor space is the constraint rather than money, a between-the-studs safe solves a different problem. The Protex PWS-1814E is 3 7/8 in deep with a 16 x 20 in flange that covers the cut, and it screws to the studs on both sides, so taking it needs tools and noise. The compromises are real: a 3 in interior depth, no fire rating, and a one-year parts-only warranty. Our wall safe roundup covers the category properly, and floor safe vs wall safe compares it with the in-floor option.
Common mistakes
- Buying volume instead of interior dimensions. 0.28 cu ft sounds similar to 0.44, but one is 4.4 in tall inside and the other is 3 in deep. Check the published interior against the actual objects.
- Treating "fireproof" as a property rather than a time. Every rating is a temperature held for a stated number of minutes. See are fireproof safes really fireproof.
- Keeping cash and documents in a privacy-locked chest in plain sight. The lock on a chest is there to stop a child or a houseguest, and the makers say so.
- Forgetting the override. On several SentrySafe models the second key is explicitly not an override: the manual calls it "a secondary locking feature not an override key." If a keypad fault would be a crisis, buy a model with a stated override, like the FPW082HTC or the X055.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Best small home safe overall
SentrySafe FPW082HTC
The largest interior here at 0.81 cu ft, a UL-classified 1 hr / 1,700°F fire rating, an ETL-verified water rating and a genuine override key. 55 lb, so a closet shelf will take it.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (not a steel body) |
| Lock | Backlit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in bolts |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating) |
| Capacity | 0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 55 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 7.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 3.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
- Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
- ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
- 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe
Where it falls short
- Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
- Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC
Rank 2

Best small safe for fire alone
SentrySafe CFW20201
0.28 cu ft and 20 lb, with a UL-classified full hour at 1,700°F and ETL-verified 72 hr flood protection. A privacy key lock only: this is a fire box, not a burglary safe.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
- ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
- Carry handle; about 20 lb
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
- Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201
Rank 3

Best small safe with no fire job to do
SentrySafe X055
0.58 cu ft of steel with a keypad, two override keys, bolt-down hardware and a maker-stated California DOJ certification. No fire rating at all, and 14 lb, so bolting it down is the whole point.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None (maker lists security protection only) |
| Water rating | None |
| Body steel | Solid steel; gauge not published |
| Lock | Battery-powered digital keypad (1-8 digit code); 2 live-locking bolts |
| Backup entry | Two override keys |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down hardware included |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ certified for firearm storage (maker states) |
| Capacity | 0.58 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 8.5 x 13.6 x 8.7 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 8.7 x 13.8 x 10.2 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 14.2 lb |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- Maker states California DOJ certification for firearm storage
- Override keys for a dead battery or forgotten code
- Bolt-down hardware included; 14 lb, fits a shelf or cabinet
Where it falls short
- No fire rating and no water rating
- No burglary rating; light enough to carry off unless bolted down
- Small 0.58 cu ft interior
Skip this if…
…you need any fire protection for documents; pair it with a fire chest or choose a fire safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe X055
Rank 4

Best grab-and-go document chest
SentrySafe CHW20221
The same 0.28 cu ft shell as the CFW20201 with half the fire time (UL 1/2 hr at 1,550°F) and the same ETL 72 hr flood rating. Buy it for the carry handle, not the rating.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock to keep children and unwanted viewers out |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20.4 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating, both named on the maker's page
- Carry handle and in-lid organizer for a grab-and-go document kit
- About 20 lb, so it goes under a bed or on a closet shelf
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: a thief can carry the whole chest away
- 30-minute fire rating, half the time of a 1-hour chest
- Letter or legal paper fit is not stated by the maker (interior is 12.8 x 8.5 in)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from theft or room for hanging file folders
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CHW20221
Rank 5

Best small chest with a longer warranty
Honeywell 1103
0.24 cu ft, with the manual naming Underwriters Laboratories for the 30-minute fire test and a 5-year warranty. Honeywell's water claim names no lab and the page and manual disagree on the hours.
EvidenceResearched
How the 4.9 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 4.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Manual names Underwriters Laboratories as the fire tester
- Compression latches for a tighter water seal
- 5-year limited warranty, longer than SentrySafe's one year on chests
Where it falls short
- Water rating names no lab, and the page (100 hr) and manual (24 hr) disagree
- Privacy lock only; no burglary resistance
- Small 0.24 cu ft interior
Skip this if…
…you want a lab-verified water rating; SentrySafe's chests name ETL for theirs
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Honeywell 1103
Rank 6

Best small safe that takes up no floor space
Protex PWS-1814E
0.44 cu ft inside a wall, sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay with a flange that hides the cut. No fire rating, and a 3 in interior depth.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Maker says "Burglary Resistant" (no UL rating cited) |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Door steel | 5/8 in formed steel door; body "heavy duty gauge steel" (gauge not published) |
| Lock | Digital electronic lock; dual live motorized 3/4 in chrome bolts; door opens automatically |
| Backup entry | Key lock override (2 keys) and power override |
| Bolt-down | Designed for 16 in on-center wall studs; 3 anchor holes per side (6 total); 16 x 20 in flange |
| Capacity | About 0.44 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 14 x 18 1/8 x 3 in (W x H x D); 2 removable shelves |
| Exterior dimensions | 14 1/8 x 18 1/4 x 3 7/8 in (W x H x D) |
| Weight | 28 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty, parts only |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Protex Safe Co. safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- Sized for a standard 16 in on-center stud bay with a flange that hides the cut
- Key override and power override for a dead battery
- Motorized bolts; velvet interior with two shelves
Where it falls short
- No fire rating: in-wall safes rarely have one
- "Burglary Resistant" is the maker's wording, not a UL rating
- Warranty covers parts only, for 1 year
Skip this if…
…you need fire protection or anything more than concealment plus a lock
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Protex PWS-1814E
How to buy a small home safe
1. Lay the contents out on a table
Stack the papers, add the drives, the jewellery box, the spare cash. That pile, plus a little room, is your interior requirement. Most households end up under half a cubic foot of genuinely irreplaceable material.
2. Name the threat out loud
Fire, water, children, or a burglar. A small safe can answer the first three. For the fourth, weight and a burglary rating are what work, and both mean a bigger safe; our home safe rankings go up from here.
3. Buy a verified rating where you can
Prefer a fire rating UL classified and a water rating ETL verified over the same numbers claimed in-house. On this page that means the SentrySafe models, and it costs nothing extra to insist on it.
4. Plan the anchor before delivery
Decide the spot, check what is under the floor or inside the wall, and read the manual's bolt-down section before you drill. On a few models anchoring changes the water rating, so the order of operations matters.
5. Budget for a hygrometer if papers live there long-term
A sealed box with fire insulation in it holds moisture. A cheap in-safe hygrometer tells you whether you need to do anything about it.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked six sub-one-cubic-foot safes on published interior volume, who verified each fire and water rating, and whether bolt-down hardware ships in the box.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best small home safe?
Is a small safe secure enough?
Do small home safes protect against fire?
Can a small safe be bolted down?
What size is a small home safe in cubic feet?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- What size home safe do I need?Turn a pile of documents into a cubic-feet figure before you shop.
- Best fireproof safes under $100The budget end of the same shortlist, ranked the same way.
- Best fireproof document safesIf papers are the whole job, start here instead.
- Best wall safesThe small-footprint alternative that uses no floor space.
- Fire rating vs burglary ratingWhy one small box rarely does both jobs well.
- Best drop safesA small safe with a deposit slot, for cash that arrives daily.
Receipts
Sources
- SentrySafe — FPW082HTC product page, fire and water classifications, interior dimensions (checked 2026-10-17)
- SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page, UL 1 hr class and ETL flood rating (checked 2026-10-17)
- SentrySafe — X055 product page, security-only peril type and CA DOJ statement (checked 2026-10-17)
- SentrySafe — CHW20221 product page, UL 1/2 hr class and ETL flood rating (checked 2026-10-17)
- Honeywell Safes — 1103 product page and manual, UL fire testing and water claim (checked 2026-10-17)
- Protex Safe Co. — PWS-1814E wall safe specifications (checked 2026-10-17)
- Safe & Vault Store — published explanation of the UL fire classes (Class 350 / 150 / 125)
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (what an RSC listing requires)
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.