Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Stealth Safes review: the brand names UL for burglary, never for fire

Stealth is unusual at its price: it says outright that UL rated the burglary resistance on its UL series, and it fits a UL-listed SecuRam lock across the whole range. The fire claim is the gap, and it is the same gap on every model.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • Stealth UL28

    The model that earns the brand its reputation

    Stealth UL28

    UL RSC7.5 /10

    The page states a UL RSC burglary rating, a 12-gauge door and body, twelve 1.25 in bolts and a UL-listed SecuRam Type 1 lock behind a hard plate and relocker. Its 60-minute fire figure names no lab.

    $1,799.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28

  • Stealth UL14

    The same listing in a smaller body

    Stealth UL14

    UL RSC7.4 /10

    The compact UL-series safe, carrying the same stated RSC rating and lock. Buy it for the listing, not for the capacity.

    $1,399.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14

  • Stealth HS4

    The reason to know this brand at all

    Stealth HS4

    UL RSC5.6 /10

    A home safe whose maker states a UL RSC rating and that is actually sold on Amazon, which is close to unique in our registry. Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4

  • Stealth EGS14

    Where the evidence stops

    Stealth EGS14

    Access box5.0 /10

    The Essential series drops to 14-gauge and, more importantly, states no burglary rating at all: the page's security claim is California DOJ approval. Same UL-listed SecuRam lock as the UL series.

    $1,099.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EGS14

  • Stealth EHS4

    Essential, in home-safe form

    Stealth EHS4

    Access box5.7 /10

    14-gauge with bolt-down holes and the same lifetime replacement warranty, but no RSC rating and a 30-minute fire claim with no lab named. The HS4 is the same footprint with the listing.

    $549.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EHS4

Heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

This is a brand evaluation, not a lab test. Everything below is quoted from Stealth's own product pages, checked 2026-10-26, with each page linked at the claim it supports. Where Stealth states who did the rating, we say so. Where it does not, we say that too, because across this brand the difference between those two cases is the whole story.

The verdict

If you want our ranked view rather than the brand view, the UL28 appears in best UL RSC gun safes and the HS4 in best burglary safes, both of which sort on exactly this question.

Two tiers wearing one badge, and the same lock in both

The single most useful thing to understand about Stealth is that the catalog splits in two, and the split is about ratings rather than size:

  • The UL series (UL28, UL14 and, among home safes, the HS4). These are the models whose pages state a UL RSC burglary rating. The UL28 page publishes a 12-gauge steel door and body and twelve 1.25 in solid steel locking bolts.
  • The Essential series (EGS14, EHS4). Thinner at 14 gauge, and the EGS14 page states no burglary rating at all. Its security credential is California DOJ approval, which is a child-access and construction standard, not a burglary rating — a distinction we unpack in CA DOJ approved gun safes.

What makes this interesting rather than just a product ladder: both tiers are listed with the same lock. Stealth publishes a "UL Listed SECURAM TopLit High Security Electronic Lock, Type 1" on the UL28 and on the EGS14 alike, each behind a hard plate with an internal relocker, with a mechanical dial available as an upgrade. So the money between the two lines buys steel and the listing, not a better lock. That is a clearer ladder than most brands offer, and it means the cheap Stealth is not cheap where it would hurt you most.

The burglary claim, and why it counts

The UL28 page states a "UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating" and attributes the testing to Underwriters Laboratories. Per UL's own notice on the standard, an RSC Level I listing means a tester with common hand tools failed to get in within five minutes of net working time. That is a modest-sounding bar and it is still the only burglary claim in residential safes that anyone measured.

Why it counts at this brand's price: plenty of safes in the same bracket advertise "burglary resistant", "anti-theft" or a steel gauge and nothing else. Our Cannon review searched a competitor's entire live store for UL, RSC, ETL or Intertek and came up with almost nothing; Stealth puts it on the page. Treat the rating as a maker statement rather than a listing you have personally verified — we have not seen a UL file number on the page — but a maker that names the lab is a maker you can hold to it.

The fire claim, and what is missing from it

For contrast, AMSEC states ETL as the lab on the BFX6030, and SentrySafe states a UL classification on its fire safes. If a verified fire rating is your priority, best UL fire-rated safes lists only models whose fire claim an outside lab is credited with, and best fireproof gun safes sorts the gun-safe market the same way. Stealth does not appear at the top of either, and that is the honest consequence of a missing lab name.

The published evidence, side by side

EvidenceStealth UL28Stealth UL14Stealth HS4Stealth EGS14Stealth EHS4
TierUL RSCUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingUL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating'UL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating'UL RSC (Residential Security Container) burglary rating (per maker)Not stated by the maker (page lists California DOJ approval, which is not a burglary rating)Not stated by the maker (no RSC rating listed for the EHS4)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,200°F (testing lab not named)
Body steel12 gauge12 gauge12 gauge14 gauge14 gauge
LockUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeUL-listed electronic lock (NL UR-2020) behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial upgrade available; six 1.25 in boltsUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeSecuRam SafeLogic TopLight electronic lock, 5-minute lockout after four wrong codes; mechanical dial upgrade available; four 3/4 in bolts
Bolt-down4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes2 pre-drilled bolt-down holes
WarrantyLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime burglary, attempted burglary and house fire warranty plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and labor
Stealth-published figures, checked 2026-10-26. A dash means the figure is not in our cited sources.

Read the burglary row first. Three of the five state a rating; two state none. Then read the fire row, which is uniform in its weakness. Then read the lock row, which is uniform in its strength. That is a brand with one clear virtue, one clear gap and an unusually honest internal ladder.

On availability and price, for once we can be concrete: both the UL28 and the EGS14 showed In Stock, Ships Same Business Day on Stealth's own store when we checked, listed at $1,799.99 (from $2,299.99) and $1,099.99 (from $1,399.99) respectively. Those are the maker's own published figures on 2026-10-26, quoted to show where the range sits rather than as a price we track; safe prices move constantly, and the buy button is the current number.

Warranty, and where they are made

The warranty is a genuine selling point and it is published per product: a lifetime burglary and fire warranty covering break-in, attempted break-in and house fire, plus two years of parts and labor. Both tiers get it, which is more than several premium brands offer — Fort Knox's lifetime coverage, for example, does not transfer to a second owner, as our Fort Knox vs Liberty comparison documents.

Manufacturing location is the one question Stealth does not answer. The UL28 page states that the lock is assembled and tested in the USA; it says nothing about where the safe itself is built. That matches what we found when researching best gun safes made in USA, where Stealth is named as a brand publishing no manufacturing location. If country of origin matters to you, the absence of a claim is your answer.

On recalls: our CPSC search for Stealth safes returned no recall notices, dated on each product card. That is the quietest kind of good news, and it is not something every brand in this category can say — the recall history behind some competitors is the entire argument of safest gun safes. You can run the same search yourself at the CPSC recall database.

Who should buy a Stealth

  • The buyer who wants an RSC listing without dealer shopping. The HS4 is the rare home safe with a maker-stated UL RSC rating that is sold on Amazon rather than through a dealer network. Our home safe rankings put it near the top for that reason.
  • The buyer who values the lock and the relocker. A UL-listed Type 1 electronic lock behind a hard plate, with a dial upgrade path, at both ends of the range. See electronic vs mechanical locks, and if you want the dial, the swap guide explains why specifying it at purchase beats retrofitting later.
  • The buyer who wants a replacement warranty in writing. Lifetime burglary and fire replacement, published on the product page rather than buried.
  • The renter or upstairs owner buying the UL14. The same stated listing in a body that fits through a normal doorway; see apartment picks.

Who should not

  • Anyone whose first requirement is a verified fire rating. No Stealth fire claim we found names a lab. Buy from a brand that credits UL or ETL instead.
  • Anyone buying the Essential series expecting the UL series' evidence. The badge is the same; the burglary rating is not. If the price difference is the obstacle, a smaller UL-series safe beats a bigger Essential one on the thing we rank for.
  • Anyone who needs country of manufacture stated. Stealth does not publish it.
  • Anyone shopping on capacity per dollar. Gun-count claims are marketing arithmetic at every brand; our size guide and long gun safe rankings explain how to buy on interior dimensions instead.

Comparing brands rather than models? Liberty, Winchester, Cannon and Browning get the same treatment, each built on what the maker publishes rather than on what the category expects.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Stealth UL28

The model that earns the brand its reputation

Stealth UL28

UL RSC7.5 /10

The page states a UL RSC burglary rating, a 12-gauge door and body, twelve 1.25 in bolts and a UL-listed SecuRam Type 1 lock behind a hard plate and relocker. Its 60-minute fire figure names no lab.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • The maker states a UL RSC burglary listing, the independent burglary standard this site ranks gun safes on
  • 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts on all four sides of the door
  • UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker, and a mechanical dial offered for buyers who want no electronics
  • Bolt-down holes come with hardware, and the lifetime warranty covers break-ins and house fires

Where it falls short

  • The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure; no independent lab is named
  • At 529 lb it needs a ground-floor or slab location and a delivery plan
  • No override key is listed for the electronic lock; keep spare batteries and consider the dial option

Skip this if…

…you need a fire rating verified by an independent lab, or your floor or stairs can't take a 529 lb safe

$1,799.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28

Stealth UL14

The same listing in a smaller body

Stealth UL14

UL RSC7.4 /10

The compact UL-series safe, carrying the same stated RSC rating and lock. Buy it for the listing, not for the capacity.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
  • 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
  • UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
  • Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying

Where it falls short

  • Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
  • The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
  • 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit

Skip this if…

…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating

$1,399.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14

Stealth HS4

The reason to know this brand at all

Stealth HS4

UL RSC5.6 /10

A home safe whose maker states a UL RSC rating and that is actually sold on Amazon, which is close to unique in our registry. Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named.

How the 5.6 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
4
Water rating evidence (15%)
0
Burglary resistance (20%)
8.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Maker states a UL RSC burglary rating, rare for a home safe sold on Amazon
  • UL-listed electronic lock protected by a hard plate and re-locker
  • 12-gauge door and body with six 1.25 in bolts
  • Lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty

Where it falls short

  • Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
  • No water rating
  • 191 lb: needs a plan for delivery and placement

Skip this if…

…fire is your main risk and you want a UL-classified fire rating; look at the AMSEC BF1512 or a UL-classified fire safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth HS4

Stealth EGS14

Where the evidence stops

Stealth EGS14

Access box5.0 /10

The Essential series drops to 14-gauge and, more importantly, states no burglary rating at all: the page's security claim is California DOJ approval. Same UL-listed SecuRam lock as the UL series.

How the 5.0 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • At 230 lb it is light for a full gun safe, easier on upstairs floors and deliveries
  • Maker states California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval
  • Same UL-listed electronic lock as Stealth's UL RSC models
  • Lifetime burglary and fire warranty with bolt-down holes

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing: 14-gauge steel and 2-way bolts are a child-and-casual-access defense, not a rated burglary one
  • 30-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure
  • No override key is listed; keep spare batteries

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating; the UL14 is the same footprint with one

$1,099.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EGS14

Stealth EHS4

Essential, in home-safe form

Stealth EHS4

Access box5.7 /10

14-gauge with bolt-down holes and the same lifetime replacement warranty, but no RSC rating and a 30-minute fire claim with no lab named. The HS4 is the same footprint with the listing.

How the 5.7 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
6.5
Child-access standards (20%)
4
Mounting (15%)
6
Support & transparency (10%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Published 14-gauge door and body with bolt-down holes
  • Lifetime replacement warranty after break-in, attempted break-in or house fire
  • Built-in power outlet and door storage pockets

Where it falls short

  • Fire rating is a maker claim at 1,200°F with no lab named
  • No RSC burglary rating; the same maker's HS4 carries one
  • No water rating

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-rated burglary safe; the Stealth HS4 is the same footprint with a UL RSC rating

$549.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EHS4

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are Stealth safes any good?
For burglary evidence at their price, yes: the UL-series models state a UL RSC burglary rating with Underwriters Laboratories named as the tester, and every model we checked fits a UL-listed SecuRam Type 1 lock behind a hard plate and relocker. The weakness is the fire rating, which names no testing lab on any Stealth page we found.
Which Stealth safes are UL RSC rated?
The UL series. The UL28 and UL14 gun safes and the HS4 home safe state a UL RSC burglary rating on their product pages. The Essential series — EGS14 and EHS4 — states no burglary rating; its security claim is California DOJ approval, which is a child-access and construction standard rather than a burglary rating.
Is the Stealth fire rating certified?
Not as far as the brand says. The UL28 is published as 60 minutes at 1,200°F and the EGS14 as 30 minutes, both describing an interior that never passes 350°F, but no testing laboratory is credited on either page. We treat every fire claim with no lab named as a manufacturer claim.
Where are Stealth safes made?
Stealth does not publish a manufacturing location. The UL28 page states that the lock is assembled and tested in the USA and says nothing about the safe body. If origin matters to you, treat the absence of a claim as the answer.
What is the difference between the Stealth UL and Essential series?
Steel and the rating. The UL series publishes 12-gauge door and body construction and a stated UL RSC burglary rating; the Essential series is 14 gauge with no burglary rating. Both carry the same UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock and the same lifetime burglary and fire replacement warranty, so the upgrade buys evidence rather than a better lock.
What does the Stealth warranty cover?
Stealth publishes a lifetime burglary and fire warranty covering break-in, attempted break-in and house fire, plus two years of parts and labor, on both product lines. Read the maker's own terms before relying on it, as replacement warranties usually carry conditions such as anchoring and a police or fire report.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Stealth Safes — UL28 gun safe product page: UL RSC burglary rating attributed to UL, 12-gauge body, twelve 1.25 in bolts, SecuRam UL-listed Type 1 lock, 60-minute fire claim, warranty, stock and list price (checked 2026-10-26)
  2. Stealth Safes — UL14 gun safe product page (checked 2026-10-26)
  3. Stealth Safes — Essential EGS14 product page: no burglary rating stated, CA DOJ approval, 14-gauge body, same SecuRam lock, 30-minute fire claim, stock and list price (checked 2026-10-26)
  4. Stealth Safes — HS4 home safe product page: maker-stated UL RSC rating (checked 2026-10-26)
  5. Stealth Safes — Essential EHS4 home safe product page (checked 2026-10-26)
  6. UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised: what an RSC listing tests
  7. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment (the standard behind the 350°F class language)
  8. 11 CCR 4100 — California's gun safe standard (what DOJ approval covers)
  9. CPSC — recall database searched for Stealth safes (no recall found)

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes