Gun Safes · The rankings
Best long gun safes and how many rifles really fit
Gun counts on the box assume slim, unscoped rifles packed tight. We rank rifle safes on the listing and steel first, then on the published interior depth that decides what actually fits.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Stealth UL28 A maker-stated UL RSC listing, a 12-gauge door and body and a UL-listed lock, with a published 56.5 x 25.5 x 16.5 in interior, so you can check scoped-rifle fit before you buy. Sold on Amazon, at 529 lb. | Best long gun safeUL RSC | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Liberty Franklin 29 A 20.5 in deep interior, the deepest published on this page, around an 11-gauge body with a UL RSC rating (per a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty says "UL-Listed safe body"). Sold through Liberty dealers, not Amazon. | Deepest published interior for scoped riflesUL RSC | 7.4 /10 | See at maker |
| 3 | ![]() Kodiak KGX5933W Rhino Metals states a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance for this 12-gauge, 41-long-gun Kodiak, making it the largest listed burglary-rated safe here for a family with a growing collection. | Largest UL RSC gun countUL RSC | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Winchester Ranger 26 A 12-gauge gun safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock and a maker-claimed 60-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for buyers who want a maker-stated RSC listing from a brand sold on Amazon. | Best UL RSC with rifle racks and extrasUL RSC | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() AMSEC SF6030 A gun safe whose fire rating an independent lab verified (ETL, 60 minutes at 1,200°F), with a 3/16-inch plate door; buy it from a dealer if fire is your first worry. | Best deep interior with a verified fire ratingAccess box | 6.4 /10 | See at maker |
| 6 | ![]() Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924) Heavy published steel (9 gauge, 20 bolts, 932 lb) with a maker-claimed 2-hour fire rating, for a garage or slab-floor owner who wants mass and plate over a listing. | Best honest capacity for a big collectionAccess box | 5.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Hollon Republic RG-22 A 10-gauge body with a 3-gauge door and a maker-claimed 120-minute fire rating, for an owner who wants plate-heavy construction and can take 800 lb, accepting that no lab has rated it. | Best thick-plate safe for scoped riflesAccess box | 5.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 8 | ![]() Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818) A 12-gauge, 453 lb safe whose maker publishes an honest usable capacity (12-16 long guns, not just the 20-gun maximum), for a mid-size collection on a ground floor. | Best honest capacity for a mid-size collectionAccess box | 5.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Who this is for
This page is for owners whose collection is mostly rifles and shotguns: hunting rifles with scopes, a shotgun or two, perhaps a modern sporting rifle with an optic. The threats are the same as for any gun safe (children and visitors, a break-in, a fire), and so is our order of evidence: a UL burglary listing first, then published steel and lock, then fire evidence. What's different is fit. A long-gun safe that can't hold your scoped rifles without knocking optics against each other isn't the right safe, however good its listing.
Mostly handguns? See our overall gun safe ranking and our handgun safe hub instead. Only one or two long guns, and the goal is keeping children out? A gun cabinet may be enough.
Advertised capacity vs what fits
A gun count is a rack count: the number of barrel slots, each holding a slim, unscoped long gun. Liberty's own spec pages say it plainly: "Gun capacity may vary depending upon size of guns and scopes." Only one maker in this group publishes a realistic figure next to the maximum. Steelwater lists the SW592818 at a maximum of 20 long guns with an "average recommended" capacity of 12-16, and the HD593924 at a maximum of 39 with an average of 24-30 (Steelwater's HD593924 page). For those two safes, the realistic number is roughly 60 to 80 percent of the maximum. Nobody else here publishes a realistic figure, so treat every other count as the ceiling.
| Safe | Maker's count | Published interior (H x W x D, in) | Realistic figure published? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stealth UL28 | Up to 28 | 56.5 x 25.5 x 16.5 | No |
| Liberty Franklin 29 | 29 | 54.5 x 25.25 x 20.5 | No; Liberty notes counts vary with guns and scopes |
| Kodiak KGX5933W | 41 | Not on the product page | No |
| Winchester Ranger 26 | Up to 35 long guns and 6 handguns | 55.5 x 26.75 x 17 | No |
| AMSEC SF6030 | 30 plus 2 on the door | 53.5 x 26 x 19 | No |
| Steelwater HD593924 | 39 maximum | 54.75 x 34.75 x 19.5 (usable depth 16.75) | Yes: 24-30 |
| Hollon RG-22 | 22 | 56 x 26 x 16 | No |
| Steelwater SW592818 | 20 maximum | 56.25 x 25.375 x 14.25 (usable depth 11 7/8) | Yes: 12-16 |
The figures come from each maker's product page (Liberty's for the Franklin, Winchester's for the Ranger), linked from the cards below and in the sources. Our gun safe size guide walks through estimating your own number.
Depth decides scoped rifles
Height is easy to check: every published interior height above runs from 53.5 to 56.5 in, so compare it with your longest firearm. Depth is the number that decides whether scoped rifles fit, because a scope, a bolt handle or a bipod takes up front-to-back room that a rack count ignores. On this page, published interior depth runs from 14.25 in (SW592818) to 20.5 in (Franklin 29).
Steelwater adds one more lesson: it lists a "usable" depth 2 3/8 in shallower than the raw interior on the SW592818 and 2 3/4 in shallower on the HD593924. The product pages don't break down what takes up the difference, but it's a reminder that the published interior isn't all yours once shelving, racks and a door organizer go in. Plan around the smaller number when a maker gives you both.
What about fire?
Only one safe on this page has a fire rating an independent lab verified: the AMSEC SF6030, at an ETL-verified 60 minutes at 1,200°F. Every other figure is the maker's own, at furnace temperatures from 1,200°F to 1,875°F, so the minutes aren't directly comparable. If fire is a first-order worry for your collection, our fire-rated gun safe ranking starts with the ETL-verified safes. Its top two, the AMSEC BFX6030 and NF6036, also carry a UL RSC listing and publish interiors more than 18 in deep.
Which pick for which collection
- A handful of scoped hunting rifles and a shotgun or two, bought on Amazon: the Stealth UL28.
- Large optics or bipods, with a Liberty dealer nearby: the Franklin 29, for its 20.5 in depth.
- A big collection that's still growing: the Kodiak KGX5933W for a listed safe, or the Steelwater HD593924 for a published realistic capacity of 24-30.
- Fire as a first concern: the AMSEC SF6030, the only ETL-verified fire rating here.
- A mid-size collection with no need for a listing: the Steelwater SW592818, with its honest 12-16 figure.
How we scored and ranked
Every safe is scored on our published gun-safe rubric (see how we rate): an independent burglary certification is 30% of the score, construction 20%, fire protection evidence 20%, lock and entry 15%, fit and usability 10% and support 5%. Fit is where published interior dimensions and honest capacity figures earn credit. The UL RSC listing still leads, for the reason UL's own description makes clear: RSC Level 1 is a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers" (UL's notice on the revised RSC standard), and it's the only burglary evidence at this level of the market that comes from outside the factory. Our explainers on the UL RSC rating, steel gauge and fire ratings cover each input. We didn't lab-test or load any of these safes; the fit judgments come from the published dimensions above.
The picks in context
1. Stealth UL28
The UL28 combines the three things a rifle owner should want most: a maker-stated UL RSC listing, a 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts, and published interior dimensions with 16.5 in of depth. It weighs 529 lb and comes with bolt-down hardware. The 60-minute fire rating at 1,200°F is the maker's own.
2. Liberty Franklin 29
The deepest published interior on this page, 20.5 in, is the Franklin's reason to be here, along with an 11-gauge body and ten 1/4-in locking bars. The UL RSC rating comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says "UL-Listed safe body." It's sold through Liberty dealers, needs a 29.5-in doorway per Liberty, and weighs 760 lb.
3. Kodiak KGX5933W
Rhino Metals states a UL RSC certification and California DOJ compliance for this 12-gauge safe with a maker-stated 41-long-gun count, the largest UL RSC count on this page. The product page publishes exterior dimensions (59 x 33 x 23 in) but not the interior, so ask the seller for interior depth before counting on scoped rifles.
4. Winchester Ranger 26
Winchester states the RSC listing outright and publishes a 17 in deep interior. The Ranger ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing light and a power dock, which makes it a ready-to-use rifle safe. Its fire rating is Winchester's own claim.
5. AMSEC SF6030
A 19 in deep interior and the only fire rating on this page an independent lab verified (ETL, 60 minutes at 1,200°F). It has no UL RSC listing named on AMSEC's page, which is why it ranks below the listed safes, and it's sold through AMSEC dealers.
6. Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)
The widest body here (39 in) and one of the two safes with a published realistic capacity, 24-30 long guns. It has 9-gauge steel and 20 bolts of 1.5 in diameter, but no burglary listing, and at 932 lb it's a slab-floor safe.
7. Hollon Republic RG-22
A 16 in deep interior behind a 3-gauge door and a 10-gauge body, among the heaviest published steel in this group. It carries no UL listing, and Hollon's series page doesn't name the lock, so confirm the version you're buying; the Amazon listing describes a dial lock and a 1-hour fire rating, while Hollon's page lists 120 minutes.
8. Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)
The honest-capacity pick for a mid-size collection: 20 slots, 12-16 realistic, 11 7/8 in usable depth, 12-gauge steel and a bypass key. It's unlisted, so it's a strong-spec access box rather than a rated safe.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest long gun safe
Stealth UL28
A maker-stated UL RSC listing, a 12-gauge door and body and a UL-listed lock, with a published 56.5 x 25.5 x 16.5 in interior, so you can check scoped-rifle fit before you buy. Sold on Amazon, at 529 lb.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- The maker states a UL RSC burglary listing, the independent burglary standard this site ranks gun safes on
- 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts on all four sides of the door
- UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker, and a mechanical dial offered for buyers who want no electronics
- Bolt-down holes come with hardware, and the lifetime warranty covers break-ins and house fires
Where it falls short
- The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure; no independent lab is named
- At 529 lb it needs a ground-floor or slab location and a delivery plan
- No override key is listed for the electronic lock; keep spare batteries and consider the dial option
Skip this if…
…you need a fire rating verified by an independent lab, or your floor or stairs can't take a 529 lb safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28
Rank 2
Stock photoDeepest published interior for scoped rifles
Liberty Franklin 29
A 20.5 in deep interior, the deepest published on this page, around an 11-gauge body with a UL RSC rating (per a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty says "UL-Listed safe body"). Sold through Liberty dealers, not Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction (20%)
- 8
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- 11-gauge body with ten 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 29, dual relockers and a slip-clutch mechanism, per Liberty's spec table.
- Deeper interior than Liberty's 12-gauge lines: 54.5 x 25.25 x 20.5 in on the 29, per Liberty.
- Deluxe electrical outlet kit, with interior lighting included on current production, per Liberty.
- Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: buy through a Liberty dealer or libertysafe.com.
- The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-Listed safe body".
- The 110-minute fire rating is Liberty's own; no testing lab is named.
Skip this if…
…you want to buy through Amazon: the Franklin is sold through Liberty dealers and libertysafe.com.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 3
Stock photoLargest UL RSC gun count
Kodiak KGX5933W
Rhino Metals states a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance for this 12-gauge, 41-long-gun Kodiak, making it the largest listed burglary-rated safe here for a family with a growing collection.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL-listed Residential Security Container; maker states 'UL Certified RSC / CA DOJ Compliant' |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge steel construction |
| Lock | UL-listed TopLit electronic lock; triple hard plate and spring-loaded relocker |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled to bolt to the floor |
| CA DOJ | Maker states 'CA DOJ Compliant' |
| Capacity | 41 long guns (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 33 x 23 in (H x W x D, not including handle) |
| Weight | 536 lb (approximate net weight, maker-stated) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; free repair or replacement after burglary or fire |
| Door design | Patented SafeX anti-pry system that interlocks the door and body |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Kodiak long-gun safes. The only Rhino Metals recall found is the Bighorn P-20 handgun safe (June 2016, recall 16-191); this model is not on it. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker states both a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance on the product page
- 12-gauge construction with a door-to-body interlock designed against prying
- UL-listed electronic lock protected by a triple hard plate and relocker
- Lifetime repair-or-replace promise after a burglary or fire
Where it falls short
- The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
- At 536 lb (maker-stated, approximate) it needs floor-load and delivery planning, especially above the ground floor
- 41 long guns is a rack count; scoped rifles will fit far fewer
Skip this if…
…your floor or stairs can't take a 536 lb safe, or you want an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KGX5933W
Rank 4
Stock photoBest UL RSC with rifle racks and extras
Winchester Ranger 26
A 12-gauge gun safe that Winchester states is "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC", with a UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock and a maker-claimed 60-minute fire rating at 1,400°F, for buyers who want a maker-stated RSC listing from a brand sold on Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL-listed RSC (maker: "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC") |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge, formed with robotic continuous welds |
| Lock | UL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypad |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for anchoring to the floor |
| CA DOJ | Maker states it "Exceeds California DOJ Requirements" |
| Capacity | Up to 35 long guns and 6 handguns (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 25 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 594 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attack |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Winchester Safes (Granite Security Products) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction (20%)
- 7
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright on the product page.
- Twelve 1-in solid steel bolts (7 active, 5 dead-locking), external strap hinges and anti-pry tabs, per Winchester.
- Includes a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light and a power dock with two outlets and two USB ports.
- Sold on Amazon.
Where it falls short
- The 60-minute fire rating is Winchester's own claim; the "UL rated" wording on the fire side refers to the fireboard, not a UL fire classification of the safe.
- 12-gauge body: lighter steel than 10- or 11-gauge alternatives.
Skip this if…
…you want an independently verified fire rating: Winchester names no lab for the 60 minutes.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Ranger 26
Rank 5
Stock photoBest deep interior with a verified fire rating
AMSEC SF6030
A gun safe whose fire rating an independent lab verified (ETL, 60 minutes at 1,200°F), with a 3/16-inch plate door; buy it from a dealer if fire is your first worry.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated on the maker's product page (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | ETL-verified 60 min at 1,200°F (maker: 'independently tested by ETL') |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 0.1875 in (3/16 in) solid steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-cut anchor holes; mounting hardware included (dealer page) |
| CA DOJ | Dealer lists it as a 'California DOJ Approved Firearm Safety Device'; not stated on the maker's page |
| Capacity | 30 in the safe + 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D); interior 53.5 x 26 x 19 in |
| Weight | 748 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty against theft and fire; 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | (9) 1.5 in active bolts + (5) deadbolts = 14 bolts, 4-way |
| Lock options | Optional Group II combination lock (dealer page) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating verified by ETL (Intertek), not just the maker
- 3/16 in solid steel plate door over a 12-gauge body
- UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock, with a Group II mechanical option through dealers
- Anchor holes and hardware included; lifetime theft and fire warranty
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named on the maker's page, so it is rated here as an unlisted safe; a dealer describes the SF series as UL RSC, which we could not confirm with the maker or a UL listing
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (the link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link)
- 748 lb and 26 in deep: plan the floor, doorways and delivery before ordering
Skip this if…
…you need an Amazon purchase or a maker-stated UL RSC listing, or your floor can't carry a 748 lb safe
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 6
Stock photoBest honest capacity for a big collection
Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)
Heavy published steel (9 gauge, 20 bolts, 932 lb) with a maker-claimed 2-hour fire rating, for a garage or slab-floor owner who wants mass and plate over a listing.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- 9-gauge body steel, thicker than the 12 gauge California's standard asks for
- 20 bolts of 1.5 in diameter cover all four sides of the door, including the hinge side
- Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate, and a bypass key covers a dead keypad
- The warranty spells out that burglary coverage requires floor anchoring, so the bolt-down step is not optional
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named: heavy steel is published, but no lab has rated the burglary resistance
- The 2-hour, 1,875°F fire rating is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
- 932 lb concentrated on a 39 x 24 in footprint is a floor-load question for anything but a slab or reinforced floor
Skip this if…
…you live upstairs or on a suspended wood floor you can't confirm will carry 932 lb, or you want a UL-listed burglary rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)
Rank 7
Stock photoBest thick-plate safe for scoped rifles
Hollon Republic RG-22
A 10-gauge body with a 3-gauge door and a maker-claimed 120-minute fire rating, for an owner who wants plate-heavy construction and can take 800 lb, accepting that no lab has rated it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 120 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 10 gauge solid steel body |
| Door steel | 3 gauge solid steel door, plus a 1/4 in steel hard plate |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled anchor holes (mounting hardware not included) |
| CA DOJ | Maker says it 'Far Exceeds California Department of Justice Regulatory Standards for Residential Security Containers' |
| Capacity | 22 guns (maker-stated); 16.93 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 24 in (H x W x D); interior 56 x 26 x 16 in |
| Weight | 800 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage); 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | 14 active 1.5 in chrome-plated solid steel bolts, 4-way |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- 10-gauge body and 3-gauge door: heavy published steel for the class
- Fourteen 1.5 in active bolts on all four sides, with a 1/4 in hard plate and spring-loaded re-locker
- 16 in interior depth leaves real room for scoped rifles
- Lifetime fire replacement guarantee is published
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named, so the burglary claim rests on published steel alone
- The maker's series page does not name the lock; the Amazon listing describes a dial lock and a 1-hour fire rating, so confirm the version you are buying matches the maker's 120-minute spec
- 800 lb needs a slab or reinforced floor, and anchor hardware is not included
Skip this if…
…you need a named, UL-listed lock or burglary rating, or your floor can't carry 800 lb
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Republic RG-22
Rank 8
Stock photoBest honest capacity for a mid-size collection
Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)
A 12-gauge, 453 lb safe whose maker publishes an honest usable capacity (12-16 long guns, not just the 20-gun maximum), for a mid-size collection on a ground floor.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- The maker publishes a realistic 12-16 long-gun capacity next to the 20-gun maximum, and the usable interior depth
- 12-gauge body, 1.5 in bolts on all four sides and a 4 7/8 in composite door
- A bypass key covers a dead or damaged keypad
- Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named; it is an unrated safe, however solid the specs
- The 1,875°F fire figure is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
- The product page gives two different anchor-hole sizes, so check before buying anchors
Skip this if…
…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)
How to measure before you buy
- List what you own now and what you'll likely add. Count scoped rifles, unscoped rifles and shotguns separately, and handguns on their own line.
- Measure the longest firearm overall and compare it with the interior height. Every published interior height on this page is over 53 in, but check shelving: a full-height rack section is where long guns stand.
- Measure the widest point of each scoped rifle front to back (often at the scope turrets or the bolt handle) and compare it with the usable depth, not the raw interior depth, leaving room for the door panel.
- Discount the maker's count. Use the maker's realistic figure where one is published. Where it isn't, the Steelwater ratios above (roughly 60 to 80 percent of the maximum) are a reasonable planning check, not a promise.
- Check the route in. Measure doorways, stairs and turns against the exterior dimensions plus the handle. Liberty lists a 29.5-in minimum doorway for the Franklin 29.
Set up the interior for rifles
Store scoped rifles so their optics don't touch each other. Put a hygrometer in the safe and read our guide to gun safe humidity levels before choosing a dehumidifier. Several safes here include power outlets (the Ranger 26's power dock, for example), which makes a plug-in dehumidifier or light easy to add.
Weight, floor and anchoring
Long-gun safes are heavy. On this page the published weights run from 453 lb (SW592818) to 932 lb (HD593924). Put the safe on a floor that can carry it, ideally a slab, and bolt it down using the maker's anchor holes before you load it. Our guides to whether your floor can support a gun safe and how to bolt one down cover both. UL's revised RSC standard requires safes of 750 lb or less to pass a drop test unless they're reliably mounted with the maker's installation provisions, which is one more reason to anchor a lighter listed safe like the UL28.
Long-gun safe mistakes
- Buying on the headline gun count. It's the unscoped maximum. Scoped rifles take far more room.
- Ignoring depth. Similar counts can hide very different depths: the 28-gun UL28 has 16.5 in, the 29-gun Franklin 20.5 in. Depth decides whether your optics fit.
- Counting door slots as rifle slots. Door storage holds handguns and accessories, not long guns.
- Sizing for today only. A safe that's full on delivery day will be too small after the next purchase.
- Skipping the lock plan. If you're ever locked out of an electronic lock, use the maker's key or backup procedure as the manual describes, then contact the maker or a licensed locksmith.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best long gun safe?
How many rifles will actually fit in a gun safe?
How deep should a gun safe be for scoped rifles?
Is a rifle cabinet as good as a long gun safe?
Do long gun safes need a dehumidifier?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best gun safesThe overall ranking, led by independent burglary and fire ratings.
- Gun safe size guideEstimate your realistic capacity before you buy.
- Best gun cabinetsWhen a lighter steel cabinet is enough for a few long guns.
- Gun safe humidity levelsWhat to measure inside a safe full of rifles.
- Best gun safe dehumidifiersPowered and rechargeable options for a long-gun safe.
Receipts
Sources
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- Steelwater Gun Safes — Extreme Duty 39 HD593924 product page: maximum and average capacity, interior and usable dimensions (checked 2026-09-19)
- Steelwater Gun Safes — Heavy Duty 20 SW592818 product page: maximum and average capacity, usable depth (checked 2026-09-19)
- Liberty Safe — Franklin series page: sizing table, interior dimensions, minimum doorway and gun-count note (checked 2026-09-19)
- Winchester Safes — Ranger 26 product page: interior dimensions and included accessories (checked 2026-09-19)
- Rhino Metals — Kodiak KGX5933W product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Dean Safe (retailer) — AMSEC BFX6030 spec sheet: interior dimensions (checked 2026-09-19)
- Dean Safe (retailer) — AMSEC NF6036 spec sheet: interior dimensions (checked 2026-09-19)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.