Safe Ratings Explained · The rankings
Best UL fire-rated safes: only ratings an outside lab verified
Eight fire safes, chests and gun safes whose fire rating names UL or Intertek as the lab behind it, plus the popular claims we left out and the reason for each.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Master Lock STW123GTCML First on a fire-only list even though it is a fire chest with no burglary rating: UL classifies it for 2 hours at up to 1,850°F, the longest UL fire rating in our registry, and its owner's manual reports an ETL-verified 30 ft drop while heated (the product page cites a 15 ft UL impact rating instead). | Best verified fire ratingFire chest | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() American Security BFX6030 An ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F plus a UL RSC Level 1 burglary listing, in a safe built for long guns. Sold through AMSEC dealers. | Best fire-rated gun safe (dealer-sold)UL RSC | 9.1 /10 | See at maker |
| 3 | ![]() American Security NF6036 ETL-verified for 90 minutes at 1,200°F with the same UL RSC Level 1 listing: the fire-rated gun safe with outside-lab evidence that you can order on Amazon. | Best lab-verified gun safe on AmazonUL RSC | 8.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe SFW123GDC UL-classified for 1 hour at up to 1,700°F, with ETL-verified water resistance and an ETL-verified 15 ft drop. The water rating stops applying once you bolt it down. | Best 1-hour UL fire safe for most homesFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SentrySafe SFW205GQC The same UL 1-hour and ETL water ratings as the SFW123GDC in a 2 cu ft body. SentrySafe's page is inconsistent about the lock, so confirm it on the listing. | Best larger UL fire safeFire chest | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() SentrySafe FPW082HTC The same UL 1-hour, 1,700°F classification in a 55-lb resin-cased safe with a genuine override key. A fire box, not a theft deterrent. | Best UL fire safe with an override keyFire chest | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() AMSEC BF1512 UL 60 minutes at 1,700°F plus UL RSC Level I. It sits below the SentrySafe fire safes on this fire-only list because its 1-hour rating ties theirs and it publishes no water rating. Dealer-sold. | Best UL fire and burglary home safeUL RSC | 7.1 /10 | See at maker |
| 8 | ![]() SentrySafe CFW20201 A 20-lb chest UL-classified for a full hour at up to 1,700°F, with ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. Privacy lock only. | Best 1-hour UL document chestFire chest | 6.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Who this list is for
This page is for the reader whose first worry is fire. A fire rating is only as good as whoever measured it, and most "fireproof" safes on sale publish only the manufacturer's own numbers. So this list has one entry rule: the cited source must name UL or Intertek (ETL) as the lab behind the fire rating. Everything else, however impressive the number, is left out and listed further down with the reason.
The eight picks mix three kinds of product: fire safes and a document chest for papers and drives, two gun safes with lab-verified fire ratings, and one small home safe that carries both a UL fire rating and a UL burglary listing. Each is labeled with its tier, because a fire chest and a gun safe protect against different things.
What counts as a verified fire rating
A UL classification. UL 72 is the standard for fire resistance of record protection equipment (UL 72). Its classes are named for the highest interior temperature, in °F, the product must hold during the test:
| UL 72 class | What UL says it is for |
|---|---|
| Class 350 | "intended to protect paper records" |
| Class 150 | "intended to protect paper and nonpaper records such as EDP media (magnetic tapes) and photographic records" |
| Class 125 | "intended to also protect flexible computer disks" |
The 150 and 125 classes also limit relative humidity. The time rating (1/2 hour, 1 hour, 2 hours) is how long the interior stayed under the class limit in the furnace test, and the testing can include an explosion test and, for impact-rated equipment, a fire-and-impact test with a 30 ft drop. SentrySafe and Master Lock product pages say "UL Classified" with a time and temperature rather than naming a class. Their manuals refer to "the 350°F interior performance measure which the UL classification performance standard indicated guarantees", which is the paper limit.
An ETL verification. ETL is Intertek's mark. Intertek describes its ETL Verified program as manufacturers "using independent testing to prove that products meet criteria" set by industry associations or independent program administrators (Intertek). In this group, the AMSEC gun safes carry ETL verification for their whole fire ratings, while SentrySafe and Master Lock cite it for water resistance, fire-impact drops and data-media claims.
A manufacturer claim is a rating from the maker's own test. It may be honest, but no outside lab stands behind it, so it scores lower on our rubric and stays off this page.
The verified ratings side by side
Each rating below is quoted as the maker publishes it. The source for every figure is linked on the product cards.
| Pick | Fire rating, as published | Lab named | Water rating | Burglary rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master Lock STW123GTCML | UL Classified: 2 hr at up to 1,850°F | UL | ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr | None stated |
| AMSEC BFX6030 | ETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F | ETL (Intertek) | Not published | UL RSC Level 1 |
| AMSEC NF6036 | ETL-verified: 90 min at 1,200°F | ETL (Intertek) | Not published | UL RSC Level 1 |
| SentrySafe SFW123GDC | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F | UL | ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (not once bolted down) | None stated |
| SentrySafe SFW205GQC | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F | UL | ETL-verified: up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hr (not once bolted down) | None stated |
| SentrySafe FPW082HTC | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F | UL | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr | None stated |
| AMSEC BF1512 | UL 60 min at 1,700°F ("independently tested by UL", per AMSEC) | UL | None published | UL RSC Level I |
| SentrySafe CFW20201 | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F | UL | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr | None; privacy key lock |
Reading the numbers: time, temperature and class
Time is the headline. It says how long the inside stayed under its limit in the test. The temperature is the heat the outside faced: Master Lock's manual describes its rating as the safe being "subjected to temperatures up to 1850°F (1010°C), for a duration of 2 hours" ( Master Lock manual). That is why a UL 1-hour rating at up to 1,700°F and a maker's 60-minute claim at 1,200°F are not the same claim: the heat differs, and so does who measured it.
Heat is not the only hazard. A safe can fall through a burning floor, and water from a flood or from putting a fire out can reach the contents. SentrySafe's manual lists an ETL-verified test in which the SFW123GDC is heated to 1,550°F, dropped 15 ft onto rubble and reheated for 30 minutes. Master Lock's manual lists an ETL-verified 30 ft drop for the STW123GTCML after heating to 1,850°F, followed by 45 minutes of reheating; its product page separately lists a UL-classified impact rating from up to 15 ft.
Paper is not the same as media. SentrySafe's manual says the SFW safes are "not intended to protect computer floppy or diskettes, cartridges and tapes, audio or video cassettes or photo negatives." Where a pick covers digital media, the claim is ETL-verified rather than a UL Class 125 or 150 rating: 1 hour for CDs, DVDs and USB drives on the FPW082HTC, and 2 hours on the STW123GTCML, per their manuals. None of our picks cites a UL Class 150 or 125 rating. The same manuals warn against storing pearls, which can be damaged below the 350°F interior limit.
How we scored and ranked them
This list mixes two of our published rubrics. Fire safes, document chests and UL-listed home safes are scored with fire rating evidence at 35%, water rating evidence 15%, burglary resistance 20%, lock and entry 15%, capacity and fit 10%, and support and transparency 5%. Gun safes are scored with independent burglary certification at 30%, construction 20%, fire protection evidence 20%, lock and entry 15%, fit and usability 10%, and support and transparency 5%.
Scores from the two rubrics are not directly comparable. That is why the Master Lock leads two AMSEC gun safes with higher overall scores: on a page about fire, fire evidence decides, and a UL classification for 2 hours at up to 1,850°F is the strongest we found. The AMSEC gun safes follow because they are the verified choice for firearms, and the AMSEC BF1512 sits below the SentrySafe fire safes because its UL 1-hour rating ties theirs while it publishes no water rating.
We did not burn, drop or soak anything. Scores are editorial judgments from the listings and published specs, and every pick came back clean from a dated CPSC recall search. For the full method behind a fire rating, see safe fire ratings explained; for the burglary listings three of these picks carry, see what a UL RSC rating proves. Lock and entry matter more than they look on a fire safe: several picks have no override key, a trade-off covered in electronic vs mechanical safe locks.
What we left out, and why
Maker-only fire ratings. Most gun safes publish a fire rating from their own test. Examples in our registry: the Liberty Lincoln 25 (120 min at 1,200°F), the Stealth UL28 (60 min at 1,200°F), the Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (2 hr at 1,875°F) and the Hollon Republic RG-22 (120 min at 1,400°F). None names an independent lab. Liberty calls the Franklin 29's 110-minute rating "certified" but names no testing lab either.
"Verified" or "certified" with no lab named. Honeywell's 2605 page claims "2 Hour Verified fire protection" up to 1,850°F, while its manual cites independent testing at up to 1,550°F; neither names the lab. Cannon calls the Fortified 73's 60-minute rating "certified" with no lab or test temperature. AMSEC describes the RF6528's 120 minutes at 1,850°F as "independently certified" without naming the lab, so it stays out despite its TL-30 burglary rating.
UL wording that is not a UL fire rating. The Winchester Ranger 26's "UL rated" fire-side wording refers to its fireboard, not a UL classification of the safe.
Verified, but not picked. A few more products clear the evidence bar but lost out on other grounds: the AMSEC SF6030 gun safe (ETL-verified 60 minutes at 1,200°F, no burglary listing, dealer-sold), the SentrySafe FHW40100 and CHW20221 (UL half-hour ratings with ETL flood protection), the SentrySafe 1170 (UL half hour, no water rating) and the Honeywell 1103 chest, whose manual names UL as the fire tester but whose water claim names no lab. The chests and file boxes are ranked in our document safe picks.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest verified fire rating
Master Lock STW123GTCML
First on a fire-only list even though it is a fire chest with no burglary rating: UL classifies it for 2 hours at up to 1,850°F, the longest UL fire rating in our registry, and its owner's manual reports an ETL-verified 30 ft drop while heated (the product page cites a 15 ft UL impact rating instead).
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 10
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
- A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
- Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key; the key only adds a second lock
- 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML
Rank 2
Stock photoBest fire-rated gun safe (dealer-sold)
American Security BFX6030
An ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F plus a UL RSC Level 1 burglary listing, in a safe built for long guns. Sold through AMSEC dealers.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 security rating |
| Fire rating | ETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F (ETL-verified) |
| Body steel | 11 gauge outer and 12 gauge inner steel liner, with concrete insulation between the walls |
| Door steel | 1/2-in steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-rated mechanical dial lock (electronic lock option) |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 22 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59.25 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 1,081 lb |
| Warranty | 5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 9.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 9
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Both evidence fields come from outside labs: UL RSC Level 1 for burglary and an ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F.
- 1/2-in steel plate door, 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, and a double steel wall (11-gauge outer, 12-gauge inner), per the retailer spec sheet.
- UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, with an electronic lock available.
- Made in the USA, per AMSEC.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: buy through an AMSEC dealer.
- 1,081 lb in a 30-in-wide footprint: plan delivery and floor load.
- The 5-year parts-and-labor coverage applies only with a factory-installed AMSEC lock.
Skip this if…
…you need to buy on Amazon or keep the safe under 1,000 lb: this is a dealer-sold, 1,081-lb safe.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 3
Stock photoBest lab-verified gun safe on Amazon
American Security NF6036
ETL-verified for 90 minutes at 1,200°F with the same UL RSC Level 1 listing: the fire-rated gun safe with outside-lab evidence that you can order on Amazon.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 |
| Fire rating | ETL-verified: 90 min at 1,200°F |
| Body steel | 11 gauge |
| Door steel | 1/4-in steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-rated AMSEC ESL10 electronic lock (retailer listing) |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 34 guns plus 2 on the door (retailer listing) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 36 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 977 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty against burglary and fire (retailer listing) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Independent evidence on both fronts: UL RSC Level I for burglary and a 90-minute ETL-verified fire rating.
- 11-gauge body, 1/4-in plate door and 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, per the retailer spec sheet.
- Interior LED light kit, electrical outlet and door organizer included, per the retailer listing.
- Sold on Amazon.
Where it falls short
- Lock model differs by source: the retailer lists a UL-rated ESL10, while AMSEC's 2025 product page listed an ESL5. Confirm at purchase.
- 977 lb and 36 in wide: check doorways and floor load.
- Lock and parts warranty terms are not published on the listing we checked; only the lifetime burglary and fire coverage is.
Skip this if…
…you want a mechanical dial as standard: this model ships with an electronic keypad lock.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to American Security NF6036
Rank 4
Stock photoBest 1-hour UL fire safe for most homes
SentrySafe SFW123GDC
UL-classified for 1 hour at up to 1,700°F, with ETL-verified water resistance and an ETL-verified 15 ft drop. The water rating stops applying once you bolt it down.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
- Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
- The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
- Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program
Where it falls short
- Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
- No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out
Skip this if…
…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Rank 5
Stock photoBest larger UL fire safe
SentrySafe SFW205GQC
The same UL 1-hour and ETL water ratings as the SFW123GDC in a 2 cu ft body. SentrySafe's page is inconsistent about the lock, so confirm it on the listing.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating and ETL-verified water rating, both named on the maker's page
- 2 cu ft interior with a file organizer and deep organizer tray
- Six 1 in live-locking bolts and a pry-resistant hinge bar (maker-stated)
- Interior light and bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- The maker's page is inconsistent about the lock (spec table says digital, overview mentions a dial): confirm the lock on the listing
- Water rating stops applying once bolted down (manual)
- No burglary rating and no override key
Skip this if…
…you need it bolted down and water-rated at the same time, or you want a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW205GQC
Rank 6
Stock photoBest UL fire safe with an override key
SentrySafe FPW082HTC
The same UL 1-hour, 1,700°F classification in a 55-lb resin-cased safe with a genuine override key. A fire box, not a theft deterrent.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: up to 5 in of water for 24 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (not a steel body) |
| Lock | Backlit digital keypad, motor-driven lock, lithium battery rated 5+ years (maker); three 1 in bolts |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down kit included; the manual says not to bolt it to a wall (compromises the fire rating) |
| Capacity | 0.81 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 9.6 x 12.4 x 11.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.7 x 16.4 x 18.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 55 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 7.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 3.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 1 hr fire rating at 1,700°F, same class as the heavier steel models
- Genuine override key for a dead battery or forgotten code
- ETL-verified water rating; ETL-verified 1 hr protection for CDs, DVDs and USB drives (manual)
- 55 lb, so it fits a closet shelf more easily than an 87 lb steel safe
Where it falls short
- Resin-cased body: minimal resistance to a pry bar or a thief carrying it off unless bolted down
- Water rating is 5 in of water, shallower than the SFW line's 8 in
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…theft is your main worry; a resin-cased body is a fire box, not a burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FPW082HTC
Rank 7
Stock photoBest UL fire and burglary home safe
AMSEC BF1512
UL 60 minutes at 1,700°F plus UL RSC Level I. It sits below the SentrySafe fire safes on this fire-only list because its 1-hour rating ties theirs and it publishes no water rating. Dealer-sold.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level I security rating (per maker) |
| Fire rating | UL 60 min at 1,700°F (maker says "independently tested by UL") |
| Door steel | 1/2 in solid steel plate door; full-length dead bar |
| Lock | Mechanical key-locking spy-proof dial standard; ESL5 or ESL10 electronic lock options; three 1 in solid steel bolts |
| Bolt-down | 1 recessed anchor bolt hole; mounting hardware provided |
| Capacity | Interior 15 x 12 x 13 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 20.25 x 17.25 x 18.75 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 288 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire replacement warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 7.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- UL RSC Level I burglary rating plus a UL 60-minute fire rating at 1,700°F
- 1/2 in solid steel plate door with a full-length dead bar
- Made in the USA with a choice of mechanical or electronic lock
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (plain reference link)
- 288 lb for a small 15 x 12 x 13 in interior
- No water rating
Skip this if…
…you want an Amazon purchase or need more than a small interior
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 8
Stock photoBest 1-hour UL document chest
SentrySafe CFW20201
A 20-lb chest UL-classified for a full hour at up to 1,700°F, with ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. Privacy lock only.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
- ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
- Carry handle; about 20 lb
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
- Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201
How to choose a verified fire-rated safe
- Match the rating to what you store. Paper records need the 350°F limit that the UL classifications above refer to. For drives and discs, look for a verified data-media claim, and keep delicate items like pearls out.
- Buy the time you can justify. The picks run from 1 hour to 2 hours (UL) and 90 to 120 minutes (ETL, on the gun safes). Longer ratings add weight: the 2-hour STW123GTCML weighs 128.2 lb against 86.69 lb for the 1-hour SFW123GDC, which has the same exterior dimensions. What a rating does and doesn't mean in a real house fire is covered in "Are fireproof safes really fireproof?"
- Guns go in a gun safe. The SFW, FPW and STW manuals rule out firearms, so gun owners should choose a fire-rated gun safe and read its evidence the same way.
- Decide how much theft matters. The chest and the resin-cased FPW082HTC have no burglary rating and can be carried off unless secured. If theft is part of the worry, the AMSEC BF1512 pairs a UL fire rating with a UL RSC listing, and the steel SentrySafe and Master Lock models include bolt-down hardware.
- Check the backup entry. On the SFW models and the STW123GTCML, the key is "a secondary locking feature not an override key", per their manuals. The FPW082HTC has a genuine override key.
Installing it without voiding the rating
Read the manual before you drill. SentrySafe's manual for the SFW models says: "Product is not water resistant once it is bolted down. The ETL verified water resistance claim applies to product prior to the application of a bolt-down kit." Master Lock says the STW123GTCML keeps its fire and water protection when bolted down, but its manual limits that to the floor: "The safe should not be bolted to a wall, this will compromise the fire rating." SentrySafe's manual for the FPW082HTC gives the same wall warning.
Expect some moisture. Master Lock's manual says its fire insulation "has a high moisture content" and tells owners to keep the included desiccant packet in the safe. Check the contents now and then, especially paper and photos.
Register the safe. SentrySafe's after-fire replacement program requires registration within 30 days of purchase, per its manual, and asks for a photo of the burned unit and a fire department, insurance or police report when you claim. For where to put a fire safe in the house, see our guide to where to put a safe in your house.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are "fireproof" safes really fireproof?
What does UL Class 350 mean?
What is the highest-rated "fireproof" safe?
Do gun safes protect from fire?
Can I store a gun in a fire safe?
Is an ETL fire rating as good as a UL one?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Safe fire ratings explainedClass, temperature, time and who tested it, in one place.
- Are fireproof safes really fireproof?What a rating means in a real house fire, and where it stops.
- Best fireproof safesLarger fire safes for the home, ranked fire-first.
- Best fire-rated gun safesGun safes ranked on the strength of their fire evidence.
- Best UL RSC gun safesThe burglary-side counterpart: only safes with a UL RSC listing.
- Best fireproof document safesChests and file boxes for papers, passports and drives.
Receipts
Sources
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- Intertek — ETL Verified Mark
- SentrySafe — owner's manual P44621 (SFW123GDC / SFW205GQC)
- SentrySafe — FPW082HTC owner's manual P71885
- Master Lock — STW123GTCML 2 Hour Fire-Safe owner's manual P74055
- SentrySafe / Master Lock — STW123GTCML product page
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.