Gun Safes · The rankings
Best gun safes for apartments: what fits the floor and the lease
Renters face three limits homeowners don't: stairs, a floor they don't control and a lease that may not allow drilling. These compact safes and cabinets are ranked with those limits in mind.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Stealth EGS14 At 230 lb and 20 x 17 in, the lightest true gun safe we rank, with a UL-listed lock, bolt-down holes and a lifetime burglary and fire warranty. It ranks above the higher-scoring UL14 and CS-12E because weight is this page's first constraint; it has no burglary listing, so it's a child-and-visitor defense, not a rated one. | Best gun safe for apartmentsAccess box | 5.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Stealth UL14 The same maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge build as the UL28 in a 20-inch-wide body, for a smaller collection in a home that still wants a listed burglary standard. | Best UL RSC safe for a renter who can take 365 lbUL RSC | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E A narrow 22 x 16 in, 12-gauge safe with a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf electronic lock, for a renter or small-home owner with a few long guns who can anchor 320 lb. | Best narrow safe with a UL-listed lockAccess box | 5.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Winchester Bandit 14 A 314 lb, 22-inch-wide 14-gauge safe with a backup key and a maker-claimed 45-minute fire rating, for a first-time owner with up to a dozen long guns who wants a key fallback for the keypad. | Best compact safe with a backup keyAccess box | 4.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() SecureIt Agile Model 52 A modular long-gun cabinet that assembles in the room, holds six long guns up to 48.25 in, and opens by keypad, fingerprint or two override keys. Scored on our cabinet rubric; it ranks above the higher-scoring Fast Box because it holds six full-length long guns, not one or two. | Best cabinet that assembles in the apartmentAccess box | 5.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 A 14-gauge, 6.5-inch-deep keypad-and-fingerprint box that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall for one or two long guns, for a household that wants a home-defense long gun locked but reachable. | Best under-bed or closet mountAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Who this is for
You rent, you own one or more firearms, and you want them locked away from children, roommates and visitors, and harder to walk off with in a break-in. You're also working with limits a homeowner doesn't have: a safe has to come up the stairs or fit the elevator, the floor belongs to someone else, and the lease may not let you drill.
The threats haven't changed. Access control is the everyday one, and any anchored safe or cabinet on this page handles it. Burglary resistance is what a UL listing measures, and only one pick here carries one. If you only own a handgun, a smaller quick-access safe may be all you need; see our best handgun safes.
Weight and stairs
Weight is the first filter for renters, because it decides whether the safe can be delivered, whether you can move it out again, and how hard it presses on the floor. Here's how the picks compare, using each maker's published weight and exterior footprint:
| Pick | Weight | Footprint (W x D) | Weight per sq ft of footprint | Burglary listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stealth EGS14 | 230 lb | 20 x 17 in | About 97 lb | None |
| Stealth UL14 | 365 lb | 20 x 17 in | About 155 lb | UL RSC (maker-stated) |
| Hollon CS-12E | 320 lb | 22 x 16 in | About 131 lb | None |
| Winchester Bandit 14 | 314 lb | 22 x 18 in | About 114 lb | None |
| SecureIt Agile 52 (cabinet) | 115 lb (spec table) | 20.25 x 15.25 in | About 54 lb | None |
| SecureIt Fast Box 47 (cabinet) | 47 lb (spec table) | Wall, closet or under-bed mount | Not applicable | None |
The last numeric column is simple arithmetic (weight divided by footprint area), before you load the safe. It's useful for comparing picks and for giving your landlord or building manager a concrete figure. The SecureIt Agile changes the stair question entirely: it assembles in the room with a patented slide-lock design, and SecureIt says it can go "anywhere in your home, apartment, office or RV."
A floor you don't control
Residential building codes size floors for a uniformly distributed load. The California Residential Code's live-load table, for example, lists 40 pounds per square foot for areas other than sleeping areas and 30 for sleeping areas (Table R301.5, via UpCodes). A safe isn't a uniform load: it puts all its weight on a few square feet. That doesn't by itself mean a floor will fail under a compact safe. It does mean the answer depends on your building's construction, which you can't see and don't own.
So don't guess. Ask your landlord or building manager whether the floor is a concrete slab or wood framing, and whether there's any limit on heavy furniture or appliances. Our guide to whether your floor can support a gun safe covers the questions to ask.
A lease that may not allow drilling
Anchoring is the renter's hardest problem, and it's where a safe does much of its work. UL's revised RSC standard requires safes of 750 lb or less to pass a drop test unless they're reliably mounted using the maker's installation provisions (UL's notice on the revised standard), so the standard itself treats anchoring as part of how a lighter safe resists attack. Some warranties depend on it too: Steelwater's lifetime burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor. And SecureIt warns that an unanchored, empty Agile cabinet can tip when the door opens.
We don't know of a no-drill method that does what bolting does, and we won't suggest improvised ones. The honest route is to ask for permission to anchor, in writing, before the safe arrives. Every pick here has pre-drilled holes: the safes to the floor, the Agile to the floor or wall studs through holes in the bottom and sides, and the Fast Box horizontally or vertically with included hardware.
EGS14 or UL14?
The two Stealth safes share a footprint and a lock, so the choice comes down to three questions. Will your floor and delivery route take 365 lb instead of 230? Will your landlord let you anchor it? UL's RSC standard itself expects a safe under 750 lb to be either drop-tested or mounted using the maker's provisions, so the listing and the anchoring go together. And is a break-in, not just curious hands, a real part of your worry? If the answer to all three is yes, the UL14's listing, 12-gauge steel and four-way bolts are worth the extra 135 lb. If any answer is no, the EGS14 does the access-control job at the lighter weight, with the same lock and the same lifetime warranty terms.
If children live with you or visit
Access control is the job that matters most when children are in the home, even part-time. Firearm-safety groups recommend storing guns locked and unloaded, with ammunition stored separately (RAND, Personal Firearm Storage in the United States). In a small apartment that means a container children can't open, a code they don't know, and backup keys kept somewhere they can't find. Storage laws vary by state; check your state's official sources. This is a summary, not legal advice.
Why safes and cabinets share this list
Two picks here are cabinets, not safes. We include them because some renters can't take a 230 lb box up the stairs, or can't anchor to the floor but can get permission to fasten into wall studs. Cabinets are scored on a different rubric from gun safes (the one we use for quick-access and access-control containers), so their scores aren't comparable with the safes' scores, and we rank them after the safes. Neither cabinet claims a burglary or fire rating. They keep children and visitors out; they don't stop a burglar with tools. Our gun cabinet ranking covers more of them.
How we ranked
Each safe is scored on our published gun-safe rubric (see how we rate), led by an independent burglary listing (30%), construction (20%) and fire evidence (20%). On this page we then ordered the safes by the constraint that defines renting, weight, and said why wherever a lighter, lower-scoring safe ranks above a heavier, higher-scoring one. The UL14 is the exception worth knowing about: it's the only pick with a UL RSC listing, and our explainer on what a UL RSC listing proves covers what that buys. Locks matter more than usual in a shared home, so see our comparison of electronic and mechanical safe locks too. We didn't lab-test or install any of these; every figure comes from the maker's published specs.
The picks in context
1. Stealth EGS14
The lightest true safe we rank, at 230 lb, with a UL-listed electronic lock behind a hard plate, four bolt-down holes, a maker-stated California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval and a lifetime burglary and fire warranty. Its 14-gauge steel and six 1 in bolts working in two directions are an access-control build, not a rated burglary defense. No override key is listed, so keep spare batteries.
2. Stealth UL14
Same 20 x 17 in footprint and same lock as the EGS14, plus a maker-stated UL RSC listing, 12-gauge steel and ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions. It's the right choice if your building manager confirms the floor and your lease allows anchoring. At 365 lb, plan the delivery carefully.
3. Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
A 22 x 16 in, 320 lb safe with a named, UL-listed Type 1 Sargent & Greenleaf electronic lock and 12-gauge steel. Its 9.5 in interior depth makes its 12-gun count an unscoped number, so it suits a few long guns without large optics.
4. Winchester Bandit 14
A 314 lb, 22 x 18 in safe with a SecuRam electronic lock and a backup key, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out. Its 14-gauge body and 1 in bolts are an entry-level build, and Winchester doesn't state a UL listing for the safe or the lock.
5. SecureIt Agile Model 52 (cabinet)
The answer when stairs or weight rule out a safe. It assembles in place, holds six long guns up to 48.25 in, and opens by keypad, fingerprint or two override keys, with a low-battery warning and USB-C backup power. Mounting hardware isn't included, and SecureIt publishes no steel gauge.
6. SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 (cabinet)
A 14-gauge, 6.5 in deep box for one or two long guns that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall, with included hardware and keypad, fingerprint and key entry. It's for a renter who wants one long gun locked but close.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest gun safe for apartments
Stealth EGS14
At 230 lb and 20 x 17 in, the lightest true gun safe we rank, with a UL-listed lock, bolt-down holes and a lifetime burglary and fire warranty. It ranks above the higher-scoring UL14 and CS-12E because weight is this page's first constraint; it has no burglary listing, so it's a child-and-visitor defense, not a rated one.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 5.0 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 5.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 4.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- At 230 lb it is light for a full gun safe, easier on upstairs floors and deliveries
- Maker states California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval
- Same UL-listed electronic lock as Stealth's UL RSC models
- Lifetime burglary and fire warranty with bolt-down holes
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing: 14-gauge steel and 2-way bolts are a child-and-casual-access defense, not a rated burglary one
- 30-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure
- No override key is listed; keep spare batteries
Skip this if…
…you want a UL-listed burglary rating; the UL14 is the same footprint with one
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EGS14
Rank 2
Stock photoBest UL RSC safe for a renter who can take 365 lb
Stealth UL14
The same maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge build as the UL28 in a 20-inch-wide body, for a smaller collection in a home that still wants a listed burglary standard.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
- 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
- UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
- Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
- The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
- 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit
Skip this if…
…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
Rank 3
Stock photoBest narrow safe with a UL-listed lock
Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
A narrow 22 x 16 in, 12-gauge safe with a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf electronic lock, for a renter or small-home owner with a few long guns who can anchor 320 lb.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named for the Crescent Shield series) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 75 minutes (no test temperature or independent lab named on the series page) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge steel |
| Lock | UL-listed, Type 1 rated Sargent & Greenleaf electronic lock; drill-resistant hard plate |
| Bolt-down | 4 bolt-down holes to secure to the foundation |
| Capacity | 12 guns (maker-stated); 7.36 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 22 x 16 in (H x W x D); interior 55 x 19.5 x 9.5 in |
| Weight | 320 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage); 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | 1.5 in chrome steel bolts on the top, bottom, hinge and opening sides |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.2 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 7
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 4.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-listed Type 1 S&G electronic lock, a named, listed lock rather than a generic keypad
- 12-gauge steel with 1.5 in bolts on all four sides in a 22 in wide body
- 320 lb and 16 in deep fits closets where full-size safes won't
- Published interior dimensions and bolt-down holes
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named for the series
- The 75-minute fire figure is a maker claim with no test temperature stated on the maker's page
- A 9.5 in interior depth makes 12 guns an unscoped count; scoped rifles will fit far fewer
Skip this if…
…you store several scoped rifles, or you need a UL-listed burglary rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
Rank 4
Stock photoBest compact safe with a backup key
Winchester Bandit 14
A 314 lb, 22-inch-wide 14-gauge safe with a backup key and a maker-claimed 45-minute fire rating, for a first-time owner with up to a dozen long guns who wants a key fallback for the keypad.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 45 min at 1,400°F (maker calls it 'proven'; no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 14 gauge ('solid steel 14 ga. body') |
| Lock | SECURAM electronic lock |
| Backup entry | Backup key ('SECURAM Electronic Lock with Backup Key') |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for anchoring to the floor |
| CA DOJ | Maker says it 'Exceeds California DOJ Requirements' |
| Capacity | Up to 20 long guns (maker-stated); 13.8 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 60 x 22 x 18 in (H x W x D; add 1.5 in depth for handle and hinges); interior 57.5 x 20.5 x 12 in |
| Weight | 314 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or burglary attack |
| Locking bolts | 8 solid steel bolts, 1 in (4 dead-locking, 4 active) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Winchester Safes gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 4.8 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 5.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Backup key for the electronic lock, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out
- Dead-locking bolts on the hinge side and a recessed door with reinforced jambs
- 22 x 18 in footprint at 314 lb suits a closet or spare room
- Published interior dimensions and a lifetime replacement guarantee after fire or burglary
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel and 1 in bolts are an entry-level build
- The 45-minute fire rating is the maker's figure, not an independent lab's
- The maker does not state a UL listing for the lock
Skip this if…
…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or a UL-listed lock at this size; look at the Stealth UL14
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Bandit 14
Rank 5
Stock photoBest cabinet that assembles in the apartment
SecureIt Agile Model 52
A modular long-gun cabinet that assembles in the room, holds six long guns up to 48.25 in, and opens by keypad, fingerprint or two override keys. Scored on our cabinet rubric; it ranks above the higher-scoring Fast Box because it holds six full-length long guns, not one or two.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, fingerprint and two override keys give three ways in, with a low-battery warning and USB-C backup power
- Maker publishes a realistic 6-long-gun capacity with a 48.25 in length limit
- Assembles in the room, so no stair-carry of a heavy welded box
- Pre-drilled holes on the bottom and sides for anchoring to floor or wall studs
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating, and no steel gauge published
- Mounting hardware is not included, and the maker warns an unanchored, empty cabinet can tip when the door opens
- The maker's page lists two different weights (105 lb and 115 lb)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from a burglar with tools or from fire; this is a child-access and quick-access cabinet
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Agile Model 52
Rank 6
Stock photoBest under-bed or closet mount
SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
A 14-gauge, 6.5-inch-deep keypad-and-fingerprint box that mounts under a bed, in a closet or on a wall for one or two long guns, for a household that wants a home-defense long gun locked but reachable.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14 gauge welded steel |
| Lock | HSFA lock with a backlit 4-digit push-button keypad and a capacitive fingerprint scanner |
| Backup entry | Manual key override (2 override keys); USB-C power port (battery and USB-C cord not included) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included hardware; mounts horizontally or vertically |
| Capacity | One long gun up to 46.5 in stored horizontally, or two firearms with optics (such as an AR-15 and a shotgun) stored vertically |
| Exterior dimensions | 47 x 13 x 6.5 in |
| Weight | 47 lb in the maker's spec table (the description says 50 lb) |
| Warranty | Lifetime against defects in material and workmanship; electronic locks 2 years |
| Locking bolts | 3-point locking system; full-length piano-hinge door |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SecureIt gun safes or cabinets in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- 14-gauge welded steel with a 3-point lock and full-length piano hinge in a 6.5 in deep profile
- Keypad, fingerprint and a manual key override, with USB-C power as a fallback
- Mounting hardware included; fits under a bed, in a closet or on a wall
- Takes optic-equipped rifles when mounted vertically
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating
- Holds only one or two long guns
- Battery and USB-C cord are not included, and the page lists two weights (47 lb and 50 lb)
Skip this if…
…you need to store more than two long guns or want protection from fire
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
How to raise it with your landlord
You don't have to say what's going in the safe to ask about a heavy item and anchoring. Keep it practical and get the answers in writing:
- Anchoring. "I'd like to bolt a heavy storage safe to the floor (or a cabinet to the wall studs). Is that allowed, and how would you like the holes repaired when I move out?"
- The floor. "Is this floor a concrete slab or wood framing, and is there a weight limit for heavy furniture or appliances in this unit?"
- Delivery. "Can I reserve the elevator or loading area, and does the elevator have a weight limit?"
- Placement. "Is there a spot in the unit you'd prefer I use?"
If the answer on anchoring is no, weigh a lighter cabinet you can take with you against the risk of an unanchored safe, and read the lease's alterations clause before you decide.
Installing in a rental
Follow the maker's anchoring instructions and use fasteners suited to your floor or wall; our bolt-down guide covers concrete and wood. A closet corner keeps a safe out of sight and puts two walls around it, and our guide to where to put a gun safe weighs the options. Keep a hygrometer inside the safe.
Plan the move-out on day one. Keep the anchor hardware and the maker's instructions, photograph the install, and read our guide to moving a gun safe before your lease ends.
Apartment mistakes
- Buying the heaviest safe that fits the closet. Weight is a delivery, floor and move-out problem. Buy the lightest safe that does the job you need.
- Leaving it unanchored "for now." A light, loose safe or cabinet is the easiest thing in the room to carry away.
- Assuming "CA DOJ approved" means burglary-rated. On the EGS14, it refers to firearm safety device approval, not a burglary test.
- Forgetting the lockout plan. If you're locked out, use the maker's key or backup procedure as the manual describes, then contact the maker or a licensed locksmith.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Can you have a gun safe in an apartment?
How do I secure a gun safe in an apartment without drilling?
How heavy a gun safe can an apartment floor hold?
Can I put a gun safe on the second floor?
Is a gun cabinet enough for an apartment?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Can your floor support a gun safe?What to ask about floors before a heavy delivery.
- How to bolt down a gun safeAnchoring into concrete and wood, the maker's way.
- Best handgun safesIf a handgun is all you need to lock up.
- Best gun cabinetsLighter steel cabinets for access control.
- How to move a gun safePlan the move-out before the lease ends.
Receipts
Sources
- UpCodes — California Residential Code 2025, Chapter 3, Table R301.5 minimum uniformly distributed live loads (checked 2026-09-19)
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels, drop test)
- Steelwater Gun Safes — Warranty page (burglary coverage requires anchoring; checked 2026-09-19)
- SecureIt Gun Storage — Agile Model 52 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- RAND — Personal Firearm Storage in the United States (Rajeev Ramchand, July 11, 2022)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.