Gun Safes · Head to head
Hollon vs AMSEC: thick plate steel against third-party certification
Both brands are cross-shopped by the same buyer and both publish real numbers. They just publish different kinds. Hollon leads on steel thickness and fire minutes it measured itself; AMSEC leads on ratings somebody else signed.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
- American Security (AMSEC)No image
AMSEC: the strongest evidence
American Security BFX6030
UL RSC9.1 /10UL RSC Level 1 burglary rating and an ETL-verified 120 minutes at 1,200°F, behind a 1/2 in steel plate door. 1,081 lb, and both ratings came from outside the company.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security BFX6030

Hollon: the thickest door
Hollon Republic RG-22
Access box5.5 /10A 3-gauge solid steel plate door over a 10-gauge body with 14 active 1.5 in bolts, and a 120-minute claim at 1,400°F. No burglary listing, and the fire figure names no lab.
$3,032.00Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Republic RG-22

AMSEC: certification on Amazon
American Security NF6036
UL RSC8.5 /10UL RSC Level 1 with an ETL-verified 90 minutes at 1,200°F on an 11-gauge body and a 1/4 in plate door. 977 lb, 34 guns plus 2 on the door per the dealer listing.
$2,679.83Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security NF6036

Hollon: the narrow body with a UL-listed lock
Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
Access box5.2 /1022 inches wide and 320 lb, with a UL-listed Type 1 Sargent & Greenleaf lock behind a drill-resistant hard plate. The 75-minute fire figure has no stated temperature or lab.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
- American Security (AMSEC)No image
AMSEC: verified fire without the burglary listing
AMSEC SF6030
Access box6.4 /10ETL-verified 60 minutes at 1,200°F on a 12-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door and 14 bolts. AMSEC publishes no UL burglary listing for this series.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to AMSEC SF6030

Hollon and American Security end up on the same shortlist constantly, and the reason is that they occupy similar shelf space in dealer showrooms while making almost opposite arguments for themselves. Hollon's pitch is material: look at the plate, look at the bolts, look at the fire minutes. AMSEC's pitch is procedural: look at who tested it.
We do not test safes and we do not own either brand. Everything below is each company's published specification, or a named dealer's spec sheet where the maker's own page has moved, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. Where we cite an archived AMSEC page it is because the live page is a configurator that does not expose the specification. Each brand carries a dated CPSC recall search on its card below.
The verdict
What each brand actually publishes
The pattern in that table is the whole story. Every AMSEC fire rating in it says ETL. Every Hollon fire rating is a number with no tester attached. Conversely, Hollon prints door steel in gauges that AMSEC only matches with its plate-door models, and the Republic series page is unusually specific about the lock package: a 1/4 inch hard plate behind a 3-gauge door.
Burglary: only one side has a listing
A UL Residential Security Container listing under UL 1037 means the safe design survived a timed attack. At Level 1 that is one technician, five minutes of net working time, common hand tools (UL's own notice on the standard). It is a modest test, and it is still the only burglary evidence a consumer safe normally carries. Our UL RSC explainer covers what the levels mean.
The BFX6030 and NF6036 both state UL RSC Level 1. Hollon's Republic and Crescent Shield pages state California DOJ compliance instead, which is a firearm-storage requirement rather than an attack standard; our CA DOJ page explains the difference, and it is a difference buyers are routinely sold on.
That does not make a Hollon easy to open. A 3-gauge plate door with fourteen 1.5 inch bolts is a serious obstacle, and our how hard is it to break into a gun safe page is clear that most attacks are opportunistic rather than skilled. It does mean nobody independent has tried, and if evidence is your filter, that gap is the comparison.
Fire: Hollon claims longer, AMSEC proves shorter
This is the most interesting trade on the page. Hollon's Republic series claims 120 minutes at 1,400°F. AMSEC's BFX6030 claims 120 minutes at 1,200°F, but says ETL verified it. The Crescent Shield claims 75 minutes with no temperature at all on the series page, which is the weakest claim here by some distance, because a fire rating without a temperature is not a rating.
Our standing position, set out in gun safe fire ratings, is that an hour someone independent measured is worth more than two hours the seller measured. Fire claims are also the easiest place in this industry to compare numbers that are not comparable: different furnace curves, different interior measurement points, different pass criteria. A named lab is what makes the number mean the same thing twice.
Steel, bolts and the door
Both brands publish enough to compare properly, which is more than most do:
- Hollon Republic RG-22: 10-gauge body, 3-gauge solid plate door, 1/4 inch hard plate, 14 active 1.5 inch chrome bolts, four-way.
- AMSEC BFX6030: 11-gauge outer and 12-gauge inner liner with concrete amalgamate between the walls, and a 1/2 inch steel plate door (dealer spec sheet). The concrete is doing double duty: mass against attack and insulation against fire.
- AMSEC NF6036: 11-gauge body with a 1/4 inch plate door (dealer spec sheet).
- Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E: 12-gauge body with 1.5 inch bolts on all four sides and a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf Type 1 electronic lock behind a drill-resistant hard plate (series page).
Note what the CS-12E does: it buys a UL-listed lock rather than a UL-listed safe. That is a real upgrade over a generic keypad and it is frequently confused with a body listing. Our lock comparison sets out what a Type 1 rating covers, and steel gauge explained converts these gauges into inches.
Weight, width and getting it into the house
The published weights split the two brands as cleanly as the ratings do. AMSEC here runs 748 to 1,081 lb; Hollon runs 320 to 800 lb. That is not a quality signal in either direction, it is a logistics and floor question, and it decides more purchases than buyers expect.
- Over a basement or upstairs, a 1,081 lb safe plus contents needs the check in can your floor support a gun safe.
- Through a 24 or 28 inch opening, the CS-12E at 22 inches wide is the only safe in this comparison that fits without removing a door frame. See best gun safes for a closet.
- Either way, it has to be anchored. Both brands ship pre-drilled; how to bolt down a gun safe covers doing it without voiding a fire rating.
Warranty and support
Hollon publishes a lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage) with one year of parts and labour. AMSEC publishes a lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire, with five years of parts and labour when the safe has a factory-installed AMSEC lock. The AMSEC terms are the stronger pair on paper: burglary damage is covered as well as fire, and the parts window is five times longer.
One practical note that applies to both. AMSEC's current site is largely a dealer configurator, and several specification pages we needed were only available through the Internet Archive. If you are buying AMSEC, get the specification sheet for the exact SKU in writing from the dealer, because the lock option changes the model code and, on the NF line, the lock is the part that varies.
Who should buy which
Buy AMSEC if: you filter on certification, you want burglary and fire evidence in the same body, you have a slab floor or ground-level placement, and you are happy buying through a dealer. The BFX6030 is the strongest-evidence safe in our whole registry short of the TL-rated tier.
Buy Hollon if: you want the thickest published door steel at a given gun count, you need a narrow body or a lighter safe for an awkward installation, or you specifically want a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf lock, which Hollon fits on the Crescent Shield and AMSEC offers as an option.
Buy neither if: what you actually need is a cabinet for child access control, which is a much cheaper problem to solve. See gun safe vs gun cabinet.
In detail
The contenders, in full
AMSEC: the strongest evidence
American Security BFX6030
UL RSC Level 1 burglary rating and an ETL-verified 120 minutes at 1,200°F, behind a 1/2 in steel plate door. 1,081 lb, and both ratings came from outside the company.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 security rating |
| Fire rating | ETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F (ETL-verified) |
| Body steel | 11 gauge outer and 12 gauge inner steel liner, with concrete insulation between the walls |
| Door steel | 1/2-in steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-rated mechanical dial lock (electronic lock option) |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 22 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59.25 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 1,081 lb |
| Warranty | 5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 9.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 9
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Both evidence fields come from outside labs: UL RSC Level 1 for burglary and an ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F.
- 1/2-in steel plate door, 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, and a double steel wall (11-gauge outer, 12-gauge inner), per the retailer spec sheet.
- UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, with an electronic lock available.
- Made in the USA, per AMSEC.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: buy through an AMSEC dealer.
- 1,081 lb in a 30-in-wide footprint: plan delivery and floor load.
- The 5-year parts-and-labor coverage applies only with a factory-installed AMSEC lock.
Skip this if…
…you need to buy on Amazon or keep the safe under 1,000 lb: this is a dealer-sold, 1,081-lb safe.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security BFX6030

Hollon: the thickest door
Hollon Republic RG-22
A 3-gauge solid steel plate door over a 10-gauge body with 14 active 1.5 in bolts, and a 120-minute claim at 1,400°F. No burglary listing, and the fire figure names no lab.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 120 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named) |
| Body steel | 10 gauge solid steel body |
| Door steel | 3 gauge solid steel door, plus a 1/4 in steel hard plate |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-drilled anchor holes (mounting hardware not included) |
| CA DOJ | Maker says it 'Far Exceeds California Department of Justice Regulatory Standards for Residential Security Containers' |
| Capacity | 22 guns (maker-stated); 16.93 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 24 in (H x W x D); interior 56 x 26 x 16 in |
| Weight | 800 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage); 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | 14 active 1.5 in chrome-plated solid steel bolts, 4-way |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- 10-gauge body and 3-gauge door: heavy published steel for the class
- Fourteen 1.5 in active bolts on all four sides, with a 1/4 in hard plate and spring-loaded re-locker
- 16 in interior depth leaves real room for scoped rifles
- Lifetime fire replacement guarantee is published
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named, so the burglary claim rests on published steel alone
- The maker's series page does not name the lock; the Amazon listing describes a dial lock and a 1-hour fire rating, so confirm the version you are buying matches the maker's 120-minute spec
- 800 lb needs a slab or reinforced floor, and anchor hardware is not included
Skip this if…
…you need a named, UL-listed lock or burglary rating, or your floor can't carry 800 lb
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Republic RG-22

AMSEC: certification on Amazon
American Security NF6036
UL RSC Level 1 with an ETL-verified 90 minutes at 1,200°F on an 11-gauge body and a 1/4 in plate door. 977 lb, 34 guns plus 2 on the door per the dealer listing.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 |
| Fire rating | ETL-verified: 90 min at 1,200°F |
| Body steel | 11 gauge |
| Door steel | 1/4-in steel plate door |
| Lock | AMSEC electronic keypad lock. The lock is the part that varies by SKU: the Amazon listing we link is the NF6036E5 (the ESL5 option), while the dealer listing we checked specifies a UL-rated ESL10 |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 34 guns plus 2 on the door (retailer listing) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 36 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 977 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty against burglary and fire (retailer listing) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Independent evidence on both fronts: UL RSC Level I for burglary and a 90-minute ETL-verified fire rating.
- 11-gauge body, 1/4-in plate door and 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, per the retailer spec sheet.
- Interior LED light kit, electrical outlet and door organizer included, per the retailer listing.
- Sold on Amazon.
Where it falls short
- Lock model differs by SKU: the Amazon listing is the NF6036E5 (ESL5), while the dealer listing we checked lists a UL-rated ESL10. Check which lock the listing you buy from specifies.
- 977 lb and 36 in wide: check doorways and floor load.
- Lock and parts warranty terms are not published on the listing we checked; only the lifetime burglary and fire coverage is.
Skip this if…
…you want a mechanical dial as standard: this model ships with an electronic keypad lock.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security NF6036

Hollon: the narrow body with a UL-listed lock
Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
22 inches wide and 320 lb, with a UL-listed Type 1 Sargent & Greenleaf lock behind a drill-resistant hard plate. The 75-minute fire figure has no stated temperature or lab.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named for the Crescent Shield series) |
| Fire rating | Manufacturer claim: 75 minutes (no test temperature or independent lab named on the series page) |
| Body steel | 12 gauge steel |
| Lock | UL-listed, Type 1 rated Sargent & Greenleaf electronic lock; drill-resistant hard plate |
| Bolt-down | 4 bolt-down holes to secure to the foundation |
| Capacity | 12 guns (maker-stated); 7.36 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 22 x 16 in (H x W x D); interior 55 x 19.5 x 9.5 in |
| Weight | 320 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime fire guarantee (replacement after fire damage); 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | 1.5 in chrome steel bolts on the top, bottom, hinge and opening sides |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hollon gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.2 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 7
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 4.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-listed Type 1 S&G electronic lock, a named, listed lock rather than a generic keypad
- 12-gauge steel with 1.5 in bolts on all four sides in a 22 in wide body
- 320 lb and 16 in deep fits closets where full-size safes won't
- Published interior dimensions and bolt-down holes
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named for the series
- The 75-minute fire figure is a maker claim with no test temperature stated on the maker's page
- A 9.5 in interior depth makes 12 guns an unscoped count; scoped rifles will fit far fewer
Skip this if…
…you store several scoped rifles, or you need a UL-listed burglary rating
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hollon Crescent Shield CS-12E
AMSEC: verified fire without the burglary listing
AMSEC SF6030
ETL-verified 60 minutes at 1,200°F on a 12-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door and 14 bolts. AMSEC publishes no UL burglary listing for this series.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated on the maker's product page (no UL listing named) |
| Fire rating | ETL-verified 60 min at 1,200°F (maker: 'independently tested by ETL') |
| Body steel | 12 gauge |
| Door steel | 0.1875 in (3/16 in) solid steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-cut anchor holes; mounting hardware included (dealer page) |
| CA DOJ | Dealer lists it as a 'California DOJ Approved Firearm Safety Device'; not stated on the maker's page |
| Capacity | 30 in the safe + 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D); interior 53.5 x 26 x 19 in |
| Weight | 748 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty against theft and fire; 1-year parts and labor |
| Locking bolts | (9) 1.5 in active bolts + (5) deadbolts = 14 bolts, 4-way |
| Lock options | Optional Group II combination lock (dealer page) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 2
- Construction (20%)
- 8.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 8.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating verified by ETL (Intertek), not just the maker
- 3/16 in solid steel plate door over a 12-gauge body
- UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock, with a Group II mechanical option through dealers
- Anchor holes and hardware included; lifetime theft and fire warranty
Where it falls short
- No UL RSC listing is named on the maker's page, so it is rated here as an unlisted safe; a dealer describes the SF series as UL RSC, which we could not confirm with the maker or a UL listing
- Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (the link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link)
- 748 lb and 26 in deep: plan the floor, doorways and delivery before ordering
Skip this if…
…you need an Amazon purchase or a maker-stated UL RSC listing, or your floor can't carry a 748 lb safe
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to AMSEC SF6030
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Compared on published burglary listings, fire verification, plate steel, weight and warranty terms, using maker pages plus named-dealer spec sheets where AMSEC's live pages are configurators.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are Hollon safes as good as AMSEC?
Does Hollon have a UL rating?
Which brand has the better fire rating?
Is AMSEC made in the USA?
Which is better for a closet or a narrow space?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- AMSEC vs Liberty safesThe other half of the AMSEC cross-shop, on the same evidence test.
- Best UL RSC gun safesEvery safe in our registry with a burglary listing, ranked.
- UL RSC rating explainedWhat a Level 1 listing actually tested, in plain terms.
- Steelwater vs Liberty gun safesThe same steel-versus-certification argument at a lower price point.
- Best fireproof gun safesRanked on who verified the fire rating, across brands.
Receipts
Sources
- Hollon Safe — 2 Hour Republic gun safe series: RG-22 plate door, bolts, fire claim, dimensions (checked 2026-10-17)
- Hollon Safe — Crescent Shield series: CS-12E construction, UL-listed S&G lock, dimensions (checked 2026-10-17)
- Hollon Safe — warranty page: lifetime fire guarantee and parts coverage (checked 2026-10-17)
- American Security (AMSEC) — BFX6030 page via the Internet Archive: UL RSC Level 1 and ETL 120 min fire rating
- American Security (AMSEC) — NF6036 page via the Internet Archive: UL RSC Level 1
- American Security (AMSEC) — SF6030 page via the Internet Archive: ETL-verified 60 min fire rating
- Dean Safe (authorized dealer) — AMSEC BFX6030 spec sheet: steel liner, plate door, anchor holes
- Dean Safe (authorized dealer) — AMSEC NF6036 spec sheet: 11-gauge body, 1/4 in plate door, lock options
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
- Intertek — what the ETL Verified mark means
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.