Home & Fire Safes · Head to head
SentrySafe vs Honeywell: which fire safe brand has the stronger evidence?
Two familiar names on the fire-safe shelf, matched model for model. The difference that matters most isn't the temperature on the box. It's whether a named lab stands behind it.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoSentrySafe's small chest
SentrySafe CHW20221
Fire chest5.6 /10UL-classified for 30 minutes at 1,550°F plus an ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating: both ratings name a lab.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CHW20221
Stock photoHoneywell's small chest
Honeywell 1103
Fire chest4.9 /10The same UL 30-minute, 1,550°F fire result per Honeywell's manual, with compression latches and a five-year warranty; its water claim names no lab.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Honeywell 1103
Stock photoSentrySafe's steel fire safe
SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Fire chest7.5 /10UL-classified for 1 hour at 1,700°F with ETL-verified water resistance; its key is a second lock, not an override.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Stock photoHoneywell's steel fire safe
Honeywell 2605
Fire chest5.4 /10Override keys, a motion alarm and a five-year warranty, but no lab is named for its 2-hour fire claim and its page and manual give different test temperatures.
See it at Honeywell Safes (maker's site)Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Stock photoAlternate: 2-hour UL rating
Master Lock STW123GTCML
Fire chest8.0 /10Listed on SentrySafe's site under the Master Lock name: UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, and the maker says fire and water protection hold when it is bolted down.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML

How we compared them
We haven't handled, opened or tested any of these safes. This is a spec-and-listing comparison: every figure below comes from SentrySafe's and Honeywell's own product pages and owner's manuals, and every value in the tables links to its source. All five models are scored on the same fire-safe rubric published on how we rate, which gives fire rating evidence the most weight (35 percent), then burglary resistance (20 percent), water evidence and the lock (15 percent each), then capacity and support. Because they share one rubric, the scores on this page compare directly.
Who stands behind each name matters for warranty claims. SentrySafe's chest warranty is issued by Master Lock Company LLC, and its newer manuals are co-branded SentrySafe / Master Lock (SentrySafe chest manual). Honeywell-branded safes are made under license: the warranty in Honeywell's chest manual is issued by LH Licensed Products, Inc. (Honeywell chest manual). Our CPSC recall search on September 19, 2026 found no recall for either brand's safes or chests.
The two brands line up in natural pairs. The small 30-minute chests (SentrySafe CHW20221 and Honeywell 1103) are the grab-and-go boxes for passports and certificates. The steel-cased fire and water safes (SentrySafe SFW123GDC and Honeywell 2605) are the heavier boxes you keep in one place. We added the Master Lock STW123GTCML as an alternate because it answers the question the 2605 raises: what does a 2-hour rating look like when a named lab stands behind it?
The chests: SentrySafe CHW20221 vs Honeywell 1103
On fire, this pair is a tie. SentrySafe's page says the CHW20221 is "UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for 1/2 hour up to 1550°F" (SentrySafe). Honeywell's manual says "Independent testing by Underwriters Laboratories (UL) verifies the interior temperature remains below 350° F (177°C) for 30 minutes when outside temperature is up to 1550°F" for the 1103. Same lab, same time, same furnace temperature.
The split is on water. SentrySafe says Intertek (ETL) verified the CHW20221 against flood damage for up to 72 hours. Honeywell's product page claims "Certified 100-hour waterproof protection up to 1 meter", but names no certifying lab, and its own manual describes a different test: the interior "remains dry when completely submerged for up 24 hours" (Honeywell 1103 page). When a page and a manual give different numbers and neither names a lab, we score the claim as a maker claim, which is why the 1103 trails the CHW20221 on water evidence and on score.
Honeywell wins on hardware and paperwork. The 1103 closes with compression latches meant to press the lid onto its seal, comes with two keys, and carries a five-year limited warranty against SentrySafe's one year on chests. Both brands add a lifetime after-fire replacement program. The SentrySafe is a little lighter (20.4 lb against 27.4 lb) and a little larger inside (0.28 cu ft against 0.24 cu ft).
The steel safes: SentrySafe SFW123GDC vs Honeywell 2605
This is where the brands separate. The SFW123GDC's page says it is "UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for 1 hour in up to 1700°F", and the owner's manual adds the detail that makes that meaningful: at that exposure "the safe interior will remain below 350°F". The manual also lists a UL explosion-hazard test and an ETL-verified fire-impact test, in which the safe is heated, dropped 15 ft onto rubble and reheated (SentrySafe manual P44621).
The Honeywell 2605 claims twice the duration. Its page promises "2 Hour Verified fire protection in Temperatures up to 1850°F/1010°C" (Honeywell 2605 page). Its manual says "Independent testing verified the interior temperature remains below 350° F (177°C) for 2 hours when outside temperature is up to 1550°F (843°C)" (Honeywell 2605 manual). Those are two different test temperatures for the same model, and neither source names the lab. We can't tell you which figure is right, so we don't pick one. What we can say is that a 2-hour claim with no named lab and an unresolved temperature carries less weight than a 1-hour classification with UL's name on it.
The 2605 does bring things the SFW123GDC lacks: two override keys, a motion and tilt alarm, and a five-year limited warranty. It is also harder to buy. It didn't turn up in an Amazon.com search, so we link it to Honeywell's own store as a plain reference.
If the 2605's two hours are what drew you, look at the alternate in the third column. The Master Lock STW123GTCML sits on SentrySafe's site, and its page says it is "UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for 2 hours in up to 1850°F" (Master Lock STW123GTCML page). That's the same duration Honeywell claims, with the lab named. It is heavier at 128.2 lb, and like the SFW123GDC its key is a second lock rather than an override.
Fire ratings: who measured them
Every fire figure on this page describes a furnace test: how hot the furnace got, for how long, and whether the inside stayed cool enough. Under UL 72, "Class 350 rated devices are intended to protect paper records", and the class number is the interior limit in degrees Fahrenheit (UL 72). Both brands' manuals describe a 350°F interior limit, so all four fire ratings here are paper ratings. Our fire ratings explainer covers the classes and why the time figure matters more than the furnace temperature.
The evidence ladder, as it applies to these models:
- UL named, on the maker's page and in the manual: SentrySafe CHW20221, SFW123GDC and the Master Lock STW123GTCML.
- UL named in the manual: Honeywell 1103. The page says "UL Certified"; the manual says "Independent testing by Underwriters Laboratories (UL)". We count that as an independent fire rating.
- No lab named: Honeywell 2605. "Verified" and "independent testing" without a lab's name is a maker claim in our scoring.
None of this makes any of them "fireproof". A rating is time and temperature under test conditions, and a real house fire doesn't read the label. Our piece on whether "fireproof" safes really are walks through the limits.
Water claims
Water matters in a fire as much as in a flood, because a fire is usually put out with water. The two brands take different approaches:
- SentrySafe names Intertek (ETL) for its water ratings: 72 hours of flood protection on the CHW20221, and up to 8 in of water for up to 24 hours on the SFW123GDC.
- Honeywell names no lab for water on either model, and both products have a page-versus-manual mismatch. The 1103 page says 100 hours, the manual 24. The 2605 page promises protection "even when safe is submerged under eight inches", while the manual describes being "completely submerged for up to 8 hours with up to 50mm of water above the safe".
One SentrySafe catch deserves a flag. The SFW123GDC manual says the "Product is not water resistant once it is bolted down. The ETL verified water resistance claim applies to product prior to the application of a bolt-down kit." So you choose between the water rating and the anchoring. Master Lock says the STW123GTCML keeps both: its bolt-down hardware holds the safe in place "while maintaining fire and water protection". Honeywell's 2605 anchoring instructions don't address the water claim either way.
Locks and backup entry
The chests are simple: both use a privacy key lock. SentrySafe describes the CHW20221's lock as one that "keeps unwanted viewers or children away from the contents", which is an honest description of what it does. Neither chest lock is meant to stop a determined adult.
The steel safes differ in a way that matters on the day a battery dies. The SFW123GDC has a keypad and a key, but the manual calls the key "a secondary locking feature not an override key". Its batteries load from the outside keypad, so a flat battery is fixable from outside, but a keypad fault has no key-only way in. The 2605 puts its battery compartment inside the safe and supplies two override keys; Honeywell's manual says the key "allows immediate access in case you forget your user codes or the batteries need to be installed or replaced". It also locks the keypad for 15 minutes after three wrong codes.
If a lockout does happen with any of these, use the maker's backup entry exactly as the manual describes, then contact the maker's support line or a licensed locksmith. Our explainer on electronic vs mechanical safe locks covers the trade-offs in more detail.
What neither brand stops
Neither maker states a burglary rating for any model on this page. The chests have plastic or resin bodies and privacy locks, and at around 20 to 27 lb they can simply be carried off. The steel safes are heavier and include bolt-down hardware, but they are fire safes, not UL-listed burglary containers. If theft is part of the worry, anchor a steel model to the floor (and accept what that does to the SFW123GDC's water rating), or choose a safe that carries a UL residential security container (RSC) listing as well as a fire rating, such as the dealer-sold AMSEC BF1512. Our best fire safes ranking covers the fire-first options across brands.
Who should buy which
- You want a small, portable box for passports and certificates: the SentrySafe CHW20221, for the ETL-verified flood rating. Pick the Honeywell 1103 if a longer warranty and latched lid matter more than a lab-named water rating. For file boxes and 1-hour chests, see our best document safes list.
- You want a steel fire and water safe with ratings a lab stands behind: the SentrySafe SFW123GDC.
- You want two hours and plan to bolt it down: the Master Lock STW123GTCML, the only model here whose maker says fire and water protection survive anchoring.
- You want override keys and an alarm above all: the Honeywell 2605, knowing its fire and water ratings are maker claims with unresolved numbers.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoSentrySafe's small chest
SentrySafe CHW20221
UL-classified for 30 minutes at 1,550°F plus an ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating: both ratings name a lab.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock to keep children and unwanted viewers out |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20.4 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating, both named on the maker's page
- Carry handle and in-lid organizer for a grab-and-go document kit
- About 20 lb, so it goes under a bed or on a closet shelf
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: a thief can carry the whole chest away
- 30-minute fire rating, half the time of a 1-hour chest
- Letter or legal paper fit is not stated by the maker (interior is 12.8 x 8.5 in)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from theft or room for hanging file folders
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CHW20221
Stock photoHoneywell's small chest
Honeywell 1103
The same UL 30-minute, 1,550°F fire result per Honeywell's manual, with compression latches and a five-year warranty; its water claim names no lab.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 4.9 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 4.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Manual names Underwriters Laboratories as the fire tester
- Compression latches for a tighter water seal
- 5-year limited warranty, longer than SentrySafe's one year on chests
Where it falls short
- Water rating names no lab, and the page (100 hr) and manual (24 hr) disagree
- Privacy lock only; no burglary resistance
- Small 0.24 cu ft interior
Skip this if…
…you want a lab-verified water rating; SentrySafe's chests name ETL for theirs
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Honeywell 1103
Stock photoSentrySafe's steel fire safe
SentrySafe SFW123GDC
UL-classified for 1 hour at 1,700°F with ETL-verified water resistance; its key is a second lock, not an override.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Fire rating is UL-classified (1 hr at 1,700°F), not a maker-only claim
- Water resistance is ETL-verified (8 in of water for 24 hr)
- The manual lists an ETL-verified 15 ft fire-impact drop and UL explosion-hazard classification
- Interior light, locking drawer and key rack; after-fire replacement program
Where it falls short
- Per the manual, the water rating no longer applies once you bolt it down
- No burglary rating: a steel-cased fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key: the key only adds a second lock, so a keypad fault can lock you out
Skip this if…
…you plan to bolt it down and still count on the water rating, or you need a UL burglary rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe SFW123GDC
Stock photoHoneywell's steel fire safe
Honeywell 2605
Override keys, a motion alarm and a five-year warranty, but no lab is named for its 2-hour fire claim and its page and manual give different test temperatures.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 5.4 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 5
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 4
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 6.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Emergency access keys, so a dead battery does not lock you out
- Mounting plate, bolt-down hardware and a motion/tilt alarm included
- 5-year limited warranty plus lifetime after-fire replacement
Where it falls short
- Fire and water ratings name no testing lab, so they score as maker claims
- Product page says 1,850°F; the manual says 1,550°F for the same 2-hour claim
- Not found on Amazon.com search; sold through the maker's store (plain reference link)
Skip this if…
…you want a fire rating a named lab (UL or Intertek) stands behind
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Stock photoAlternate: 2-hour UL rating
Master Lock STW123GTCML
Listed on SentrySafe's site under the Master Lock name: UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, and the maker says fire and water protection hold when it is bolted down.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 10
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 5.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for 2 hours at 1,850°F, twice the 1-hour rating of the SFW123GDC
- A documented drop test while heated (the manual says an ETL-verified 30 ft; the product page says a UL-classified 15 ft impact), relevant if a floor collapses in a fire
- Maker says the fire and water protection is kept when bolted down
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- No burglary rating: a heavy fire safe, not a UL RSC
- No override key; the key only adds a second lock
- 128 lb for 1.19 cu ft, so plan placement before delivery
Skip this if…
…you need more than about 1.2 cu ft of space or a UL-rated burglary safe
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Master Lock STW123GTCML
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is SentrySafe better than Honeywell?
Are Honeywell safes UL rated?
Is SentrySafe a good brand?
Who makes Honeywell safes?
Does bolting down a SentrySafe void the water rating?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best fire safesLarger fire-rated safes ranked by who certified the rating.
- Best document safesChests and file boxes for papers you can't replace.
- Safe fire ratings explainedWhat UL Class 350, 150 and 125 mean, and how time ratings work.
- Is any safe really "fireproof"?Why no safe earns that word, and what a fire rating does promise.
- Best UL fire-rated safesOnly safes whose fire rating a named lab stands behind.
Receipts
Sources
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- SentrySafe — SFW123GDC owner's manual P44621 (fire, water and bolt-down specifications; checked 2026-09-19)
- SentrySafe — waterproof fire-resistant chests & files manual P44679 (warranty and storage notes; checked 2026-09-19)
- SentrySafe — CHW20221 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- SentrySafe / Master Lock — STW123GTCML product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Honeywell Safes — 2605 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Honeywell Safes — 2605/2607/2609 Waterproof Fire Safe manual (checked 2026-09-19)
- Honeywell Safes — 1103 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Honeywell Safes — 1101-1108 Waterproof Fire Chest manual (checked 2026-09-19)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.