Home & Fire Safes · Head to head
Floor safe vs wall safe: concrete, or a stud bay?
Both hide valuables inside the house rather than in front of it. One is permanent and nearly impossible to lever; the other you can fit in an afternoon and take with you.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoThe floor safe: 1/2 in door, set in concrete
Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
Access box7.2 /10The floor safe to buy if you are setting one into concrete: a 1/2 in solid steel door, five chrome-plated steel bolts, a drill-resistant hard plate and a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf Group 2 dial with a relocker. The container itself is not UL-listed, and it has no fire rating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
Stock photoThe wall safe: 8-gauge door, 44 in tall
SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414
Access box6.7 /10A 44 in tall in-wall safe with an 8-gauge door and 16-gauge body that lag-bolts into a 14.5 in stud bay, with a keypad, key backup and a lifetime warranty; tall enough for long items or stacked valuables, with no fire rating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414
Stock photoThe wall safe: keypad, key override
Protex PWS-1814E
Access box5.9 /10A 0.44 cu ft electronic wall safe sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay (3 7/8 in deep, with a flange to cover the cut), with motorized bolts and a key override; it hides valuables, it does not protect them from fire.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Protex PWS-1814E
Stock photoThe in-between: a floor safe for timber floors
Barska AX12656 Floor Safe
Access box4.9 /10A 17 lb, 0.22 cu ft key-locked pan that drops between floor joists and sits flush with the boards. Concealment is the whole defence: at 17 lb it is only secure once it is fastened down and covered.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX12656 Floor Safe

We have not installed or attacked any of these four. This comparison uses each maker's published figures, and every number in the table links to its source.
The same idea, executed in two different structures
A floor safe and a wall safe are both answers to the same observation: most home safes are defeated by being found and removed, not by being cut open. Concealment inside the building fabric solves that. Where they differ is what the building fabric can do for them afterwards.
A floor safe goes into a slab, and concrete is poured around the body. After that, the only exposed surface is the lid. There is nothing to tip, nothing to lever against, and nothing to carry. A wall safe goes into the 14.5 in void between two studs. The studs take the lag bolts; the drywall covers the flange. Behind the box is the back of the opposite wall, and around it is air.
So the question is not really "which is stronger". It is "which structure do you have, and are you allowed to alter it".
Floor safe vs wall safe at a glance
| Floor safe | Wall safe | |
|---|---|---|
| Where it goes | Into a concrete slab or foundation (or a joist bay, for shallow models) | Into a stud bay, usually 16 in on centre |
| What holds it | Concrete poured around the body | Lag screws into two timber studs |
| Typical door steel | 1/2 in solid steel on the Hollons; 12 mm on the Barska AX13200 | 8 gauge on the SnapSafe 75414; 5/8 in formed steel on the Protex PWS-1814E |
| Can it be carried off? | No, once poured in | Yes, if the screws are found and backed out |
| Install effort | Concrete saw, spoil removal, re-pour; usually a trade job | Cut drywall, check for services, lag into studs; a DIY afternoon |
| Reversible? | No | Yes: patch the drywall |
| Renter-friendly | No | Only with the landlord's written permission |
| Damp risk | High: it is the lowest, coldest point in the house | Low: interior wall cavity, room temperature |
| Fire rating | None on any model we track | None on any model we track |
Four models, side by side
The hardware gap is real but narrower than the categories suggest. The Hollon leads on door steel and lock: 1/2 in solid steel, five chrome-plated bolts, a drill-resistant hard plate and a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf Group 2 dial (Hollon). The SnapSafe answers with a published 8-gauge door and 16-gauge body, a keypad with key backup and a lifetime defect warranty (SnapSafe). The Protex adds motorised bolts and both a key and a power override, on a one-year parts warranty (Protex).
Which one actually resists attack
Neither is UL-listed as a container, so nobody has timed either under attack (UL). What we can compare is geometry, and geometry favours the floor safe decisively once it is poured in.
- Leverage. A pry bar needs a fulcrum and an edge. A flush lid in concrete offers neither. A wall safe presents a flange, a door edge and a hollow cavity behind the drywall to work into.
- Removal. The most common defeat of a small safe is taking the whole safe somewhere quiet. A 28 lb Protex held by six screws can be removed with a cordless driver. A 93 lb Hollon in a slab cannot be removed at all.
- Time to find it. Both are good. A wall safe behind a picture is a known trope, and so is a floor safe under a rug, but a floor safe is at least in a plane people do not search.
- The lock. A UL-listed Group 2 dial is a meaningfully better lock than an unlisted keypad. It is also slower to open and has no override, which matters more than you expect at 2 a.m.
Installation and reversibility
This is where most people actually decide. A wall safe is a stud finder, a drywall saw, a level and two lag bolts per side. SnapSafe's instructions ask you to confirm 14.5 in clear between studs before you cut. Nothing about it is beyond a careful homeowner, and a patched wall costs an afternoon if you change your mind.
A floor safe is a diamond saw, rebar, spoil removal and a re-pour that has to cure. It is permanent in the strongest sense: the next owner of the house inherits it. If you are not certain you will be in the house in ten years, that is a genuine argument for the wall.
The exception is the Barska AX12656, which is a floor safe that behaves like a wall safe: 5 in deep, 17 lb, screwed into a joist bay (Barska). It gives you the floor hiding place without the concrete, at the cost of being light enough to carry if somebody finds it and backs the screws out.
Access, damp and daily use
A wall safe is at chest height. You open it standing up, in the light, without moving furniture. A floor safe is at floor level, under whatever you put over it, and opening it means kneeling and lifting a heavy lid. If you expect to be in the safe weekly, that difference compounds.
Damp goes the other way. A slab wicks moisture and a steel box set into it is a cold surface; a stud bay in an interior wall sits at room temperature. Neither of these safes publishes a humidity figure, so if you choose the floor, add a desiccant unit and a hygrometer from the start. Our humidity guide has the target range and our dehumidifier picks cover the small units that suit a sealed box.
Fire: neither, and here is why
Fire resistance is insulation, and insulation is thickness. A 1.2 cu ft fire safe weighs 86 lb because most of it is fill. Neither a stud bay nor a slab cut leaves room for that layer around a usable interior, so makers do not fit it and do not claim it. Barska even prints "Fireproof: No" on its floor safes rather than leaving it ambiguous.
Being in a slab probably helps in a real fire, and being in an interior wall probably helps a little too. Nobody has measured either, so we will not score it. If paper is the point, read what fire ratings prove and put the paper in something rated.
Pick a floor safe if
- You own the house and expect to stay in it.
- There is a concrete slab in a room a burglar has no reason to linger in.
- The contents are cash, metals, deeds and jewelry rather than a working document file you open weekly.
- You want the version that cannot be carried away, full stop.
Pick a wall safe if
- You are upstairs, on a timber floor, or renting with permission.
- You want to install it yourself and be able to undo it.
- You will use it regularly and want it at eye level.
- You would rather spend the concrete-cutting budget on a better safe.
Whichever you choose, the rule that decides the outcome is the same: hidden, anchored, and not mentioned to anyone. Our picks are at best floor safes and best wall safes.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoThe floor safe: 1/2 in door, set in concrete
Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
The floor safe to buy if you are setting one into concrete: a 1/2 in solid steel door, five chrome-plated steel bolts, a drill-resistant hard plate and a UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf Group 2 dial with a relocker. The container itself is not UL-listed, and it has no fire rating.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- 1/2 in solid steel door with five chrome-plated steel locking bolts
- UL-listed S&G Group 2 dial behind a drill-resistant hard plate, with an external relocker
- Mechanical lock: no batteries, no electronics, nothing to fail in a damp slab
- An air-spring bar and a full-length dead bar are published features, not marketing adjectives
Where it falls short
- "B-rate" is a construction description, not a laboratory listing of the container
- No fire rating: the maker makes no claim about a house fire above the slab
- Installation means cutting and re-pouring concrete, which is not reversible
Skip this if…
…you cannot cut into a concrete slab, or you need a fire rating for papers
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hollon B2500 Floor Safe
Stock photoThe wall safe: 8-gauge door, 44 in tall
SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414
A 44 in tall in-wall safe with an 8-gauge door and 16-gauge body that lag-bolts into a 14.5 in stud bay, with a keypad, key backup and a lifetime warranty; tall enough for long items or stacked valuables, with no fire rating.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16 gauge |
| Door steel | 8 gauge |
| Lock | Electronic keypad with audio and LED low-battery warning; spring-assist door |
| Backup entry | Key backup |
| Bolt-down | Installs between studs 16 in on center (confirm 14.5 in between studs); lag screws into the studs |
| Capacity | Interior 41.6 x 11.8 x 3.6 in (H x W x D); removable shelves |
| Exterior dimensions | 44 x 16.25 x 4 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 66 lb |
| Warranty | Warranted against material defects and workmanship for the life of the product |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SnapSafe (Hornady) in-wall safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Published 8-gauge door and 16-gauge body, heavier than most wall safes
- Keypad with key backup and a low-battery warning
- Lifetime warranty; left- or right-opening
Where it falls short
- No fire or water rating
- Interior is only 3.6 in deep
- Needs a 42 in tall opening cut into the drywall
Skip this if…
…you need fire protection or deeper storage than 3.6 in
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414
Stock photoThe wall safe: keypad, key override
Protex PWS-1814E
A 0.44 cu ft electronic wall safe sized for a 16 in on-center stud bay (3 7/8 in deep, with a flange to cover the cut), with motorized bolts and a key override; it hides valuables, it does not protect them from fire.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Maker says "Burglary Resistant" (no UL rating cited) |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Door steel | 5/8 in formed steel door; body "heavy duty gauge steel" (gauge not published) |
| Lock | Digital electronic lock; dual live motorized 3/4 in chrome bolts; door opens automatically |
| Backup entry | Key lock override (2 keys) and power override |
| Bolt-down | Designed for 16 in on-center wall studs; 3 anchor holes per side (6 total); 16 x 20 in flange |
| Capacity | About 0.44 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 14 x 18 1/8 x 3 in (W x H x D); 2 removable shelves |
| Exterior dimensions | 14 1/8 x 18 1/4 x 3 7/8 in (W x H x D) |
| Weight | 28 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty, parts only |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Protex Safe Co. safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- Sized for a standard 16 in on-center stud bay with a flange that hides the cut
- Key override and power override for a dead battery
- Motorized bolts; velvet interior with two shelves
Where it falls short
- No fire rating: in-wall safes rarely have one
- "Burglary Resistant" is the maker's wording, not a UL rating
- Warranty covers parts only, for 1 year
Skip this if…
…you need fire protection or anything more than concealment plus a lock
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Protex PWS-1814E
Stock photoThe in-between: a floor safe for timber floors
Barska AX12656 Floor Safe
A 17 lb, 0.22 cu ft key-locked pan that drops between floor joists and sits flush with the boards. Concealment is the whole defence: at 17 lb it is only secure once it is fastened down and covered.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | Maker lists "Fireproof: No" |
| Body steel | 3 mm steel body |
| Door steel | 6 mm steel door |
| Lock | Key lock with a 2-point dead bolt system; top-access design |
| Backup entry | Two emergency backup keys supplied |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes and mounting hardware included; sits level with the surrounding floor |
| Capacity | 0.22 cu ft; interior 6.85 x 13 x 3.15 in |
| Exterior dimensions | 8 x 15 x 5 in |
| Weight | 17.1 lb |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Barska floor safes. Barska is not among the brands in the 2023-2025 CPSC biometric gun-safe recalls and warnings; neither of these models has a biometric lock. |
How the 4.9 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5
What the evidence supports
- Fits a joist bay in a timber floor: no concrete work required
- Key lock and two backup keys; nothing to power
- Mounting holes and hardware included, and it sits flush under a rug or board
Where it falls short
- 17 lb: if it is not screwed down and hidden, it leaves with the burglar
- 3.15 in of interior depth, so it holds documents and jewelry, nothing bulky
- No fire rating and a 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…your only floor is a concrete slab, or you want weight and steel rather than concealment
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX12656 Floor Safe
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is a floor safe better than a wall safe?
Can a burglar get into a wall safe?
Do floor safes rust?
Can you put a floor safe in an upstairs room?
Are floor safes and wall safes fireproof?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best floor safesThe in-floor picks, ranked on published steel and lock evidence.
- Best wall safesIn-wall safes that fit a standard stud bay.
- Best hidden gun safesConcealed storage for firearms, ranked the same way.
- Where to put a safe in your houseRooms, floors and sight lines.
- How to choose a home safeStart from the threat, not the product category.
Receipts
Sources
- Hollon Safe — Floor Safes series page
- SnapSafe (Hornady) — In-Wall Safes product page
- Protex Safe — PWS-1814E product page
- Barska — AX12656 0.22 Cu. ft Floor Safe with Key Lock
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.