Home & Fire Safes · The rankings
Best fireproof safes under $100: small chests with real UL ratings
This is the one budget bracket in the whole category where you can buy genuinely independent certification. You just cannot buy security with it.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() SentrySafe CFW20201 The only pick here with a full UL-classified hour at 1,700°F, plus ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. The strongest certification per dollar on this site. | Best fire safe under $100 overallFire chest | 6.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() SentrySafe CHW20221 UL Classified for half an hour at 1,550°F with the same ETL 72-hour flood verification, in a 20 lb box with an in-lid organiser. | Best budget fire and water chestFire chest | 5.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() SentrySafe FHW40100 0.66 cu ft and 41 lb, sized for hanging file folders, with a UL half-hour rating and ETL flood verification. The most usable interior in the band. | Best for hanging filesFire chest | 5.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe 1170 0.61 cu ft with a UL half-hour classification at 1,550°F and no water rating. Buy it only if flooding genuinely is not a risk where it will live. | Best fire-only file boxFire chest | 4.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

There is an oddity in this market worth pointing out. On gun safes, third-party certification is expensive and rare, and the fire ratings are usually the maker's own. On small fire chests, the cheapest product on the shelf routinely carries a UL classification and an Intertek flood verification. Under $100 you can buy better fire evidence than a $3,000 gun safe carries.
That is because the chests are small, light and made in enormous volumes, so furnace testing amortises across millions of units. It is a genuine bargain, as long as you are clear about what is being certified: how long the inside stays cool, and nothing else at all.
What $100 buys, and what it does not
- A UL fire classification. All four picks carry one, from half an hour at 1,550°F up to a full hour at 1,700°F.
- ETL-verified flood protection, on three of the four. Intertek verified protection from flood damage for up to 72 hours on the CFW, CHW and FHW.
- A key lock. All four. A privacy or tubular key, which is exactly what it sounds like.
- A carrying handle. Useful for you, and useful for a burglar. This is the trade.
What it does not buy: a burglary rating, any meaningful weight, a bolt-down provision, or protection for magnetic media and drives. On that last point, see our media safe page: a Class 350 chest is rated for paper, and paper only.
A note on SentrySafe's price bands
The picks side by side
The CFW20201 and the CHW20221 are the same box on the outside, 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in, with the same ETL flood verification. The difference is the fire rating: a full hour at 1,700°F against half an hour at 1,550°F. If both are in the same price band, that is an easy decision.
What the certifications actually mean
UL Classified. UL 72 classifies record protection equipment by the highest temperature the interior may reach during the furnace test. Class 350, the consumer class, is "intended to protect paper records" (UL Standards & Engagement). The hour or half-hour figure is how long the interior stayed under that limit.
ETL Verified. Intertek, which issues the ETL mark, checked a specific performance claim. Intertek describes the ETL Verified mark as "a symbol of performance integrity of the products that bear the mark" (Intertek). On these chests it backs the flood claim, not the fire rating.
Two separate bodies, two separate claims, both checkable. That is a higher standard of evidence than most of this industry manages at any price. Our fire ratings explainer goes through the classes in full.
How we ranked these
We have not burned, soaked or opened any of these. Each is scored on the fire and home-safe rubric at how we rate: 35% fire-rating evidence, 15% water-rating evidence, 20% burglary resistance, 15% lock and entry, 10% capacity and fit, 5% support. Every product here scores near zero on burglary resistance, which drags all four scores down equally and leaves the fire and water evidence to decide the order.
The CFW20201 leads on the only full-hour UL classification in the band. The CHW20221 is second on the same flood verification with half the fire time. The FHW40100 is third: a half-hour rating, but the only interior here that takes hanging files. The 1170 is fourth because it has no water rating at all, which matters more than people expect, since fires are put out with water.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 and found no recall covering SentrySafe chests. Each card shows its dated check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest fire safe under $100 overall
SentrySafe CFW20201
The only pick here with a full UL-classified hour at 1,700°F, plus ETL-verified flood protection for up to 72 hours. The strongest certification per dollar on this site.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 9
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
- ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
- Carry handle; about 20 lb
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
- Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
- One-year manufacturing warranty
Skip this if…
…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201
Rank 2
Stock photoBest budget fire and water chest
SentrySafe CHW20221
UL Classified for half an hour at 1,550°F with the same ETL 72-hour flood verification, in a 20 lb box with an in-lid organiser.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock to keep children and unwanted viewers out |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Tubular key lock |
| Capacity | 0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 20.4 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating, both named on the maker's page
- Carry handle and in-lid organizer for a grab-and-go document kit
- About 20 lb, so it goes under a bed or on a closet shelf
Where it falls short
- Privacy lock only: a thief can carry the whole chest away
- 30-minute fire rating, half the time of a 1-hour chest
- Letter or legal paper fit is not stated by the maker (interior is 12.8 x 8.5 in)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from theft or room for hanging file folders
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CHW20221
Rank 3
Stock photoBest for hanging files
SentrySafe FHW40100
0.66 cu ft and 41 lb, sized for hanging file folders, with a UL half-hour rating and ETL flood verification. The most usable interior in the band.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lock |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Privacy key lock |
| Capacity | 0.66 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 11.6 x 12 x 8.1 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 14.1 x 16.6 x 13.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 41 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 5.7 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 8.5
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Holds hanging file folders, so records stay organized
- UL-classified fire rating and ETL-verified 72-hour flood rating
- Carrying handle for moving the file out quickly
Where it falls short
- 30-minute fire rating
- Privacy key lock only; no burglary resistance
- SentrySafe does not state letter or legal folder fit; the interior is 12 in wide
Skip this if…
…your records are legal-size and you have not confirmed they fit a 12 in wide interior
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe FHW40100
Rank 4
Stock photoBest fire-only file box
SentrySafe 1170
0.61 cu ft with a UL half-hour classification at 1,550°F and no water rating. Buy it only if flooding genuinely is not a risk where it will live.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Fire chest. Heat for its rated time. Burglary resistance is usually minimal. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: maker says these safes "provide basic protection and are not intended for tool attacks" |
| Fire rating | UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker) |
| Water rating | None (maker lists fire and security only) |
| Body steel | Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body) |
| Lock | Privacy key lock |
| Capacity | 0.61 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 10.4 x 12 x 8.5 in (H x W x D) |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.6 x 15.3 x 12.1 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 27.99 lb |
| Warranty | Limited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe fire, water or security safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 4.3 score breaks down
- Fire rating evidence (35%)
- 7
- Water rating evidence (15%)
- 0
- Burglary resistance (20%)
- 1.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 3.5
- Capacity & fit (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- UL-classified 30-minute fire rating at an entry-level size
- Takes hanging file folders
- About 28 lb, easy to place
Where it falls short
- No water rating: firefighting water or a flood can still ruin the contents
- Maker says it is not intended for tool attacks
- 30-minute rating only
Skip this if…
…your home is in a flood-prone area or you want protection from firehose water
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe 1170
What to look for under $100
- A UL classification, not the word "fireproof". Every pick here states "UL Classified" with a time and a temperature. That phrasing is the product.
- A water rating from a named lab. ETL Verified flood protection is on three of the four, and it is worth the small premium over the fire-only 1170.
- The interior, measured against your papers. The CFW and CHW are 4.4 in deep inside. A passport fits; a lever-arch file does not.
- Whether you need hanging files. Only the FHW40100 takes them.
- Weight, read honestly. 20 to 41 lb means portable. That is the security limitation and the reason to think about where it lives.
- An after-fire replacement programme. SentrySafe runs one on much of its range; register the product when it arrives.
What a sub-$100 chest cannot do
Other limits worth stating plainly, from SentrySafe's own chest manual (P44679):
- Not for firearms. SentrySafe's fire-safe manuals list firearms, other weapons, combustible materials and medication among things that should not be stored in these units.
- Not for magnetic media. A Class 350 interior limit is a paper threshold. For drives and tapes you need a UL Class 125 media safe, which starts several hundred dollars higher.
- Not for cash you cannot afford to lose. Cash survives the fire; the chest does not survive being carried out. See our cash safe page.
- Not a dry environment. SentrySafe says its insulation "has a high moisture content" and asks owners to keep the desiccant packet in and open the unit regularly.
Storing it so it actually works
- Keep it closed and locked. SentrySafe's chest manual says to store units closed and locked so they perform properly in a fire. An ajar chest is an open one.
- Hide it, since you cannot anchor it. Low, away from the master bedroom and the study, and not in the obvious cupboard.
- Keep the key somewhere else. Taped to the underside is not somewhere else.
- Keep the desiccant in and air it every couple of weeks. This is in the manual and almost nobody does it.
- Bag anything moisture-sensitive inside the chest, especially drives.
- Register it so the after-fire replacement programme applies, and keep the receipt outside the chest.
Common mistakes under $100
- Buying the half-hour chest when the one-hour chest is in the same price band.
- Choosing the fire-only 1170 for a basement, where flooding is the likelier event.
- Expecting a burglary rating from a 20 lb box with a handle.
- Storing hard drives in a chest rated to a 350°F paper threshold.
- Storing a firearm in one, against the maker's explicit instruction.
- Leaving it unlocked day to day, which voids the whole fire premise.
- Throwing away the desiccant packet.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. SentrySafe price bands, UL and ETL claims and CPSC recall search checked 2026-09-28.
Questions
Frequently asked
Can you buy a real fireproof safe for under $100?
What is the best fireproof safe under $100?
Are cheap fireproof safes any good?
Will a $100 fire safe protect a hard drive?
How much is a SentrySafe fire chest?
Can you bolt down a fireproof chest?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best document safesThe same category without a price ceiling.
- Best "fireproof" home safesBigger, bolt-down fire safes with longer ratings.
- Safe fire ratings explainedWhat Class 350 and a UL hour actually mean.
- What to keep in a fireproof safeAnd what the manuals say to keep out.
- Best fireproof safes for digital mediaWhy a cheap chest will not save your drives.
- Where to put a safe in your houseConcealment is the security plan for a chest you cannot anchor.
Receipts
Sources
- SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page (UL 1 hr classification, ETL flood verification, $50-$100 band, checked 2026-09-28)
- SentrySafe — CHW20221 product page (checked 2026-09-28)
- SentrySafe — FHW40100 product page (checked 2026-09-28)
- SentrySafe — 1170 product page (checked 2026-09-28)
- SentrySafe — waterproof fire-resistant chests & files manual P44679
- UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
- Intertek — ETL Verified Mark
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.