Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Steelwater vs Liberty: more steel, or a listing and a dealer

Steelwater sells direct and publishes numbers most brands keep quiet, including usable depth. Liberty sells through dealers, carries UL RSC listings on its mid and upper lines, and backs it with a transferable lifetime warranty.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • SteelwaterNo image

    Steelwater: the most steel and the most bolts

    Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

    Access box5.8 /10

    A 9-gauge body with twenty 1.5 in bolts covering all four sides, and a 2-hour fire claim at 1,875°F. No burglary listing, and the fire figure names no lab. 932 lb.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

  • Liberty SafeNo image

    Liberty: the certified body, at weight

    Liberty Franklin 29

    UL RSC7.4 /10

    A UL RSC burglary rating per the dealer spec sheet, on an 11-gauge Dual Fusion frame with a UL-listed S&G Direct Drive lock. Liberty calls the 110-minute fire figure certified but names no lab.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Franklin 29

  • Liberty SafeNo image

    Liberty: the value listing

    Liberty Colonial 23

    UL RSC7.1 /10

    12-gauge body with a UL RSC rating on the dealer spec sheet and a UL-listed S&G Spartan lock. 577 lb, 25 guns, and a 75-minute fire claim at 1,200°F with no lab named.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Colonial 23

  • Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

    Steelwater: the honest capacity figure

    Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

    Access box5.5 /10

    The only safe here that publishes usable depth separately: 14.25 in of interior and 11 7/8 in usable. Also the only maker that prints a recommended capacity (12-16) below its maximum (20).

    $1,499.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

  • Liberty SafeNo image

    Liberty: entry level, and it shows

    Liberty Centurion 24

    Access box4.6 /10

    14-gauge body, no UL listing on the body, a maker 'Level 3' security rank and a 40-minute fire claim at 1,200°F. The transferable lifetime warranty is the reason to consider it.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Centurion 24

Two heavy steel vault doors set into an old brick wall
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

Steelwater and Liberty are the clearest example in this category of two honest companies answering different questions. Liberty is the biggest name in American gun safes, sells through dealers, and its mid and upper lines carry UL Residential Security Container listings. Steelwater sells direct, publishes bolt counts, steel gauges and even usable interior depth, and carries no burglary listing at all.

We do not test safes. Everything below is each maker's published specification, or a named dealer's spec sheet where the maker does not state a figure, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. Each brand carries a dated CPSC recall search on its card below.

The verdict

The published numbers

EvidenceSteelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)Liberty Franklin 29Liberty Colonial 23Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)Liberty Centurion 24
TierAccess boxUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingNot stated by the maker (no UL listing named)UL RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)UL RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named)Not stated by the maker: Liberty cites no UL listing for the Centurion body (the lock is UL-listed; the safe is not)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 2 hr at 1,875°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 110 min at 1,200°F; Liberty calls it "certified" but names no testing labManufacturer claim: 75 min at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,875°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 40 min at 1,200°F for CN 24 (no independent lab named)
Body steel9 gauge steel construction11 gauge (Dual Fusion folded steel frame)12 gauge12 gauge steel construction14 gauge
LockEMP-proof digital keypad; biometric keypad upgrade offeredUL-listed S&G Direct Drive electronic lock (mechanical lock option)UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock; optional S&G mechanical dial lockEMP-proof digital keypad (3-8 digit code); biometric keypad upgrade offeredUL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock
CapacityMaximum 39 long guns (13/13/13, maker-stated)29 long guns (maker-stated)25 long guns, standard interior (maker-stated)Maximum 20 long guns; maker's average recommended capacity 12-1624 long guns (maker-stated)
Weight932 lb760 lb577 lb453 lb375 lb
Maker-published figures, with Liberty's UL RSC ratings taken from the dealer spec sheets where Liberty's own pages do not name the standard. Checked 2026-10-17.

Two details in that table are worth pausing on. Liberty's own product pages say "UL-listed safe body" and "12-gauge steel, UL-listed body" without naming the standard; the explicit UL RSC wording comes from the dealer spec sheet. And Liberty publishes a "security level" on a ten-point scale (Level 3 for the Centurion, Level 6 for the Colonial, Level 7 for the Franklin) that is a Liberty ranking, not a certification. It is useful for comparing Liberty to Liberty and meaningless for comparing Liberty to anything else.

Burglary: a listing on one side, a bolt count on the other

A UL RSC listing under UL 1037 means the design resisted a timed attack with hand tools (UL's notice on the standard). At Level 1 that is five minutes and one technician, which is a lower bar than most buyers assume, and it is still the only burglary evidence in this market that somebody outside the company produced. Our UL RSC explainer has the detail.

Steelwater's answer is construction. The HD593924 publishes twenty 1.5 inch bolts, thirteen active and seven on the hinge side, in a 9-gauge body. That hinge-side count directly addresses the cut-the-hinges worry we cover in gun safe hinges explained. On published material it is a heavier safe than any Liberty in this comparison, and nobody independent has attacked it.

If you want the certification and the steel, this comparison does not contain the answer; that is the AMSEC end of the market, which we cover in Hollon vs AMSEC and best UL RSC gun safes.

Fire claims, and why neither brand gets credit for the number

Steelwater claims two hours at 1,875°F on the HD line and an hour at the same temperature on the SW line. Liberty claims 110 minutes at 1,200°F on the Franklin, 75 minutes on the Colonial and 40 minutes on the Centurion. None of those figures names a testing lab, and Liberty uses the word "certified" for the Franklin rating without saying who certified it.

So the honest reading is that the fire numbers here cannot be compared across the two brands at all. A higher temperature with a shorter duration, measured on a different furnace curve against a different pass criterion, is not a better rating; it is a different advertisement. Where a rating does come from an outside lab, we say so and we weight it; see gun safe fire ratings and best fireproof gun safes.

Capacity, and the one honest number in the category

The Steelwater SW592818 does something we have seen no other maker in our registry do: it publishes both the interior depth (14.25 in) and the usable depth (11 7/8 in), because the door mechanism takes the difference. It also prints a recommended capacity of 12 to 16 long guns against a maximum of 20.

That is the gap every buyer in this category runs into. A 24-gun Liberty and a 20-gun Steelwater will both hold far fewer scoped rifles than the label says, and our gun safe size guide uses roughly half the advertised figure as the planning number. Steelwater is the only brand here that admits it in print, and that transparency is worth something when you are choosing between spec sheets.

On raw volume, the HD593924 is the biggest safe in this comparison at 59 x 39 x 24 in, and the Centurion is the narrowest Liberty at 28.25 in wide. If a doorway or a closet is the constraint, read best gun safes for a closet before you compare anything else.

Warranty, and the way you actually buy each one

Liberty's warranty is transferable for the life of the safe and covers repair or replacement after a fire or an attempted break-in, with five years on the lock. The transferability is a genuine differentiator: it survives a house sale, which no other warranty in this comparison does.

Steelwater's warranty is a lifetime fire and burglary warranty with one year of full parts and labour, and it carries a condition worth reading twice: the burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor. That is not a catch so much as a statement of how safes work, and it matches our own view that an unanchored safe is a heavy box. Our bolt-down guide covers the method.

The buying channel matters too. Liberty goes through dealers, which usually means delivery into the room and anchoring included, and it means you can look at the safe first. Steelwater sells direct, which means curbside freight on a 453 to 932 lb crate and your own arrangements from there. For an upstairs or basement installation, factor that in; how to move a gun safe and can a gun safe be laid down are the two pages to read before the truck arrives.

Who should buy which

Buy Liberty if: you want a UL RSC listing (Colonial or above, not the Centurion), you value a transferable lifetime warranty, you want a dealer to deliver and anchor it, or you want a UL-listed mechanical dial option without hunting for it.

Buy Steelwater if: published construction is your filter, you want the most steel and the most bolts for the money, you can handle freight delivery, and you are going to anchor it properly anyway. The usable-depth disclosure is a good sign about a company.

Skip the Centurion specifically if burglary resistance is the point. A 14-gauge body with no body listing is a long way below the Colonial, and the price gap between them is usually smaller than the specification gap. Our budget vs premium gun safes page works through where that money actually goes.

In detail

The contenders, in full

SteelwaterNo image

Steelwater: the most steel and the most bolts

Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

Access box5.8 /10

A 9-gauge body with twenty 1.5 in bolts covering all four sides, and a 2-hour fire claim at 1,875°F. No burglary listing, and the fire figure names no lab. 932 lb.

How the 5.8 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 9-gauge body steel, thicker than the 12 gauge California's standard asks for
  • 20 bolts of 1.5 in diameter cover all four sides of the door, including the hinge side
  • Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate, and a bypass key covers a dead keypad
  • The warranty spells out that burglary coverage requires floor anchoring, so the bolt-down step is not optional

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named: heavy steel is published, but no lab has rated the burglary resistance
  • The 2-hour, 1,875°F fire rating is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • 932 lb concentrated on a 39 x 24 in footprint is a floor-load question for anything but a slab or reinforced floor

Skip this if…

…you live upstairs or on a suspended wood floor you can't confirm will carry 932 lb, or you want a UL-listed burglary rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Extreme Duty 39 (HD593924)

Liberty SafeNo image

Liberty: the certified body, at weight

Liberty Franklin 29

UL RSC7.4 /10

A UL RSC burglary rating per the dealer spec sheet, on an 11-gauge Dual Fusion frame with a UL-listed S&G Direct Drive lock. Liberty calls the 110-minute fire figure certified but names no lab.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
8
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 11-gauge body with ten 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 29, dual relockers and a slip-clutch mechanism, per Liberty's spec table.
  • Deeper interior than Liberty's 12-gauge lines: 54.5 x 25.25 x 20.5 in on the 29, per Liberty.
  • Deluxe electrical outlet kit, with interior lighting included on current production, per Liberty.
  • Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in.

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon: buy through a Liberty dealer or libertysafe.com.
  • The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-Listed safe body".
  • The 110-minute fire rating is Liberty's own; no testing lab is named.

Skip this if…

…you want to buy through Amazon: the Franklin is sold through Liberty dealers and libertysafe.com.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Franklin 29

Liberty SafeNo image

Liberty: the value listing

Liberty Colonial 23

UL RSC7.1 /10

12-gauge body with a UL RSC rating on the dealer spec sheet and a UL-listed S&G Spartan lock. 577 lb, 25 guns, and a 75-minute fire claim at 1,200°F with no lab named.

How the 7.1 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
7
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Sold with either a UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock or an S&G mechanical dial, chosen at order.
  • 12-gauge body, eight 1/4-in-thick locking bars on the 23, a slip-clutch handle and three hardened plates guarding the lock, per Liberty.
  • Transferable lifetime warranty covering fire and attempted break-in, per Liberty.
  • Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.

Where it falls short

  • Liberty's own page says only "UL-listed body"; the RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet.
  • The 75-minute fire rating is Liberty's claim with no independent lab named.
  • Liberty's "Level 6" is the maker's own ranking, not a certification.

Skip this if…

…you want an independently verified fire rating: Liberty names no outside lab for the Colonial's 75 minutes.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Colonial 23

Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Steelwater: the honest capacity figure

Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Access box5.5 /10

The only safe here that publishes usable depth separately: 14.25 in of interior and 11 7/8 in usable. Also the only maker that prints a recommended capacity (12-16) below its maximum (20).

How the 5.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • The maker publishes a realistic 12-16 long-gun capacity next to the 20-gun maximum, and the usable interior depth
  • 12-gauge body, 1.5 in bolts on all four sides and a 4 7/8 in composite door
  • A bypass key covers a dead or damaged keypad
  • Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named; it is an unrated safe, however solid the specs
  • The 1,875°F fire figure is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • The product page gives two different anchor-hole sizes, so check before buying anchors

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or an independently verified fire rating

$1,499.00View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Liberty SafeNo image

Liberty: entry level, and it shows

Liberty Centurion 24

Access box4.6 /10

14-gauge body, no UL listing on the body, a maker 'Level 3' security rank and a 40-minute fire claim at 1,200°F. The transferable lifetime warranty is the reason to consider it.

How the 4.6 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
1
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
8.5

What the evidence supports

  • Liberty's lifetime warranty is transferable and, per Liberty, covers repair or replacement after a fire or attempted break-in, including delivery and installation of the replacement.
  • UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic lock and a maker-stated California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval.
  • Fit is easy to check before ordering: Liberty publishes a 56 x 26.25 x 13.5 in interior and a 22-in minimum doorway for the CN 24.
  • Sold on Amazon (as a size option on Liberty's Centurion series listing) as well as through Liberty dealers.

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is cited for the Centurion, so it sits in our access-box tier despite its size.
  • 14-gauge body with 3/16-in locking bars: the lightest steel in Liberty's current gun-safe range.
  • The 40-minute fire rating is Liberty's own claim; no independent lab is named.

Skip this if…

…you need a safe with an independent burglary listing: Liberty cites no UL RSC listing for the Centurion.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Centurion 24

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First published. Compared on published steel and bolt patterns, UL RSC listings from dealer spec sheets, unverified fire claims on both sides, usable depth and warranty transferability.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are Steelwater safes better than Liberty?
On published construction, the Steelwater HD593924 beats every Liberty here: a 9-gauge body and twenty 1.5 inch bolts against 11 and 12-gauge bodies. On third-party evidence Liberty wins, because the Colonial and Franklin carry UL RSC burglary listings and no Steelwater does.
Do Liberty safes have a UL rating?
The bodies on the Colonial and Franklin carry a UL RSC rating per the dealer spec sheets, and the locks are UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf units. The entry-level Centurion has a UL-listed lock but no UL listing on the body, which is easy to miss because the pages use similar wording.
Which has the better fire rating, Steelwater or Liberty?
Neither figure is independently verified, so they cannot be compared directly. Steelwater claims two hours at 1,875°F on its HD line; Liberty claims 110 minutes at 1,200°F on the Franklin and calls it certified without naming a lab. Treat both as manufacturer claims.
What does Liberty's security level mean?
It is Liberty's own ten-point ranking of its own range: Level 3 for the Centurion, Level 6 for the Colonial, Level 7 for the Franklin. It is useful for comparing Liberty models with each other and carries no meaning outside the brand.
Does Steelwater's warranty require bolting the safe down?
The burglary half of it does: Steelwater states that burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor. The fire coverage is not conditioned on anchoring. Either way, anchoring is what turns weight into security.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Steelwater Gun Safes — HD593924 product page: 9-gauge body, 20-bolt pattern, fire claim, weight (checked 2026-10-17)
  2. Steelwater Gun Safes — SW592818 product page: interior and usable depth, recommended capacity (checked 2026-10-17)
  3. Steelwater Gun Safes — warranty page: lifetime fire and burglary terms, anchoring condition (checked 2026-10-17)
  4. Liberty Safe — Franklin 29 product page: 11-gauge frame, lock, fire claim, security level (checked 2026-10-17)
  5. Liberty Safe — Colonial 23 product page: 12-gauge body, UL-listed body wording, fire claim (checked 2026-10-17)
  6. Liberty Safe — Centurion product page: 14-gauge body, Level 3 security rank, 40-minute fire claim (checked 2026-10-17)
  7. Liberty Safe — warranty page: transferable lifetime terms and lock coverage (checked 2026-10-17)
  8. Dean Safe (authorized dealer) — Liberty Colonial CO23 spec sheet stating the UL RSC rating
  9. UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
  10. CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes