Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Budget vs premium gun safes: what the extra money actually buys

The gap between a cheap safe and an expensive one is not capacity, and it is not the look of the door. It is evidence: who certified the burglary resistance, who measured the fire rating, and how much steel is really there.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • American Security (AMSEC)No image

    What premium buys

    American Security BFX6030

    UL RSC9.1 /10

    UL RSC Level 1 burglary listing and an ETL-verified 120-minute fire rating, on an 11-gauge outer body with a concrete-filled wall and a half-inch plate door. 1,081 lb.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security BFX6030

  • Stealth UL28

    The listed middle ground

    Stealth UL28

    UL RSC7.5 /10

    A maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge steel at 529 lb, with the fire rating left as the maker's own claim. This is where independent burglary evidence starts.

    $1,799.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28

  • Kodiak KBX5629

    What budget looks like, honestly

    Kodiak KBX5629

    Access box4.9 /10

    14-gauge steel, a UL-listed electronic lock, no burglary listing, a 30-minute maker fire claim, and the largest advertised capacity on this page at 42 long guns.

    $1,258.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KBX5629

  • Winchester SafesNo image

    Budget with published interiors

    Winchester Bandit 14

    Access box4.8 /10

    14 gauge, eight 1-inch bolts and a 45-minute maker fire claim, but Winchester prints its interior dimensions, which most safes in this bracket do not.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Bandit 14

Black-and-white photo of safes stacked for sale in a store
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

"Budget safe vs premium safe" is one of the hardest questions in this category to answer honestly, because the two ends of the market are sold with the same vocabulary. Both talk about gauges. Both talk about locking bolts. Both print a fire number. The difference is that at the premium end those claims are attached to documents, and at the budget end they are attached to marketing copy.

This page compares four safes across the range on the same published rubric we use everywhere (how we rate) and separates the four things that genuinely change with price from the several things that do not. Every figure comes from the maker's own page or a named retailer spec sheet, linked where it is used and checked 2026-10-10.

The short version

The four real differences

  1. Who certified the burglary resistance. Budget safes almost never carry a UL listing. Mid and premium safes often do.
  2. How much steel is in the body and door. 14 gauge versus 11 gauge is not a detail; it is roughly the difference between 0.075 and 0.120 inches of mild steel.
  3. Who ran the fire test. Almost every safe under the mid-market prints a maker-run figure. Verified fire ratings cluster at the top of the market.
  4. What happens after a break-in or a fire. Premium warranties replace the safe; budget warranties are often one year of parts.

The comparison table

EvidenceAmerican Security BFX6030Stealth UL28Kodiak KBX5629Winchester Bandit 14
TierUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingUL RSC Level 1 security ratingUL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating'Not stated by the maker (page lists CA DOJ firearm safety device status, no UL burglary rating)Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named)
Fire ratingETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F (ETL-verified)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 45 min at 1,400°F (maker calls it 'proven'; no independent lab named)
Body steel11 gauge outer and 12 gauge inner steel liner, with concrete insulation between the walls12 gauge14 gauge steel construction14 gauge ('solid steel 14 ga. body')
Door steel1/2-in steel plate door12 gaugePatented SafeX anti-pry system that interlocks the door and body—
LockUL-rated mechanical dial lock (electronic lock option)UL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeUL-listed electronic lock; hardened armor plate and spring-loaded relockerSECURAM electronic lock
Capacity22 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated)Up to 28 long guns (maker-stated)Up to 42 long guns (maker-stated)Up to 20 long guns (maker-stated); 13.8 cu ft
Weight1,081 lb529 lb333 lb (approximate net)314 lb
Warranty5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fireLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLimited lifetime warranty; free repair or replacement after burglary or fireLifetime limited warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or burglary attack
Score9.1/107.5/104.9/104.8/10
Every value links to the published source it came from. A dash means the maker does not publish that figure.

1. Independent certification: the biggest single step

A UL RSC listing means the model was certified against the Residential Security Container requirements in UL 1037. At Level 1 that is a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools, and UL's own notice on the standard is clear that security containers are a different thing from fire-resistant containers. It is an entry-level burglary rating, not a vault rating, and our UL RSC explainer sets out exactly what the levels cover.

Here is what matters for this comparison: the AMSEC BFX6030 and the Stealth UL28 both state one. The Kodiak KBX5629 and the Winchester Bandit 14 do not: both point at California DOJ firearm safety device status instead, which is a child-access and lock standard, not a burglary test. Read our CA DOJ approved gun safes page for the difference, because the two get conflated constantly in product listings.

That is the step worth paying for, and it happens well below the top of the market. You do not need a 1,000-pound safe to get a listing.

2. Steel you can measure

Gauge numbers run backwards, which helps nobody: a smaller number is thicker steel. The spread across these four is 14 gauge at the budget end, 12 gauge in the middle, and an 11-gauge outer wall over a 12-gauge inner liner with concrete between them at the premium end, behind a half-inch steel plate door. Our steel gauge explainer converts the common gauges into inches using a published sheet-steel chart, which is the only way to compare them fairly.

Door steel is where the money is most visible. The BFX6030 publishes a 1/2-inch plate door; the Bandit 14 lists eight 1-inch bolts and does not publish a door steel figure at all. A pry attack works on the gap between door and body, so door plate thickness, bolt count and bolt diameter together decide how that attack goes. This is also why hinge type matters less than people think once bolts run on all four sides.

3. Who ran the fire test

The fire claims on this page are 120 minutes, 60 minutes, 45 minutes and 30 minutes. Sorted by length, that tells you almost nothing. Sorted by who measured them, it tells you everything: the BFX6030's 120 minutes at 1,200°F is ETL-verified by Intertek, and the other three are manufacturer claims with no lab named anywhere on the page.

A maker-run fire test is not fraud. It is simply not comparable, because nobody outside the company has checked the furnace temperature, the duration or the interior limit. Our safe fire ratings explained and is a 30-minute fire rating enough pages work through how to read these labels and how much time you actually need.

4. What the warranty promises when it goes wrong

This is the difference buyers notice last and value most. AMSEC backs the BFX6030 with five years of parts and labor on a factory-installed lock plus a lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire. Stealth's UL series carries a lifetime burglary and fire warranty plus two years of parts and labor. Winchester publishes a lifetime limited warranty with free replacement after a fire or burglary attack, and Kodiak a limited lifetime warranty with free repair or replacement after burglary or fire — which is a genuinely strong position for a budget safe, and one of the reasons it is on this page rather than a cheaper cabinet.

Read the condition clauses, though. Steelwater, for instance, conditions burglary coverage on the safe being properly anchored to the floor, and that kind of clause is common. An unanchored safe can void the part of the warranty you bought it for.

What price does not buy

  • Capacity. The cheapest safe here advertises 42 long guns; the most expensive advertises 22 plus 2 on the door. Rack counts assume unscoped rifles with nothing mounted, and SecureIt's own write-up on the capacity myth explains why. Our gun safe size guide lands on roughly half the published figure as a planning number.
  • Lock quality, necessarily. The Kodiak budget pick uses a UL-listed electronic lock. A good lock is cheap to fit, so it is one of the first things budget makers upgrade.
  • Fire protection for the guns themselves. A fire rating protects paper, cash and ammunition far more than it protects steel. See are fireproof safes really fireproof.
  • Security without an anchor. A 333-lb budget safe that is bolted down is harder to defeat than a 1,081-lb premium safe that is not, because the premium one can be tipped and worked on its back.

Which should you buy?

Work down this list and stop when you run out of budget:

  1. A safe you can anchor, in a place you can anchor it. Non-negotiable, and free.
  2. A UL RSC listing. The biggest evidence step in the category, and available in the middle of the market. Our UL RSC gun safe roundup lists the ones that hold it.
  3. Verified fire protection, if documents, cash or ammunition live in the safe too.
  4. More steel and a heavier door, which is what the top of the market is really selling.

If you are shopping a bracket rather than a tier, our under $500, under $1,000 and under $2,000 roundups cover what each one can honestly deliver, and are gun safes worth it takes on the prior question of whether to buy at all. Prices change constantly, so we send you to the listing rather than printing a figure that will be wrong by next week. Every brand on this page also carries a dated CPSC recall search on its card.

In detail

The contenders, in full

American Security (AMSEC)No image

What premium buys

American Security BFX6030

UL RSC9.1 /10

UL RSC Level 1 burglary listing and an ETL-verified 120-minute fire rating, on an 11-gauge outer body with a concrete-filled wall and a half-inch plate door. 1,081 lb.

How the 9.1 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
9
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
9.5
Lock & entry (15%)
9
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Both evidence fields come from outside labs: UL RSC Level 1 for burglary and an ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F.
  • 1/2-in steel plate door, 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, and a double steel wall (11-gauge outer, 12-gauge inner), per the retailer spec sheet.
  • UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, with an electronic lock available.
  • Made in the USA, per AMSEC.

Where it falls short

  • Not sold on Amazon: buy through an AMSEC dealer.
  • 1,081 lb in a 30-in-wide footprint: plan delivery and floor load.
  • The 5-year parts-and-labor coverage applies only with a factory-installed AMSEC lock.

Skip this if…

…you need to buy on Amazon or keep the safe under 1,000 lb: this is a dealer-sold, 1,081-lb safe.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to American Security BFX6030

Stealth UL28

The listed middle ground

Stealth UL28

UL RSC7.5 /10

A maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge steel at 529 lb, with the fire rating left as the maker's own claim. This is where independent burglary evidence starts.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • The maker states a UL RSC burglary listing, the independent burglary standard this site ranks gun safes on
  • 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts on all four sides of the door
  • UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker, and a mechanical dial offered for buyers who want no electronics
  • Bolt-down holes come with hardware, and the lifetime warranty covers break-ins and house fires

Where it falls short

  • The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure; no independent lab is named
  • At 529 lb it needs a ground-floor or slab location and a delivery plan
  • No override key is listed for the electronic lock; keep spare batteries and consider the dial option

Skip this if…

…you need a fire rating verified by an independent lab, or your floor or stairs can't take a 529 lb safe

$1,799.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28

Kodiak KBX5629

What budget looks like, honestly

Kodiak KBX5629

Access box4.9 /10

14-gauge steel, a UL-listed electronic lock, no burglary listing, a 30-minute maker fire claim, and the largest advertised capacity on this page at 42 long guns.

How the 4.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • UL-listed electronic lock with armor plate and relocker at an entry-level spec
  • Door-to-body interlock designed against prying
  • Maker states CA DOJ firearm safety device status
  • Lifetime repair-or-replace after burglary or fire

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel is a mid-grade body
  • 30-minute fire rating is a maker claim
  • 42 long guns is a rack count; expect far fewer scoped rifles in a 29 in wide body

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating; the Kodiak KGX5933W carries one

$1,258.00View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KBX5629

Winchester SafesNo image

Budget with published interiors

Winchester Bandit 14

Access box4.8 /10

14 gauge, eight 1-inch bolts and a 45-minute maker fire claim, but Winchester prints its interior dimensions, which most safes in this bracket do not.

How the 4.8 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
6.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
8.5

What the evidence supports

  • Backup key for the electronic lock, so a dead keypad doesn't lock you out
  • Dead-locking bolts on the hinge side and a recessed door with reinforced jambs
  • 22 x 18 in footprint at 314 lb suits a closet or spare room
  • Published interior dimensions and a lifetime replacement guarantee after fire or burglary

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel and 1 in bolts are an entry-level build
  • The 45-minute fire rating is the maker's figure, not an independent lab's
  • The maker does not state a UL listing for the lock

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or a UL-listed lock at this size; look at the Stealth UL14

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Bandit 14

How we scored this

Every pick, checked against the paperwork

Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.

Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are expensive gun safes worth it?
They are worth it for a specific reason: independently verified evidence. The premium pick here holds a UL RSC Level 1 burglary listing and an ETL-verified 120-minute fire rating on an 11-gauge body with a half-inch plate door. If you only have room in the budget for one upgrade, take the burglary listing, which is available in the middle of the market, rather than the extra steel.
Are cheap gun safes worth buying?
A cheap safe that is bolted down and keeps firearms away from children and opportunists is doing real work, and it is far better than a closet shelf. What it is not doing is resisting a determined burglary attempt: neither budget pick here carries a UL burglary listing, and both use 14-gauge steel. Buy one with open eyes about which threat it stops.
What is the difference between an RSC safe and a cheap gun safe?
An RSC-listed safe has been certified by UL against the Residential Security Container requirements in UL 1037. At Level 1 that means it withstood a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools. A cheap gun safe usually points at California DOJ firearm safety device status instead, which is a child-access and lock standard rather than a burglary test.
Do more expensive safes hold more guns?
Usually the opposite, because thicker walls and fire insulation eat interior volume. On this page the cheapest safe advertises 42 long guns and the premium one advertises 22 plus 2 on the door. Treat every rack count as a maximum for unscoped rifles with nothing mounted.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised (UL 1037 RSC levels)
  2. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 1037, Antitheft Alarms and Devices (scope, RSC Levels I-III)
  3. Intertek — ETL Verified mark, what a verification covers
  4. American Security — BFX6030 configurator page, UL RSC Level 1 and ETL fire rating (archived copy, checked 2026-10-10)
  5. Stealth Safes — UL28 product page, UL RSC wording and construction (checked 2026-10-10)
  6. SecureIt Gun Storage — The gun safe capacity myth
  7. CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page

Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes