Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · The rankings

Best gun safes under $500: buy access control, and buy it well

Under $500 nothing carries a burglary listing, and honest makers say so. What you can buy is a box that reliably keeps the wrong hands off a firearm, which is the risk most homes actually face.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: a row of steel storage cabinets with labeled doors
SecureIt Fast Box Model 47

$379.00 list. 14-gauge welded steel for two long guns with optics, keypad plus fingerprint reader, manual key override, and it mounts vertically or under a bed.

Best under $500 overallAccess box6.7 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: a row of steel storage cabinets with labeled doors
First Watch 14-Gun Steel Security Cabinet (HS30120140)

$439.00 list. Homak rates the 55 in cabinet for up to 14 firearms, with a tubular key lock, a reinforced pry-resistant door frame and wall-mounting holes.

Most guns per dollarAccess box4.9 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wall
Vaultek 20 Series V20i

$312.99 list for the 20 Series ViSN WiFi. Two compact pistols, biometric plus a 5-digit capacitive keypad and a front keyway, in a 7.2 lb body that must be tethered.

Best biometric handgun safe under $500Access box7.3 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wall
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

$299.00 list. A 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door and a Simplex mechanical push-button lock: nothing to charge, nothing to update, made in the USA.

Best no-batteries pistol boxAccess box8.8 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wall
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

$240.00 list. 16-gauge steel with a Simplex lock behind a heavy-duty internal steel lock cover, and four mounting holes.

Cheapest mechanical box worth owningAccess box8.3 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A key in the lock of a closed office drawer
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

Five hundred dollars is the most misunderstood budget in this category, because it is exactly the range where marketing language does the most work. Boxes at this price are described as safes, photographed like safes and sold beside safes. None of them has been through a burglary test, and the good ones do not pretend otherwise.

That is not a reason to skip the purchase. The most common firearm-storage failure in a home is not a burglar with an angle grinder; it is a curious child, a visiting teenager or a guest finding an unsecured gun. An anchored box with a lock you trust solves that, and it solves it for $240 to $439.

What $500 honestly buys

  • Access control, done properly. Mechanical Simplex locks, keypads with override keys, tubular key locks. This is the tier where lock quality varies the most and matters the most.
  • Published steel on the better models. Fort Knox states a 10-gauge body and a 3/16 in plate door; SecureIt states 14-gauge welded steel; V-Line states 16-gauge with an internal lock cover.
  • Anchoring provision on every single one. Four mounting holes on the pistol boxes, pre-drilled wall holes on the cabinet, pre-drilled holes on the Fast Box.
  • No burglary rating, anywhere. UL's residential security container test times a technician attacking a safe with common hand tools (UL). The cheapest safe we track that has been through it is the Stealth UL14 at $1,399.99 list.
  • No fire rating worth the name. Nothing here claims one.

The prices, checked and dated

ModelPublished list price (2026-09-26)What it holds
V-Line Top Draw XD$240.00Two handguns
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box$299.00Handguns, 9.75 x 11.75 x 3.5 in inside
Vaultek 20 Series ViSN WiFi (V20i)$312.99Two compact pistols plus ammunition
SecureIt Fast Box Model 47$379.00Two long guns with optics
Homak First Watch 14-Gun Cabinet$439.00Up to 14 firearms

The picks side by side

EvidenceSecureIt Fast Box Model 47First Watch 14-Gun Steel Security Cabinet (HS30120140)Vaultek 20 Series V20iFort Knox Original Pistol BoxV-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
TierAccess boxAccess boxAccess boxAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingNone stated by the makerNone stated by the makerNot stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)
Fire ratingNone stated by the makerNone stated by the makerNone: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated'Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Body steel14 gauge welded steelGauge not published; pry-resistant door frame internally reinforced with steel tubing—10-gauge steel body16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design
Door steel———3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate—
LockHSFA lock with a backlit 4-digit push-button keypad and a capacitive fingerprint scannerHMC high-security tubular key lock; quarter-inch steel rod and heavy-duty locking plate; full-length piano hingeBiometric scanner (Essential model stores up to 20 fingerprints) and 5-digit Smart Sense keypadSimplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteriesGenuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries
Backup entryManual key override (2 override keys); USB-C power port (battery and USB-C cord not included)—Manual backup keys usable at any time; if the keys are lost and the battery dies, the safe can be plugged inNot applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed)Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed)
Bolt-downPre-drilled holes and included hardware; mounts horizontally or verticallyPre-drilled mounting holes for a studded wall; hardware includedPre-drilled mounting holes plus a steel security cable (quick-release cable mount)Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holesPre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable
CA DOJ——Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'V20i Essential Series'Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in)Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved'
CapacityOne long gun up to 46.5 in stored horizontally, or two firearms with optics (such as an AR-15 and a shotgun) stored verticallyUp to 14 guns (maker-stated); fixed metal shelf and padded foam baseTwo compact pistols plus ammo, maker-stated—Up to two handguns, maker-stated
Weight47 lb in the maker's spec table (the description says 50 lb)65 lb7.2 lb22 lb12 lb (ship weight)
WarrantyLifetime against defects in material and workmanship; electronic locks 2 yearsLimited 1-year parts and labor3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registrationLimited lifetime warranty; made in the USALimited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser)
Score6.7/104.9/107.3/108.8/108.3/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. All five are access boxes: none carries a burglary or fire rating.

Long guns or a pistol box? Decide this first

Under $500 you cannot do both well in one product, so pick the problem.

  • Several long guns to get out of a closet corner: the Homak First Watch 14-Gun Cabinet at $439.00. It is the only pick here with real capacity, and Homak publishes a reinforced, pry-resistant door frame and wall-mounting holes.
  • One or two long guns you might need quickly: the SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 at $379.00. 14-gauge welded steel, a keypad with a fingerprint reader and a key override, and it mounts under a bed or vertically in a closet.
  • A bedside handgun: the Fort Knox Original Pistol Box at $299.00 if you want no batteries at all, or the Vaultek 20 Series at $312.99 if you want biometrics and a keypad.
  • The lowest sensible spend: the V-Line Top Draw XD at $240.00, 16-gauge with a Simplex lock behind an internal steel lock cover.

For a deeper look at the bedside case specifically, see our bedside safe picks and the mechanical pistol safes.

How we ranked these

We have not bought or attacked any of these. Each is scored on the access-control rubric at how we rate: 30% access reliability evidence, 25% construction and pry resistance, 20% child-access standards, 15% mounting, 10% support and transparency. Everything here is an access box, so the scores compare directly.

The Fast Box leads on published welded steel, three independent ways in (code, fingerprint, key) and the most flexible mounting. The First Watch is second purely on capacity for the money. The Vaultek is third: the best access experience at this price, in the lightest body, which makes the tether essential. Fort Knox is fourth with the thickest steel on the page and a lock that cannot go flat. The V-Line is fifth, and is the honest floor of this market.

What to look for under $500

  1. A lock you can operate in the dark, tired. Simplex push-button locks and good keypads both pass this. A fiddly fingerprint reader does not.
  2. Backup entry, stated. Fort Knox and V-Line have no batteries to fail. SecureIt supplies two override keys. Vaultek has a front keyway.
  3. Published steel. 10-gauge on the Fort Knox, 14 on the Fast Box, 16 on the V-Line. Homak publishes construction detail rather than a gauge.
  4. Mounting holes and the weight to justify them. The Vaultek is 7.2 lb and the Fort Knox is 22 lb. Neither is secure loose in a drawer.
  5. CA DOJ approval if you are in California. California's standard sets minimums such as 12-gauge steel for a single-walled safe and accepts a UL RSC rating as an alternative (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII). Check the roster for the exact model, not the brand.

The biometric warning that applies to this price bracket

Anchoring matters more than the steel at this price

A 7 lb pistol box is a handle. A 22 lb one is a heavier handle. The entire security value of a sub-$500 box depends on it being fastened to something that does not move: bolted through a shelf into a stud, cabled to a bed frame, or lagged to the floor.

UL treats reliable mounting as the alternative to its drop test for safes of 750 lb or less, which is a good indication of how much the standard rates anchoring. Our guide to bolting down a safe covers fixings for timber and concrete, and storing guns safely with kids covers the household routine that goes with it.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: a row of steel storage cabinets with labeled doorsStock photo

Best under $500 overall

SecureIt Fast Box Model 47

Access box6.7 /10

$379.00 list. 14-gauge welded steel for two long guns with optics, keypad plus fingerprint reader, manual key override, and it mounts vertically or under a bed.

How the 6.7 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
7.5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
6.5
Child-access standards (20%)
4
Mounting (15%)
8.5
Support & transparency (10%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • 14-gauge welded steel with a 3-point lock and full-length piano hinge in a 6.5 in deep profile
  • Keypad, fingerprint and a manual key override, with USB-C power as a fallback
  • Mounting hardware included; fits under a bed, in a closet or on a wall
  • Takes optic-equipped rifles when mounted vertically

Where it falls short

  • Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating
  • Holds only one or two long guns
  • Battery and USB-C cord are not included, and the page lists two weights (47 lb and 50 lb)

Skip this if…

…you need to store more than two long guns or want protection from fire

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Fast Box Model 47

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: a row of steel storage cabinets with labeled doorsStock photo

Most guns per dollar

First Watch 14-Gun Steel Security Cabinet (HS30120140)

Access box4.9 /10

$439.00 list. Homak rates the 55 in cabinet for up to 14 firearms, with a tubular key lock, a reinforced pry-resistant door frame and wall-mounting holes.

How the 4.9 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
4
Child-access standards (20%)
3.5
Mounting (15%)
8
Support & transparency (10%)
5

What the evidence supports

  • Tubular key lock with a steel locking rod and a pry-resistant, tube-reinforced door frame
  • Mounting hardware included for two wall studs, and the manual is explicit that it must be anchored
  • Room for up to 14 long guns plus a fixed shelf for ammunition
  • No batteries or electronics to fail

Where it falls short

  • Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating, and no steel gauge published
  • Key-only entry; the key has to be kept away from children as carefully as the guns
  • Amazon lists model HS30120140 while the maker's store now shows SKU HS30120141; confirm the listing matches

Skip this if…

…you want electronic quick access or any protection against theft or fire

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to First Watch 14-Gun Steel Security Cabinet (HS30120140)

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wallStock photo

Best biometric handgun safe under $500

Vaultek 20 Series V20i

Access box7.3 /10

$312.99 list for the 20 Series ViSN WiFi. Two compact pistols, biometric plus a 5-digit capacitive keypad and a front keyway, in a 7.2 lb body that must be tethered.

How the 7.3 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
8
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
5
Child-access standards (20%)
8.5
Mounting (15%)
8
Support & transparency (10%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
  • Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
  • Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
  • Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models

Where it falls short

  • Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
  • No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
  • Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series

Skip this if…

…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wallStock photo

Best no-batteries pistol box

Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

Access box8.8 /10

$299.00 list. A 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door and a Simplex mechanical push-button lock: nothing to charge, nothing to update, made in the USA.

How the 8.8 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
9.5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
9.5
Child-access standards (20%)
8.5
Mounting (15%)
7
Support & transparency (10%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
  • Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
  • Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
  • Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA

Where it falls short

  • About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
  • No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
  • No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move

Skip this if…

…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: an illuminated security keypad mounted on a wallStock photo

Cheapest mechanical box worth owning

V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

Access box8.3 /10

$240.00 list. 16-gauge steel with a Simplex lock behind a heavy-duty internal steel lock cover, and four mounting holes.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
9
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
7
Child-access standards (20%)
9
Mounting (15%)
8
Support & transparency (10%)
8.5

What the evidence supports

  • Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
  • Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
  • CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
  • Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)

Where it falls short

  • 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
  • The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
  • No UL burglary listing

Skip this if…

…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)

What to avoid at this price

  • Anything with no published steel figure. At this budget, silence about the gauge is an answer.
  • Unknown-brand biometric boxes from marketplaces. Several of the CPSC recalls in this category were Amazon-exclusive brands. If nobody can tell you who makes it, do not put a firearm in it.
  • Boxes with no backup entry. An electronic lock with no key and no external battery contact is one dead cell away from an angle grinder.
  • "Fireproof" claims under $500. There is no credible fire-rated gun safe at this price. Read what the word means.
  • Cable locks presented as storage. A cable lock is a useful supplement and not a container; see trigger lock vs gun safe.

Common mistakes under $500

  • Believing the word "safe" on the box. Nothing at this price has a burglary listing.
  • Buying capacity you do not need and leaving it unanchored because it is awkward.
  • Choosing biometrics without testing an unenrolled finger against the reader.
  • Keeping the override key taped to the underside of the box.
  • Relying on one box for both a bedside handgun and the whole collection.
  • Spending the last $60 on a bigger cabinet rather than on anchors and a dehumidifier.

If you can stretch a little

The next real step is not a slightly bigger cabinet. It is either the $500 to $1,000 band, where you get more capacity and better locks, or a genuine jump to a listed safe. Our under $1,000 picks show what the extra buys, and best gun safes for the money works through where each dollar goes.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Maker list prices, published specs, CPSC recall and warning searches checked 2026-09-26.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is a gun safe under $500 worth buying?
Yes, for the risk most households actually face. An anchored box with a reliable lock keeps children, visitors and opportunists away from a firearm, which is the failure mode that causes real harm. Just do not expect burglary resistance: nothing at this price has been tested for it.
What is the best gun safe under $500?
The SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 at $379.00 list, checked 2026-09-26: 14-gauge welded steel for two long guns with optics, a keypad with a fingerprint reader and a manual key override, and pre-drilled holes so it can be mounted under a bed or vertically in a closet.
Are there any UL-rated gun safes under $500?
No. The cheapest UL RSC-listed safe we track is the Stealth UL14 at $1,399.99 list. Some sub-$500 boxes are California DOJ approved as firearm safety devices, which is a different and less demanding standard. See CA DOJ approved gun safes.
Can you get a fireproof gun safe under $500?
Not a credible one. None of the products on this page claims a fire rating, and the first fire rating on our price ladder appears above $1,000. If documents matter, buy a small rated document chest separately.
Is a cheap biometric gun safe safe to use?
Only if you verify it. CPSC has recalled several biometric gun safes and issued an open warning about Stack-On biometric models that could open for unpaired fingerprints. Enrol your prints, test an unenrolled finger repeatedly, and keep the override key accessible to you and nobody else.
How many guns can you store in a safe under $500?
Up to around 14, if you buy a cabinet rather than a safe: Homak rates the First Watch 14-Gun Cabinet for that many, though published counts assume bare firearms with no optics or accessories. A two-gun welded box such as the Fast Box 47 gives you better steel and less capacity for less money.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. SecureIt Gun Storage — Fast Box Model 47 product page (list price checked 2026-09-26)
  2. Homak — First Watch 14 Gun Steel Security Cabinet product page (list price checked 2026-09-26)
  3. Vaultek — 30/20/10 Series product page (20 Series list prices checked 2026-09-26)
  4. Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page (list price checked 2026-09-26)
  5. V-Line — Top Draw XD product page (list price checked 2026-09-26)
  6. Stealth Safes — UL14 UL RSC Gun Safe product page (list price checked 2026-09-26)
  7. UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
  8. California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standards), via Cornell LII
  9. CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
  10. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes