Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
The best bedside gun safes open fast at night and stay shut for kids
A bedside safe is judged at 3 a.m.: half-awake, in the dark, with children asleep down the hall. We rank on how it opens, how it mounts at the bed, and what keeps it shut for everyone else.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S A five-button Simplex lock with no batteries, a drop-down door, 16-gauge steel and an included quick-release bracket V-Line designs to fit under most surfaces, so it can hang beneath a nightstand top. On California's roster, with a limited lifetime warranty. One handgun only. | Best bedside safe overallAccess box | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141) An RFID tag opens it in one motion, with a keypad and barrel key as backups, maker-stated 14-gauge steel and a battery-check LED. Keep the tags away from children: a tag is a key. | Best bedside safe for two pistolsAccess box | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Vaultek Slider Series Essential A slim 16-gauge pistol safe on a quick-release plate that Vaultek says also mounts under a desk or nightstand, with a backlit keypad (fingerprint optional), a backup key, and batteries or plug-in power. | Best under-nightstand keypad safeAccess box | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215) A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster. | Best nightstand drawer designAccess box | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() GunVault MicroVault MV500 A small 16-gauge keypad box with GunVault's touch-operated No-Eyes keypad, a high-security backup key and a CA DOJ roster listing; GunVault publishes few other specs. | Best keypad for entry by touchAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i Phone alerts for tampering and impacts and a sleep mode after repeated wrong entries, per Vaultek, plus a roster listing. It ranks last for its 18-gauge steel and its reliance on wall power. | Best smart nightstand safeAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A bedside safe has two jobs that pull against each other
The first job is speed: you should be able to open it from bed, half-awake, in the dark, without hunting for a key or a light switch. The second job is refusal: it has to stay shut for a curious child, a visiting teenager or a houseguest who wanders in. Every design choice on this page trades one job against the other, so we judge each pick on both.
A bedside safe only does its second job if the gun goes back in every morning and the ways in (code, key, tag, fingerprint) stay with the adults. The hardware below makes that routine easy. It can't replace it.
How we scored bedside safes
We haven't installed or lab-tested these safes. Scores come from maker specifications and manuals, California's safety-device roster and dated CPSC recall searches, weighted on our published quick-access rubric: access reliability evidence (30%), construction and pry resistance (25%), child-access standards (20%), mounting (15%) and support (10%).
For the child-access score we look first at California's Roster of Firearm Safety Devices. The California DOJ describes a listed device as one "that has passed required safety and functionality tests." Five of the six picks are on that roster; for the Vaultek Slider, the "California DOJ Certified" statement comes from Vaultek's spec sheet. For construction, a published steel gauge beats "heavy duty"; our steel gauge explainer shows what each number means in inches. Every pick is an access box, not a burglary-rated safe; see our UL RSC explainer for the difference.
On a bedside page we also weigh what the rubric can't fully capture: whether the lock works by touch in the dark, whether it wakes the house, and whether it mounts within reach of the bed.
Which lock works at 3 a.m.
| Lock | Picks here | In the dark | With kids in the house | Power overnight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical push-button | V-Line Desk Mate | Five buttons and no electronics, so nothing to light up or beep | A code someone watched you enter works until you change it | None needed |
| RFID tag | Hornady 4800KP, Hornady Night Guard | One motion with the tag; Hornady says the Night Guard's "spring-assist drawer quietly slides open" | The tag is a key for whoever holds it | AC with battery backup; on batteries, the manuals say to press a button to wake the reader first |
| Keypad | GunVault MV500, Vaultek Slider | The MV500's No-Eyes keypad is built for entry by touch; the Slider's keypad is backlit | A code can be watched, so enter it out of sight | Batteries (GunVault suggests changes at least every six months); the Slider can stay plugged in |
| Fingerprint | Vaultek DS2i (optional on the Slider) | No code to recall under stress | No code to watch; only enrolled fingers open it | Wall power, with two AAA batteries as short-term backup |
No lock type wins on every line. Mechanical removes the overnight battery question entirely. RFID is the quickest single motion but turns a small tag into a key. Fingerprint removes the watched-code problem but adds a reader that can misread wet or dirty fingers. Our comparison of biometric, keypad and RFID locks goes further, and our biometric safe ranking covers fingerprint models in depth.
Mounting at the bed
The six picks mount in four different ways, and that often decides the choice before the lock does.
- Under a surface. V-Line includes a quick-release bracket with each Desk Mate "for easy installation under most surfaces," and says the case "may also be installed sideways with the top bolted to the side of a surface" (V-Line). The Slider's plate carries VESA 75/100 mm patterns, and Vaultek says the safe also mounts under a desk or nightstand; authorized users can lift the safe off the plate.
- As the drawer itself. The Night Guard and DS2i are built as nightstand drawers. Hornady says the Night Guard "keeps your handgun as close as your nightstand" and ships with a 1,500-pound-rated cable and pre-drilled holes (Hornady). The DS2i includes a cable; its hard-mounting plates are sold separately.
- Bolted on or inside the nightstand. The 4800KP's manual includes a mounting template, and the MV500 has pre-drilled holes.
- Cabled. A cable around a bed frame is the fallback for renters. It stops a grab-and-go, not much more.
One caution: a safe bolted to a light nightstand is only as anchored as the nightstand. Where the maker's instructions allow, bolting through into a floor or wall stud is stronger. Our guide to bolting down a gun safe covers anchors for wood, concrete and furniture.
Why the Desk Mate leads, and how the others follow
1. V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
It scores highest of the six and fits the bedside job best. The Simplex lock needs no batteries, so there is no low-battery chirp at night and nothing to die in a power cut. V-Line lists 1,081 possible combinations and says the lock is "easy to program." The door drops down, the case is recessed "for added pry protection," and the quick-release bracket comes in the box. It's on California's roster and carries a limited lifetime warranty. The limit is capacity: one firearm.
2. Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL
The pick for two pistols. It opens with an RFID tag, a 4- to 6-digit code or a barrel key, publishes 14-gauge steel with two hardened locking lugs, and documents a battery-check LED. Hornady says it exceeds ASTM standards for child and pry resistance, though it links no third-party certificate. Keep its tags off the nightstand.
3. Vaultek Slider Series Essential
A slim 16-gauge safe that hangs under a surface on its quick-release plate, with a backlit keypad and a backup key, running on four AAA batteries or plugged in. It holds one pistol up to 8.875 inches plus a spare magazine. If you also want it in the car, Vaultek sells a seat-rail mount for the same plate.
4. Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard
The most bedside-specific design: a drawer with a clock display, RFID, keypad and key entry, AC power with AAA backup and a documented low-battery indicator. Hornady doesn't publish the steel gauge, and on battery power the reader has to be woken with a button press before a tag works.
5. GunVault MicroVault MV500
A small 16-gauge box with a keypad designed for touch entry in low or no light and a high-security backup key. It fits firearms up to 10.5 inches long, per its roster entry. GunVault's product page lists no dimensions or weight, which holds its score down.
6. Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
The connected option: up to 80 fingerprints, a keypad, two manual keys and app alerts for tampering. It ranks last on construction, with 18-gauge steel, and because it is designed to stay plugged in.
Two strong safes aren't on this list by design. The Fort Knox Original Pistol Box scores higher than the Desk Mate and leads our handgun safe ranking, but at 22 lb it is built to be bolted down through its four anchor holes rather than hung under a surface beside the bed. If you plan to bolt a box inside a nightstand or to the floor, it is the stronger box. The Vaultek MX Series leads our biometric list, but at nearly a foot tall it belongs on a dresser, not beside the pillow. For more no-battery options, see our mechanical pistol safe ranking.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest bedside safe overall
V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
A five-button Simplex lock with no batteries, a drop-down door, 16-gauge steel and an included quick-release bracket V-Line designs to fit under most surfaces, so it can hang beneath a nightstand top. On California's roster, with a limited lifetime warranty. One handgun only.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel; recessed door and internal anti-pry brackets |
| Lock | Simplex five-button mechanical lock, 1,081 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: 'No keys to lose or batteries to change,' per V-Line |
| Bolt-down | Quick-release mounting bracket included for under-desk or under-shelf installation |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Desk Mate 2597-S'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | A single firearm, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 7.5 x 10.5 x 2.5 in with the door closed |
| Weight | 11 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or keys: the Simplex lock is mechanical
- Quick-release bracket included; extra brackets let one box be secured in more than one location, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Holds a single firearm
- 16-gauge steel
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you need to store more than one handgun; V-Line sizes the Desk Mate for a single firearm.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
Rank 2
Stock photoBest bedside safe for two pistols
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
An RFID tag opens it in one motion, with a keypad and barrel key as backups, maker-stated 14-gauge steel and a battery-check LED. Keep the tags away from children: a tag is a key.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest under-nightstand keypad safe
Vaultek Slider Series Essential
A slim 16-gauge pistol safe on a quick-release plate that Vaultek says also mounts under a desk or nightstand, with a backlit keypad (fingerprint optional), a backup key, and batteries or plug-in power.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Quick-release plate plus Vaultek's seat-rail car mount (sold separately) make it a bracket-mounted vehicle option
- Maker-stated 16-gauge steel and CA DOJ certification
- Keypad (or fingerprint) plus a backup key; runs on batteries or stays plugged in
- Vaultek says it also mounts under a desk or nightstand
Where it falls short
- The vehicle mount costs extra
- Battery-powered keypad, and Vaultek publishes no operating temperature range for vehicle use
- One pistol only, held by a single anti-impact latch
Skip this if…
…you want a lock with no batteries in a parked car; the Slider's keypad runs on AAA batteries or a power cable.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek Slider Series Essential
Rank 4
Stock photoBest nightstand drawer design
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty exterior housing' with hardened interior locking lugs; gauge not stated |
| Lock | RFID reader (four tags included) plus user-programmed keypad code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes plus an included 1,500-lb-rated security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98215- Rapid Night Guard' |
| Exterior dimensions | 12 x 10.5 x 3 in |
| Weight | 18 lb |
| Power | 12V AC adapter or four AAA batteries; a battery symbol by the clock turns red when batteries are weak |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, keypad code and mechanical key
- AC power with AAA battery backup, and the owner's manual documents a low-battery indicator
- On California's roster; Hornady states each RAPiD Safe meets CA DOJ criteria
- Pre-drilled holes and a 1,500-lb-rated cable
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published
- On battery power you must press a button to wake the reader before a tag will open it, per the manual
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want published steel thickness or a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest keypad for entry by touch
GunVault MicroVault MV500
A small 16-gauge keypad box with GunVault's touch-operated No-Eyes keypad, a high-security backup key and a CA DOJ roster listing; GunVault publishes few other specs.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
Rank 6
Stock photoBest smart nightstand safe
Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
Phone alerts for tampering and impacts and a sleep mode after repeated wrong entries, per Vaultek, plus a roster listing. It ranks last for its 18-gauge steel and its reliance on wall power.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and manual-key entry, with Wi-Fi app alerts for tampering, impacts and temperature or humidity changes, per Vaultek
- Goes into a security sleep mode after repeated wrong codes or unrecognized fingerprints
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Low-profile drawer sized for a nightstand, with a security cable included
Where it falls short
- Light steel for a handgun safe: Vaultek lists 18-gauge
- Designed to run on wall power; the two AAA batteries are short-term backup only
- Hard mounting needs a separately sold mounting plate
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that runs for months on batteries or has steel heavier than 18-gauge.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
A bedside routine that keeps kids out
- The gun goes back in every morning. A bedside safe with an empty inside and a handgun on the nightstand protects no one.
- Keys and tags live somewhere else. Not in the nightstand drawer, not on a hook by the bed. An RFID tag or backup key within a child's reach is an open safe.
- Enter codes out of sight. Children watch. Change the code if you think one has seen it, using the steps in your manual.
- Keep the power side boring. Plug-in models stay plugged in; battery models get fresh batteries on a schedule, of the type the maker specifies.
- Practice opening it with the lights off, empty, until the motion is automatic. You'll also learn early if a reader or keypad is starting to fail.
Our guides on storing a handgun for home defense and storing guns safely with kids build this into a full household plan.
Where exactly to put it
- Within reach from the bed, on the side you sleep, so you don't have to stand up or cross the room.
- Out of plain view. Under a nightstand top, inside a drawer or behind a door, not on display for guests and visiting children.
- Near an outlet for plug-in models. The DS2i is designed to run on its AC adapter, and the Night Guard and 4800KP accept AC power with battery backup. Route the cord so it can't be yanked loose.
- Measured before you buy. Check the published dimensions against your nightstand drawer or the underside of the top. The Night Guard is listed at 12 x 10.5 x 3 inches and the Desk Mate at 7.5 x 10.5 x 2.5 inches with the door closed.
If the power goes out
Plug-in models keep working through an outage only as long as their backup batteries last. Vaultek says the DS2i's two AAA batteries give short-term backup, with the screen and charging disabled. The Night Guard falls back to four AAA batteries and the 4800KP to four AA batteries, and Hornady's manuals say that on battery power you press a button to wake the RFID reader before a tag will work. The Slider runs on four AAA batteries whenever it is unplugged. The Desk Mate needs nothing. Keep fresh batteries in plug-in models even though they rarely draw on them, and know where the backup key is before the lights go out.
One bedside safe, or a bedside safe and a gun safe?
A bedside safe is sized for the one or two handguns you want within reach at night. Everything else, including other firearms and the papers you'd want to survive a house fire, belongs in a larger safe elsewhere. None of the six picks here claims a fire rating, and none cites a UL burglary listing. If you need both, our best gun safes ranking covers the main safe and ranks certification first.
Common bedside safe mistakes
- Storing the backup key or tag in the same nightstand. It defeats the lock for anyone who opens the drawer.
- Leaving it unmounted. A loose box can be carried out of the room in seconds.
- Ignoring the low-battery signal. On electronic models it is your only warning.
- Buying for speed alone. The fastest lock isn't the best one if a child can operate it.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best bedside gun safe with kids in the house?
Can I put a gun safe in my bedroom?
Should a bedside gun safe be bolted down?
Is a mechanical or electronic lock better for a bedside safe?
Do bedside gun safes beep or light up?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best biometric gun safesFingerprint safes ranked by the backup that works when the reader doesn't.
- How to store a handgun for home defenseReady access and child safety at the same time.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo-battery push-button boxes for people who distrust electronics.
- How to store guns safely with kidsLayered storage for families and what CAP laws require.
- Best handgun safesEvery lock type ranked on the same rubric.
Receipts
Sources
- RAND — The Effects of Child-Access Prevention Laws
- California DOJ — Firearm Safety Device FAQs
- V-Line — Desk Mate handgun security case product page
- Hornady Store — RAPiD Safe Night Guard product page
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.