Gun Safes · The rankings
Best gun safes under $200: what you are actually buying is a lock box
Under two hundred dollars there is no safe, and the honest makers say so out loud. What there is, is a small locked container that keeps a firearm out of the wrong hands. Bought well, that is worth a lot.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436) $171.99 list. RFID, keypad and mechanical key backup on one box, sized for a drawer, and on the CA DOJ roster of approved firearm safety devices. | Best under $200 overallAccess box | 6.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Vaultek LifePod 10 $119.99 list. A 2 lb water-resistant polymer case with a keypad, key backup and a security cable, TSA-compliant and usable as a plain case with no battery in it. | Best for travelAccess box | 6.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) $43.99 list. 16-gauge steel, a barrel lock with two keys and a 4 ft cable rated to 1,500 lb. CA DOJ approved, with nothing to charge. | Best cheap steel boxAccess box | 6.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() StopBox Pro $159.00 list. A mechanical, battery-free retention device. StopBox states plainly it is "NOT a safe" but a handgun retention device, and we are taking them at their word. | Fast retention, and its maker says it is not a safeAccess box | 4.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

There are no safes at this price, and the good makers say so
This is the most important sentence on the page: under $200 you are shopping for a lock box, not a safe. That is not a criticism of the products. It is the category. A safe has a body heavy enough to resist attack and, credibly, a listing that measures how long. UL describes its Level 1 residential security container test as a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools (UL). Nothing here has been through that, and the cheapest safe we track that has costs $1,399.99.
The best makers in this bracket are refreshingly blunt about it. StopBox states that its Pro is "NOT a safe" and is instead "a Handgun Retention Device designed to conceal and prevent unintended access while your firearm is not on your body or in the safe" (StopBox USA). Hornady prints "Do not store loaded firearms in any safe or lock box" on its own product pages. When a maker limits its own claim, believe it.
The prices, checked and dated
| Model | Published list price (2026-09-28) | What it holds |
|---|---|---|
| Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) | $43.99 | A 1911-size pistol or a 4 in revolver |
| Vaultek LifePod 10 | $119.99 | Handguns up to 7.75 in |
| StopBox Pro | $159.00 | One handgun (retention device, not a safe) |
| Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436) | $171.99 | Two handguns |
| V-Line Top Draw XD (just over) | $240.00 | Two handguns, Simplex mechanical lock |
| Fort Knox Original Pistol Box (just over) | $299.00 | 10-gauge body, 3/16 in plate door |
We have included the two products just over the line deliberately. They are the cheapest boxes we track with a Simplex mechanical lock and a genuinely heavy body, and if your ceiling has any give in it they are where the money starts working harder. Both appear on our under $500 picks.
The picks side by side
What $200 does buy
- A firearm out of a nightstand drawer. This is the whole point, and it addresses the most common way household firearms cause harm.
- A CA DOJ listing, on three of the four. California's roster of approved firearm safety devices is a genuine third-party check, and it is free to look up.
- A tether. The Hornady boxes and the LifePod all ship with cables. That is what stops the box leaving with the thief.
- Choice of failure mode. StopBox needs no power at all. The LifePod works as a plain case with no battery. The Hornadys keep barrel keys.
What it does not buy: a burglary rating, a fire rating, or anything that holds a long gun.
How we ranked these
We have not bought or attacked any of these. Each is scored on the access-control rubric at how we rate: 30% access reliability evidence, 25% construction and pry resistance, 20% child-access standards, 15% mounting, 10% support and transparency.
The Keypad Vault leads on three independent ways in and a DOJ listing at the top of the budget. The LifePod 10 is second: the most versatile, and the only one you can take on a plane. The Lock Box XL is third and is remarkable value at $43.99 for 16-gauge steel and a 1,500 lb-rated cable. The StopBox Pro is fourth, and would rank higher if it were a container: it is fast and battery-free, but its own maker declines to call it a safe.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here. Note that CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks in September 2025; the StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall, and each product card shows its dated check.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest under $200 overall
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
$171.99 list. RFID, keypad and mechanical key backup on one box, sized for a drawer, and on the CA DOJ roster of approved firearm safety devices.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty tamper-proof steel' per the maker; gauge not stated |
| Lock | Patented RFID reader plus access code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for permanent mounting |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '97436' |
| Capacity | Two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.1 x 11.0 x 3.9 in |
| Weight | 13.7 lb |
| Power | Four AA batteries; Hornady says quality batteries last about 12 months |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, code and mechanical key
- Pre-drilled for permanent mounting and sized for a drawer, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- Runs on four AA batteries only, and the owner's manual describes no low-battery warning
- Steel gauge is not published
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that warns you before its batteries run down; Hornady's manual for this model doesn't describe a low-battery alert.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for travel
Vaultek LifePod 10
$119.99 list. A 2 lb water-resistant polymer case with a keypad, key backup and a security cable, TSA-compliant and usable as a plain case with no battery in it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Water rating | Maker says water resistant, airtight, dust proof and floats (no rating cited) |
| Body steel | No steel body: non-metal T3 polymer case |
| Lock | Backlit capacitive keypad, 4- to 8-digit code; single anti-impact latch |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys; micro-USB port powers the lock if the 9V battery dies |
| Bolt-down | 48 in steel security cable included; no bolt-down holes listed |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'LifePod VLP10-BK' |
| Capacity | Handguns up to 7.75 in long, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Weight | 2 lb 3 oz |
| Power | 9V alkaline battery (not included), up to 1 year |
| Warranty | 2 years total: 1-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 5.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, two backup keys and a micro-USB port to power the lock if the battery dies
- Maker says it meets TSA guidelines for traveling with a handgun
- Listed on California's roster (black model VLP10-BK)
- Weather-sealed case with a keyway lockout that can be enabled from inside, per Vaultek
Where it falls short
- Polymer, not steel: it keeps out curious hands, not tools
- Fits handguns only up to 7.75 inches long
- Tethers with a cable; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you need to store a full-size pistol or want something sturdier than a portable, cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 10
Rank 3
Stock photoBest cheap steel box
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
$43.99 list. 16-gauge steel, a barrel lock with two keys and a 4 ft cable rated to 1,500 lb. CA DOJ approved, with nothing to charge.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Rank 4
Stock photoFast retention, and its maker says it is not a safe
StopBox Pro
$159.00 list. A mechanical, battery-free retention device. StopBox states plainly it is "NOT a safe" but a handgun retention device, and we are taking them at their word.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: the maker states 'The StopBox is NOT a safe' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | No steel body: glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS, 'steel reinforced' per the maker |
| Lock | Patented mechanical finger combination, 81 possible combinations; no batteries or electronics |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical |
| CA DOJ | Not found on the CA DOJ firearm safety device roster (search for 'StopBox' returned no devices) |
| Exterior dimensions | Full-size: 11.5 x 8.5 x 2.25 in; Compact: 10 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Interior dimensions | Full-size: 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 in; Compact: 7.5 x 5.5 x 1.75 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks on September 4, 2025; the StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall. |
How the 4.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 2.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 3
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or electronics to fail
- Made in the USA (Spokane, Washington), per StopBox
- Offered in full-size and compact sizes
Where it falls short
- StopBox says it is NOT a safe and is not intended to be left unattended
- Polymer body, only 81 combinations, and no CA DOJ roster listing found
- No bolt-down hardware or security cable is described on the product page
Skip this if…
…you need unattended storage in a home with children; StopBox itself says the StopBox is not a safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro
What to look for under $200
- A backup that does not need power. Barrel keys on the Hornadys, a manual key on the LifePod, nothing at all needed on the StopBox.
- Published steel, or an honest admission that there is none. Hornady states 16 gauge. Vaultek and StopBox state polymer, which is a fair trade for weight and water resistance as long as you know.
- A cable or mounting holes, and the intention to use one. A 2 lb box on a nightstand is a handle, not a barrier.
- A CA DOJ listing for the exact model. Check the roster rather than the marketing; see CA DOJ approved gun safes.
- A code you can enter in the dark. Test it before you rely on it, with your non-dominant hand.
The cable is the product
At this weight, security is entirely a function of what the box is attached to. The Lock Box XL ships with a 4 ft steel cable Hornady rates at 1,500 lb of force; the LifePod includes a security cable; the Keypad Vault has mounting provision.
Run the cable round something structural: a bed frame rail bolted to the frame, a joist, an eye bolt. Not a bedside table, not a drawer runner, not a radiator pipe you could pull off the wall. If the box can be bolted down instead, bolt it down; our guide to bolting down a safe works for a 2 lb case as well as a 900 lb safe.
What to avoid under $200
- Unbranded marketplace boxes. Several of the recalls above were exclusive to one retailer. If nobody can tell you who makes it, do not put a firearm in it.
- Anything claiming a fire rating at this price. There is no credible fire-rated gun box under $200. Read what the word means.
- Boxes with no backup entry. One dead battery from an angle grinder.
- Treating a cable lock or trigger lock as storage. See trigger lock vs gun safe.
What the next $100 buys
More than you would think. At $240 the V-Line Top Draw XD brings a Simplex mechanical lock in 16-gauge steel with an internal lock cover; at $299 the Fort Knox Original Pistol Box brings a 10-gauge body and a 3/16 in plate door. Both are American-made, both have no batteries, and both are on California's roster.
If your ceiling is genuinely $200, buy the Keypad Vault or the Lock Box XL and spend the difference on anchoring it properly. If it can stretch, the step up to a mechanical lock is the best money in this whole category. See our mechanical pistol safe picks.
Common mistakes under $200
- Expecting a safe. Nothing at this price has been tested against tools, and the honest makers say so.
- Buying a cheap biometric box for a bedside without testing an unenrolled finger against it.
- Leaving the cable in the packaging.
- Storing the backup key taped to the underside of the box.
- Buying a lock box and calling the firearm problem solved, when the rest of the collection is in a closet.
- Assuming a legal storage requirement is met without checking the model on the roster.
California's gun-safe standard sets construction minimums and accepts a UL RSC rating as an alternative (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII). This is a summary of published rules, not legal advice.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Maker list prices, published specs and CPSC recall and warning searches checked 2026-09-28.
Questions
Frequently asked
Can you get a real gun safe for under $200?
What is the best gun safe under $200?
Is a $200 gun box good enough for a house with children?
Are there fireproof gun safes under $200?
Should I buy a biometric gun box under $200?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best gun safes under $500The next tier up, priced the same way.
- Gun safe vs lock boxExactly which product this budget buys, and what it's for.
- Best mechanical pistol safesWhere the next hundred dollars goes furthest.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?Why we don't recommend a biometric box at this price.
- Best handgun safesThe same field without a price ceiling.
- How to store guns safely with kidsThe routine that makes a cheap box work.
Receipts
Sources
- Hornady Store — RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436) (list price checked 2026-09-28)
- Hornady Store — Lock Box XL (95210) (list price checked 2026-09-28)
- Vaultek — LifePod 10 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page (list price checked 2026-09-28; maker states it is not a safe)
- V-Line — Top Draw XD product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
- CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standards), via Cornell LII
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.