Setup & Safe Storage · Head to head
Trigger lock vs gun safe: what each one actually prevents
A lock disables a gun. A locked, anchored container keeps it from being picked up at all. Which one is enough depends on who's in your home and what you're guarding against.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoThe trigger lock
Lockdown Keyed Trigger Lock
Accessory7.1 /10A keyed lock that bolts through the trigger guard. Lockdown says it's California DOJ certified, but this SKU didn't appear in our roster search, so the claim rests on the maker.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Keyed Trigger Lock
Stock photoThe safe: bolt-down pistol box
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Access box8.8 /10A 10-gauge steel box with a battery-free Simplex lock and four anchor holes. Bolted down, it keeps a handgun away from curious hands and makes it much harder to carry off. It's on California's roster.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Stock photoAlternate: the roster-verified lock
Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Accessory8.1 /10A keyed cable lock the California DOJ lists by model number (110149). The lock to choose if you want one you can verify.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Stock photoAlternate: the lock box
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Access box6.5 /10A 16-gauge key-lock box with a cable rated to 1,500 lb. Portable, battery-free and roster-listed, but only as secure as what the cable is tied to.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)

A note on method: we haven't handled or tested any of these products. This comparison uses published specs, California DOJ roster listings and dated CPSC recall searches, scored on the rubrics explained on how we rate. Locks are scored as accessories and the two boxes as quick-access containers, so a lock's score and a safe's score aren't directly comparable.
The evidence side by side
What each one prevents
Project ChildSafe, the National Shooting Sports Foundation's safety program, sums up what storage is for: secure storage can prevent access by children, theft or unauthorized use by a person who may pose a danger to themselves or others. Here's how each option measures against those threats:
| Threat | Trigger or cable lock | Lock box | Bolted quick-access safe | UL RSC gun safe |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A child or visitor firing the gun | Blocks it while fitted and the key is hidden | Blocks it while locked | Blocks it while locked | Blocks it while locked |
| Someone carrying the gun away | No | Only if cabled to something solid | Much harder, once bolted down | Much harder, once anchored as the maker directs |
| A burglar with tools | No | No | No burglary rating | Rated for a timed hand-tool attack |
| Fire | No | No | No | Only if separately fire-rated |
| Fast access for the owner | No: the lock has to come off with its key | Moderate: key or keypad | Yes: built for it | Depends on the lock and where the safe stands |
The last column is a different class of product. A UL Residential Security Container listing means the safe withstood a five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools at Level 1, per UL, and says nothing about fire. Our UL RSC rating explainer covers what the listing does and doesn't mean.
Where locks fall short
They don't stop theft. A locked gun can still be picked up and taken. That's the biggest single difference between a lock and a container.
They're meant to be an extra layer. RAND's review of storage research quotes Project ChildSafe's brochure: unloaded firearms should be stored in a locked cabinet, safe, gun vault or storage case, and a gun lock should be used as an additional safety precaution and not as a substitute for secure storage. The same guidance pairs locks with unloaded firearms, so a lock doesn't suit a handgun kept ready for home defense. That's the job a quick-access safe is designed for.
The key becomes the weak point. Both Lockdown locks here are keyed, and each comes with two keys. Those keys need the same care as the gun.
Quality varies, and claims need checking. In 2000, the CPSC announced a recall of about 752,000 Master Lock keyed trigger locks because the two halves of some gun locks can be manually separated without a key. That recall covered older 90-series models, not current ones. Closer to home, Lockdown says its keyed trigger lock is "California DOJ certified", but the current SKU didn't appear when we searched the state's roster. Its 15 in. cable lock, by contrast, is listed by model number. If a certification matters to you, check the roster yourself.
Where a safe falls short
It only works shut. A safe left open, or with the code taped inside a drawer, protects nothing. Keys and codes need to be kept from children just as carefully as a lock's key.
Small boxes need anchoring. The Fort Knox box has four pre-drilled 3/8 in. anchor holes and no security cable; unbolted, a 22 lb box can be carried off. The Hornady lock box relies on its cable, so it's only as secure as what the cable is looped around.
Most handgun boxes are access-control, not burglary-rated. Neither box here carries a UL burglary listing. What they offer is published steel: Fort Knox lists a 10-gauge body, and Hornady a 16-gauge housing. Our steel gauge explainer shows what those numbers mean in inches, and electronic vs mechanical locks covers the lock choice. Both boxes here are battery-free.
What the law calls a "safety device"
Federal law treats locks and containers as the same category. It defines a secure gun storage or safety device to include a device installed on a firearm that prevents it from operating, and a safe, gun safe, gun case, lock box or other device designed to be unlocked only by a key, combination or similar means. Licensed dealers must provide one with each handgun they sell to a non-licensee, with limited exceptions.
California separates the two. Firearms bought in California must come with a device listed on the DOJ Roster of Approved Firearm Safety Devices, which covers locks and lock boxes, unless the buyer shows they own a gun safe that meets the DOJ's standard, according to the California DOJ. Gun safes are measured against a separate regulation, 11 CCR 4100, which sets steel, bolt and lock minimums or accepts a UL Residential Security Container rating. Our guide to CA DOJ approved gun safes explains the difference.
Child-access prevention (CAP) laws are the other piece. RAND describes them as laws that allow prosecutors to bring charges against adults who intentionally or carelessly allow children unsupervised access to firearms. RAND counts 35 states and the District of Columbia with CAP laws as of January 1, 2025, and rates the evidence as supportive that they decrease firearm suicides among young people and unintentional firearm injuries and deaths among children. What a CAP law requires, including whether a lock alone satisfies it, varies by state.
When a lock is enough, and when it isn't
Given the guidance above, a lock works best as a layer rather than the whole plan. It's the right tool when:
- a gun has to sit outside the safe for a while, unloaded;
- a long gun doesn't fit the safe you have and a larger one isn't possible yet;
- you want a second barrier on a gun inside a container, for example in a house with teenagers.
A lock on its own isn't enough when:
- children live in or visit the home. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids lays out a layered setup;
- you keep a handgun for home defense. A lock is meant for an unloaded gun; a quick-access safe keeps the gun locked and still reachable;
- theft is a concern, since a lock doesn't stop a gun being carried off;
- someone in the home may be at risk of harming themselves or others. Project ChildSafe names this as one of the reasons for secure storage.
Who should buy which
The Fort Knox Original Pistol Box is the pick for a handgun in a home with children or theft risk, if you can bolt it down. It has the heaviest published steel of any handgun box we cover, a Simplex mechanical lock with no batteries, a California roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty. For more options sized to a nightstand, see our best bedside gun safes.
The Hornady Lock Box XL suits a handgun that travels, or a home where drilling isn't possible. It's a key-lock box with a cable Hornady rates to 1,500 lb.
The Lockdown 15 in. cable lock is the lock to buy if you want one you can verify on California's roster. The roster describes it for firearms with openings large enough to accept a 0.24 in. cable, and Lockdown says it fits most pistols, rifles and shotguns.
The Lockdown keyed trigger lock is a reasonable extra layer, with rubberized pads to protect the finish, but its California claim rests on the maker's word. If you need a roster-listed trigger lock, check the roster for the model you're buying.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoThe trigger lock
Lockdown Keyed Trigger Lock
A keyed lock that bolts through the trigger guard. Lockdown says it's California DOJ certified, but this SKU didn't appear in our roster search, so the claim rests on the maker.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 6.5
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 7
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Maker states California DOJ certification
- Rubberized pads help protect the firearm's finish (maker)
- Lockdown also sells a combination version and a keyed 3-pack
Where it falls short
- The current SKU did not appear in a CA DOJ roster search, so the certification rests on the maker's statement
- Trigger locks go on an unloaded firearm only, and they do not stop theft
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need a device you can verify on the CA DOJ roster today; the Lockdown 15 in. cable lock is listed by model number.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown Keyed Trigger Lock
Stock photoThe safe: bolt-down pistol box
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
A 10-gauge steel box with a battery-free Simplex lock and four anchor holes. Bolted down, it keeps a handgun away from curious hands and makes it much harder to carry off. It's on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Stock photoAlternate: the roster-verified lock
Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
A keyed cable lock the California DOJ lists by model number (110149). The lock to choose if you want one you can verify.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Rated coverage or fit for the job (30%)
- 8
- Power & maintenance (25%)
- 8
- Safety listing (20%)
- 9
- Fit & installation (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7.5
What the evidence supports
- Roster-verified: the CA DOJ lists model 110149 as a certified cable lock
- Maker says it fits most pistols, handguns, rifles, shotguns and modern sporting rifles
- High-visibility green for instant verification (maker)
- Two keys included
Where it falls short
- A cable lock disables the gun but does not stop someone carrying it off; a locked container does both
- Keyed only, so the key has to be stored as carefully as the gun
- 1-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you need fast access to a defensive handgun; a quick-access safe keeps it ready and locked.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Lockdown 15 in. Cable Gun Lock
Stock photoAlternate: the lock box
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A 16-gauge key-lock box with a cable rated to 1,500 lb. Portable, battery-free and roster-listed, but only as secure as what the cable is tied to.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is a trigger lock as safe as a gun safe?
Do trigger locks prevent theft?
What is a California DOJ approved gun lock?
Is a cable lock or a lock box better?
Do I need a gun safe if I live alone?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- How to store guns safely with kidsLayered storage, keys and codes, and what CAP laws require.
- Best handgun safesEvery handgun safe we rank, mechanical, keypad, RFID and biometric.
- Gun safe vs gun cabinetThe next step up: steel cabinets against rated safes.
- Best bedside gun safesQuick-access safes for a handgun kept at home.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesWhat the California roster and the gun safe standard each cover.
Receipts
Sources
- Project ChildSafe (NSSF) — Homepage (purposes of secure storage)
- RAND — Personal Firearm Storage in the United States (quotes Project ChildSafe's brochure)
- RAND — The Effects of Child-Access Prevention Laws (updated January 29, 2026)
- CPSC — Master Lock gun lock recall (July 24, 2000)
- California DOJ — Firearm Safety Device FAQs
- California DOJ — Roster of Approved Firearm Safety Devices
- California DOJ — Roster search, Battenfeld Technologies (Lockdown) entries
- 11 CCR 4100 — California gun safe standard (Cornell LII)
- 18 U.S.C. 921(a)(34) — Definition of secure gun storage or safety device (Cornell LII)
- 18 U.S.C. 922(z) — Secure gun storage or safety device (Cornell LII)
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.