Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
The best mechanical pistol safes for quick access with no battery
No battery to die, no reader to misread, no circuit board to fail. We rank no-battery pistol safes on the steel the maker publishes, how the lock and its code work, and how the box mounts.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box Also our top-ranked handgun safe overall, and the same evidence puts it first here: a Simplex push-button lock Fort Knox says you can run by feel, a 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door, four 3/8-inch anchor holes, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty. | Best no-battery pistol safeAccess box | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S An under-desk box with a drop-down door, a five-button Simplex mechanical lock (1,081 combinations), 16-gauge steel and an included quick-release bracket, CA DOJ approved per V-Line and the state roster. | Best no-battery under-desk safeAccess box | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) A USA-made top-opening box for up to two handguns with a five-button Simplex mechanical lock, 16-gauge steel, an internal lock cover and a CA DOJ approval stated by the maker and shown on the state roster. | Best no-battery box for two handgunsAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra) A no-drill welded-steel insert that turns the factory center console of 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra pickups into a locked box with a battery-free key or combination lock; the fit is truck-specific. | Best no-battery console safe (Silverado/Sierra)Access box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car. | Best key-lock box for a carAccess box | 6.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why choose a pistol safe with no battery
Every electronic safe lock depends on a battery and a circuit board. Good makers manage that with low-battery warnings, backup keys and plug-in power, but the dependency never goes away. A mechanical push-button lock removes it: you press the buttons in sequence and the mechanism releases the lid. Fort Knox sums up the pitch on its product page: "No electronics to fail, no beeping to give you away," and a push-button sequence "you can run by feel alone."
Fingerprint readers also carry a recall record. CPSC has announced recalls of several biometric gun safes because unauthorized users could open them, including a 2023 Fortress Safe recall of about 61,000 units; our biometric safe ranking lists the others. A mechanical lock can't fail that way. It has its own weaknesses, covered next, and the right choice depends on which failure worries you more.
What you give up
| Mechanical push-button (picks here) | Electronic keypad (for comparison) | |
|---|---|---|
| Possible codes | Fort Knox: over 1,000. V-Line Desk Mate: 1,081 | A Vaultek V20i master code can be 4 to 8 digits |
| Wrong-entry lockout | None described on the Fort Knox or V-Line pages | Vaultek's V20i refuses entries for four minutes after six failed attempts |
| Power | None needed | Batteries or wall power, with a low-battery warning on better models |
| Forgotten code | No key override listed on these boxes: contact the maker | A backup key |
| Sound and light | None | Beeps and backlights, depending on the model |
The keypad figures come from Vaultek's 10/20 Series support page. The honest summary: a mechanical box trades a smaller pool of codes and no key backup for the certainty that nothing electronic can fail. That makes code discipline more important, not less. Keep the code private, and change it whenever someone may have watched you enter it. Our guide to electronic vs mechanical safe locks covers the long-run trade-offs in more depth.
Changing the code
A push-button lock is only as private as its code, so check how the code is changed before you buy.
- V-Line says the Desk Mate's lock is "easy to program" and that you can "set a personalize code" (V-Line Desk Mate), and describes the Top Draw XD's Simplex lock as "easily programmable," with instructions supplied (V-Line Top Draw XD).
- Fort Knox doesn't describe the combination-change process on the pistol box's product page. Its FAQ links a general video on changing mechanical lock combinations but doesn't say whether it covers the pistol box. Confirm the steps with Fort Knox or the manual in the box before you rely on a new code.
When to change it: before the box goes into use, after anyone may have seen you enter it, and after any change in who has access to your home. Follow your model's instructions exactly, and test the new code with the lid open before closing it on a firearm.
Who a mechanical pistol safe suits, and who it doesn't
A no-battery box makes the most sense where electronics are most likely to be neglected or stressed:
- A safe that sits untouched for weeks. Batteries drain whether or not you open the safe, and a low-battery warning only helps if someone is there to see it. GunVault, for example, suggests changing the batteries in its keypad safe at least every six months. A mechanical lock has nothing to drain.
- A second home, cabin or workshop where nobody checks the safe for long stretches.
- A vehicle. Parked cars get hot and cold, and our car safe ranking explains why battery-powered keypads and temperature extremes are a poor match. Two battery-free vehicle picks appear on this page for that reason.
- Anyone who wants silence at night. Fort Knox's "no beeping to give you away" is a practical point in a sleeping house.
It suits a household less well when:
- Several adults need their own way in. A push-button lock has one code, shared by everyone who knows it. A fingerprint safe can enroll each adult separately; Vaultek's Slider, for example, lets you name each print and "track access in the safe's history log" (Vaultek). Removing one person's access to a mechanical box means changing the code for everyone.
- A child likes to experiment with buttons. Electronic keypads document lockouts after repeated wrong entries; the mechanical boxes here describe none. That removes one layer, so the code has to stay private.
- You want a key backup. The push-button boxes here list none.
How we scored no-battery safes
We haven't handled or lab-tested these boxes. Scores come from maker specifications, California's safety-device roster and dated CPSC recall searches, on our published quick-access rubric: access reliability evidence (30%), construction and pry resistance (25%), child-access standards (20%), mounting (15%) and support (10%). Mechanical locks do well on access reliability because there is no battery to fail. Construction rewards a published gauge, which is where the Fort Knox box pulls ahead; our steel gauge explainer shows the difference between 10-gauge and 16-gauge in inches.
All five are access boxes. None cites a UL burglary listing; our UL RSC explainer covers what that rating would add.
How the five picks compare
1. Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
The best-built box here on published evidence: a 10-gauge steel body, a 3/16-inch wrap-around door, a concealed continuous hinge and a reinforced lock plate. It has four 3/8-inch anchor holes, a gas-strut lid that holds itself open, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty, and it's made in the USA. It is also our top-ranked handgun safe overall. We'd rather not repeat a winner across pages, but no other no-battery box comes close on steel. Its limits: over 1,000 combinations, no key override listed, and 22 lb that is meant to be bolted down.
2. V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
A single-handgun case with a drop-down, recessed door, internal anti-pry brackets and 16-gauge steel. It ranks above the Top Draw XD because its quick-release mounting bracket is included, and V-Line says extra brackets let one case be secured in more than one place. It also leads our bedside safe ranking.
3. V-Line Top Draw XD
The pick for two handguns: a top-opening 16-gauge box with a genuine Simplex five-button lock behind a heavy-duty internal lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line. The bracket and security cable cost extra. V-Line backs its mechanical-lock boxes with a limited lifetime warranty.
4. Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe
If your no-battery need is in a truck: a welded-steel insert for 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra consoles with a 10-tumbler key lock or a 3-digit combination, and no batteries to suffer in a hot cab. It fits one truck line and has no CA DOJ roster listing. Our car safe ranking covers other vehicle options.
5. Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
The simplest battery-free box: 16-gauge steel, a barrel key lock and a 4-foot cable rated to 1,500 lb. It's on California's roster. Because it opens only with a key, it's for securing a handgun rather than reaching it fast.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest no-battery pistol safe
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Also our top-ranked handgun safe overall, and the same evidence puts it first here: a Simplex push-button lock Fort Knox says you can run by feel, a 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door, four 3/8-inch anchor holes, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 2
Stock photoBest no-battery under-desk safe
V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
An under-desk box with a drop-down door, a five-button Simplex mechanical lock (1,081 combinations), 16-gauge steel and an included quick-release bracket, CA DOJ approved per V-Line and the state roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel; recessed door and internal anti-pry brackets |
| Lock | Simplex five-button mechanical lock, 1,081 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: 'No keys to lose or batteries to change,' per V-Line |
| Bolt-down | Quick-release mounting bracket included for under-desk or under-shelf installation |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Desk Mate 2597-S'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | A single firearm, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 7.5 x 10.5 x 2.5 in with the door closed |
| Weight | 11 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or keys: the Simplex lock is mechanical
- Quick-release bracket included; extra brackets let one box be secured in more than one location, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Holds a single firearm
- 16-gauge steel
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you need to store more than one handgun; V-Line sizes the Desk Mate for a single firearm.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Desk Mate 2597-S
Rank 3
Stock photoBest no-battery box for two handguns
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
A USA-made top-opening box for up to two handguns with a five-button Simplex mechanical lock, 16-gauge steel, an internal lock cover and a CA DOJ approval stated by the maker and shown on the state roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 4
Stock photoBest no-battery console safe (Silverado/Sierra)
Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra)
A no-drill welded-steel insert that turns the factory center console of 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra pickups into a locked box with a battery-free key or combination lock; the fit is truck-specific.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical key or combination lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked truck
- 1/8-inch welded steel Pry-Guard components and a pin-lock hinge, per Tuffy
- No-drill install that keeps the factory look and the OEM USB ports
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Fits only 2019-2026 Silverado/Sierra trucks with the full-floor console
- The combination option has only three digits
- No CA DOJ roster listing found and no CA DOJ statement from the maker
Skip this if…
…you don't drive a 2019-2026 Silverado or Sierra with the full-floor console; Tuffy sells separate vehicle-specific versions.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest key-lock box for a car
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
What to look for in a mechanical pistol safe
- A published steel gauge. The spread here runs from a 10-gauge body (Fort Knox) to 16-gauge (V-Line and Hornady). Lower numbers are thicker.
- Protection around the lock and hinge. Look for a concealed or internal hinge and a cover or plate behind the lock, like the Fort Knox's reinforced lock plate and the Top Draw XD's internal lock cover.
- A way to mount it. Anchor holes or an included bracket, not just a promise that one exists as an add-on.
- A roster listing, if you're in California, and a documented third-party check wherever you live.
- Room for your handgun. The Fort Knox roster entry lists a usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 inches; the Desk Mate holds a single firearm; the Top Draw XD holds up to two.
- A clear code-change process you understand before the box is in use.
- A warranty you can read. Fort Knox and V-Line back these boxes with limited lifetime warranties, and Tuffy offers a limited lifetime warranty that excludes the coating. Hornady's page for the Lock Box XL shows no warranty terms, so ask before you buy.
Which no-battery box fits your situation
| Your situation | Our pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One or two handguns at home, bolted to a floor or inside furniture | Fort Knox Original Pistol Box | The heaviest published steel here and four anchor holes |
| One handgun hung under a desk, shelf or nightstand top | V-Line Desk Mate | Quick-release bracket included; drop-down door |
| Two handguns in a drawer or on a shelf | V-Line Top Draw XD | Holds up to two handguns behind an internal lock cover |
| A 2019-2026 Silverado or Sierra | Tuffy 356-01 | A console insert with a key or combination lock and no drilling |
| Any car, or a box you move between places | Hornady Lock Box XL | A key lock and a cable rated to 1,500 lb |
Mounting a mechanical box
The heaviest box here weighs 22 lb, light enough to walk out with. Bolt it down with the maker's hardware: the Fort Knox box has four 3/8-inch holes, and the Desk Mate's quick-release bracket installs under most surfaces. If you mount into furniture, remember the box is only as fixed as the furniture; a floor or wall stud is stronger where the maker allows it. Our guide to bolting down a gun safe covers anchors and surfaces.
The others mount differently. The Top Draw XD has pre-punched mounting holes, with a quick-release bracket or a steel security cable as extra-cost options. The Hornady box relies on its cable, which Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture. The Tuffy console safe installs inside the factory console with the hardware Tuffy provides.
Common mechanical safe mistakes
- Writing the code on or near the box. Record it somewhere secure and separate, such as with your important papers.
- Never changing the code. With a smaller pool of combinations, a private code matters more.
- Assuming mechanical means burglar-proof. These are access boxes that keep out kids and casual hands, not burglary-rated safes.
- Skipping the mount because the box feels heavy. A 22-lb box is awkward to carry but still easy to walk out with. Bolt it down.
- Using a retention case for unattended storage. If the maker says it isn't a safe, believe them.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is there a quick-access gun safe with no battery?
Are mechanical gun safes better than electronic ones?
How do you change the code on a Simplex pistol safe?
What if I forget the combination on a mechanical pistol safe?
Is the StopBox a safe?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Biometric vs keypad vs RFIDWhich electronic lock fits your hands, household and habits.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?Reader failures, enrollment and the recall record.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksBatteries, lockouts, service and code changes, compared.
- Best bedside gun safesQuick access at night that stays shut for kids.
- Best handgun safesEvery lock type ranked on the same rubric.
Receipts
Sources
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page
- Fort Knox — FAQ page
- V-Line — Desk Mate handgun security case product page
- V-Line — Top Draw XD product page
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page
- Vaultek — 10/20 Series Essential support page
- Vaultek — Slider Series Essential product page
- CPSC — Fortress Safe recall of biometric gun safes (October 19, 2023)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.