Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
Best handgun safes for multiple guns: published capacity, not the number on the box
Almost every quick-access pistol box claims to hold two handguns. The ones that genuinely do publish an interior dimension, a rack, or both — and that is the number this page ranks on.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Vaultek MX Series The only pick here that publishes a double-figure claim: up to eight handguns, six in pistol racks and two on the top shelf, in a 14-gauge body with a 12-gauge door. 32 lb, and it expects to stay plugged in. | Best for a real collectionAccess box | 8.0 /10 | $649.99Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141) Two 1911-size pistols or one large revolver in 14-gauge steel, opened by RFID or keypad, with a barrel key and a security cable. Hornady cites ASTM pry and child-resistance standards rather than a UL listing. | Best two-gun box with a rated mountAccess box | 8.0 /10 | $228.95Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) Up to two handguns behind a genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock: nothing to charge, nothing to fail, and a lifetime warranty on the mechanical boxes. 16-gauge steel at 12 lb. | Best no-battery two-gun optionAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SentrySafe QAP2BLX Two pistols in a wide, shallow steel box with a fingerprint reader, a keypad and an override key. At 3.2 inches tall it fits a drawer, but the pistols lie flat and side by side. | Best flat-stack two-pistol boxAccess box | 7.0 /10 | $179.99Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436) Two handguns, RFID plus a code, a mechanical key and batteries Hornady says last about 12 months. The simplest of the RAPiD safes and the one with the least published detail. | Best simple RFID pairAccess box | 6.8 /10 | $145.42Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402) A 26-by-20-inch slide-out drawer in 14-gauge steel: the largest interior footprint here by a wide margin, with a digital lock and a key backup. No fire or burglary rating, and SnapSafe publishes no interior volume. | Best for several handguns at onceAccess box | 7.0 /10 | $437.95Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

"Holds two handguns" is the most elastic claim in this category. It is usually true of two compact 9mms with nothing mounted, and frequently untrue of two full-size pistols with a light on the rail, a red dot on the slide, or a spare magazine you wanted to keep with them. Nobody is lying; the number simply assumes a best case that most owners do not have.
So this page ranks on the measurable version of the question: what does the maker publish? A rack count, an interior dimension, an exterior size you can work back from — any of those beats a bare gun count. Where a maker publishes nothing, we say so rather than filling the gap in. Every figure below is the maker's own published specification, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-12.
Why "holds two" usually means two compacts
That spread is the whole page. A box that names the 1911 and a box that says "two handguns" are making different promises, and the second one is the one that disappoints people with full-size duty pistols.
How we ranked them
Every access box on this site is scored against the published quick-access rubric at how we rate: access reliability evidence 30 percent, construction and pry resistance 25, child-access standards 20, mounting 15, support and transparency 10. For this page we broke ties on three capacity-specific questions:
- Does the maker publish a capacity you can check? A rack count or an interior dimension beats a gun count.
- Are the firearms separated? Racks and dividers keep pistols off each other, which matters more as the number goes up.
- Does access survive the extra guns? A box you have to dig through in the dark is a box you will leave open.
We do not test safes, and we are not going to claim we have stacked pistols into any of these. What we do is read the published specifications, check the California DOJ roster, and run a dated CPSC recall search per brand, which appears on each product card.
The published capacity, side by side
Two things to take from this table. First, the MX Series is in a different class: 15 by 11.5 by 11.6 inches is a box with real depth, which is what makes a six-slot pistol rack possible at all. Second, the flat boxes — the QAP2BLX at 3.2 inches tall and the Top Draw XD at 2.75 inches — can only ever hold handguns lying down, side by side. Both approaches are valid; they are just not interchangeable, and the capacity claim reads the same on both.
Racked, stacked or laid flat: three different products
There are really three layouts in this category, and choosing between them is most of the decision.
- Racked and upright. Pistols stand in slots, grip up. Best separation, best use of volume, and the fastest to get the right gun out when there are several. This is the MX Series, and it is why that box is 11.6 inches deep.
- Flat, side by side. Two handguns lie in a shallow tray. Fits a nightstand drawer or a shelf, hides easily, and tops out at two unless you stack them on top of each other — which you should not, because a stacked pistol is a pistol you move to reach the other one. The QAP2BLX, the Top Draw XD and both Hornady vaults work this way.
- Drawer. A wide, shallow slide-out tray under a bed. The SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium gives a 26-by-20-inch footprint, which is more usable area than everything else here combined, at the cost of being 5 inches tall and 51 lb. It is also the only pick that is really a storage product rather than a bedside box; our under-bed safe roundup covers that category properly.
Access when there is more than one gun inside
With one pistol, access speed is about the lock. With three, it is about the layout — and the lock still has to work. The published access methods across our picks:
The Top Draw XD is the outlier and deliberately so: a Simplex five-button mechanical lock with no electronics at all. V-Line's own line on its Desk Mate — "No keys to lose or batteries to change" — is the argument for the whole mechanical category, covered in best mechanical pistol safes and electronic vs mechanical safe locks. Against that, the electronic boxes give you multiple users and faster entry, and both Hornady vaults and the MX Series publish a mechanical key as the fallback. If being locked out is your worry, read how to open a gun safe with a dead battery before you buy anything with a keypad.
One practical note on the MX Series: Vaultek lists plug-in power with four AAA cells as backup, and names both as required. A multi-gun box that lives on mains power is fine beside a bed with an outlet and a poor choice in a closet without one.
What the evidence shows, and what it does not
None of these boxes carries a UL Residential Security Container listing, and none claims a fire rating. Vaultek's FAQ states plainly that its safes "are not fire rated." Hornady cites ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards for the 4800KP rather than a burglary rating. What that means in practice: these are access-control products. They stop children, visitors and opportunists, and they are the right tool for keeping several handguns both secured and reachable. They are not burglary resistance, which is what our UL RSC explainer describes and what fire rating vs burglary rating separates from the fire question.
Where there is independent evidence in this category, it comes from the California DOJ roster of certified firearm safety devices. Five of our six picks appear on it or are stated by the maker as certified: the MX Series, the 4800KP (as "98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP"), the Top Draw XD ("Top Draw XD-S BLK XD"), the QAP2BLX and the Keypad Vault (model "97436"). That is a child-access and lock-integrity certification rather than a burglary rating — see CA DOJ approved gun safes — but in a house with children it is the listing that matters most, and it is the one we weight at 20 percent.
A word on fingerprint readers
Mounting a heavier box
Capacity adds weight, and weight changes the mounting job. The MX Series is 32 lb empty and the SnapSafe drawer is 51 lb; four or five handguns and their magazines add several more pounds. Both publish pre-drilled mounting provision, and the Hornady vaults add a security cable — Hornady rates the cable supplied with its Lock Box XL to 1,500 lb, which gives you a sense of what that class of cable is for.
The rule does not change with size: a box that is not fastened to something is a box that leaves with the thief, contents and all. For a bedside install, screw it to the nightstand frame or the floor; for a closet shelf, bolt through the shelf into a stud. Our bolt-down guide covers the hardware, and how to store a handgun for home defense covers the placement decision.
One box or two?
There is a genuine argument for splitting rather than consolidating, and it is worth hearing before you buy the biggest box on the page. A single multi-gun safe puts every handgun behind one lock and one battery; two smaller boxes in different rooms give you redundancy, keep the home-defense pistol separate from the stored ones, and cost about the same.
Our reading of the trade-off:
- Buy one bigger box if the collection is stored rather than carried, if you want everything inventoried in one place, and if there is an outlet where it will live.
- Buy two smaller boxes if one pistol is for home defense and the rest are storage. Keep the defensive one in a mechanical or key-backed box by the bed — see best bedside gun safes — and the rest in the larger unit.
- Buy a full-size safe instead once you are past six or eight handguns, or once long guns enter the picture. At that point you are better served by a proper gun safe with a listing, plus one quick-access box.
Common mistakes
- Buying on the gun count. Buy on the interior dimension, the rack count, or a maker that names a specific pistol size.
- Stacking pistols to make the claim true. If you have to lift one gun to reach another, the box is full.
- Letting magazines eat the capacity. Loaded magazines take more room than people plan for. Decide now whether they live in the box.
- Relying on a fingerprint alone, especially with several firearms inside.
- Skipping the mount because it is heavy. 32 or 51 lb is a two-handed carry, not a deterrent.
- Expecting fire protection. None of these claims any, and Vaultek says so outright.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best for a real collection
Vaultek MX Series
The only pick here that publishes a double-figure claim: up to eight handguns, six in pistol racks and two on the top shelf, in a 14-gauge body with a 12-gauge door. 32 lb, and it expects to stay plugged in.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel (progressive formed) |
| Door steel | 12-gauge steel |
| Lock | Biometric scanner (80 fingerprints), 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, Nano Key included |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys included |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet) |
| Capacity | Up to 8 handguns, maker-stated (6 in pistol racks, 2 on the top shelf) |
| Exterior dimensions | 15 x 11.5 x 11.6 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 32 lb |
| Power | Plug-in power with 4 AAA backup batteries (not included); maker lists plug-in and backup batteries as required |
| Warranty | 3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Heavier steel than most quick-access safes publish: Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body and a 12-gauge door
- Four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, two manual keys), so a failed scan or a dead battery doesn't lock you out
- CA DOJ certification is stated on the maker's spec sheet
- Vaultek lists an impact-detection alarm, dual anti-impact latches and interior-mounted hinges
Where it falls short
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek treats the AAA batteries as backup power
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating (Vaultek says its safes are not fire rated)
- At 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf, not in a nightstand drawer
Skip this if…
…you want one handgun in a nightstand drawer or a safe that runs on batteries alone; the MX expects wall power and is nearly a foot tall.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
Rank 2

Best two-gun box with a rated mount
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Two 1911-size pistols or one large revolver in 14-gauge steel, opened by RFID or keypad, with a barrel key and a security cable. Hornady cites ASTM pry and child-resistance standards rather than a UL listing.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Rank 3

Best no-battery two-gun option
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Up to two handguns behind a genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock: nothing to charge, nothing to fail, and a lifetime warranty on the mechanical boxes. 16-gauge steel at 12 lb.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 4

Best flat-stack two-pistol box
SentrySafe QAP2BLX
Two pistols in a wide, shallow steel box with a fingerprint reader, a keypad and an override key. At 3.2 inches tall it fits a drawer, but the pistols lie flat and side by side.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker (peril type listed as 'Security') |
| Body steel | 'Solid steel' per the maker; gauge not stated |
| Lock | Biometric fingerprint scanner plus digital keypad |
| Backup entry | Override key |
| Bolt-down | Bolt-down hardware included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'QAP2BLX' (under Master Lock); SentrySafe also states 'California DOJ Certified' |
| Capacity | Two pistols, maker-stated; 0.115 cu ft |
| Exterior dimensions | 3.2 x 16.4 x 9.8 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 15.75 lb |
| Power | Four AA alkaline batteries; a yellow LED blinks three times when battery power is low; two-minute lockout after five wrong entries |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SentrySafe pistol safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and override key; the owner's manual documents a low-battery LED and a lockout after five wrong entries
- On California's roster, and SentrySafe states CA DOJ certification on the product page
- Gas-strut lid opens automatically, with interior lighting, per SentrySafe
- Bolt-down hardware included
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published, only 'solid steel'
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Warranty terms are not shown on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want to compare steel thickness before buying; SentrySafe doesn't publish the gauge for this model.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe QAP2BLX
Rank 5

Best simple RFID pair
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
Two handguns, RFID plus a code, a mechanical key and batteries Hornady says last about 12 months. The simplest of the RAPiD safes and the one with the least published detail.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty tamper-proof steel' per the maker; gauge not stated |
| Lock | Patented RFID reader plus access code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for permanent mounting |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '97436' |
| Capacity | Two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.1 x 11.0 x 3.9 in |
| Weight | 13.7 lb |
| Power | Four AA batteries; Hornady says quality batteries last about 12 months |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, code and mechanical key
- Pre-drilled for permanent mounting and sized for a drawer, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- Runs on four AA batteries only, and the owner's manual describes no low-battery warning
- Steel gauge is not published
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that warns you before its batteries run down; Hornady's manual for this model doesn't describe a low-battery alert.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
Rank 6

Best for several handguns at once
SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402)
A 26-by-20-inch slide-out drawer in 14-gauge steel: the largest interior footprint here by a wide margin, with a digital lock and a key backup. No fire or burglary rating, and SnapSafe publishes no interior volume.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge heavy-duty steel with a pry-resistant door design |
| Lock | Digital lock, programmable with a 3 to 8 digit access code |
| Backup entry | Key backup supplied |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes for permanent installation, plus a "robust 5-foot cable [that] provides added security when anchored to a stationary object" |
| Capacity | Slide-out drawer; maker does not publish an interior volume |
| Exterior dimensions | 5 x 26 x 20 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 51 lb |
| Warranty | Warranted against material defects and workmanship for the life of the product |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SnapSafe (Hornady) under-bed safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Published 14-gauge steel, which most under-bed boxes never state
- Slide-out drawer means you reach the far end without crawling under the bed
- Keypad with a key backup, and a 3-8 digit code rather than a fixed 4
- Lifetime warranty against defects, plus a 5 ft anchor cable in the box
Where it falls short
- 5 in tall: it takes handguns, magazines and documents, not a rifle with an optic
- 51 lb unanchored is a two-person carry-off
- No burglary or fire rating, and no published interior volume
Skip this if…
…your bed frame has less than about 5.5 inches of clearance, or you need to store long guns
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402)
How to buy a handgun safe for more than one pistol
1. Count the guns, then count the magazines
Write down what actually goes in: three pistols, six magazines, a light, a spare set of keys. That list, not the number of handguns, is what has to fit. Most disappointment in this category comes from the accessories.
2. Measure your largest pistol
Overall length and height with anything mounted. Then compare it against a published interior dimension. Where the maker publishes none, treat the capacity as a best case: the makers who name a 1911 or publish an interior are the ones you can plan around.
3. Choose the layout before the lock
Racked and upright for four or more; flat and side by side for two in a drawer; a slide-out drawer if the space is under a bed. The layout decides whether the box works day to day far more than the access method does.
4. Insist on a backup entry route
A mechanical key, a Simplex lock or a published external power route. Every electronic pick here has one, and we would not list one that does not. Put the key somewhere other than on top of the safe.
5. Check the child-access listing if there are children in the house
The California DOJ roster is the one independent list most of these boxes can appear on, and five of our six picks do. It is not a burglary rating, but it is a tested lock and a tested latch.
6. Plan power and mounting together
A box that expects mains power needs an outlet within reach of where it is anchored. Decide the location, the outlet and the fixing before you order, not after the box arrives.
7. Be honest about what it is
These are access-control products with no fire rating and no burglary listing. If the collection is valuable enough to need burglary resistance, the right answer is a listed safe with a quick-access box beside it, not a bigger pistol vault.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked on published capacity and interior dimensions rather than the advertised gun count, separating racked, flat and drawer layouts, with the California DOJ roster checked per product.
Questions
Frequently asked
What handgun safe holds the most pistols?
Will two full-size pistols fit in a two-gun safe?
Is one bigger safe better than two small ones?
Do multi-gun pistol safes have a fire rating?
Should a multi-gun handgun safe use a fingerprint reader?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best handgun safesThe whole category ranked on access reliability, for one pistol or several.
- Best bedside gun safesThe single-pistol box that belongs next to the bigger one.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo-battery boxes, including the Simplex pick on this page.
- Best under-bed gun safesThe drawer format covered properly, including the SnapSafe here.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?The recall record behind our caution on fingerprint readers.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesWhat the roster listing on five of these picks actually certifies.
Receipts
Sources
- Vaultek — MX Series product page: eight-handgun capacity, pistol racks, steel gauges and power (checked 2026-10-12)
- Vaultek — FAQ, including the statement that its safes are not fire rated (checked 2026-10-12)
- Hornady Security — RAPiD Safe 4800KP product page: two-1911 capacity, 14-gauge steel, ASTM wording (checked 2026-10-12)
- Hornady Security — RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault product page: two-handgun capacity and battery life (checked 2026-10-12)
- V-Line Industries — Top Draw XD product page: two-handgun capacity and Simplex mechanical lock (checked 2026-10-12)
- SentrySafe — QAP2BLX product page: two-pistol capacity, biometric plus keypad, override key (checked 2026-10-12)
- SnapSafe — Under Bed Safe product page: exterior dimensions and drawer design (checked 2026-10-12)
- California DOJ — Roster of Certified Firearm Safety Devices, searched per product (checked 2026-10-12)
- CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.