Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
The best handgun safes by lock, steel and backup entry
A handgun safe has to open every time for you and never for a child. We rank on the lock and its backup, the steel the maker publishes, how it mounts, and whether California lists it as a safety device.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box The top score in our handgun rubric: a battery-free Simplex lock, the heaviest steel published in this group (10-gauge body, 3/16-inch door), four anchor holes, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty. | Best handgun safe overallAccess box | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) A USA-made top-opening box for up to two handguns with a five-button Simplex mechanical lock, 16-gauge steel, an internal lock cover and a CA DOJ approval stated by the maker and shown on the state roster. | Best for two handguns, no batteriesAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Vaultek MX Series The strongest electronic pick on paper: a maker-stated 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door, fingerprint, keypad and key entry, and CA DOJ certification on Vaultek's spec sheet. It expects wall power. | Best for several handgunsAccess box | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141) Hornady's two-pistol RFID safe with a keypad and barrel-key backup, maker-stated 14-gauge steel, a battery-check LED and a CA DOJ roster listing. | Best RFID handgun safeAccess box | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215) A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster. | Best nightstand drawer safeAccess box | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Vaultek 20 Series V20i A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge. | Best compact fingerprint safeAccess box | 7.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() GunVault MicroVault MV500 A small 16-gauge keypad box with GunVault's touch-operated No-Eyes keypad, a high-security backup key and a CA DOJ roster listing; GunVault publishes few other specs. | Best small keypad boxAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a handgun safe protects against
A handgun safe is a small, fast-opening steel box for one to several pistols. Its real job is access control: keeping a child, a visiting teenager or a casual thief away from a firearm while you can still reach it quickly. That is a different job from a full-size gun safe, which is judged on burglary and fire ratings.
Every pick on this page is an access box in our tier system, and that label is honest rather than a knock. None of the handgun safes we researched cites a UL burglary listing. For scale, the entry-level UL residential rating, UL 1037 RSC Level 1, covers a "five-minute attack by one technician using common hand tools such as drills, screwdrivers and hammers," according to UL's notice on the revised RSC standard. Pistol boxes are not listed to that standard. They slow a thief down and keep kids out. If burglary or fire is your main worry, you need a full-size gun safe as well, and our UL RSC explainer shows what that label does and does not prove.
How we scored handgun safes
We did not buy, install or lab-test these safes. Each score comes from what the maker publishes, what California's Department of Justice lists, and a dated search of CPSC recall notices, weighted on our published quick-access rubric:
- Access reliability evidence (30%). The lock type, its documented failure modes, and whether a backup entry still works when the battery is dead. A safe with no electronics scores well here because it has no battery to die.
- Construction and pry resistance (25%). The steel gauge the maker actually publishes, the hinge design and how the lock is protected. "Heavy duty" with no number scores lower than a stated gauge. Our steel gauge explainer converts gauges to inches.
- Child-access standards (20%). Whether the model is on California's Roster of Firearm Safety Devices. According to the California DOJ, firearms bought in the state must come with a safety device "that has passed required safety and functionality tests," and a lock box on the roster qualifies. Six picks here appear on that roster; for the seventh, the Vaultek MX, the "California DOJ Certified" statement comes from Vaultek's spec sheet.
- Mounting (15%). Pre-drilled bolt-down holes with hardware beat a cable, and a cable beats nothing.
- Support and transparency (10%). Published warranty terms, complete specs and a clean recall search.
How the lock families compare over years of ownership is its own subject. Our guide to electronic vs mechanical safe locks covers batteries, lockouts and code changes in more depth.
Four lock types, four ways to fail
Speed matters, but the question that decides a handgun safe is what happens on the bad day: the battery is flat, your hands are wet, the tag is missing. Here is how each lock family on this page can let you down, and what the maker gives you as a way back in.
| Lock type | Picks here | Where it can let you down | The way back in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical push-button (Simplex) | Fort Knox Original Pistol Box, V-Line Top Draw XD | Fewer possible codes than a long keypad code; a code someone watched you enter keeps working until you change it | No battery to fail. Neither maker lists a key override, so a forgotten code means contacting the maker |
| Fingerprint | Vaultek MX Series, Vaultek V20i | Vaultek says "excessive moisture, lotions, or dirt" can cause inaccurate sensor readings | A keypad code and manual keys on both |
| RFID tag | Hornady 4800KP, Hornady Night Guard | The tag opens the safe for whoever holds it. On battery power, Hornady's manuals say you press a button to wake the reader first | A keypad code and a mechanical key |
| Keypad | GunVault MV500 | A short code can be watched or guessed, and the batteries need regular changes | A high-security manual key |
The fingerprint guidance comes from Vaultek's 10/20 Series support page, which also advises placing "the core of the fingerprint flat over the center of the scanner" during setup. GunVault's code runs 3 to 6 digits and the company suggests changing batteries at least every six months.
Why each pick ranks where it does
1. Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
It leads because it gives up nothing on the two heaviest-weighted measures. There is no battery, reader or circuit board to fail: Fort Knox describes a push-button sequence "you can run by feel alone" on its product page. It also publishes the heaviest steel in this group, a 10-gauge body and a 3/16-inch wrap-around door with a concealed continuous hinge. It is on California's roster and carries a limited lifetime warranty. The trade-offs: over 1,000 possible combinations (far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows), no key override listed, and at 22 lb it is built to be bolted down rather than carried. The same evidence puts it first in our no-battery pistol safe ranking, so it leads both lists.
2. V-Line Top Draw XD
A top-opening box for up to two handguns with a genuine Simplex five-button lock behind an internal steel lock cover, made in the USA and on California's roster. V-Line publishes 16-gauge steel, which is why it sits below the Fort Knox box and its 10-gauge body. The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options, so budget for one.
3. Vaultek MX Series
The strongest electronic pick on paper, and the one for several handguns. Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body, a 12-gauge door, an 80-fingerprint scanner, a keypad, Nano Key compatibility and two manual keys, plus an impact-detection alarm. Its limits are practical: it is designed to stay plugged in with four AAA batteries as backup, and at 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf. It also leads our biometric safe ranking.
4. Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL
An RFID safe for two pistols with maker-stated 14-gauge steel and two hardened locking lugs, a 4- to 6-digit keypad and a barrel-key backup. Its manual documents a battery-check LED that flashes green, yellow or red. Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance; that is the company's statement, and no third-party certificate is linked. The warranty is one year.
5. Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard
A nightstand drawer design that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or four AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and ships with a 1,500-lb-rated cable. Hornady does not publish the steel gauge, which is the main reason it ranks below the 4800KP.
6. Vaultek 20 Series V20i
A compact fingerprint safe with a keypad, backup keys and a plug-in fallback if the batteries die. Vaultek rates its three AAA batteries at about a year of normal use and documents a low-battery warning (the "1" key blinks red). The gap: Vaultek's current page does not publish the 20 Series steel gauge, and it is sized for compact pistols.
7. GunVault MicroVault MV500
A small 16-gauge keypad box with GunVault's No-Eyes keypad, built for entry by touch in low light, and a high-security backup key. California's roster lists it for firearms up to 10.5 inches long. GunVault publishes few other specs, including no dimensions or weight on the product page, which holds its score down.
Two models are missing on purpose. The V-Line Desk Mate scores near the top of our rubric, but it holds a single handgun and mounts under a surface, so it leads our bedside safe ranking instead. The StopBox Pro is not ranked anywhere on this site because its maker states plainly that "The StopBox® is NOT a safe" and that it "is not intended to be left unattended."
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest handgun safe overall
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
The top score in our handgun rubric: a battery-free Simplex lock, the heaviest steel published in this group (10-gauge body, 3/16-inch door), four anchor holes, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for two handguns, no batteries
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
A USA-made top-opening box for up to two handguns with a five-button Simplex mechanical lock, 16-gauge steel, an internal lock cover and a CA DOJ approval stated by the maker and shown on the state roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest for several handguns
Vaultek MX Series
The strongest electronic pick on paper: a maker-stated 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door, fingerprint, keypad and key entry, and CA DOJ certification on Vaultek's spec sheet. It expects wall power.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel (progressive formed) |
| Door steel | 12-gauge steel |
| Lock | Biometric scanner (80 fingerprints), 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, Nano Key included |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys included |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet) |
| Capacity | Up to 8 handguns, maker-stated (6 in pistol racks, 2 on the top shelf) |
| Exterior dimensions | 15 x 11.5 x 11.6 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 32 lb |
| Power | Plug-in power with 4 AAA backup batteries (not included); maker lists plug-in and backup batteries as required |
| Warranty | 3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Heavier steel than most quick-access safes publish: Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body and a 12-gauge door
- Four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, two manual keys), so a failed scan or a dead battery doesn't lock you out
- CA DOJ certification is stated on the maker's spec sheet
- Vaultek lists an impact-detection alarm, dual anti-impact latches and interior-mounted hinges
Where it falls short
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek treats the AAA batteries as backup power
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating (Vaultek says its safes are not fire rated)
- At 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf, not in a nightstand drawer
Skip this if…
…you want one handgun in a nightstand drawer or a safe that runs on batteries alone; the MX expects wall power and is nearly a foot tall.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
Rank 4
Stock photoBest RFID handgun safe
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Hornady's two-pistol RFID safe with a keypad and barrel-key backup, maker-stated 14-gauge steel, a battery-check LED and a CA DOJ roster listing.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest nightstand drawer safe
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty exterior housing' with hardened interior locking lugs; gauge not stated |
| Lock | RFID reader (four tags included) plus user-programmed keypad code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes plus an included 1,500-lb-rated security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98215- Rapid Night Guard' |
| Exterior dimensions | 12 x 10.5 x 3 in |
| Weight | 18 lb |
| Power | 12V AC adapter or four AAA batteries; a battery symbol by the clock turns red when batteries are weak |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, keypad code and mechanical key
- AC power with AAA battery backup, and the owner's manual documents a low-battery indicator
- On California's roster; Hornady states each RAPiD Safe meets CA DOJ criteria
- Pre-drilled holes and a 1,500-lb-rated cable
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published
- On battery power you must press a button to wake the reader before a tag will open it, per the manual
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want published steel thickness or a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Rank 6
Stock photoBest compact fingerprint safe
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
- Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models
Where it falls short
- Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series
Skip this if…
…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Rank 7
Stock photoBest small keypad box
GunVault MicroVault MV500
A small 16-gauge keypad box with GunVault's touch-operated No-Eyes keypad, a high-security backup key and a CA DOJ roster listing; GunVault publishes few other specs.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
What to look for in a handgun safe
- A way in that doesn't need the battery. Every electronic pick here has a mechanical key, and some Vaultek models also accept plug-in power when the batteries die. Know where that key lives before you need it.
- A documented low-battery warning. The V20i, 4800KP and Night Guard all describe one in their manuals or support pages. A safe that fails without warning is the one that locks you out. Hornady's manual for its Keypad Vault describes no warning, which is one reason that model isn't on this list.
- A published steel gauge. Lower numbers are thicker: 10-gauge is heavier than 16-gauge. "Solid steel" or "heavy duty" without a number tells you nothing you can compare.
- Bolt-down holes and the hardware to use them. A cable is a fallback, not a plan.
- A roster listing if you live in California, and a useful signal of third-party testing if you don't. Our page on CA DOJ approved gun safes explains the difference between the safety-device roster and the separate gun-safe standard.
- Real fit for your handgun. Measure it. The V20i is sized for compacts, the MV500's roster entry lists firearms up to 10.5 inches, and a light or optic adds bulk.
Mount it, or it leaves with the thief
The published weights on this page run from 7.2 lb (the V20i) to 32 lb (the MX). Anything in that range can be carried out under an arm, which is why mounting carries 15% of our score. Bolt the safe down with the maker's hardware, into the structure the maker specifies. Vaultek, for example, says the MX is "mountable to nightstands or other stationary objects using the pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware." If you rent or can't drill, a cable around a bed frame or heavy furniture is the next best step; Hornady rates the Night Guard's cable at 1,500 lb. Our guide to bolting down a gun safe covers anchors for wood, concrete and furniture.
If children live in or visit your home
This is the reason most families buy a handgun safe, and the research backs the instinct. RAND's review of the evidence finds "supportive evidence that child-access prevention laws decrease unintentional firearm injuries and deaths for children." Citing a 2019 study of youth firearm suicides, RAND also reports that where storage could be identified, more than three-fourths involved a gun that had been stored loaded and unlocked (RAND, child-access prevention laws).
Child-access prevention laws differ from state to state, and this page is not legal advice. Check your state's official source for what it requires. Whatever the law says, a safe only protects a child if the gun is inside it: return it every time, keep keys and RFID tags where children can't reach them, and don't enter codes where they can watch. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids lays out a layered plan.
Common handgun safe mistakes
- Keeping the backup key inside the safe, or in the nightstand drawer beside it, where a child will find it first.
- Never changing the factory code. Set your own code as the manual describes before the safe goes into use, and change it if someone may have seen it.
- Waiting for the batteries to die. Put a replacement date on the calendar and use the battery type the maker specifies.
- Leaving it loose on a shelf. An unmounted box is a carrying case for a thief.
- Expecting fire protection. None of these safes claims any.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is a good handgun safe?
Do handgun safes need to be bolted down?
What should I do if my handgun safe's battery dies?
Are handgun safes fire-resistant?
Is a handgun safe the same as a gun safe?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best biometric gun safesFingerprint safes ranked by the backup that works when the reader doesn't.
- Best bedside gun safesQuick access at night that stays shut for kids.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo batteries, no reader: the push-button boxes compared.
- Best car gun safesConsole, under-seat, seat-rail and cable options for a vehicle.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksBatteries, lockouts and code changes, compared.
- Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD SafeTwo quick-access leaders compared on published evidence.
Receipts
Sources
- UL — Residential Security Container Standard Revised
- California DOJ — Firearm Safety Device FAQs
- RAND — The Effects of Child-Access Prevention Laws
- Vaultek — 10/20 Series Essential support page
- Vaultek — FAQ page
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.