Gun Safes · The rankings
Best under-bed gun safes: measure the clearance before you read the specs
The under-bed slot is the one hiding place nearly every house already has. It is also the easiest safe in the world to slide out and carry off, which is why the anchor point matters more than the gauge.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402) 5 in tall, 14-gauge steel, a slide-out drawer, a keypad with 3-8 digit codes and key backup, pre-drilled anchor holes and a 5 ft cable. Fits the most bed frames. | Best under-bed safe overallAccess box | 7.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() SecureIt Fast Box Model 47 6.5 in tall, 14-gauge welded steel, and it takes one long gun up to 46.5 in horizontally. Keypad, fingerprint reader and key override, with holes to bolt it down. | Best for a long gun under the bedAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Large (75401) 6 in tall and 40 in wide at 105 lb. More room, more weight, and the same 14-gauge steel, keypad and lifetime defect warranty as the medium. | Best large under-bed safeAccess box | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() GunVault MicroVault MV500 A MicroVault-sized box for a single handgun, cabled to the bed frame. Cheapest way to get a firearm out of a nightstand drawer, with the least steel here. | Smallest option, one handgunAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Under-bed safes sell on convenience and hide in plain sight, and both of those are real. But the thing that decides whether this purchase works is a tape measure, not a spec sheet. Get the clearance wrong and you own a steel drawer that lives in the garage.
Measure the clearance first
Platform beds, storage bases and divans usually rule the whole category out. Slatted frames on legs are ideal. If your bed fails on clearance, the vertical version of the same idea is a closet-mounted box: the Fast Box 47 mounts either way, which is why it appears on both our hidden safe picks and this page.
The real risk with an under-bed safe
It is not that a burglar cuts it open. It is that they slide it out and take it with them. These are 51 to 105 lb boxes on a smooth floor, and the bedroom is the first room searched in most residential burglaries.
Every product here ships with the answer, and most owners never use it. SnapSafe supplies pre-drilled holes for permanent installation and a 5 ft cable for anchoring to a stationary object (SnapSafe). SecureIt supplies pre-drilled holes so the Fast Box can be bolted under a bed, in a closet, or in a vehicle (SecureIt). Bolt it down or cable it, or you have bought a container, not security.
None of these carries a UL RSC listing, which times a technician attacking a safe with common hand tools (UL). Treat all four as access boxes: excellent at keeping the wrong hands off a firearm, not rated against a determined attack.
The picks side by side
The SnapSafe pair and the SecureIt all publish 14-gauge steel, which is genuinely respectable for a box this shape, and all three offer a code plus a physical backup. The gap between them is size and orientation: the SnapSafes are drawers optimised for handguns, ammunition and valuables; the Fast Box is a long-gun box that happens to fit under a bed.
How we ranked these
We have not bought or attacked any of them. Each is scored on the access-control rubric at how we rate: 30% access reliability evidence, 25% construction and pry resistance, 20% child-access standards, 15% mounting, 10% support and transparency.
The 75402 leads because 5 in is the clearance figure that fits the most beds, and because SnapSafe pairs 14-gauge steel with both anchor holes and a cable, under a lifetime defect warranty (SnapSafe). The Fast Box 47 is second: the only pick that takes a long gun, with three independent ways in. The 75401 is third on capacity, held back by needing 6 in of clearance and a 40 in clear run. The GunVault MV500 is fourth on steel and first on price, and is only secure when its cable is round something structural (GunVault).
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-26 for SnapSafe, SecureIt and GunVault and found no recall covering these models.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest under-bed safe overall
SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402)
5 in tall, 14-gauge steel, a slide-out drawer, a keypad with 3-8 digit codes and key backup, pre-drilled anchor holes and a 5 ft cable. Fits the most bed frames.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge heavy-duty steel with a pry-resistant door design |
| Lock | Digital lock, programmable with a 3 to 8 digit access code |
| Backup entry | Key backup supplied |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes for permanent installation, plus a "robust 5-foot cable [that] provides added security when anchored to a stationary object" |
| Capacity | Slide-out drawer; maker does not publish an interior volume |
| Exterior dimensions | 5 x 26 x 20 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 51 lb |
| Warranty | Warranted against material defects and workmanship for the life of the product |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SnapSafe (Hornady) under-bed safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Published 14-gauge steel, which most under-bed boxes never state
- Slide-out drawer means you reach the far end without crawling under the bed
- Keypad with a key backup, and a 3-8 digit code rather than a fixed 4
- Lifetime warranty against defects, plus a 5 ft anchor cable in the box
Where it falls short
- 5 in tall: it takes handguns, magazines and documents, not a rifle with an optic
- 51 lb unanchored is a two-person carry-off
- No burglary or fire rating, and no published interior volume
Skip this if…
…your bed frame has less than about 5.5 inches of clearance, or you need to store long guns
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Medium (75402)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for a long gun under the bed
SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
6.5 in tall, 14-gauge welded steel, and it takes one long gun up to 46.5 in horizontally. Keypad, fingerprint reader and key override, with holes to bolt it down.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14 gauge welded steel |
| Lock | HSFA lock with a backlit 4-digit push-button keypad and a capacitive fingerprint scanner |
| Backup entry | Manual key override (2 override keys); USB-C power port (battery and USB-C cord not included) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included hardware; mounts horizontally or vertically |
| Capacity | One long gun up to 46.5 in stored horizontally, or two firearms with optics (such as an AR-15 and a shotgun) stored vertically |
| Exterior dimensions | 47 x 13 x 6.5 in |
| Weight | 47 lb in the maker's spec table (the description says 50 lb) |
| Warranty | Lifetime against defects in material and workmanship; electronic locks 2 years |
| Locking bolts | 3-point locking system; full-length piano-hinge door |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SecureIt gun safes or cabinets in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 8.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- 14-gauge welded steel with a 3-point lock and full-length piano hinge in a 6.5 in deep profile
- Keypad, fingerprint and a manual key override, with USB-C power as a fallback
- Mounting hardware included; fits under a bed, in a closet or on a wall
- Takes optic-equipped rifles when mounted vertically
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating
- Holds only one or two long guns
- Battery and USB-C cord are not included, and the page lists two weights (47 lb and 50 lb)
Skip this if…
…you need to store more than two long guns or want protection from fire
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Fast Box Model 47
Rank 3
Stock photoBest large under-bed safe
SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Large (75401)
6 in tall and 40 in wide at 105 lb. More room, more weight, and the same 14-gauge steel, keypad and lifetime defect warranty as the medium.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None stated by the maker |
| Fire rating | None stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge heavy-duty steel with a pry-resistant door design |
| Lock | Digital lock, programmable with a 3 to 8 digit access code |
| Backup entry | Key backup supplied |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes for permanent installation, plus the 5 ft anchoring cable supplied with the range |
| Capacity | Slide-out drawer; maker does not publish an interior volume |
| Exterior dimensions | 6 x 40 x 22 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 105 lb |
| Warranty | Warranted against material defects and workmanship for the life of the product |
| Recall check | Sep 26, 2026: No CPSC recall found for SnapSafe (Hornady) under-bed safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- 40 in wide and 6 in deep: takes a broken-down long gun, or several handguns and gear
- 105 lb is heavy enough that one person cannot casually walk off with it
- Same 14-gauge steel, keypad, key backup and lifetime defect warranty as the medium
Where it falls short
- Needs 6.5 in of bed clearance and a 40 in run of clear floor
- Still no burglary or fire rating
- 105 lb makes it awkward to position alone on carpet
Skip this if…
…your bed sits low, or you would rather anchor a vertical cabinet in a closet
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe Under Bed Safe Large (75401)
Rank 4
Stock photoSmallest option, one handgun
GunVault MicroVault MV500
A MicroVault-sized box for a single handgun, cabled to the bed frame. Cheapest way to get a firearm out of a nightstand drawer, with the least steel here.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
What to look for in an under-bed gun safe
- Height, against your measured clearance. Allow at least half an inch of margin. Carpet compresses, frames sag, and a box that scrapes will not be used.
- A published steel gauge. 14 gauge on three of the four here. A box with no published figure is usually thinner than the photo suggests.
- A slide-out drawer, not just a lid. A lid under a bed means reaching blind into the far corner. A drawer brings the contents to you.
- Anchor holes and a cable, and a plan to use one. Bolts into the floor or the bed frame beat a cable; a cable beats nothing.
- Backup entry. All three keypad models here supply keys. Keep them where you can reach them and a child cannot.
- Code length. SnapSafe allows 3 to 8 digits. Use the long end: a 3-digit code on a box a child can experiment with for hours is not a lock.
How to anchor one properly
- Best: through the floor. Lag bolts through the pre-drilled holes into joists. Fix the box where the drawer still has its full travel.
- Good: to the bed frame. Bolt through a steel frame rail. A timber slat is not an anchor point.
- Acceptable: the supplied cable, round something structural. A radiator pipe, a frame leg bolted to the frame, or an eye bolt into a joist. Not a bedside table.
- Not acceptable: sitting loose on carpet because the room is carpeted and you did not want to drill.
If you are unsure about fixings, our guide to bolting down a safe covers anchors for timber and concrete, and works for a 51 lb drawer as well as a 500 lb safe.
Reaching it at 3 a.m.
An under-bed safe is a strong option for defensive storage precisely because it is within arm's reach of where you sleep, and a poor one if you have to get up, walk round and lie on the floor to open it. Test it properly before you rely on it:
- In the dark, from the bed, with your non-dominant hand.
- With the room as it actually is, bedding hanging down and shoes where shoes end up.
- After a fresh battery change, and again several months later.
- With the backup key, once, so you know exactly where it is and how it works.
If the honest answer is that the nightstand is faster, read our bedside safe picks and how to store a handgun for home defence before choosing on hiding place alone.
Under-bed storage and children
When the bed is the wrong place
- Platform or storage beds: no clearance, no product. Mount the Fast Box 47 vertically in a closet instead.
- More than two long guns: the under-bed format runs out fast. See our cabinet picks or long-gun safes.
- Fire is part of the risk: nothing in this format is fire rated. Put documents in a rated chest.
- You rent and cannot drill: use the cable, and prefer a heavier box. The 105 lb 75401 is harder to walk off with than the 51 lb 75402.
Common mistakes with under-bed safes
- Buying before measuring the lowest point of the frame, including the centre rail.
- Leaving it unanchored on carpet because it feels heavy enough.
- Using a 3-digit code on a box in a room children can be alone in.
- Taping the backup key to the underside of the safe.
- Assuming under the bed counts as hidden from the people who live in the house.
- Expecting a fire rating from a 5 in steel drawer.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Maker specs, clearance figures and CPSC recall searches checked 2026-09-26.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much clearance do you need for an under-bed gun safe?
Are under-bed gun safes secure?
Can you store a rifle in an under-bed safe?
Should an under-bed safe be bolted down?
Is an under-bed safe a good idea with children in the house?
Are under-bed gun safes fireproof?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best hidden gun safesIn-wall, in-floor and under-bed concealment, ranked together.
- Best bedside gun safesThe nightstand alternative, judged on access speed.
- Best gun cabinetsWhen the under-bed format runs out of room.
- How to bolt down a gun safeAnchoring a 51 lb drawer uses the same fixings as a 500 lb safe.
- How to store guns safely with kidsWhy under the bed is not hidden from the people who live there.
- Best gun safes under $500Where most under-bed safes sit on price.
Receipts
Sources
- SnapSafe (Hornady) — Under Bed Safe product page (75401, 75402)
- SnapSafe (Hornady) — Specialty Safes category page (size and weight table)
- SecureIt Gun Storage — Fast Box Model 47 product page
- GunVault — MicroVault MV500 product page
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.