Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · Head to head
Vaultek vs StopBox: electronics and a listing against a latch with no batteries
These two brands are shopped against each other constantly and they are not really competing. One sells electronic access with a roster listing behind it. The other sells a mechanical latch and says in writing that it is not a safe.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side

Choose Vaultek for unattended storage
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Access box7.3 /10Biometric plus a 5-digit keypad, manual keys usable at any time, and a California DOJ roster listing as the V20i Essential Series. Batteries last about a year, with a low-battery warning.
$259.99Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i

Choose the LifePod for travel
Vaultek LifePod 10
Access box6.3 /102 lb 3 oz, a keypad, two manual keys and a micro-USB port that powers the lock if the 9V battery dies. Polymer, water resistant and on the CA DOJ roster.
$119.99Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 10
- StopBoxNo image
Choose StopBox for short-term retention
StopBox Pro
Access box4.6 /10No electronics at all: a finger-combination latch with 81 possible combinations. StopBox states the product is not a safe and should not be left unattended, and we found no CA DOJ roster listing.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro

These two names come up together because they solve the same surface problem — keep a handgun out of reach, reachable fast — with opposite philosophies. Vaultek builds electronic access boxes with keypads, fingerprint readers, rechargeable or replaceable batteries and manual key overrides. StopBox builds a single mechanical device with no electronics at all, and is unusually candid about where it stops.
We do not test either. Everything below comes from the makers' own pages and support documents, the California DOJ roster of certified firearm safety devices and the CPSC recall database, each linked where it is used and checked 2026-10-10.
The verdict
The specifications, side by side
Note what is missing from all three rows: a burglary rating. Neither brand claims a UL Residential Security Container listing, which is the entry-level independent burglary standard explained in our UL RSC explainer. These are access boxes. The comparison is about access control, not burglary resistance, and a buyer who needs the latter should be reading best handgun safes or bolting a container down.
The lock is the whole argument
StopBox's own product page describes a patented mechanical finger combination with 81 possible combinations and no batteries or electronics. Eighty-one is the number to sit with. It is more than enough to stop a small child pressing buttons at random, and it is not a meaningful obstacle to an adult with time and curiosity. That is why the maker's framing — not a safe, do not leave unattended — is the correct framing, and we repeat it rather than talking around it.
Vaultek's 20 Series takes the other road: a fingerprint reader storing up to 20 prints on the Essential model, a 5-digit keypad, and manual keys usable at any time. More ways in means more ways to fail, which is the standing objection to electronic boxes — and the reason we rate the published backup path so heavily. Our biometric vs keypad vs RFID comparison covers the three access technologies, and are biometric gun safes reliable covers the recall history behind our caution.
Batteries and backup entry
This is where Vaultek is more careful than most of the category. The V20i runs on three AAA alkaline cells for about a year under normal use, warns you by blinking the "1" key red with rapid beeps, and accepts its manual keys at any time; if the keys are lost and the battery is dead, the safe can be plugged in. The LifePod 10 uses a 9V battery and adds a micro-USB port that powers the lock directly. Two independent routes in, both documented.
StopBox has no battery to fail, which is a genuine advantage and the main reason anyone buys one. The trade is that the only thing between a determined hand and the firearm is the latch itself. If being locked out is your main worry, read how to open a gun safe with a dead battery before you decide electronics are the risk.
What a California DOJ roster listing proves
We search the California DOJ roster of certified firearm safety devices for every product we recommend. Vaultek's V20i appears as the "V20i Essential Series" and the LifePod 10 as "LifePod VLP10-BK." Our search for StopBox returned no devices.
Be precise about what that means. A roster listing is a child-access and lock-integrity certification under California law, not a burglary rating and not a fire rating — see CA DOJ approved gun safes. But it is one of very few independent checks available in this product class, so its absence is worth knowing, especially in a household with children.
Neither is fire rated, and Vaultek says so
Vaultek's FAQ states that its safes "are not fire rated." StopBox states no fire rating either. That is normal for quick-access boxes and it is worth saying out loud, because buyers routinely assume a steel or composite box offers some fire protection. If documents or ammunition are sharing the storage, you need a rated container; our fire ratings explainer covers what a real rating looks like.
The recall record, stated plainly
We run a dated CPSC search per brand, shown on each product card. For StopBox, the CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks on 4 September 2025. The StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall, and we are not going to imply otherwise. For Vaultek, our search found no recall affecting the models here.
Category context matters more than either record: the CPSC has recalled several brands of biometric gun safe for opening without authorisation, and in 2025 it urged consumers to stop using the biometric feature on one brand entirely. That is why we treat a fingerprint reader as a convenience layered on top of a keypad and a key, never as the primary lock.
Which one is for you
- Children in the house and the box stays closed all day: Vaultek V20i. Keypad, manual key, roster listing, mounting holes and a cable.
- You fly, hike, boat or drive long distances with a handgun: Vaultek LifePod 10, for the weight, the water resistance and the USB backup power.
- You want a battery-free device for use while you are present: StopBox Pro, within the maker's own limits.
- You want burglary resistance: neither. Bolt down a rated container and read our bedside gun safe roundup.
Read next
Vaultek also gets compared with the other end of the market:
- Vaultek vs SecureIt — electronics-first pistol boxes against welded steel that assembles in place.
- best gun safes for homes with kids — why a mechanical lock leads when children are in the house.
In detail
The contenders, in full

Choose Vaultek for unattended storage
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Biometric plus a 5-digit keypad, manual keys usable at any time, and a California DOJ roster listing as the V20i Essential Series. Batteries last about a year, with a low-battery warning.
EvidenceResearched
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
- Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models
Where it falls short
- Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series
Skip this if…
…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i

Choose the LifePod for travel
Vaultek LifePod 10
2 lb 3 oz, a keypad, two manual keys and a micro-USB port that powers the lock if the 9V battery dies. Polymer, water resistant and on the CA DOJ roster.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Water rating | Maker says water resistant, airtight, dust proof and floats (no rating cited) |
| Body steel | No steel body: non-metal T3 polymer case |
| Lock | Backlit capacitive keypad, 4- to 8-digit code; single anti-impact latch |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys; micro-USB port powers the lock if the 9V battery dies |
| Bolt-down | 48 in steel security cable included; no bolt-down holes listed |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'LifePod VLP10-BK' |
| Capacity | Handguns up to 7.75 in long, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Weight | 2 lb 3 oz |
| Power | 9V alkaline battery (not included), up to 1 year |
| Warranty | 2 years total: 1-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 5.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, two backup keys and a micro-USB port to power the lock if the battery dies
- Maker says it meets TSA guidelines for traveling with a handgun
- Listed on California's roster (black model VLP10-BK)
- Weather-sealed case with a keyway lockout that can be enabled from inside, per Vaultek
Where it falls short
- Polymer, not steel: it keeps out curious hands, not tools
- Fits handguns only up to 7.75 inches long
- Tethers with a cable; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you need to store a full-size pistol or want something sturdier than a portable, cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 10
Choose StopBox for short-term retention
StopBox Pro
No electronics at all: a finger-combination latch with 81 possible combinations. StopBox states the product is not a safe and should not be left unattended, and we found no CA DOJ roster listing.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: the maker states 'The StopBox is NOT a safe' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | No steel body: glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS, 'steel reinforced' per the maker |
| Lock | Patented mechanical finger combination, 81 possible combinations; no batteries or electronics |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical |
| CA DOJ | Not found on the CA DOJ firearm safety device roster (search for 'StopBox' returned no devices) |
| Exterior dimensions | Full-size: 11.5 x 8.5 x 2.25 in; Compact: 10 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Interior dimensions | Full-size: 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 in; Compact: 7.5 x 5.5 x 1.75 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks on September 4, 2025; the StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall. |
How the 4.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 2.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 3
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or electronics to fail
- Made in the USA (Spokane, Washington), per StopBox
- Offered in full-size and compact sizes
Where it falls short
- StopBox says it is NOT a safe and is not intended to be left unattended
- Polymer body, only 81 combinations, and no CA DOJ roster listing found
- No bolt-down hardware or security cable is described on the product page
Skip this if…
…you need unattended storage in a home with children; StopBox itself says the StopBox is not a safe.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is StopBox a real gun safe?
Is Vaultek better than StopBox?
Are Vaultek safes fire rated?
Has StopBox been recalled?
What happens if a Vaultek battery dies?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best portable gun safesWhere both brands sit against the rest of the travel category.
- Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD SafeThe other comparison Vaultek buyers run, on RFID against keypads.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?The recall record behind our caution on fingerprint readers.
- Best bedside gun safesWhat to buy if the box is left closed and unattended all day.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesWhat a roster listing proves, and what it does not.
Receipts
Sources
- Vaultek — Rugged Smart Safes (20 Series) product page, lock and capacity specifications (checked 2026-10-10)
- Vaultek — LifePod 10 product page, weight, backup keys and USB power (checked 2026-10-10)
- Vaultek — FAQ, including the statement that its safes are not fire rated (checked 2026-10-10)
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page, 81 combinations and the maker's 'not a safe' statement (checked 2026-10-10)
- CPSC — StopBox USA recalls AR-15 Chamber Lock Pros, 4 September 2025
- CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
- California DOJ — Roster of Certified Firearm Safety Devices, searched per product (checked 2026-10-10)
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.