Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
Best gun safes for a home with kids: rank them on the way they fail
In a house with children the dangerous failure is not a safe that will not open. It is a safe that opens when nobody meant it to. That is why the picks here lead with mechanical locks and bolt-down provision.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box A Simplex mechanical push-button lock with no batteries and no electronics, on a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate wrap-around door, four anchor holes and a CA DOJ roster listing. Nothing in it can discharge or misread. | Best for a home with kids overallAccess box | 8.8 /10 | $299.00Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215) RFID tags plus a keypad code and a mechanical key, in a bolt-down body. The tag on a wristband is the fastest adult-only access we know of that is not a fingerprint. | Best fast access with a mechanical fallbackAccess box | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) A genuine Simplex five-button lock with an internal lock cover, 16-gauge pry-resistant clamshell, pre-punched mounting holes and a CA DOJ roster listing. No batteries, no keys to be found by a child. | Best mechanical box for two handgunsAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() SecureIt Agile Model 52 115 lb, assembles in place, and takes six long guns up to 48.25 in behind a keypad with a fingerprint reader and two override keys. SecureIt states no burglary or fire rating: this is access control, done well. | Best for long guns in a family homeAccess box | 5.5 /10 | $999.00Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Vaultek MX Series Up to 8 handguns behind a biometric scanner, keypad and Nano Key, on a 12-gauge door with mounting hardware included. Read the biometric section below before you buy a fingerprint lock for a house with children. | Best for several handguns, with caveatsAccess box | 8.0 /10 | $649.99Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Most quick-access safe roundups rank on speed to first shot. In a house with children that is the second question. The first is whether the thing can be opened by someone it was not meant for, and the published record on that is uncomfortable reading for one popular lock technology.
We do not test safes. Every figure below is the maker's published specification, the California DOJ roster entry, or a CPSC notice, linked at the value it supports and checked 2026-10-17. This page is about product selection, not law; our storing guns safely with kids guide covers the practice and the child-access context.
Rank them on how they fail, not how fast they open
That is the whole reason the two Simplex-locked boxes lead this page over products with better specifications in every other respect. The American Academy of Pediatrics' guidance for families is unambiguous that firearms in a home with children should be stored locked and unloaded, separate from ammunition, and RAND's review of child-access prevention research is the evidence base behind that advice.
What the CPSC record shows about biometric safes
We are not against fingerprint locks, and one is on this list. But the public record has to be on the page, because it is specific and recent:
- In 2024 CPSC announced a recall of Sanctuary Quick Access and Sports Afield biometric gun safes over a serious injury hazard and risk of death, because the safes could be opened without the owner's fingerprint.
- In 2025 CPSC urged consumers to stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes after a severe injury was reported.
Those are two brands, not the whole technology, and every product on this page carries its own dated CPSC search on its card. The practical conclusion we draw is narrow: if you buy a biometric safe for a house with children, buy one from a maker with no such history, keep the firmware and batteries current, and test the safe against a non-enrolled finger and a closed-fist press before you trust it. Our are biometric gun safes reliable page goes through the evidence in detail.
How we ranked them
The rubric at how we rate, reweighted for this household:
- No false-accept path. Mechanical first, then a token or code with a mechanical backup, then biometrics.
- Anchorable, and shipped with the hardware. A 12 lb box on a nightstand is a box a child can take to their room.
- Listed on the California DOJ roster, where applicable. It is a device standard rather than a burglary rating, and it is the one consumer-level check for firearm safety devices; the DOJ's own FAQ explains what it covers.
- Adult access that works at 3am, because a safe people stop using is worse than a cheaper one they keep locked.
The published numbers
Read the Power column first. The Fort Knox and V-Line boxes have no entry at all, because there is nothing to power. The Vaultek MX is designed to be plugged in with battery backup, which is a reliability improvement over batteries alone and a new dependency in a power cut. The Hornady Night Guard sits in the middle: RFID and a keypad, with a mechanical key underneath.
Anchoring and placement matter more here than anywhere
A pistol box that is not secured is a portable problem. Children are curious, persistent and have time you do not know about. Three rules we would apply in any house with children:
- Bolt it to the structure, not to furniture. A nightstand drawer is not an anchor point. Every pick here publishes mounting holes or ships hardware.
- Mount it so the keypad or dial is not visible from the door. Children learn codes by watching, and a Simplex button pattern is as learnable as a PIN.
- Store keys and override keys outside the room. The override key on an electronic box is the single most common way a child gets into one.
For long guns, the SecureIt Agile Model 52 is the practical answer in a family home: 115 lb, assembles inside a closet rather than being carried in whole, and takes six long guns up to 48.25 inches. SecureIt is explicit that it carries no burglary or fire rating, so be clear what you are buying: access control. Our gun safe vs gun cabinet page draws that line in full.
The safe is one layer of three
The published safety advice is consistent and it is not about the box alone: stored locked, stored unloaded where the use case allows, and ammunition stored separately. The third item is the one most often skipped, and it is cheap: a sealed can on a different shelf. See best ammo storage and how to store ammo long term.
If a firearm is kept loaded for home defence, the quick-access box is doing the separation work instead, and the standard for it should be higher rather than lower. Our home-defence storage guide works through that trade honestly, including what it means for a household with teenagers.
What changes as children grow
- Toddlers and young children: the risk is discovery and unintentional discharge. Concealment plus a locked, anchored container is the answer, and a mechanical lock removes the electronics as a variable.
- School age: they can work a keypad and remember a code they watched you enter. Change the code, mount the box out of sight line, and move override keys.
- Teenagers: the risk profile changes to deliberate access and, in the published research, self-harm. This is where a roster-listed device, a code only adults know and separated ammunition stop being precautions and start being the point.
- Visiting children: the household you have to plan for is not only yours. Ask about storage before sleepovers; the AAP guidance covers how to raise it.
Common mistakes
- Buying a biometric safe without checking the brand's CPSC history. Two brands have public notices; search before you buy.
- Leaving the override key in or near the safe. It defeats every other decision on this page.
- Relying on hiding. Concealment is a useful layer and a terrible only layer.
- Choosing a box too small for the actual firearm. Published interiors are often under two inches deep; measure the widest point including any light or optic.
- Never testing the failure. Once a year, pull the batteries and open it the backup way, with nobody watching who should not learn how.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best for a home with kids overall
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
A Simplex mechanical push-button lock with no batteries and no electronics, on a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate wrap-around door, four anchor holes and a CA DOJ roster listing. Nothing in it can discharge or misread.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 2

Best fast access with a mechanical fallback
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
RFID tags plus a keypad code and a mechanical key, in a bolt-down body. The tag on a wristband is the fastest adult-only access we know of that is not a fingerprint.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty exterior housing' with hardened interior locking lugs; gauge not stated |
| Lock | RFID reader (four tags included) plus user-programmed keypad code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes plus an included 1,500-lb-rated security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98215- Rapid Night Guard' |
| Exterior dimensions | 12 x 10.5 x 3 in |
| Weight | 18 lb |
| Power | 12V AC adapter or four AAA batteries; a battery symbol by the clock turns red when batteries are weak |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, keypad code and mechanical key
- AC power with AAA battery backup, and the owner's manual documents a low-battery indicator
- On California's roster; Hornady states each RAPiD Safe meets CA DOJ criteria
- Pre-drilled holes and a 1,500-lb-rated cable
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published
- On battery power you must press a button to wake the reader before a tag will open it, per the manual
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want published steel thickness or a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Rank 3

Best mechanical box for two handguns
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
A genuine Simplex five-button lock with an internal lock cover, 16-gauge pry-resistant clamshell, pre-punched mounting holes and a CA DOJ roster listing. No batteries, no keys to be found by a child.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 4

Best for long guns in a family home
SecureIt Agile Model 52
115 lb, assembles in place, and takes six long guns up to 48.25 in behind a keypad with a fingerprint reader and two override keys. SecureIt states no burglary or fire rating: this is access control, done well.
EvidenceResearched
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 4
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, fingerprint and two override keys give three ways in, with a low-battery warning and USB-C backup power
- Maker publishes a realistic 6-long-gun capacity with a 48.25 in length limit
- Assembles in the room, so no stair-carry of a heavy welded box
- Pre-drilled holes on the bottom and sides for anchoring to floor or wall studs
Where it falls short
- Stops children and casual hands, not a burglar with tools: no burglary or fire rating, and no steel gauge published
- Mounting hardware is not included, and the maker warns an unanchored, empty cabinet can tip when the door opens
- The maker's page lists two different weights (105 lb and 115 lb)
Skip this if…
…you need protection from a burglar with tools or from fire; this is a child-access and quick-access cabinet
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to SecureIt Agile Model 52
Rank 5

Best for several handguns, with caveats
Vaultek MX Series
Up to 8 handguns behind a biometric scanner, keypad and Nano Key, on a 12-gauge door with mounting hardware included. Read the biometric section below before you buy a fingerprint lock for a house with children.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel (progressive formed) |
| Door steel | 12-gauge steel |
| Lock | Biometric scanner (80 fingerprints), 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, Nano Key included |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys included |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet) |
| Capacity | Up to 8 handguns, maker-stated (6 in pistol racks, 2 on the top shelf) |
| Exterior dimensions | 15 x 11.5 x 11.6 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 32 lb |
| Power | Plug-in power with 4 AAA backup batteries (not included); maker lists plug-in and backup batteries as required |
| Warranty | 3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Heavier steel than most quick-access safes publish: Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body and a 12-gauge door
- Four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, two manual keys), so a failed scan or a dead battery doesn't lock you out
- CA DOJ certification is stated on the maker's spec sheet
- Vaultek lists an impact-detection alarm, dual anti-impact latches and interior-mounted hinges
Where it falls short
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek treats the AAA batteries as backup power
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating (Vaultek says its safes are not fire rated)
- At 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf, not in a nightstand drawer
Skip this if…
…you want one handgun in a nightstand drawer or a safe that runs on batteries alone; the MX expects wall power and is nearly a foot tall.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
How to buy for a home with children
1. Decide whether the firearm is stored or ready
Stored means a cabinet or safe with separated ammunition. Ready means a quick-access box, and then the lock technology becomes the most important decision you make.
2. Prefer a lock that cannot say yes by accident
Mechanical push-button first. If you want speed beyond that, a token plus a keypad with a mechanical key underneath, as on the Hornady.
3. Check the California DOJ roster even outside California
It is the only consumer-facing device standard for firearm safety devices and it costs nothing to check.
4. Anchor it the day it arrives
Into framing or a stud, out of sight line, with override keys stored in a different room.
5. Rehearse both the open and the failure
Practise the opening in the dark, then once a year practise the backup method with the batteries out.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked on false-accept risk rather than access speed, with the 2024 and 2025 CPSC biometric notices stated in full.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best gun safe for a home with kids?
Are biometric gun safes safe around children?
Should a gun safe be bolted down in a family home?
Do I need a quick-access safe or a full gun safe with kids in the house?
Where should the safe go in a house with children?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- How to store guns safely with kidsThe practice, the published guidance and the child-access context.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?The recall record and what it means for a fingerprint lock.
- Best mechanical pistol safesEvery battery-free box in our registry, ranked.
- Best bedside gun safesThe same products ranked on access speed instead.
- Best ammo storageThe separate-ammunition layer, which is the cheapest one to add.
Receipts
Sources
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page: Simplex mechanical lock, 10-gauge body, anchor holes (checked 2026-10-17)
- Hornady Store — RAPiD Safe Night Guard: RFID, keypad and mechanical key (checked 2026-10-17)
- V-Line — Top Draw XD: Simplex lock, 16-gauge clamshell, mounting provision (checked 2026-10-17)
- SecureIt — Agile Model 52: assembles in place, true capacity, no burglary or fire rating stated (checked 2026-10-17)
- Vaultek — MX Series: biometric and keypad entry, power requirement, mounting hardware (checked 2026-10-17)
- CPSC (2024) — SA Consumer Products recalls Sanctuary Quick Access and Sports Afield biometric gun safes
- CPSC (2025) — consumers urged to stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes
- American Academy of Pediatrics (HealthyChildren.org) — handguns in the home: storage guidance for families
- RAND — research review on child-access prevention laws and firearm storage
- California DOJ — firearm safety device FAQ (what a roster listing covers)
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.