Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · Head to head
Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD Safe: which quick-access safe has the better evidence?
Vaultek leads with fingerprint readers and Hornady with RFID tags. Neither brand carries a UL burglary listing on these models, so the choice comes down to lock type, backup entry, published steel and how you will mount it.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoVaultek nightstand drawer
Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
Access box6.7 /10A nightstand drawer safe with fingerprint, keypad and key entry, a CA DOJ roster listing and app alerts for tampering, built from 18-gauge steel and designed to stay plugged in.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
Stock photoVaultek two-pistol box
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Access box7.3 /10A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Stock photoVaultek multi-handgun safe
Vaultek MX Series
Access box8.0 /10Vaultek's heaviest-built handgun safe on paper: a maker-stated 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door, fingerprint, keypad and key entry, and CA DOJ certification on the spec sheet, for owners who keep several handguns in a bedroom or closet.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
Stock photoHornady nightstand drawer
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Access box7.4 /10A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Stock photoHornady two-pistol box
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Access box8.0 /10Hornady's two-pistol RFID safe with a keypad and barrel-key backup, maker-stated 14-gauge steel, a battery-check LED and a CA DOJ roster listing.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Stock photoHornady drawer vault
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
Access box6.8 /10A battery-powered RFID and keypad vault with a key override, sized for two handguns in a drawer and listed on California's roster; its owner's manual describes no low-battery warning.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)

How we compared them
This is a spec-and-listing comparison. We have not handled, installed or tested any of these six safes. Every figure below comes from the maker's product page or owner's manual, or from California's Department of Justice roster, and each value in the tables links to its source.
We score quick-access safes on five things, weighted the same way on every page: how reliably the owner can get in (lock type, documented failure modes, a backup that works with a dead battery), construction and pry resistance, child-access standards, mounting, and support. The full rubric is on our how we rate page. None of the six carries a UL Residential Security Container listing, which is why all of them sit in the access-box tier. Our UL RSC explainer covers what that listing would add.
Vaultek and Hornady do not sell exact twins, so we paired models by job: a nightstand drawer, a two-pistol box, and the remaining model from each lineup.
The core difference: a fingerprint or an RFID tag
All three Vaultek models open with a fingerprint reader, a keypad code or a manual key. All three Hornady models open with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key. So both brands give you a code and a key as fallbacks. The real difference is the fast method you will reach for first.
Vaultek: the fingerprint reader
A fingerprint cannot be dropped in a drawer or picked up by a child, which is its main appeal. Its weakness is the read itself. Vaultek's own support page for the 10 and 20 Series warns that "excessive moisture, lotions, or dirt will affect your fingerprint and may cause inaccurate sensor reading," and it tells owners who struggle to enroll the same finger four or five times. After six wrong scans or codes in a row, the same page says, the safe enters a sleep mode and accepts nothing for four minutes, though an authorized method, including the backup key, clears it.
Hornady: the RFID tag
RFID skips the fingerprint read: you hold a programmed tag near the reader and the lid opens. Hornady's Night Guard product page claims its RFID "unlocks safes faster than keypads and biometrics." That is the maker's claim, not an independent timing test. The Night Guard owner's manual adds the practical limits: the wristband tag should be worn on the outside or bottom of the wrist and may need to come within about an inch of the reader, the reader "will likely not read through the wrist," and a sticker tag on a phone can lose range to the phone's metal and wireless signals.
The bigger point for a family is that a tag works like a key. Anyone holding it can open the safe. Hornady's manual says the safe "is only as secure as your maintenance of the keys, code and RFID tags" and tells owners to store the safe away from the keys and tags. For a longer look at how each lock type behaves with kids in the house, see our biometric vs keypad vs RFID comparison.
Nightstand drawer: Vaultek DS2i vs Hornady Night Guard
Both are low, drawer-style safes built to sit on or in a nightstand, and both are designed around wall power. The differences are in the details the makers publish.
- Steel: Vaultek publishes 18-gauge steel for the DS2i. Hornady does not publish a gauge for the Night Guard, only a "heavy duty exterior housing" with hardened locking lugs. Published beats unpublished, even when the published figure is light. Our steel gauge explainer shows what those numbers mean in inches.
- Power: the DS2i runs on its AC adapter, and Vaultek describes its two AAA batteries as short-term backup only. The Night Guard runs on AC or four AAA batteries, with a battery symbol that turns red when they are weak. On batteries, you press a button to wake the reader before a tag works.
- Mounting: the Night Guard has pre-drilled mounting holes and a 1,500-lb-rated cable in the box. The DS2i includes a security cable, but hard mounting needs a plate Vaultek sells separately.
- Extras and support: the DS2i sends app alerts for tampering and impacts, per Vaultek, and carries the longer warranty. The Night Guard has two USB-A charging ports, per Hornady.
Edge: Hornady Night Guard, for bolt-down holes out of the box and longer battery operation. Pick the DS2i if you want a fingerprint reader, tamper alerts on your phone, or published steel thickness.
Two pistols: Vaultek 20 Series V20i vs Hornady 4800KP
This is the closest head-to-head. Both are top-opening boxes for two handguns, both warn you before the batteries die, and both are on California's roster of firearm safety devices.
- Steel: Hornady publishes 14-gauge steel for the 4800KP. Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page gives a gauge only for the 30 Series, so the 20 Series figure is not published.
- Size: Hornady says the 4800KP holds two 1911 pistols or one large revolver. Vaultek sizes the V20i for two compact pistols.
- Power and warnings: the V20i runs on three AAA batteries for about a year, per Vaultek, and flags a low battery with a blinking red key and rapid beeps. If the keys are lost and the battery dies, it can be plugged in. The 4800KP runs on AC or four AA batteries, and its manual describes a battery-check light that flashes green, yellow or red.
- Child resistance: the 4800KP owner's manual states the product "has been tested and certified to conform to ASTM F2456, Youth Resistant Firearms Container." That is Hornady's statement; the manual does not name the lab. Vaultek publishes no comparable standard for the V20i.
Edge: Hornady 4800KP, on published steel and a stated youth-resistance standard. Pick the V20i if you want a fingerprint reader, a smaller box, or the longer warranty.
The rest of each lineup: Vaultek MX Series and Hornady Keypad Vault
These two are not direct rivals. The MX Series is a larger cube that Vaultek says holds up to eight handguns; the Keypad Vault is a two-handgun box sized for a drawer. We include both so every Vaultek and Hornady model in our registry is on the page.
The MX Series has the strongest paperwork of all six: a 14-gauge body, a 12-gauge door, four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key and two manual keys) and a CA DOJ certification statement on Vaultek's spec sheet. It expects wall power, with AAA batteries as backup. The Keypad Vault runs on four AA batteries alone, which Hornady says last about 12 months, and its manual describes no low-battery warning. That matters: a battery that dies without warning is exactly when you need the key.
Power, backups and the dead-battery question
Every model here has a mechanical key, so a dead battery should never mean a locked-out safe, as long as you can find the key. That is the whole job of the backup: it has to be somewhere you can reach and a child cannot.
- Warns before it dies: Vaultek V20i, Hornady Night Guard and Hornady 4800KP all document a low-battery signal.
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek DS2i and MX Series, with batteries as backup.
- No documented warning: Hornady Keypad Vault. Replace its batteries on a calendar.
If you are ever locked out with no working key, use the recovery steps in your owner's manual, then contact the manufacturer or a licensed locksmith. We do not publish ways around a safe's lock. For how electronic and mechanical locks compare over years of use, see our electronic vs mechanical locks explainer.
Kids, California and what the manuals warn
All six carry a California statement, and five appear by model on the state's roster of approved firearm safety devices. The MX Series carries a CA DOJ certification statement on Vaultek's spec sheet. California's firearm safety device FAQ explains that the roster covers locks and lock boxes, which is the category these safes fall into. A roster listing is a useful minimum for child resistance. It is not a burglary rating. Our CA DOJ approved gun safes guide explains the difference between the roster and the state's separate gun-safe standard.
Warranty and recall record
Vaultek lists a two-year manufacturer's warranty on its metal safes plus one more year when you register. Hornady lists a one-year limited warranty in each RAPiD Safe manual we checked. On support, Vaultek is ahead.
We searched CPSC recall notices for both brands on September 19, 2026 and found no recall of any Vaultek safe or Hornady RAPiD Safe. That contrast matters, because several other brands' fingerprint safes have been recalled for opening to unenrolled fingers. Our guide to whether biometric gun safes are reliable lists those recalls.
Who should buy which
- Several handguns in a bedroom closet or on a dresser: Vaultek MX Series. Heaviest published steel here, four entry methods, and room for up to eight handguns, per Vaultek.
- Two pistols, and you want published steel: Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP.
- Two compact pistols, and you want a fingerprint reader: Vaultek V20i.
- A nightstand drawer you can bolt down on day one: Hornady Night Guard.
- A nightstand drawer with phone alerts: Vaultek DS2i, with a mounting plate bought separately if you want it fixed in place.
- Skip for now: the Hornady Keypad Vault, unless you are comfortable changing batteries on a schedule with no low-battery warning to prompt you.
If you are still choosing between brands, our best bedside gun safes ranking puts these models next to mechanical, no-battery options.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoVaultek nightstand drawer
Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
A nightstand drawer safe with fingerprint, keypad and key entry, a CA DOJ roster listing and app alerts for tampering, built from 18-gauge steel and designed to stay plugged in.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 4.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and manual-key entry, with Wi-Fi app alerts for tampering, impacts and temperature or humidity changes, per Vaultek
- Goes into a security sleep mode after repeated wrong codes or unrecognized fingerprints
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Low-profile drawer sized for a nightstand, with a security cable included
Where it falls short
- Light steel for a handgun safe: Vaultek lists 18-gauge
- Designed to run on wall power; the two AAA batteries are short-term backup only
- Hard mounting needs a separately sold mounting plate
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that runs for months on batteries or has steel heavier than 18-gauge.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek ViSN Smart Station DS2i
Stock photoVaultek two-pistol box
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
A compact fingerprint safe with keypad and key backups, a documented low-battery warning and a CA DOJ roster listing; the gap is that Vaultek's current page doesn't publish the 20 Series' steel gauge.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
- Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models
Where it falls short
- Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series
Skip this if…
…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Stock photoVaultek multi-handgun safe
Vaultek MX Series
Vaultek's heaviest-built handgun safe on paper: a maker-stated 14-gauge body and 12-gauge door, fingerprint, keypad and key entry, and CA DOJ certification on the spec sheet, for owners who keep several handguns in a bedroom or closet.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel (progressive formed) |
| Door steel | 12-gauge steel |
| Lock | Biometric scanner (80 fingerprints), 8-digit Smart Sense keypad, Nano Key included |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys included |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled holes and included mounting hardware |
| CA DOJ | California DOJ Certified: Yes (maker spec sheet) |
| Capacity | Up to 8 handguns, maker-stated (6 in pistol racks, 2 on the top shelf) |
| Exterior dimensions | 15 x 11.5 x 11.6 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 32 lb |
| Power | Plug-in power with 4 AAA backup batteries (not included); maker lists plug-in and backup batteries as required |
| Warranty | 3 years total on metal safes: 2-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Heavier steel than most quick-access safes publish: Vaultek lists a 14-gauge body and a 12-gauge door
- Four ways in (fingerprint, keypad, Nano Key, two manual keys), so a failed scan or a dead battery doesn't lock you out
- CA DOJ certification is stated on the maker's spec sheet
- Vaultek lists an impact-detection alarm, dual anti-impact latches and interior-mounted hinges
Where it falls short
- Built to stay plugged in: Vaultek treats the AAA batteries as backup power
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating (Vaultek says its safes are not fire rated)
- At 32 lb and 11.6 inches tall it belongs on a dresser or closet shelf, not in a nightstand drawer
Skip this if…
…you want one handgun in a nightstand drawer or a safe that runs on batteries alone; the MX expects wall power and is nearly a foot tall.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek MX Series
Stock photoHornady nightstand drawer
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
A nightstand drawer safe that opens with an RFID tag, a keypad code or a key, runs on AC or AAA batteries with a documented low-battery indicator, and is on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty exterior housing' with hardened interior locking lugs; gauge not stated |
| Lock | RFID reader (four tags included) plus user-programmed keypad code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes plus an included 1,500-lb-rated security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98215- Rapid Night Guard' |
| Exterior dimensions | 12 x 10.5 x 3 in |
| Weight | 18 lb |
| Power | 12V AC adapter or four AAA batteries; a battery symbol by the clock turns red when batteries are weak |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, keypad code and mechanical key
- AC power with AAA battery backup, and the owner's manual documents a low-battery indicator
- On California's roster; Hornady states each RAPiD Safe meets CA DOJ criteria
- Pre-drilled holes and a 1,500-lb-rated cable
Where it falls short
- Steel gauge is not published
- On battery power you must press a button to wake the reader before a tag will open it, per the manual
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want published steel thickness or a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard (98215)
Stock photoHornady two-pistol box
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Hornady's two-pistol RFID safe with a keypad and barrel-key backup, maker-stated 14-gauge steel, a battery-check LED and a CA DOJ roster listing.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Stock photoHornady drawer vault
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
A battery-powered RFID and keypad vault with a key override, sized for two handguns in a drawer and listed on California's roster; its owner's manual describes no low-battery warning.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 'Heavy duty tamper-proof steel' per the maker; gauge not stated |
| Lock | Patented RFID reader plus access code |
| Backup entry | Mechanical key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled for permanent mounting |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '97436' |
| Capacity | Two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 13.1 x 11.0 x 3.9 in |
| Weight | 13.7 lb |
| Power | Four AA batteries; Hornady says quality batteries last about 12 months |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6.5
What the evidence supports
- Three entry methods: RFID tag, code and mechanical key
- Pre-drilled for permanent mounting and sized for a drawer, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- Runs on four AA batteries only, and the owner's manual describes no low-battery warning
- Steel gauge is not published
- One-year warranty
Skip this if…
…you want a safe that warns you before its batteries run down; Hornady's manual for this model doesn't describe a low-battery alert.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault (97436)
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is Vaultek or Hornady better?
Are Hornady RAPiD Safes California DOJ approved?
What happens if a Vaultek or Hornady safe's battery dies?
Is an RFID gun safe safer than a biometric one?
Can you bolt down a Vaultek or Hornady safe?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Best biometric gun safesFingerprint safes ranked on their backup entry.
- Best bedside gun safesQuick access at night without giving kids access.
- Biometric vs keypad vs RFIDWhich lock fits your hands, household and habits.
- Best handgun safesEvery lock type, ranked on access reliability and construction.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesWhat the roster and the state standard actually cover.
Receipts
Sources
- Vaultek: 10/20 Series Essential support page (fingerprint tips, sleep mode, battery warning)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe Night Guard product page (RFID claim, California statement)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe Night Guard owner's manual (tag placement, storage warnings)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe 4800KP owner's manual (ASTM F2456 statement, battery-check light)
- California DOJ: Firearm Safety Device FAQs
- California DOJ: Roster of Firearm Safety Devices Certified for Sale
- CPSC: Recalls and product safety warnings (searched September 19, 2026)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.