Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
Best portable gun safes: the cable and the lock matter more than the steel
A portable safe is a box you can carry, which means a thief can carry it too. What separates these products is how they attach to something immovable, and whether the lock works after a year in a glovebox.
By Mike M.Updated Researched
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GunVault MicroVault MV500 16-gauge steel, a No-Eyes keypad you can work by feel in the dark, a high-security manual key, and GunVault's listing on the California DOJ roster for firearms up to 10.5 inches. | Best portable safe overallAccess box | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) A plain steel barrel key, 16-gauge steel and a 4-foot cable Hornady rates to 1,500 lb. Nothing to charge, nothing to program, and it fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers. | Best for travel with no batteriesAccess box | 6.5 /10 | $40.95Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Vaultek LifePod 20 3.3 lb for firearms up to 9.25 inches, with a 48-inch cable, straps, and a micro-USB port that powers the lock if the 9V battery dies. Polymer, not steel. | Best larger carry caseAccess box | 6.4 /10 | $169.99Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Vaultek LifePod 10 2 lb 3 oz for handguns up to 7.75 inches. Vaultek says it is water resistant, airtight and floats, which is a real feature on a boat and irrelevant in a hotel. | Lightest hard case hereAccess box | 6.3 /10 | $119.99Amazon |
| 5 | StopBox Pro A finger-combination latch with no electronics and 81 possible combinations. StopBox states plainly that it is not a safe, and we could not find it on the California DOJ roster. | Best fully mechanical optionAccess box | 4.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked October 19, 2026. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

"Portable gun safe" covers three different jobs that people search for with the same words: flying with a handgun, locking one in a vehicle, and keeping one secure in a hotel, a rental or a dorm. The products overlap, but the ranking criteria do not. A box that is perfect in a truck console can be the wrong choice at an airline counter, and the lightest case on the page is the easiest to walk off with.
So this page ranks on three published things: how the box attaches to something that is not going anywhere, what the lock is and what happens when it fails, and whether the maker has put the product in front of anyone else. Every figure is the maker's own, linked where it is used and checked 2026-10-10.
What portable has to mean
How we ranked them
The access-box rubric at how we rate weights access reliability 30 percent, construction and pry resistance 25, child-access standards 20, mounting 15 and support 10. For this page we broke ties on two things: a published cable rating, and a backup entry route that works when the battery is flat. A dated CPSC recall search sits on every product card, which matters in this category: biometric handgun boxes have seen repeated recalls for opening without authorisation, and none of our picks relies on a fingerprint reader.
The picks compared
Two of the five have a steel body: the MV500 and the Lock Box XL, both 16 gauge. The two LifePod cases are polymer by design, which is what makes them light and water resistant, and the StopBox Pro is a glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS shell the maker describes as steel reinforced.
Flying with a handgun: the rule that decides your choice
If air travel is the reason you are shopping, the specification is not ours, it is the TSA's. Its published rules for transporting firearms and ammunition state that firearms "must be unloaded and locked in a hard-sided container and transported as checked baggage only," that you must "declare the firearm and/or ammunition to the airline when checking your bag at the ticket counter," and that "only the passenger should retain the key or combination to the lock unless TSA personnel request the key to open the firearm container." Ammunition must be packaged in a fiber, wood, plastic or metal box designed to carry ammunition.
Three practical consequences for this page:
- A hard-sided, lockable box is the requirement. The steel picks here are the safest reading of that; airlines also apply their own rules, so check with the carrier.
- You keep the key. That makes a simple keyed lock, like the Hornady's barrel key, easier to live with than anything that needs a battery or a code you might forget at 5am.
- Ammunition travels separately, in a box made for it. Our ammo storage page covers compliant containers.
Interstate travel by road is governed separately; 18 U.S.C. §926A covers lawful transport of an unloaded firearm not readily accessible from the passenger compartment, and our how to store a gun in your car guide goes through it. None of this is legal advice, and state and local law varies.
Cars, trucks and hotel rooms
In a vehicle, the cable is everything: a box cabled to a seat frame is a different proposition from a box in a glovebox. Hornady's 1,500-lb cable rating is the only published figure of its kind among our picks, which is why the Lock Box XL ranks where it does despite having the plainest lock. For a permanent vehicle install, a model-specific console or under-seat box bolted to OEM hardware is stronger still; see best car gun safes and best truck gun safes.
In a hotel, there is usually nothing structural to cable to in the room itself. The realistic approach is a locked hard case inside locked luggage, kept out of sight. That is two delays and a concealment, which is the same logic we apply to dorm rooms.
Which lock survives a year in a glovebox
Portable boxes live in harsher conditions than bedside safes: heat, cold, vibration, and long periods unopened. That favors mechanical locks and simple keys, and it is why neither of our top two depends on electronics. The LifePods both publish a useful mitigation — a micro-USB port that powers the lock if the 9V battery is dead — which is a better answer than most keypads give. StopBox goes furthest by having no electronics at all, at the cost of 81 possible combinations, which is a child-and-visitor barrier rather than a security one.
Our electronic vs mechanical locks comparison covers the failure modes, and best mechanical pistol safes lists the no-battery options for a bedside box.
The California DOJ roster check
We search the California DOJ roster of certified firearm safety devices for every product we recommend, because it is the one independent list most of these boxes can appear on. Three of our five picks are on it: the MV500, the Lock Box XL and both LifePods. StopBox returned no devices in our search. A roster listing is a child-access and lock standard, not a burglary rating — our CA DOJ approved gun safes page explains what it does and does not prove.
Common mistakes
- Buying a biometric travel box. Fingerprint readers in this category have a poor recall record and the worst failure mode: opening for someone who is not you.
- Leaving the cable in the box. An uncabled portable safe is a carrying handle for a thief.
- Assuming any lock satisfies an airline. The TSA rule says hard-sided, locked, declared, and you keep the key. Check the carrier's own policy too.
- Storing ammunition in the same box without checking the rules. Ammunition has its own packaging requirement in checked baggage.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Best portable safe overall
GunVault MicroVault MV500
16-gauge steel, a No-Eyes keypad you can work by feel in the dark, a high-security manual key, and GunVault's listing on the California DOJ roster for firearms up to 10.5 inches.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
Rank 2

Best for travel with no batteries
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A plain steel barrel key, 16-gauge steel and a 4-foot cable Hornady rates to 1,500 lb. Nothing to charge, nothing to program, and it fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Rank 3

Best larger carry case
Vaultek LifePod 20
3.3 lb for firearms up to 9.25 inches, with a 48-inch cable, straps, and a micro-USB port that powers the lock if the 9V battery dies. Polymer, not steel.
EvidenceResearched
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Fits full-size handguns up to 9.25 inches long
- Keypad plus two backup keys and a micro-USB emergency power port
- Weather-sealed and floats, and Vaultek says it meets TSA guidelines
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- Not a steel box: Vaultek lists a proprietary material blend
- Battery-powered keypad, and Vaultek publishes no operating temperature range for a hot or cold car
- Cable tether only; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you want a steel safe fixed to the vehicle; the LifePod is a cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 20
Rank 4

Lightest hard case here
Vaultek LifePod 10
2 lb 3 oz for handguns up to 7.75 inches. Vaultek says it is water resistant, airtight and floats, which is a real feature on a boat and irrelevant in a hotel.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | None: Vaultek's FAQ says its safes 'are not fire rated' |
| Water rating | Maker says water resistant, airtight, dust proof and floats (no rating cited) |
| Body steel | No steel body: non-metal T3 polymer case |
| Lock | Backlit capacitive keypad, 4- to 8-digit code; single anti-impact latch |
| Backup entry | Two manual keys; micro-USB port powers the lock if the 9V battery dies |
| Bolt-down | 48 in steel security cable included; no bolt-down holes listed |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'LifePod VLP10-BK' |
| Capacity | Handguns up to 7.75 in long, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Weight | 2 lb 3 oz |
| Power | 9V alkaline battery (not included), up to 1 year |
| Warranty | 2 years total: 1-year manufacturer's warranty plus 1 year on registration |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Vaultek safes or LifePod cases in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 5.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Keypad, two backup keys and a micro-USB port to power the lock if the battery dies
- Maker says it meets TSA guidelines for traveling with a handgun
- Listed on California's roster (black model VLP10-BK)
- Weather-sealed case with a keyway lockout that can be enabled from inside, per Vaultek
Where it falls short
- Polymer, not steel: it keeps out curious hands, not tools
- Fits handguns only up to 7.75 inches long
- Tethers with a cable; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you need to store a full-size pistol or want something sturdier than a portable, cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 10
Rank 5
Best fully mechanical option
StopBox Pro
A finger-combination latch with no electronics and 81 possible combinations. StopBox states plainly that it is not a safe, and we could not find it on the California DOJ roster.
EvidenceResearched
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: the maker states 'The StopBox is NOT a safe' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | No steel body: glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS, 'steel reinforced' per the maker |
| Lock | Patented mechanical finger combination, 81 possible combinations; no batteries or electronics |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical |
| CA DOJ | Not found on the CA DOJ firearm safety device roster (search for 'StopBox' returned no devices) |
| Exterior dimensions | Full-size: 11.5 x 8.5 x 2.25 in; Compact: 10 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Interior dimensions | Full-size: 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 in; Compact: 7.5 x 5.5 x 1.75 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks on September 4, 2025; the StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall. |
How the 4.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 2.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 3
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or electronics to fail
- Made in the USA (Spokane, Washington), per StopBox
- Offered in full-size and compact sizes
Where it falls short
- StopBox says it is NOT a safe and is not intended to be left unattended
- Polymer body, only 81 combinations, and no CA DOJ roster listing found
- No bolt-down hardware or security cable is described on the product page
Skip this if…
…you need unattended storage in a home with children; StopBox itself says the StopBox is not a safe.
#ad · Price as of October 19, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro
How to buy a portable gun safe
1. Name the job
Air travel, vehicle or temporary accommodation. Air travel pushes you to steel and a key; a vehicle pushes you to a rated cable or a model-specific bolted box; accommodation pushes you to something you can hide.
2. Match the box to the firearm's published length
The makers publish this: up to 7.75 inches for the LifePod 10, up to 9.25 inches for the LifePod 20, 1911-size and 4-inch revolvers for the Hornady, and up to 10.5 inches on the MV500's roster listing. Measure before you order.
3. Choose the lock for the environment
Heat, cold and twelve unopened months favor a key or a mechanical latch. If you want a keypad, insist on a published backup route: an override key or a USB power port.
4. Plan the attachment
Decide now what the cable goes around, or where the mounting holes get used. A portable safe with no plan for attachment is a locked box, not a secured one.
5. Keep the paperwork and check local law
Rules change by state, by city and by carrier. Read the TSA page, read your airline's policy, and check the law for every state you will drive through.
How we scored this
Every pick, checked against the paperwork
Here is exactly what goes into a score: whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, the owner's manual, a dated CPSC recall search, and a public rubric applied the same way to every safe. Every figure links to where it came from, so you can confirm the pick in a couple of clicks and buy with confidence.
Scores are our editorial judgment of that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Ranked on published cable ratings, lock type and backup entry, with the TSA checked-baggage rule quoted as the constraint for air travel and the California DOJ roster searched per product.
Questions
Frequently asked
What kind of gun case does the TSA require?
Are portable gun safes actually secure?
Should a travel gun safe be steel or polymer?
Can you keep a portable gun safe in a car?
Do portable gun safes need batteries?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Vaultek vs StopBoxTwo of these picks head to head, including what each maker claims.
- Best car gun safesPermanent vehicle installs that bolt to factory hardware.
- How to store a gun in your carThe legal and practical side of vehicle carry storage.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo-battery boxes for a bedside or a desk.
- Best safes for a dorm roomThe same cable-and-conceal approach for valuables away from home.
Receipts
Sources
- TSA — Transporting Firearms and Ammunition: checked-baggage rules and ammunition packaging (checked 2026-10-10)
- 18 U.S.C. §926A — interstate transportation of firearms (Cornell LII)
- California DOJ — Roster of Certified Firearm Safety Devices, searched per product (checked 2026-10-10)
- GunVault — MicroVault MV500 product page (checked 2026-10-10)
- Hornady Security — Lock Box XL product page, cable rating and capacity (checked 2026-10-10)
- Vaultek — LifePod 10 product page (checked 2026-10-10)
- Vaultek — LifePod 20 product page (checked 2026-10-10)
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page, including the maker's statement that it is not a safe (checked 2026-10-10)
- CPSC — recall database searched per brand on this page
Every figure above is traceable. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from dated CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices come live from Amazon so the number you see is the number you pay. Read the full method.