Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · Head to head
Biometric vs keypad vs RFID gun safes: which lock fits your household?
Every quick-access lock trades something. A fingerprint cannot be lost but can fail to read, a tag is quick but can be borrowed, a code has to be remembered under stress, and a mechanical lock never needs a battery.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoBiometric pick
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Access box7.3 /10Fingerprint entry with a keypad and manual keys behind it, a documented low-battery warning and a plug-in fallback, all published by Vaultek.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Stock photoKeypad pick
GunVault MicroVault MV500
Access box7.2 /10A touch-operated No-Eyes keypad GunVault designed for low or no light, a high-security backup key and 16-gauge steel.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
Stock photoRFID pick
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Access box8.0 /10RFID tags plus a 4- to 6-digit keypad and barrel keys, 14-gauge steel and a battery-check light documented in the manual.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Stock photoMechanical pick
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Access box8.8 /10A Simplex push-button lock with no batteries or electronics, a 10-gauge body and a limited lifetime warranty.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box

How we compared the locks
We compared one safe for each lock type, all pistol-box sized and all from our registry, chosen because each maker documents its lock, its backup entry and its California roster listing. This is a spec-and-manual comparison: we have not handled or tested any of these four safes, and no one we cite has published an independent speed or failure-rate test of these models. What the makers do publish is useful, though: how each lock fails, what the backup is, and what happens after wrong entries.
We weight access reliability most heavily when we score quick-access safes, ahead of construction, child-access standards, mounting and support. The weights are on our how we rate page. All four safes here are access boxes: they keep children and unauthorized hands out, and none carries a UL burglary listing. For the longer-term question of how electronic and mechanical locks hold up in bigger safes, see our electronic vs mechanical locks explainer.
The four locks at a glance
| Lock type | Needs power? | Documented weak point | What a child could exploit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fingerprint | Yes | Misreads wet, dirty or lotioned fingers (Vaultek); some other brands' readers recalled for opening to unenrolled fingers (CPSC) | A faulty reader, or a backup key or code left within reach |
| Keypad | Yes | Dead batteries; lockout after repeated wrong codes | A code seen over your shoulder or guessed from a birthday |
| RFID | Yes | Tag held too far from the reader; interference; on battery power, a button press is needed first (Hornady) | A tag or wristband left in a drawer |
| Mechanical push-button | No | Fewer possible combinations than an electronic keypad | A code seen over your shoulder |
Fingerprint (biometric) locks
A fingerprint lock stores scans of your finger and opens when a new scan matches. The Vaultek V20i, for example, takes five registration scans per fingerprint and holds up to 20, with the first two acting as administrator prints, according to Vaultek's 10 and 20 Series support page. The same page tells owners to place the core of the print flat over the center of the scanner and warns that moisture, lotions or dirt can cause inaccurate readings.
The appeal is obvious: nothing to lose, nothing to remember, and a child cannot borrow your finger. The risk is that the reader itself has to be trustworthy. Since 2023 the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission has announced recalls of biometric gun safes from several brands because the lock could be opened by unauthorized users. The October 2023 Fortress recall covered about 61,000 safes and cited 39 reports of safes accessed by unpaired fingerprints. In January 2025 CPSC warned owners of about 183,000 Stack-On biometric safes to stop using the biometric feature, reporting a child who was injured after opening one, and said the company had refused an acceptable recall. None of those brands is in our registry, and we found no CPSC recall of Vaultek safes. Our guide to whether biometric gun safes are reliable lists the full recall record and the enrollment steps from the manuals.
Bottom line: buy biometric only when the safe also has a keypad and a manual key, and check after setup that a finger you did not enroll is refused.
Keypad locks
A keypad has no read to fail, so a correct code works the same way wet or dry. It needs batteries, and it needs you to remember the code at the worst possible moment. GunVault designs the MV500's No-Eyes keypad for "touch-based entry without the need for visibility," with a programmable 3- to 6-digit code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every six months. Longer codes are available elsewhere: Vaultek says its 30, 20 and 10 Series accept codes of 4 to 8 digits, which it puts at "19,000,000+ possible combinations."
Keypads also lock you out after repeated mistakes, which protects against guessing but can slow you down. Vaultek says six wrong entries put its 10 and 20 Series into a four-minute sleep mode that a backup key can clear.
Bottom line: the most predictable electronic lock, provided you change batteries on schedule and pick a code nobody in the house could guess.
RFID locks
RFID locks open when a programmed tag, such as a wristband, key fob or sticker, is held near the reader. Hornady says the 4800KP accepts up to five tags, plus a single 4- to 6-digit keypad code and two barrel keys. On its Night Guard product page, Hornady markets its RFID as faster than keypads and fingerprint readers; that is the maker's claim, not an independent test.
The manuals spell out the practical limits. On battery power, the reader sits in a battery-saving mode until you press a button. The Night Guard manual says a wristband tag should be worn on the outside or bottom of the wrist, may need to come within about an inch of the reader, and will likely not read through the wrist. It also warns that a sticker tag on a phone can lose range to the phone's metal case and wireless signals, and tells owners to verify the tag works before relying on it.
Bottom line: quick and free of fingerprint misreads, but the tag is a key. If it can be found, the safe can be opened.
Mechanical push-button locks
A Simplex-style push-button lock has no electronics at all. Fort Knox describes the Original Pistol Box's lock as a "push-button sequence you can run by feel alone" with "no electronics to fail" and more than 1,000 possible combinations. There are no batteries to replace, no reader to clean, and no low-battery warning to miss.
The trade-off is the number of combinations. About 1,000 is far fewer than an eight-digit electronic code allows. For scale, California's gun-safe standard (11 CCR § 4100) asks full-size gun safes for a lock with at least 10,000 possible combinations. That rule is written for gun safes. Pistol boxes are usually certified through California's separate firearm safety device roster instead, and the Fort Knox box is on that roster.
Bottom line: the choice for anyone who does not trust electronics, as long as the code stays private. Our best mechanical pistol safes ranking compares the no-battery options.
Power: what each lock does when the battery runs down
Three of the four lock types run on electricity, so the battery plan matters as much as the lock. Here is what each maker documents for the four safes in this comparison:
- Vaultek V20i (biometric): three AAA batteries that last about a year under normal use, per Vaultek. When they are critically low, the "1" key blinks red with rapid beeps as you open the safe. The manual keys work at any time, and if the keys are lost and the battery dies, the safe can be plugged in.
- GunVault MV500 (keypad): alkaline batteries, with a low-battery light that flashes while you enter your code. GunVault suggests changing the batteries at least every six months, and the high-security key is the fallback.
- Hornady 4800KP (RFID): runs on 12V AC or four AA batteries. Its manual describes a battery-check light that flashes green for good, yellow for low and red for dead, and notes that on battery power you press a button to wake the reader before a tag will open it. Two barrel keys are the fallback.
- Fort Knox Original Pistol Box (mechanical): nothing to power and nothing to replace.
The pattern is worth copying whatever you buy: a documented low-battery warning, a mechanical key that works without power, and a battery schedule you keep even when no warning appears. A lock that dies silently is the one most likely to fail you, because you learn about it only when you need it.
Kids in the house: which lock is hardest to beat?
No lock type is child-proof on its own. Each one has a different weak point, and most of them are about the adults:
- Codes can be watched. Children learn codes by watching. Shield the keypad, avoid birthdays and addresses, and change the code if you think it has been seen.
- Tags and keys can be found. Hornady's manuals say the RAPiD Safe "is only as secure as your maintenance of the keys, code and RFID tags" and tell owners to store the safe away from them. The same goes for the backup key on any fingerprint or keypad safe.
- Readers have to be trusted. The CPSC recalls above were about readers opening for fingers that were never enrolled, including children's.
- Standards help. All four safes here are on California's roster of approved firearm safety devices, and Hornady's 4800KP manual states the model was certified to ASTM F2456, a youth-resistant firearms container standard.
For whole-house routines, see our guide on how to store guns safely with kids.
Which lock fits you
- You live alone, want speed and have reliable fingerprints: biometric, with a keypad and key behind it. Vaultek V20i.
- Two adults share the safe: keypad or RFID, so both can open it without enrolling and re-enrolling prints. GunVault MV500 or Hornady 4800KP.
- Your hands are often wet, gloved, calloused or dirty from work: keypad, RFID or mechanical.
- You forget to change batteries: mechanical. Fort Knox Original Pistol Box.
- Young children at home: any type can work if it is bolted down and every code, key and tag is out of their reach. Favor models with a lockout after wrong entries and a documented low-battery warning.
Ready to shop by lock type? Our best biometric gun safes ranking covers fingerprint models with trustworthy backups.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoBiometric pick
Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Fingerprint entry with a keypad and manual keys behind it, a documented low-battery warning and a plug-in fallback, all published by Vaultek.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Fingerprint, keypad and key entry, plus a plug-in fallback if the batteries die, all documented by Vaultek
- Vaultek documents a keypad low-battery warning, so batteries can be replaced before they fail
- Listed on California's firearm safety device roster
- Steel security cable and pre-drilled mounting holes, listed by Vaultek for all 30/20/10 Series models
Where it falls short
- Vaultek's current 30/20/10 Series page publishes steel gauge only for the 30 Series; the 20 Series gauge is not stated
- No UL burglary listing and no fire rating
- Sized for compact pistols; Vaultek points full-size storage to the larger 30 Series
Skip this if…
…you carry a full-size pistol or want published steel thickness; the 20 Series is sized for compacts and its gauge isn't listed.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek 20 Series V20i
Stock photoKeypad pick
GunVault MicroVault MV500
A touch-operated No-Eyes keypad GunVault designed for low or no light, a high-security backup key and 16-gauge steel.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel |
| Lock | No-Eyes keypad, programmable 3- to 6-digit code |
| Backup entry | High-security manual key |
| Bolt-down | Pre-drilled mounting holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'MV 500' (firearms up to 10.5 in long, 6 in wide, 2 in high) |
| Power | Alkaline batteries; the low-battery light flashes while you enter your code, and GunVault suggests changing batteries at least every 6 months |
| Warranty | 1 year on workmanship and materials; 5 years for damage from fire, burglary or attempted burglary |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for GunVault safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No-Eyes keypad is designed for entry by touch in low or no light, per GunVault
- Anti-pry tabs, a reinforced U-lock and concealed hinges, per GunVault
- Listed on California's roster
- Five-year coverage for burglary or attempted-burglary damage
Where it falls short
- GunVault's product page lists no dimensions, weight or battery type
- Keypad codes are only 3 to 6 digits
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…your handgun is longer than 10.5 inches; that's the fit the CA DOJ roster lists for this box.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GunVault MicroVault MV500
Stock photoRFID pick
Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
RFID tags plus a 4- to 6-digit keypad and barrel keys, 14-gauge steel and a battery-check light documented in the manual.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | No UL listing stated; maker says it meets 'ASTM child- and pry-resistance standards' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 14-gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs |
| Lock | RFID (watchband, key fob or decals; up to five tags) plus 4- to 6-digit keypad |
| Backup entry | Barrel key (two included) |
| Bolt-down | Mounting template in the owner's manual; security cable included |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as '98141 - RAPiD Safe 4800KP' |
| Capacity | Two 1911 pistols or one large revolver, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.5 x 12 x 2.9 in |
| Power | 12V AC or four AA batteries; a battery-check LED flashes green (good), yellow (low) or red (dead) |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 8
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 8
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 7
What the evidence supports
- Maker-published 14-gauge steel and hardened locking lugs
- Hornady says it exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance
- Three entry methods and a battery-check LED documented in the owner's manual
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- On battery power the reader stays in battery-saving mode until you press a button, per the manual
- One-year warranty
- ASTM compliance is Hornady's statement; no third-party certificate is linked
Skip this if…
…you want a lock that never needs batteries or wall power; both the RFID reader and keypad are electronic.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady RAPiD Safe 4800KP XXL (98141)
Stock photoMechanical pick
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
A Simplex push-button lock with no batteries or electronics, a 10-gauge body and a limited lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is a biometric or keypad gun safe better?
Are RFID gun safes secure?
Are electronic locks on gun safes reliable?
What is the most reliable lock for a quick-access gun safe?
Which gun safe lock is best with kids in the house?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?Recalls, failure modes and how to enroll prints.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksHow lock types compare on full-size safes.
- Best biometric gun safesFingerprint safes with backups you can trust.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo-battery pistol boxes ranked.
- Vaultek vs Hornady RAPiD SafeFingerprint vs RFID, model by model.
Receipts
Sources
- Vaultek: 10/20 Series Essential support page (enrollment, sleep mode, battery)
- Vaultek: 30/20/10 Series product page (code length and combinations)
- GunVault: MicroVault MV500 product page (No-Eyes keypad)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe Night Guard product page (RFID speed claim)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe Night Guard owner's manual (RFID tag placement, storage warnings)
- Hornady: RAPiD Safe 4800KP owner's manual (ASTM F2456 statement, battery mode)
- Fort Knox: Original Pistol Box product page (Simplex lock)
- CPSC: Fortress Safe biometric gun safe recall, October 19, 2023
- CPSC: Warning on Stack-On biometric gun safes, January 30, 2025
- Cornell LII: 11 CCR § 4100, California gun safe standard
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.