Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · Head to head
Gun safe vs lock box: one resists an attack, the other controls a hand
They are not competing products at different prices. They answer different questions, and the households that get this right usually own one of each.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoThe safe: UL RSC-listed, 365 lb
Stealth UL14
UL RSC7.4 /10The same maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge build as the UL28 in a 20-inch-wide body, for a smaller collection in a home that still wants a listed burglary standard.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
Stock photoThe lock box done properly: 10-gauge, mechanical
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Access box8.8 /10The heavy-steel mechanical pick: a Simplex push-button lock with no batteries, a maker-stated 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Stock photoThe travelling lock box: cable-tethered
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Access box6.5 /10A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Stock photoThe retention device its maker says is not a safe
StopBox Pro
Access box4.6 /10A battery-free finger-combination pistol box in glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS; StopBox itself says it is not a safe and should not be left unattended, so treat it as short-term retention, not storage.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro

We have not handled or attacked any of these four. Every figure below comes from its maker and links to its source. One scoring note: the Stealth UL14 is scored on the gun-safe rubric and the three boxes on the access-control rubric, because they do different jobs, so their numbers are not directly comparable. Both rubrics are published at how we rate.
They answer different questions
A gun safe answers: how long does this container resist someone who has found it and brought tools? The credible answer is a UL residential security container listing, which times a technician attacking the safe with common hand tools (UL). Everything about a safe follows from that: thick steel, many bolts, hundreds of pounds, bolted to a floor.
A lock box answers: can the wrong hand reach this firearm in the next few seconds? That is a question about latches, codes and mounting, not about attack time. A good lock box is judged on whether it opens instantly for you, never for a child, and stays attached to something.
Both are legitimate. The mistake is buying a lock box and expecting a safe's answer, which is exactly what the marketing in this category encourages.
Gun safe vs lock box at a glance
| Gun safe | Lock box | |
|---|---|---|
| Answers | How long does it resist a tool attack? | Can the wrong hand reach the gun right now? |
| Rating available | UL RSC, and above it TL-15 / TL-30 | None for attack; some are CA DOJ approved firearm safety devices |
| Typical weight | 300-500 lb and up | 1-25 lb |
| Can be carried off | No, once anchored | Yes, unless bolted or cabled |
| Access speed | Slow: a dial or a long code, standing up | Fast: seconds, from where you are |
| Travels | No | Yes, which is often the whole point |
| Capacity | A collection, plus documents | One or two handguns |
| Typical failure | Never bolted down; left unlocked day to day | Left loose in a drawer or a car |
Four models, side by side
Note how close the steel figures are between a good lock box and a mid-market safe. Fort Knox states a 10-gauge body and a 3/16 in plate door (Fort Knox); Stealth states 12-gauge door and body on the UL14 (Stealth). The lock box has thicker steel per square inch. What it does not have is 365 lb, ten 1.25 in bolts, a hard plate, a relocker and a listing. Steel thickness is not the same as attack resistance; our steel gauge explainer goes into why.
What a lock box is genuinely for
- Keeping a defensive handgun beside the bed, reachable in seconds. This is the case a safe serves badly. See bedside safe picks.
- Travelling. A box with a cable goes into a hotel, a rental, a friend's house or a vehicle. Hornady supplies the Lock Box XL with a cable for exactly this (Hornady).
- Meeting a storage requirement away from home. A locked container attached to the vehicle is the usual practical answer; see storing a gun in your car.
- Layering inside a safe. A small locked box inside a gun safe adds a second barrier for the one firearm a teenager knows the safe code for.
- Short-term retention while you are in the room. This is the StopBox category. Its maker describes the Pro in retention rather than safe terms (StopBox USA), and taking that at face value is the right approach.
What a safe adds that no lock box can
- Immovability. The most common way a small container is defeated is that it leaves with the thief. Anchoring solves this, and a heavy safe makes it trivial.
- A measured attack time. Only a listed safe has one. Our RSC explainer covers what five minutes of tested resistance is worth.
- Capacity. Long guns, ammunition, documents and spares in one anchored place.
- A fire rating, sometimes. Rare on gun safes and non-existent on lock boxes, but it exists.
- One place to secure. Five lock boxes around a house is five things to remember. A safe is one.
Where the law treats them differently
Legal standards for firearm storage are written around the device, not the category, which means a lock box can satisfy a requirement that a poorly built safe does not. California's gun-safe standard sets construction minimums such as "minimum 12-gauge thick steel for a single-walled safe" and "a minimum of three steel locking bolts of at least 1/2-inch thickness", and separately accepts a UL RSC rating from a nationally recognised laboratory (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII). Alongside that, the state maintains a roster of approved firearm safety devices, on which several lock boxes appear.
So "is a lock box legal?" has a model-specific answer, not a category answer. Check the exact model against the current roster; see CA DOJ approved gun safes. This is a summary of published rules, not legal advice.
Why most homes end up with both
The two products fail in opposite directions, which is what makes them complementary. A safe is secure and slow. A lock box is fast and portable. A household with a defensive handgun and a collection needs both properties, and cannot get them from one container.
The usual arrangement: an anchored safe holding the collection, ammunition and documents, plus one quick-access box within reach of the bed. Add a cable box if you travel or if a vehicle is part of your routine. Our guides to storing a handgun for home defence and storing guns safely with kids cover how to run that without creating new risks.
Choosing between them on a fixed budget
- Several long guns, no secure storage at all: the safe or a cabinet first, every time. Start at under $1,000.
- One handgun, children in the house: a good lock box, mounted, is the higher-value purchase. See under $500.
- A handgun and a vehicle routine: a mechanical box plus a cable box, and skip the safe until the collection grows.
- Whatever you buy, anchor it. A bolted 22 lb box beats a loose 100 lb one. Our guide to bolting down a safe applies to both.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-26 for every brand on this page; each product card shows its dated recall check, including the 2025 CPSC recall of a StopBox chamber-lock product that is not one of the models compared here.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoThe safe: UL RSC-listed, 365 lb
Stealth UL14
The same maker-stated UL RSC listing and 12-gauge build as the UL28 in a 20-inch-wide body, for a smaller collection in a home that still wants a listed burglary standard.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
- 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
- UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
- Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
- The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
- 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit
Skip this if…
…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
Stock photoThe lock box done properly: 10-gauge, mechanical
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
The heavy-steel mechanical pick: a Simplex push-button lock with no batteries, a maker-stated 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door, a CA DOJ roster listing and a limited lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Stock photoThe travelling lock box: cable-tethered
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Stock photoThe retention device its maker says is not a safe
StopBox Pro
A battery-free finger-combination pistol box in glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS; StopBox itself says it is not a safe and should not be left unattended, so treat it as short-term retention, not storage.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | None: the maker states 'The StopBox is NOT a safe' |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | No steel body: glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS, 'steel reinforced' per the maker |
| Lock | Patented mechanical finger combination, 81 possible combinations; no batteries or electronics |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical |
| CA DOJ | Not found on the CA DOJ firearm safety device roster (search for 'StopBox' returned no devices) |
| Exterior dimensions | Full-size: 11.5 x 8.5 x 2.25 in; Compact: 10 x 7 x 2.25 in |
| Interior dimensions | Full-size: 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 in; Compact: 7.5 x 5.5 x 1.75 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: CPSC recalled about 300 StopBox USA AR-15 Chamber Lock Pro locks on September 4, 2025; the StopBox Pro pistol box is not part of that recall. |
How the 4.6 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 2.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 3
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 6
What the evidence supports
- No batteries or electronics to fail
- Made in the USA (Spokane, Washington), per StopBox
- Offered in full-size and compact sizes
Where it falls short
- StopBox says it is NOT a safe and is not intended to be left unattended
- Polymer body, only 81 combinations, and no CA DOJ roster listing found
- No bolt-down hardware or security cable is described on the product page
Skip this if…
…you need unattended storage in a home with children; StopBox itself says the StopBox is not a safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to StopBox Pro
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is a lock box as good as a gun safe?
Does a lock box count as secure gun storage?
Should I bolt down a lock box?
What is the difference between a lock box and a retention device?
Can a lock box be fireproof?
If I can only afford one, which should I buy?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Gun safe vs gun cabinetThe same question one size up.
- Gun safe vs regular home safeWhat changes when the contents are paper.
- Best handgun safesQuick-access boxes ranked on lock and mounting.
- Best mechanical pistol safesLock boxes with nothing to charge.
- Trigger lock vs gun safeThe layer below a lock box, and what it does.
- How to store guns safely with kidsThe routine that makes either container work.
Receipts
Sources
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- Stealth Safes — UL14 UL RSC Gun Safe product page
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page
- Hornady — Lock Box XL (95210) product page
- StopBox USA — StopBox Pro product page
- California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standards), via Cornell LII
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-26)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.