Gun Safes · The rankings
Best gun safes with a mechanical lock: nothing to flatten, nothing to recall
A dial has no battery, no circuit board and no fingerprint threshold somebody else chose. It is slower, it is less convenient, and it has never been the subject of a safety recall in this category.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() American Security BFX6030 A UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, behind a UL RSC burglary listing and an ETL-verified fire rating. An electronic lock is offered; you do not have to take it. | Best mechanical-lock gun safe overallUL RSC | 9.1 /10 | Where to buy |
| 2 | ![]() Liberty Presidential 25 A UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf mechanical lock is the standard fit on Liberty's heaviest series, with a 7-gauge body and half-inch bars behind it. | Best mechanical lock with the most steelUL RSC | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() American Security RF6528 Ships with a key-locking spy-proof dial and offers five lock choices at order, four of them mechanical. The most lock flexibility of anything we track. | Best choice of mechanical dialsUL TL-rated | 8.7 /10 | Where to buy |
| 4 | ![]() Fort Knox Original Pistol Box A Simplex five-button mechanical lock with over 1,000 combinations in a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door. Handcrafted in Orem, Utah; no batteries anywhere. | Best mechanical quick-access boxAccess box | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD) 16-gauge steel with a Simplex lock behind a heavy-duty internal steel lock cover, at $240.00 list. The cheapest way onto this page. | Best budget mechanical boxAccess box | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Stealth UL14 A UL RSC listing at $1,399.99 list, with a mechanical dial offered as an upgrade. Take it: the standard electronic lock lists no override key. | Best mechanical option on a listed safeUL RSC | 7.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

There is a quiet split in this market. Most gun safes now ship with an electronic keypad because it is faster, cheaper to fit and easier to demonstrate in a showroom. A smaller set still fits a mechanical dial as standard, and almost every serious maker will sell you one as an option if you ask at the time of order.
If you want a dial, the thing to establish before you buy is not whether the brand offers one. It is whether the model you are looking at ships with one, because retrofitting later is a locksmith job.
Why choose a dial at all
- No batteries. The most common reason people cannot open their own safe is a dead cell in a lock they open twice a year.
- Decades of service life. A Group 2 dial is a mature, serviceable mechanism any safe technician knows.
- Manipulation resistance is graded. UL's Group ratings for combination locks are a real standard, and Group 2 is the common fit on quality safes.
- Nothing to update. No app, no pairing, no account.
Standard fit vs paid option: the table that matters
| Model | Mechanical lock | What the maker publishes |
|---|---|---|
| AMSEC BFX6030 | Standard | UL-rated mechanical dial lock, with an electronic lock available |
| Liberty Presidential 25 | Standard | UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf mechanical lock, with Dormakaba 702D or S&G Spartan electronic available at order (Liberty) |
| AMSEC RF6528 | Standard | Combination lock with a key-locking spy-proof dial; five lock choices at order, four mechanical |
| Fort Knox Original Pistol Box | Standard | Simplex mechanical lock with over 1,000 possible combinations; Fort Knox notes most mechanical locks can be swapped for electronic and vice versa (Fort Knox FAQ) |
| V-Line Top Draw XD | Standard | Simplex five-button mechanical lock behind an internal steel lock cover (V-Line) |
| Stealth UL14 / UL28 / EGS14 | Option | Standard lock is a UL-approved electronic; a mechanical dial is offered as an upgrade (Stealth) |
| Liberty Colonial / Franklin / Lincoln | Option | S&G Spartan electronic standard, with an S&G mechanical dial offered |
| Browning | No | Browning states it "only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" and that they have no key backup |
All claims quoted from each maker's published pages and checked on 2026-09-28.
The picks side by side
The three mechanical locks you will actually meet
- The Group 2 combination dial. The classic three-number dial on full-size safes, from Sargent & Greenleaf or an equivalent. UL grades combination locks by manipulation resistance, and Group 2 is the standard fit on quality safes. Slowest to open, longest-lived.
- The key-locking spy-proof dial. AMSEC's standard fit on the RF6528: a dial you can also lock with a key, and a shrouded ring so nobody reads the numbers over your shoulder.
- The Simplex push-button lock. Five mechanical buttons, a combination set inside the lock, and no power at all. Fort Knox publishes over 1,000 combinations on the Original Pistol Box; V-Line publishes 1,081 on the Top Draw XD. This is the one that is genuinely fast, which is why it dominates our mechanical pistol safe picks.
Our explainer on electronic vs mechanical safe locks goes through how each is rated and where each is genuinely better.
How we ranked these
We have not opened or attacked any of these. Each is scored on the published rubric at how we rate for the job it does, and ordered here by whether the mechanical lock is the standard fit before anything else, because that is the question the page exists to answer.
The BFX6030 leads because it pairs a standard UL-rated dial with the best certification evidence here: a UL RSC listing (what that means) and an independently verified fire rating. The Presidential 25 is second on an S&G mechanical lock as standard over a 7-gauge body. The RF6528 is third for sheer lock choice. Fort Knox and V-Line are the quick-access answers. The Stealth UL14 is last on this page and would be much higher on others: a genuine UL RSC listing, but you have to pay extra for the dial.
We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here and found no recall covering these models.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest mechanical-lock gun safe overall
American Security BFX6030
A UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, behind a UL RSC burglary listing and an ETL-verified fire rating. An electronic lock is offered; you do not have to take it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL RSC Level 1 security rating |
| Fire rating | ETL fire rating: 120 min at 1,200°F (ETL-verified) |
| Body steel | 11 gauge outer and 12 gauge inner steel liner, with concrete insulation between the walls |
| Door steel | 1/2-in steel plate door |
| Lock | UL-rated mechanical dial lock (electronic lock option) |
| Bolt-down | 4 pre-cut anchor holes |
| Capacity | 22 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 59.25 x 30 x 26 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 1,081 lb |
| Warranty | 5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 9.1 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 9
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 9.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Both evidence fields come from outside labs: UL RSC Level 1 for burglary and an ETL fire rating of 120 minutes at 1,200°F.
- 1/2-in steel plate door, 14 locking bolts 1 1/2 in thick, and a double steel wall (11-gauge outer, 12-gauge inner), per the retailer spec sheet.
- UL-rated mechanical dial as standard, with an electronic lock available.
- Made in the USA, per AMSEC.
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: buy through an AMSEC dealer.
- 1,081 lb in a 30-in-wide footprint: plan delivery and floor load.
- The 5-year parts-and-labor coverage applies only with a factory-installed AMSEC lock.
Skip this if…
…you need to buy on Amazon or keep the safe under 1,000 lb: this is a dealer-sold, 1,081-lb safe.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 2
Stock photoBest mechanical lock with the most steel
Liberty Presidential 25
A UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf mechanical lock is the standard fit on Liberty's heaviest series, with a 7-gauge body and half-inch bars behind it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8.5
- Construction (20%)
- 9.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- 7-gauge body, the thickest steel in Liberty's lineup, with twelve 1/2-in-thick locking bars on the 25, per Liberty.
- UL-listed S&G mechanical lock standard, with Dormakaba or S&G Spartan electronic locks available at order.
- Factory dehumidifier, motion-sensing lighting and a velvet-lined jewelry drawer are included, per Liberty.
- Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.
Where it falls short
- The 2.5-hour fire rating is Liberty's own claim; no independent lab is named.
- The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-listed safe body".
- 1,021 lb with a 26.5-in minimum doorway (per Liberty): plan floor load and delivery access.
Skip this if…
…you want a TL-15 or TL-30 commercial burglary rating: the Presidential is a residential RSC-class safe.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25
Rank 3
Stock photoBest choice of mechanical dials
American Security RF6528
Ships with a key-locking spy-proof dial and offers five lock choices at order, four of them mechanical. The most lock flexibility of anything we track.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | UL TL-rated. A timed expert attack with power tools (TL-15 = 15 minutes of net working time). |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | UL listed TL-30 high-security burglary rating |
| Fire rating | Maker claim: 120 min at 1,850°F, described as "independently certified" (testing lab not named) |
| Body steel | 3-in overall steel body thickness |
| Door steel | 6-in-thick high-security composite door |
| Lock | Combination lock with key-locking spy-proof dial (other lock options available) |
| Bolt-down | Anchor holes provided |
| Capacity | 24 guns in the safe plus 2 on the door (maker-stated) |
| Exterior dimensions | 72 x 35 x 29.25 in (H x W x D) |
| Weight | 3,455 lb |
| Warranty | 5-year parts and labor with a factory-installed AMSEC lock; lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for American Security (AMSEC) gun safes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 10
- Construction (20%)
- 10
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 6
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 9
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- UL TL-30 is a commercial high-security burglary rating, a class above the UL RSC listing that residential gun safes carry.
- 3-in steel body and 6-in composite door with ten 1 1/2-in locking bolts, per AMSEC and the retailer spec sheet.
- Mechanical dial as standard, with five lock choices at order (four mechanical dials or an ESL10 electronic).
- Lifetime warranty for damage from burglary attempts and fire, per AMSEC.
Where it falls short
- 3,455 lb: floor load, doorway and delivery access need planning before you order.
- AMSEC calls the fire rating "independently certified" but does not name the lab, so we treat it as a maker claim.
- Not sold on Amazon: dealer only.
Skip this if…
…your floor or doorway cannot take a 3,455-lb, 35-in-wide safe.
Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.
Rank 4
Stock photoBest mechanical quick-access box
Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
A Simplex five-button mechanical lock with over 1,000 combinations in a 10-gauge body with a 3/16 in plate door. Handcrafted in Orem, Utah; no batteries anywhere.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 10-gauge steel body |
| Door steel | 3/16 in plate wrap-around door; concealed continuous hinge; reinforced lock plate |
| Lock | Simplex mechanical push-button lock, over 1,000 possible combinations; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: fully mechanical lock with no electronics (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Four pre-drilled 3/8 in anchor holes |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Fort Knox Pistol Box - FKPB' (usable interior up to 11 x 9 x 3 in) |
| Exterior dimensions | 10.25 x 12.5 x 4.35 in (D x W x H) |
| Weight | 22 lb |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Fort Knox pistol boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 9.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Simplex mechanical lock needs no batteries and can be worked by feel in the dark, per Fort Knox
- Heavy published steel for a pistol box: 10-gauge body and 3/16-inch door
- Concealed continuous hinge and reinforced lock plate for pry resistance, per the maker
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA
Where it falls short
- About 1,000 combinations is far fewer than a 6-digit keypad allows
- No security cable: it is meant to be bolted down
- No UL burglary listing, and at 22 lb it is heavy to move
Skip this if…
…you need a portable box for travel or a car; it is built to be bolted down and weighs 22 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Fort Knox Original Pistol Box
Rank 5
Stock photoBest budget mechanical box
V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
16-gauge steel with a Simplex lock behind a heavy-duty internal steel lock cover, at $240.00 list. The cheapest way onto this page.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel, pry-resistant clamshell design |
| Lock | Genuine Simplex five-button mechanical lock with a heavy-duty internal lock cover; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: mechanical lock with no batteries (no key override listed) |
| Bolt-down | Pre-punched mounting holes; optional quick-release bracket or steel security cable |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as 'Top Draw XD-S BLK XD'; V-Line states 'CA DOJ Approved' |
| Capacity | Up to two handguns, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 12.25 x 9.5 x 2.75 in (add 0.75 in for the knob) |
| Weight | 12 lb (ship weight) |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on V-Line boxes with mechanical locks (original purchaser) |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for V-Line handgun boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices. |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 9
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 9
- Mounting (15%)
- 8
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical Simplex lock: no batteries to die
- Internal steel lock cover, a 3/8-inch welded lock block and a continuous hinge welded at one end, per V-Line
- CA DOJ approval stated by V-Line and shown on the state roster
- Limited lifetime warranty; made in the USA (V-Line notes some lock parts are imported)
Where it falls short
- 16-gauge steel is lighter than the Fort Knox box's 10-gauge body
- The mounting bracket and security cable are extra-cost options
- No UL burglary listing
Skip this if…
…you want the heaviest steel available in a pistol box; Fort Knox publishes a 10-gauge body.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to V-Line Top Draw XD (2912-S BLK XD)
Rank 6
Stock photoBest mechanical option on a listed safe
Stealth UL14
A UL RSC listing at $1,399.99 list, with a mechanical dial offered as an upgrade. Take it: the standard electronic lock lists no override key.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Independent burglary certification (30%)
- 8
- Construction (20%)
- 7.5
- Fire protection evidence (20%)
- 5.5
- Lock & entry (15%)
- 8.5
- Fit & usability (10%)
- 7
- Support & transparency (5%)
- 9
What the evidence supports
- Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
- 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
- UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
- Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying
Where it falls short
- Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
- The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
- 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit
Skip this if…
…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14
What to look for in a mechanical-lock gun safe
- Standard fit, in writing. Ask the retailer to confirm the lock on the exact SKU. "Dial available" and "dial fitted" are different purchases.
- A named lock maker. Sargent & Greenleaf, Kaba/Dormakaba, AMSEC's own. An unnamed dial is as unverifiable as an unnamed fire rating.
- A UL Group rating for the lock. Group 2 is the common fit on quality safes and is a real manipulation-resistance standard.
- A hard plate and a relocker behind it. A good dial is wasted if the lock can be drilled straight out. AMSEC and Liberty both publish these.
- Whether you can live with the speed. Dial a three-number combination in the dark, twice, before you commit a home-defence firearm to it.
- Who services it locally. Mechanical locks are serviceable, which is only useful if somebody near you services them.
The honest downsides
We would rather you heard these from us than discovered them after delivery.
- They are slow. Thirty seconds to a minute for a three-number dial, under stress, in the dark. That is fine for a collection and poor for a defensive firearm.
- No user-changeable code, usually. Changing a dial combination is typically a technician visit. Changing a keypad code takes a minute.
- One code for everybody. Electronic locks support multiple user codes and audit trails; dials do not.
- They cost more on many models. Where the dial is an option, it is usually a paid one.
- Simplex locks have fewer combinations than a keypad. Fort Knox publishes over 1,000 and V-Line 1,081, against a five-digit keypad's 100,000. In exchange, there is nothing to power.
If you forget the combination
This is the mechanical lock's real failure mode, and the answer is not exciting: you call the maker, prove ownership, and they send the combination or send a technician. Liberty, Fort Knox, AMSEC and Browning all run a documented process for this, usually requiring proof of purchase and identification.
We do not publish methods for opening a safe you are locked out of, and no reputable site should. Record the combination somewhere secure and away from the safe, register the safe with the maker when it arrives, and keep the receipt somewhere that is not inside it.
Common mistakes
- Buying a brand because it "offers" a dial, then receiving the electronic model.
- Putting a home-defence handgun behind a three-number dial and then leaving the safe unlocked.
- Assuming a mechanical lock makes an unlisted safe secure. The lock is not the container.
- Writing the combination on the inside of the door.
- Choosing a dial for EMP reasons and ignoring that the real benefit is no batteries and no recalls.
- Never registering the safe, then having no route back in after a forgotten combination.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Lock fitment quoted from each maker's own page and dated 2026-09-28; CPSC recall and warning searches run per brand.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best gun safe with a mechanical lock?
Are mechanical gun safe locks better than electronic ones?
Which gun safes come with a dial lock as standard?
Can you add a mechanical lock to a gun safe later?
What happens if I forget a mechanical safe combination?
Is a Simplex lock a mechanical lock?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksHow each is rated, and where each is genuinely better.
- Best mechanical pistol safesThe Simplex boxes, in detail.
- The safest gun safesWhy lock failure, not steel, drives our safety ranking.
- Are biometric gun safes reliable?The recall record that makes the case for a dial.
- Best gun safes made in the USASeveral American makers fit an S&G dial as standard.
- Best UL RSC gun safesThe container listing that sits behind the lock.
Receipts
Sources
- Fort Knox — Fort Knox Difference FAQ (lock options and retrofits)
- Fort Knox — Original Pistol Box product page (Simplex mechanical lock)
- V-Line — Top Draw XD product page (Simplex lock, internal lock cover)
- Liberty Safe — Presidential gun safe product page (S&G mechanical lock standard)
- Stealth Safes — UL14 product page (mechanical dial offered as an upgrade)
- UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
- CPSC — Warning: stop using the biometric feature on Stack-On biometric gun safes (2025)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.