Handgun & Quick-Access Safes · The rankings
The best car gun safes and how each one attaches to your vehicle
In a car, the lock matters less than what holds the safe in place and whether its electronics cope with a hot day. We rank vehicle safes on mounting, construction, power and the evidence behind each.
By Mike M.Updated Researched, not lab-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Vaultek Slider Series Essential The one pick that bolts into a vehicle without being model-specific: Vaultek's Car Rail Mount (sold separately) fits cars with exposed seat-rail hardware. 16-gauge steel, keypad (fingerprint optional) plus a key, and CA DOJ certification on the spec sheet. Its keypad runs on batteries, so plan for heat. | Best car safe overallAccess box | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra) A no-drill welded-steel insert that turns the factory center console of 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra pickups into a locked box with a battery-free key or combination lock; the fit is truck-specific. | Best console safe for Silverado and SierraAccess box | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Hornady Lock Box XL (95210) A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car. | Best cable-tethered box for any carAccess box | 6.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Tuffy 316-01 Underseat Lockbox (Ford F-Series SuperCrew) Tied on score with the LifePod 20 and ranked ahead of it because it mounts to factory hardware instead of hanging on a cable. Welded steel, a battery-free lock and room for long guns, but not quick access: the rear seat flips up to reach it. | Best under-seat box for F-Series trucksAccess box | 6.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Vaultek LifePod 20 The full-size-pistol LifePod: a weather-sealed case with a keypad, backup keys and micro-USB emergency power, plus a 48-inch steel cable to tether it in a vehicle; listed on California's roster. | Best weather-sealed travel caseAccess box | 6.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a car gun safe can and can't do
A vehicle safe has a narrow, useful job: keep a handgun out of sight, out of reach of passengers and children, and harder to grab in the minute a thief spends in a car with a broken window. Every pick here is an access box in our tier system. None cites a UL burglary listing, and one of them, the LifePod 20, isn't steel at all. What separates good car safes from poor ones is mostly how they attach: a box that can be lifted out with the firearm inside has done half its job.
A car safe is also not long-term storage. It covers the hours you're away from the vehicle. At home, the firearm belongs in a mounted safe indoors; our handgun safe ranking covers those.
Console vs under-seat vs seat rail vs cable
| Mount type | Pick | How it attaches | Reach from the driver's seat | Fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Console insert | Tuffy 356-01 | Installs inside the factory center console with provided hardware, no drilling | Yes: it is the console | 2019-2026 Silverado/Sierra with the full-floor, flow-thru console |
| Under-seat | Tuffy 316-01 | Mounts to original hardware under the rear seat, no drilling | No: the rear seat flips up to reach the lid | 2015+ F-150 and 2017+ Super Duty SuperCrew, except trucks with the floor-mounted Sony subwoofer |
| Seat-rail bracket | Vaultek Slider with Car Rail Mount | Rail adapters on the lower seat rail behind the front passenger seat | Vaultek says it is "quickly accessible from the driver's position" | Vehicles with exposed seat-rail hardware |
| Cable tether | Hornady Lock Box XL, Vaultek LifePod 20 | A 4-foot (Hornady) or 48-inch (Vaultek) steel cable around a seat or fixed point | Depends on where you place it | Any vehicle |
The ranking follows from this table. A safe fixed to the vehicle's structure beats one tied to it with a cable, and a model-specific insert is only useful if you drive that model. Per Vaultek's Car Rail Mount page, the mount places the Slider "behind the passenger's front seat for concealed placement" and requires "exposed seat rail/ seat rail hardware," so check under your seat before you buy.
Heat, cold and batteries
A parked car is a hard place for electronics. The National Weather Service notes that "even with the windows cracked open, interior temperatures can rise almost 20 degrees Fahrenheit within the first 10 minutes." Batteries have limits too: Energizer's data sheet for its standard AA alkaline cell lists an operating range of 0°F to 130°F.
Neither Vaultek model here publishes an operating temperature range for vehicle use. The Slider runs on four AAA batteries or its power cable, and the LifePod 20 runs on a 9V battery. Both keep a mechanical backup: the Slider has a manual key, and the LifePod has two keys plus a micro-USB port that powers the lock if its battery dies. The other three picks sidestep the question. The Tuffy safes use a key or 3-digit combination lock and the Hornady box a barrel key, with no batteries at all.
If you choose an electronic car safe, check the batteries when the seasons change, keep the backup key somewhere you can reach without the safe (not inside it), and treat any low-battery warning as urgent. Our guide to electronic vs mechanical safe locks covers the trade-off in depth.
Vehicle storage rules vary by state
For the practical side of vehicle storage, see how to store a gun in your car. If you live in California, our page on CA DOJ approved gun safes explains the state's safety-device roster.
How we scored car safes
We haven't installed these in a vehicle or tested them. Scores come from maker specifications, California's safety-device roster and dated CPSC recall searches, on our published quick-access rubric: access reliability evidence (30%), construction and pry resistance (25%), child-access standards (20%), mounting (15%) and support (10%). For vehicle safes, mounting rewards a vehicle-specific or bracket fit over a cable. Construction rewards published steel; our steel gauge explainer converts gauge to inches.
One pattern stands out. The two Tuffy safes score very well on mounting and build but poorly on child-access standards, because we found no CA DOJ roster listing and no CA DOJ statement from Tuffy. The Hornady and Vaultek cases are on the roster or carry Vaultek's certification statement, but they rely on cables or a separately sold mount.
How the five picks compare
1. Vaultek Slider Series Essential
A slim safe in 16-gauge carbon steel on a quick-release plate. With the Car Rail Mount, it becomes the one pick that bolts into a wide range of vehicles rather than a single truck line. It opens with a backlit keypad (a fingerprint version is optional) or a backup key, holds one pistol up to 8.875 inches plus a spare magazine, and carries "California DOJ Certified: Yes" on Vaultek's spec sheet. The same plate mounts under a desk or nightstand, so one safe can serve home and car. The costs: the vehicle mount is extra, and the keypad depends on batteries or plug-in power.
2. Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe
A welded-steel insert that turns the factory console of 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra trucks into a locked box, with 1/8-inch welded Pry-Guard components, a pin-lock hinge and a 10-tumbler double-bitted key lock with weather seals (or a 3-digit combination option). No drilling, no batteries and a limited lifetime warranty. It ranks second, not first, because it fits one truck line and has no CA DOJ listing.
3. Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
The simple, battery-free option for any car: a 16-gauge steel box with a barrel key lock and a 4-foot cable rated to 1,500 lb that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat. It fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers and is on California's roster. It opens only with its key, so it is for securing a firearm while you're away, not for fast access.
4. Tuffy 316-01 Underseat Lockbox
A full-width welded-steel box under the rear bench of F-Series SuperCrew trucks, with over 4,500 cubic inches of storage for long guns and gear, weather and dust seals, and a battery-free lock. Reaching it means flipping the rear seat up, so it's storage rather than quick access.
5. Vaultek LifePod 20
A weather-sealed case that Vaultek says is water resistant, airtight and floats, with a keypad, two backup keys and micro-USB emergency power. It fits handguns up to 9.25 inches and tethers with a 48-inch cable. It is built from a proprietary material blend, not steel, so it keeps out hands, not tools. Vaultek also says it meets TSA guidelines, which makes it the travel pick.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest car safe overall
Vaultek Slider Series Essential
The one pick that bolts into a vehicle without being model-specific: Vaultek's Car Rail Mount (sold separately) fits cars with exposed seat-rail hardware. 16-gauge steel, keypad (fingerprint optional) plus a key, and CA DOJ certification on the spec sheet. Its keypad runs on batteries, so plan for heat.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8.5
What the evidence supports
- Quick-release plate plus Vaultek's seat-rail car mount (sold separately) make it a bracket-mounted vehicle option
- Maker-stated 16-gauge steel and CA DOJ certification
- Keypad (or fingerprint) plus a backup key; runs on batteries or stays plugged in
- Vaultek says it also mounts under a desk or nightstand
Where it falls short
- The vehicle mount costs extra
- Battery-powered keypad, and Vaultek publishes no operating temperature range for vehicle use
- One pistol only, held by a single anti-impact latch
Skip this if…
…you want a lock with no batteries in a parked car; the Slider's keypad runs on AAA batteries or a power cable.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek Slider Series Essential
Rank 2
Stock photoBest console safe for Silverado and Sierra
Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra)
A no-drill welded-steel insert that turns the factory center console of 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra pickups into a locked box with a battery-free key or combination lock; the fit is truck-specific.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Mechanical key or combination lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked truck
- 1/8-inch welded steel Pry-Guard components and a pin-lock hinge, per Tuffy
- No-drill install that keeps the factory look and the OEM USB ports
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Fits only 2019-2026 Silverado/Sierra trucks with the full-floor console
- The combination option has only three digits
- No CA DOJ roster listing found and no CA DOJ statement from the maker
Skip this if…
…you don't drive a 2019-2026 Silverado or Sierra with the full-floor console; Tuffy sells separate vehicle-specific versions.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Tuffy 356-01 Console Safe (2019-2026 Chevy/GMC Silverado/Sierra)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest cable-tethered box for any car
Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
A 16-gauge steel key-lock box with a 4-foot, 1,500-lb-rated cable that Hornady says secures to a vehicle seat, listed on California's roster; a simple battery-free way to lock up a handgun in a car.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
| Tier | Access box. Children and unauthorized hands. Not a determined burglar with tools. |
|---|---|
| Burglary rating | Not stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited) |
| Fire rating | Not stated by the maker |
| Body steel | 16-gauge steel housing |
| Lock | Steel barrel key lock, two keys included; no batteries |
| Backup entry | Not applicable: key lock with no electronics |
| Bolt-down | 4 ft steel security cable rated to 1,500 lb; maker says it secures to a vehicle seat or heavy furniture |
| CA DOJ | Listed on the CA DOJ roster as model '95210' |
| Capacity | Fits 1911-size pistols and 4-inch revolvers, maker-stated |
| Exterior dimensions | 10 x 7 x 2 in |
| Recall check | Sep 19, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Hornady RAPiD Safes or Hornady lock boxes in a search of CPSC.gov recall notices; Hornady's own product-recall page lists only ammunition recalls. |
How the 6.5 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 6
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 6
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6.5
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 5.5
What the evidence supports
- Key lock, so there are no batteries to drain in a parked car
- Cable rated to 1,500 lb secures to a vehicle seat or other stationary object, per Hornady
- Listed on California's roster
- 16-gauge steel housing
Where it falls short
- Key-only entry: no keypad or quick-access method
- A cable tether is less secure than a bolted-in vehicle safe
- No warranty terms on the product page
Skip this if…
…you want fast one-handed access; this box opens only with its key.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Hornady Lock Box XL (95210)
Rank 4
Stock photoBest under-seat box for F-Series trucks
Tuffy 316-01 Underseat Lockbox (Ford F-Series SuperCrew)
Tied on score with the LifePod 20 and ranked ahead of it because it mounts to factory hardware instead of hanging on a cable. Welded steel, a battery-free lock and room for long guns, but not quick access: the rear seat flips up to reach it.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 5.5
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 7.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 3.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 9
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Room for long guns and bulky gear that a console safe can't hold, per Tuffy
- Hidden under the rear seat and mounted on factory hardware
- Mechanical lock with no batteries
- Limited lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Not quick access: you flip the rear seat up to reach the lid, per Tuffy
- Truck-specific fit, and it excludes trucks with the floor-mounted Sony subwoofer
- No CA DOJ roster listing found
Skip this if…
…you need fast access from the driver's seat; the rear seat has to be flipped up to open it.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Tuffy 316-01 Underseat Lockbox (Ford F-Series SuperCrew)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest weather-sealed travel case
Vaultek LifePod 20
The full-size-pistol LifePod: a weather-sealed case with a keypad, backup keys and micro-USB emergency power, plus a 48-inch steel cable to tether it in a vehicle; listed on California's roster.
EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested
How the 6.4 score breaks down
- Access reliability evidence (30%)
- 7
- Construction & pry resistance (25%)
- 3.5
- Child-access standards (20%)
- 8.5
- Mounting (15%)
- 6
- Support & transparency (10%)
- 8
What the evidence supports
- Fits full-size handguns up to 9.25 inches long
- Keypad plus two backup keys and a micro-USB emergency power port
- Weather-sealed and floats, and Vaultek says it meets TSA guidelines
- Listed on California's roster
Where it falls short
- Not a steel box: Vaultek lists a proprietary material blend
- Battery-powered keypad, and Vaultek publishes no operating temperature range for a hot or cold car
- Cable tether only; no bolt-down holes are listed
Skip this if…
…you want a steel safe fixed to the vehicle; the LifePod is a cable-tethered case.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Vaultek LifePod 20
Check the fit before you buy
- Your vehicle. The Tuffy picks are sold by make, model and year: the 356-01 needs a 2019-2026 Silverado or Sierra with the full-floor console and doesn't work with flip-up seats, and the 316-01 excludes trucks with the floor-mounted Sony subwoofer. Tuffy sells separate vehicle-specific versions. The Vaultek rail mount needs exposed seat-rail hardware.
- Your firearm. Compare the maker's stated fit with your handgun's length: up to 9.25 inches in the LifePod 20, up to 8.875 inches in the Slider, and 1911-size pistols or 4-inch revolvers in the Hornady box.
- What else rides along. If you need to secure a long gun or bulky gear, only the under-seat Tuffy has the room.
Which car safe fits which driver
| You drive | Our pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A 2019-2026 Silverado or Sierra with the full-floor console | Tuffy 356-01 | A no-drill console insert with a battery-free lock, within reach of the driver |
| An F-150 or Super Duty SuperCrew, and you carry long guns | Tuffy 316-01 | A full-width welded-steel box under the rear seat |
| A car or SUV with exposed seat-rail hardware | Vaultek Slider with the Car Rail Mount | Bolts to the seat rail, and the same plate works at home |
| Rental cars, or more than one vehicle | Hornady Lock Box XL or Vaultek LifePod 20 | A cable tether fits any vehicle and moves with you |
A car safe also keeps a handgun away from the children and passengers riding with you, not just from thieves. Treat its key and code the way you would at home: the key isn't left in the car, and the code isn't entered where a passenger can watch. Our guide to storing guns safely with kids applies on the road too.
Install it so it stays
- Follow the maker's installation instructions and use the hardware provided. Both Tuffy models install on factory hardware without drilling, and Vaultek's rail mount comes with its adapters and hardware.
- Keep it out of plain view. Under a seat, inside the console or behind a seat back. A visible safe invites a break-in, and some state rules, like California's, turn on plain view.
- Anchor the cable to structure, such as a seat frame, not a headrest or a loose part. A cable tether is still less secure than a bolted-in safe.
- Check that the seat still moves through its full range after installation.
Common car safe mistakes
- Keeping the backup key on the car key ring. Anyone you hand the keys to, including a valet or a mechanic, gets the safe too.
- Using it as overnight storage. Bring the firearm inside to a mounted safe at home.
- Forgetting the batteries in summer and winter. Electronic car safes live in the worst temperatures your car sees.
- Assuming one state's rules apply in the next. Check before every trip that crosses a state line.
How we scored this
Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Published. Evidence, listings and CPSC recall searches checked for every pick.
Questions
Frequently asked
Where is the best place to put a gun safe in a car?
Is it legal to keep a gun in a car safe?
Do car gun safes work in hot weather?
Is a cable lock box enough for a car?
Does a car gun safe need to be bolted in?
Keep reading
Related on Bolt & Vault
- How to store a gun in your carMounting, theft risk and state-law variance, step by step.
- Best handgun safesThe safes for home, ranked on the same rubric.
- CA DOJ approved gun safesCalifornia's safety-device roster and gun-safe standard explained.
- Best mechanical pistol safesNo-battery boxes for people who distrust electronics.
- Electronic vs mechanical safe locksBatteries, lockouts and code changes, compared.
Receipts
Sources
- Cornell LII — 18 U.S. Code § 926A, Interstate transportation of firearms
- California Legislative Information — Penal Code § 25140
- National Weather Service (Marquette, MI) — Vehicle safety tips
- Energizer — E91 AA alkaline product data sheet (PDF)
- Vaultek — Slider Series Car Rail Mount product page
- Vaultek — Slider Series Essential product page
We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.