Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · The rankings

Best gun safes under $2,000: the bracket where a real listing arrives

Under a thousand dollars you buy access control. Somewhere between $1,000 and $2,000 the first genuine UL burglary listings appear, and that is the single most useful thing this budget can buy.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Not legal advice. This page summarizes laws and regulations from the official sources linked in the text. Law summary checked . Laws change: confirm the current rules with your state's official source or an attorney before relying on them.

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Stealth UL28

$1,799.99 list. A UL RSC burglary listing, 12-gauge door and body, 28 long guns and a 60-minute fire rating. The most safe with a listing that fits this budget.

Best under $2,000 overallUL RSC7.5 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Stealth UL14

$1,399.99 list. The same UL RSC listing and 12-gauge steel in a 20 in wide body, for 14 long guns. The cheapest UL RSC-listed safe we track.

Best listed safe for a narrow spaceUL RSC7.4 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

$1,399.00 list. 12-gauge, 10 bolts of 1.5 in, a 60-minute rating at 1,875°F and a bypass key. No burglary listing, so it is mass rather than measurement.

Best steel and fire rating for the moneyAccess box5.5 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Kodiak KBX5629

$1,258.00 list. Rated for 42 long guns with a patented anti-pry body-to-door interlock, 14-gauge steel and a 30-minute fire rating.

Most guns per dollarAccess box4.9 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by side
Stealth EGS14

$1,099.99 list. Same footprint and lock as the UL14, with 14-gauge steel, a 30-minute fire rating and no UL listing. Know what you are giving up.

Cheapest way into a full-size safeAccess box5.0 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Two heavy steel vault doors set into an old brick wall
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

Our under $1,000 page ends with an uncomfortable conclusion: at that budget nothing we track carries a UL residential security container listing, so you are buying access control however heavy the box looks. This page is the good news. Between $1,000 and $2,000 that changes.

What this budget unlocks

  • A UL RSC burglary listing. Two of the five picks here carry one. UL describes a Level 1 test as a five-minute attack by one technician with common hand tools (UL). That is the difference between a design that has been timed and one that has not. Our RSC explainer covers the detail.
  • 12-gauge steel as a baseline. Three of the five publish it. California's gun-safe standard sets 12 gauge as a minimum for a single-walled safe, so this is the bracket that clears that bar comfortably (11 CCR § 4100, via Cornell LII).
  • Real capacity. 14 to 42 long guns, against two to six in a cabinet at half the price.
  • Hour-long fire ratings. Maker-run rather than lab-verified, but published with a time and a temperature rather than left vague.
  • A bypass key on some models. Steelwater ships a high-security double-bitted bypass key, which matters more than it sounds.

The prices, checked and dated

ModelPublished list price (2026-09-28)Burglary listing
Stealth EGS14$1,099.99None stated
Kodiak KBX5629$1,258.00None stated
Steelwater SW592818$1,399.00None stated
Stealth UL14$1,399.99UL RSC
Stealth UL28$1,799.99UL RSC
Kodiak KGX5933W (just over)$2,098.00None stated
Steelwater HD593924 (well over)$3,099.00None stated

Read that table in one go and the pattern is hard to miss. Spending more does not buy a listing. The Kodiak at $2,098 and the Steelwater at $3,099 both state no burglary rating, while the Stealth UL14 carries one at $1,399.99. What the extra money buys is steel, capacity and fire minutes, all of which are worth having and none of which is a test result.

The picks side by side

EvidenceStealth UL28Stealth UL14Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)Kodiak KBX5629Stealth EGS14
TierUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxAccess boxAccess box
Burglary ratingUL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating'UL-listed Residential Security Container (UL 1037); maker lists 'UL RSC Residential Security Container Burglary Rating'Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named)Not stated by the maker (page lists CA DOJ firearm safety device status, no UL burglary rating)Not stated by the maker (page lists California DOJ approval, which is not a burglary rating)
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,875°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,200°F, interior kept under 350°F (no independent lab named)
Body steel12 gauge12 gauge12 gauge steel construction14 gauge steel construction14 gauge
Door steel12 gauge12 gaugeComposite 4 7/8 in thick door with 2 layers of fireboardPatented SafeX anti-pry system that interlocks the door and body14 gauge
Locking bolts12 solid steel bolts, 1.25 in diameter, 4-way (8 active, 4 deadbolts)10 solid steel bolts, 1.25 in diameter, 4-way10 solid steel bolts, 1.5 in diameter (7 active, 3 hinge-side), covering all 4 sides—6 solid steel bolts, 1 in diameter, 2-way
LockUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgradeEMP-proof digital keypad (3-8 digit code); biometric keypad upgrade offeredUL-listed electronic lock; hardened armor plate and spring-loaded relockerUL-listed NL UR-2020 electronic lock behind a hard plate with internal re-locker; mechanical dial lock available as an upgrade
Backup entryNo override key listed; external battery access for a dead batteryNo override key listed; external battery compartmentHigh-security bypass key included—No override key listed; external battery compartment
Bolt-down4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes; hardware included4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes4 pre-drilled anchor holes reinforced with 1/4 in steel plate (the page lists both 7/16 in and 1/2 in hole diameters)Pre-drilled to bolt to the floor4 pre-drilled bolt-down holes
CA DOJMaker says the UL series 'exceeds the CA DOJ requirements'Maker says the UL series 'exceeds the CA DOJ requirements'Maker says it 'exceeds California Department of Justice regulatory standards for residential security containers''CA DOJ Firearm Safety Device' (maker states)'California DOJ Approved Firearm Safety Device' (maker states)
CapacityUp to 28 long guns (maker-stated)Up to 14 long guns (14 rack slots, maker-stated)Maximum 20 long guns; maker's average recommended capacity 12-16Up to 42 long guns (maker-stated)Up to 14 long guns (14 rack slots, maker-stated)
Weight529 lb365 lb453 lb333 lb (approximate net)230 lb
WarrantyLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and laborLifetime fire and burglary warranty (burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor); 1-year full parts and laborLimited lifetime warranty; free repair or replacement after burglary or fireLifetime burglary and fire warranty (break-in, attempted break-in, house fire) plus 2-year parts and labor
Score7.5/107.4/105.5/104.9/105.0/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. Only the two Stealth UL models state a UL RSC burglary listing.

A listing, or more steel? The real decision in this bracket

At roughly $1,400 you can have the Stealth UL14 with a UL RSC listing and 14 long guns, or the Steelwater SW592818 with no listing, 12-gauge steel, ten 1.5 in bolts, a 60-minute rating at 1,875°F and 20 long guns. That is the choice this page exists to frame.

We come down on the side of the listing, and the reason is our evidence hierarchy rather than a hunch. A UL RSC listing is the only thing in this bracket measured by somebody with no stake in the sale. Steel thickness and bolt counts are real and useful, but they are the maker describing its own product. Our steel gauge explainer covers why a gauge number tells you less about attack resistance than people assume.

That said, if you need 20+ long guns and the budget is fixed, the Steelwater is a defensible buy and we would not argue with it. What we would argue with is paying more than the UL14 for a safe with no listing and assuming price implies certification.

How we ranked these

We have not bought or attacked any of these. Each is scored on the gun-safe rubric published at how we rate: 30% independent burglary certification, 20% construction, 20% fire-protection evidence, 15% lock and entry, 10% fit and usability, 5% support and transparency. Because burglary certification carries the most weight, the two UL-listed safes lead.

The UL28 is first: a listing plus twice the capacity of the UL14 for $400. The UL14 is second and is the value pick of the page. The Steelwater is third on the best published construction and fire figures here. The Kodiak is fourth on capacity and its anti-pry interlock. The EGS14 is fifth, and is on the page so you can see exactly what $300 less than the UL14 costs you: the listing and two gauges of steel.

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for Stealth, Steelwater and Rhino Metals. Each product card shows its dated check, including the note that the only Rhino recall found is a 2016 handgun safe that is not this model.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best under $2,000 overall

Stealth UL28

UL RSC7.5 /10

$1,799.99 list. A UL RSC burglary listing, 12-gauge door and body, 28 long guns and a 60-minute fire rating. The most safe with a listing that fits this budget.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • The maker states a UL RSC burglary listing, the independent burglary standard this site ranks gun safes on
  • 12-gauge door and body with twelve 1.25 in bolts on all four sides of the door
  • UL-listed electronic lock with a re-locker, and a mechanical dial offered for buyers who want no electronics
  • Bolt-down holes come with hardware, and the lifetime warranty covers break-ins and house fires

Where it falls short

  • The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure; no independent lab is named
  • At 529 lb it needs a ground-floor or slab location and a delivery plan
  • No override key is listed for the electronic lock; keep spare batteries and consider the dial option

Skip this if…

…you need a fire rating verified by an independent lab, or your floor or stairs can't take a 529 lb safe

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL28

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best listed safe for a narrow space

Stealth UL14

UL RSC7.4 /10

$1,399.99 list. The same UL RSC listing and 12-gauge steel in a 20 in wide body, for 14 long guns. The cheapest UL RSC-listed safe we track.

How the 7.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Maker-stated UL RSC listing in a 20 x 17 in footprint that fits a closet corner
  • 12-gauge door and body with ten 1.25 in bolts working in four directions
  • UL-listed electronic lock, with a mechanical dial available
  • Published interior dimensions let you check barrel length and scope clearance before buying

Where it falls short

  • Fire rating is a manufacturer claim; no independent lab is named
  • The 11 in interior depth makes 14 long guns a tight, unscoped count
  • 365 lb is still a floor-load and delivery question in an upstairs unit

Skip this if…

…you own more than a handful of scoped rifles, or you need an independently verified fire rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth UL14

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Best steel and fire rating for the money

Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Access box5.5 /10

$1,399.00 list. 12-gauge, 10 bolts of 1.5 in, a 60-minute rating at 1,875°F and a bypass key. No burglary listing, so it is mass rather than measurement.

How the 5.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • The maker publishes a realistic 12-16 long-gun capacity next to the 20-gun maximum, and the usable interior depth
  • 12-gauge body, 1.5 in bolts on all four sides and a 4 7/8 in composite door
  • A bypass key covers a dead or damaged keypad
  • Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named; it is an unrated safe, however solid the specs
  • The 1,875°F fire figure is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • The product page gives two different anchor-hole sizes, so check before buying anchors

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or an independently verified fire rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Most guns per dollar

Kodiak KBX5629

Access box4.9 /10

$1,258.00 list. Rated for 42 long guns with a patented anti-pry body-to-door interlock, 14-gauge steel and a 30-minute fire rating.

How the 4.9 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • UL-listed electronic lock with armor plate and relocker at an entry-level spec
  • Door-to-body interlock designed against prying
  • Maker states CA DOJ firearm safety device status
  • Lifetime repair-or-replace after burglary or fire

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel is a mid-grade body
  • 30-minute fire rating is a maker claim
  • 42 long guns is a rack count; expect far fewer scoped rifles in a 29 in wide body

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating; the Kodiak KGX5933W carries one

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KBX5629

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Cheapest way into a full-size safe

Stealth EGS14

Access box5.0 /10

$1,099.99 list. Same footprint and lock as the UL14, with 14-gauge steel, a 30-minute fire rating and no UL listing. Know what you are giving up.

How the 5.0 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
5.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
4.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • At 230 lb it is light for a full gun safe, easier on upstairs floors and deliveries
  • Maker states California DOJ firearm-safety-device approval
  • Same UL-listed electronic lock as Stealth's UL RSC models
  • Lifetime burglary and fire warranty with bolt-down holes

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing: 14-gauge steel and 2-way bolts are a child-and-casual-access defense, not a rated burglary one
  • 30-minute fire rating is the maker's own figure
  • No override key is listed; keep spare batteries

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating; the UL14 is the same footprint with one

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stealth EGS14

What to look for under $2,000

  1. A UL RSC listing, stated by the maker. It is available in this bracket, which is not true below it. Do not spend $1,800 without checking whether you could have had one.
  2. A published gauge for the body and the door. 12 gauge is the benchmark California uses. Some makers publish only the door.
  3. Backup entry. Steelwater supplies a bypass key. The Stealth safes list no override key for the standard electronic lock, which is a real argument for taking the mechanical dial option; see mechanical-lock picks.
  4. A fire rating with a time, a temperature and a named tester if possible. In this bracket the tester is usually the maker. That is worth knowing rather than hiding.
  5. Honest capacity. Published gun counts assume bare rifles. Halve them for anything with an optic. See the size guide.
  6. Weight against your floor. 300 to 500 lb is normal here; read can your floor support it before you buy for an upstairs room.

Fire ratings in this bracket, honestly

Every fire rating on this page is the maker's own. Steelwater publishes 60 minutes at 1,875°F, Stealth 60 minutes at 1,200°F on the UL models and 30 on the EGS14, Kodiak 30 minutes at 1,400°F. None names an independent laboratory.

That is not unusual and it is not dishonest, but it is a weaker class of evidence than the UL 72 classifications you find on home fire safes. If documents are a real part of what you are protecting, the cost-effective answer in this bracket is still a listed gun safe plus a small rated document chest kept elsewhere in the house. Our fire ratings explainer sets out the classes.

Budget for delivery and anchoring, not just the safe

  • Weight. The UL28 and the Steelwater are both in the hundreds of pounds. A kerbside drop is not the same as room-of-choice delivery, and the difference is usually a separate charge.
  • Doorways and stairs. Measure the narrowest point of the route, including the turn at the bottom of the stairs, before ordering.
  • Anchoring. Every safe here has pre-drilled anchor holes. UL treats reliable mounting as the alternative to a drop test for safes of 750 lb or less, which tells you how much the standard values it. See how to bolt down a gun safe.
  • Moving it later. Read how to move one before you decide the garage is temporary.

What the next $1,000 buys

Mostly steel and capacity, not certification. The Kodiak KGX5933W at $2,098 brings 12-gauge steel, 41 long guns and a 60-minute rating; the Steelwater HD593924 at $3,099 brings a 9-gauge body, 20 bolts and a 2-hour claim, plus a 200-gram dehumidifying pack and a power supply with outlets.

Neither states a burglary listing. For that you are looking at AMSEC, Liberty's upper lines or Winchester's USA Made Western, which is where our UL RSC roundup and the main ranking pick up.

Common mistakes under $2,000

  • Assuming a higher price implies certification. In this bracket it demonstrably does not.
  • Buying on gun count, then discovering the figure assumed no optics.
  • Taking the standard electronic lock on a safe that lists no override key, with no plan for a dead battery.
  • Treating a maker-run fire rating as equivalent to a UL 72 classification.
  • Forgetting delivery, stairs and anchoring in the budget.
  • Putting a 400 lb safe upstairs without checking the floor.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Maker list prices, published specs and CPSC recall searches checked 2026-09-28.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is the best gun safe under $2,000?
The Stealth UL28 at $1,799.99 list, checked 2026-09-28: a UL RSC burglary listing, 12-gauge door and body, 28 long guns and a 60-minute fire rating. If you need less capacity, the UL14 carries the same listing at $1,399.99.
Can you get a UL-rated gun safe for under $2,000?
Yes, and this is the cheapest bracket where you can. The Stealth UL14 at $1,399.99 and UL28 at $1,799.99 both state a UL RSC listing. Nothing we track under $1,000 does. See our UL RSC roundup.
Is a more expensive gun safe always better?
Not on the evidence. The Kodiak KGX5933W at $2,098 and the Steelwater HD593924 at $3,099 both state no burglary rating, while the Stealth UL14 carries a UL RSC listing at $1,399.99. Extra money in this range buys steel, capacity and fire minutes rather than certification.
How many guns will a $2,000 safe hold?
Between 14 and 42 by the makers' own figures, and realistically far fewer, because published counts assume bare rifles with no optics or accessories. Our size guide explains the arithmetic.
Do gun safes under $2,000 have real fire ratings?
They have published ones, but the tester is the maker rather than an independent laboratory. That is a weaker class of evidence than the UL 72 classifications on home fire safes. If irreplaceable paper is part of what you are protecting, add a rated document chest.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Stealth Safes — UL28 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  2. Stealth Safes — UL14 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  3. Stealth Safes — Essential Gun Safe EGS14 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  4. Steelwater Gun Safes — SW592818 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  5. Steelwater Gun Safes — HD593924 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  6. Rhino Metals — Kodiak KBX5629 product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  7. Rhino Metals — Kodiak KGX5933W product page (list price checked 2026-09-28)
  8. UL — Residential Security Container standard revised
  9. California Code of Regulations, 11 CCR § 4100 (gun safe standards), via Cornell LII
  10. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes