Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Gun Safes · Head to head

Best fireproof gun safe brands: who actually tested the fire rating?

Every gun safe brand prints a time and a temperature. Almost none of them names the laboratory that measured it. That single difference separates the brands on this page.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    AMSEC: the only independently verified fire rating we track

    AMSEC SF6030

    Access box6.4 /10

    A gun safe whose fire rating an independent lab verified (ETL, 60 minutes at 1,200°F), with a 3/16-inch plate door; buy it from a dealer if fire is your first worry.

    See it at Safe and Vault Store (AMSEC dealer)

    Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Browning / ProSteel: maker-run, but the protocol is published

    Browning Yellowstone 40

    UL RSC7.1 /10

    The most interior for the least money in Browning's range — 30 cu ft and a maker-stated 40 long guns — and the only series here rated at 1,400°F, but it gets there with seven bolts on two sides and the plainest interior Browning ships.

    See it at Browning Safes (maker's store)

    Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Liberty: maker-claimed, longest stated time here

    Liberty Presidential 25

    UL RSC8.2 /10

    Liberty's heaviest series: a 7-gauge body, 1/2-in bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock, UL RSC-rated per retailer Dean Safe's spec sheet, with a Liberty-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for buyers who want the most steel Liberty sells and accept maker-only fire evidence.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Steelwater: maker-claimed, highest stated temperature

    Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

    Access box5.5 /10

    A 12-gauge, 453 lb safe whose maker publishes an honest usable capacity (12-16 long guns, not just the 20-gun maximum), for a mid-size collection on a ground floor.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Winchester: maker-claimed, mid-range time

    Winchester Legacy 53

    UL RSC7.7 /10

    Winchester's heaviest standard series: a 10-gauge body with a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate, 18 two-inch bolts, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a maker-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for a buyer who wants the most steel Winchester sells and has a floor for 1,624 lb.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Legacy 53

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Kodiak / Rhino Metals: maker-claimed

    Kodiak KGX5933W

    UL RSC7.2 /10

    Rhino Metals states a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance for this 12-gauge, 41-long-gun Kodiak, making it the largest listed burglary-rated safe here for a family with a growing collection.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KGX5933W

  • Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

    Sports Afield: maker-claimed, plus a waterproof seal claim

    Sports Afield Haven SA5930HX

    Access box5.0 /10

    A 560 lb, 36-long-gun safe whose maker claims both 75 minutes of fire protection and water protection in 2 feet of standing water for 7 days, for a flood-prone basement, with the caveat that neither claim names a lab.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Sports Afield Haven SA5930HX

The charred interior of a fire-damaged room
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

We have not burned, opened or tested any safe on this page. What follows is an audit of published claims: what each brand says, who it says measured it, and what that is worth.

The one question worth asking a gun safe brand

"90 minutes at 1,200°F" sounds like a measurement. It is one, but the thing shoppers rarely establish is who held the stopwatch. In home fire safes there is a mature answer: UL 72 classifies record protection equipment by the interior temperature it holds, and consumer chests carry UL Classified marks you can look up (UL Standards & Engagement). Intertek issues ETL Verified marks against specific performance claims (Intertek).

In gun safes, that answer is mostly missing. The industry has standardised on burglary listings (UL RSC) and left fire to the marketing department. So the useful way to compare fire claims across brands is not to compare the numbers. It is to sort the brands by the quality of the evidence behind them.

Brand by brand: who tested it

BrandFire claim on our reference modelWho tested itEvidence class
AMSEC60 minutes at 1,700°F (SF6030)ETL verified, per the authorised dealer listingIndependent
Browning / ProSteelMaker-run rating on the Yellowstone 40Browning's own gas-furnace protocol, published with its interior temperature-rise criterionMaker, protocol published
Liberty2.5 hours (Presidential 25, Liberty-claimed)LibertyMaker claim
Steelwater60 minutes at 1,875°F (SW592818, maker page)SteelwaterMaker claim
WinchesterMaker-claimed rating on the Legacy 53Winchester's licenseeMaker claim
Kodiak / Rhino Metals60 minutes at 1,400°F (KGX5933W)Rhino MetalsMaker claim
Sports Afield75 minutes at 1,400°F plus a waterproof seal claim (SA5930HX)SA Consumer ProductsMaker claim

Claims quoted from each maker's published pages (or an authorised dealer where the maker blocks automated access) and checked on 2026-09-28.

The models side by side

EvidenceAMSEC SF6030Browning Yellowstone 40Liberty Presidential 25Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)Winchester Legacy 53Kodiak KGX5933WSports Afield Haven SA5930HX
TierAccess boxUL RSCUL RSCAccess boxUL RSCUL RSCAccess box
Fire ratingETL-verified 60 min at 1,200°F (maker: 'independently tested by ETL')Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F. ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.Manufacturer claim: 2.5 hr at 1,200°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,875°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 2.5 hours at 1,400°F (maker calls it "proven"; no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)Manufacturer claim: 75 min at 1,400°F (no independent lab named)
Burglary ratingNot stated on the maker's product page (no UL listing named)UL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.UL Listed RSC Residential Security Container burglary rating (retailer spec sheet)Not stated by the maker (no UL listing named)UL-listed RSC (maker: "U.L. Listed for burglary protection, RSC"; also "Residential Security Container 9L60")UL-listed Residential Security Container; maker states 'UL Certified RSC / CA DOJ Compliant'Not stated by the maker (page lists California DOJ approval only)
Body steel12 gauge12 gauge (7/64 in), maker-stated7 gauge12 gauge steel construction10 gauge ("solid steel 10 ga. body formed with robotic continuous welds")12 gauge steel construction14 gauge
Door steel0.1875 in (3/16 in) solid steel plate door1 in formed steel door, multiple layers, with a partial inner steel door plate and a U-shaped steel frameComposite door with a 1/4-in inner steel door plateComposite 4 7/8 in thick door with 2 layers of fireboard"Additional 1/4 heat-treated steel outer plate in the door for added protection" (base door gauge not stated)Patented SafeX anti-pry system that interlocks the door and body—
LockUL-listed ESL5 electronic lockElectronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.UL-listed Sargent & Greenleaf mechanical lock (Dormakaba 702D or UL-listed S&G Spartan electronic available)EMP-proof digital keypad (3-8 digit code); biometric keypad upgrade offeredUL-listed SecuRam electronic lock with backlit keypadUL-listed TopLit electronic lock; triple hard plate and spring-loaded relockerElectronic lock face with Print Guard technology; audible anti-theft alert
Backup entry—None. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".—High-security bypass key included——Fail Safe backup keys
CA DOJDealer lists it as a 'California DOJ Approved Firearm Safety Device'; not stated on the maker's pageNot claimed for this model. Browning's 2026 catalog names only one series for it: "The FMJ Series carries the California DOJ rating." Ask the dealer before buying into California.California DOJ-approved firearm safety device (maker states)Maker says it 'exceeds California Department of Justice regulatory standards for residential security containers'Maker states it "Exceeds California DOJ Requirements"Maker states 'CA DOJ Compliant''California DOJ Approved' (maker states)
Capacity30 in the safe + 2 on the door (maker-stated)40 long guns (10 on the door, 15 front row, 15 back row) plus 4 handguns, maker-stated; 30 cu ft22 long guns (maker-stated)Maximum 20 long guns; maker's average recommended capacity 12-16Up to 60 long guns (maker-stated, with GunStiXX); 52.5 cu ft41 long guns (maker-stated)36 + 6 (maker-stated gun capacity); 15.75 cu ft
Weight748 lb563 lb1,021 lb453 lb1,624 lb536 lb (approximate net weight, maker-stated)560 lb
WarrantyLifetime warranty against theft and fire; 1-year parts and labor5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).Transferable lifetime warranty on the safe (repair or replacement after fire or attempted break-in); 5-year lock warrantyLifetime fire and burglary warranty (burglary coverage requires the safe to be properly anchored to the floor); 1-year full parts and laborLifetime Limited Warranty; lifetime free replacement after a fire or a burglary attack (registration required; parts 5 years, UL-listed lock 5 years)Limited lifetime warranty; free repair or replacement after burglary or fireLifetime warranty covering theft, fire, natural flood, locks, parts and paint; free locksmith service if locked out
Score6.4/107.1/108.2/105.5/107.7/107.2/105.0/10
One reference model per brand. Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. These are not ranked positions: the page compares evidence quality, not models.

Notice that the longest stated fire time on the page belongs to a maker claim and the only independently verified rating is one of the shortest. That is the whole problem with shopping this category on the number.

Why so few gun safes carry a UL fire classification

  • Size and cost. UL 72 furnace testing is expensive, and a 500 lb gun safe is an expensive thing to destroy repeatedly. Home fire chests are small, cheap and made in huge volumes.
  • The standard was written for records. UL 72 classes are defined around paper and media interiors. A gun safe is a different product with a different interior.
  • The market does not force it. Buyers ask about steel gauge and gun counts, so that is what gets certified and published. Fire minutes are free to print.
  • Burglary certification took the budget. Brands that do invest in third-party testing overwhelmingly spend it on a UL RSC listing, which is the more commercially useful mark.

Our explainer on what fire ratings actually prove covers the UL 72 classes, and whether "fireproof" safes are fireproof covers the limits of even a verified rating.

How to read a gun safe fire claim in thirty seconds

  1. Look for a lab name. UL, Intertek or ETL. If none appears, it is a maker claim, whatever the typography suggests.
  2. Look for a protocol. Browning publishes its furnace type and its interior temperature-rise criterion. That is meaningfully better than a bare number, even though Browning ran the test.
  3. Check the temperature, not just the minutes. 60 minutes at 1,200°F and 60 minutes at 1,875°F are very different tests. Steelwater publishes the higher figure.
  4. Ask what the interior limit was. A fire rating is meaningless without the temperature the inside was held below. UL 72 Class 350 means 350°F for paper; most gun safe claims do not state an interior limit at all.
  5. Check the seal. A heat-activated intumescent door seal is the mechanism behind most of these claims and is usually published.
  6. Check the after-fire warranty. Several of these brands replace the safe after a fire. That is the maker putting money behind the claim, which is its own kind of evidence.

The verdict

If an independently verified fire rating is the thing you care about most, AMSEC is the answer among the brands we track, and the SF6030 is the model to look at. It is sold through dealers rather than Amazon, so its buy link here is a plain, non-earning reference to an authorised dealer.

If you want the most transparent maker-run testing, Browning / ProSteel is the pick, because publishing the protocol lets you judge the number instead of trusting it. Our Browning review goes through it in detail.

And if you want the strongest fire evidence available at any price, it is not a gun safe at all: it is a UL-classified home fire safe, or for drives and tapes a UL Class 125 media safe. Pairing a gun safe with a small rated chest gets you better protection for the irreplaceable things than any single box.

What to do about it

  • Buy the gun safe on its burglary listing. That is the mark the industry does certify. Start at our UL RSC roundup.
  • Put the papers in a rated chest. A UL Classified chest costs a fraction of the fire premium on a big safe.
  • Keep the chest somewhere else. One event should not reach everything.
  • Register the safe. After-fire replacement programmes generally require it.
  • Photograph the contents. A claim is easier with evidence, and it does not belong inside the safe.

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here. Note the Sports Afield entry: CPSC recalled two SA Consumer Products biometric models in 2024, and the electronic-keypad SA5930HX on this page is not on that recall list. Each product card shows its dated check.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing fire minutes across brands as if they came from the same test.
  • Reading a large bold number as a certification.
  • Assuming the most expensive brand has the best-verified fire rating. It does not.
  • Ignoring the furnace temperature and comparing only the minutes.
  • Paying a large premium for fire minutes on a gun safe instead of buying a rated chest for the paper.
  • Never registering the safe, then discovering the after-fire replacement programme needed it.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

AMSEC: the only independently verified fire rating we track

AMSEC SF6030

Access box6.4 /10

A gun safe whose fire rating an independent lab verified (ETL, 60 minutes at 1,200°F), with a 3/16-inch plate door; buy it from a dealer if fire is your first worry.

How the 6.4 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
8.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
8.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • Fire rating verified by ETL (Intertek), not just the maker
  • 3/16 in solid steel plate door over a 12-gauge body
  • UL-listed ESL5 electronic lock, with a Group II mechanical option through dealers
  • Anchor holes and hardware included; lifetime theft and fire warranty

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named on the maker's page, so it is rated here as an unlisted safe; a dealer describes the SF series as UL RSC, which we could not confirm with the maker or a UL listing
  • Not sold on Amazon; buy through an AMSEC dealer (the link is a plain reference, not an affiliate link)
  • 748 lb and 26 in deep: plan the floor, doorways and delivery before ordering

Skip this if…

…you need an Amazon purchase or a maker-stated UL RSC listing, or your floor can't carry a 748 lb safe

See it at Safe and Vault Store (AMSEC dealer)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Browning / ProSteel: maker-run, but the protocol is published

Browning Yellowstone 40

UL RSC7.1 /10

The most interior for the least money in Browning's range — 30 cu ft and a maker-stated 40 long guns — and the only series here rated at 1,400°F, but it gets there with seven bolts on two sides and the plainest interior Browning ships.

EvidenceResearched · not lab-tested

TierUL RSC. A timed hand-tool attack under UL 1037 (Level 1: one person, five minutes, common hand tools).
Burglary ratingUL-listed RSC. Maker (2026 catalog): "All Browning Safes (except the FMJ Series) carry the UL RSC (Underwriters Laboratories Residential Security Container) rating". The product page itself says only "UL Listed" and does not name the standard.
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 60 min at 1,400°F. ThermaBlock insulation plus a heat-activated Palusol door seal and external hinges; no independent lab named.
Body steel12 gauge (7/64 in), maker-stated
Door steel1 in formed steel door, multiple layers, with a partial inner steel door plate and a U-shaped steel frame
LockElectronic. Maker: "Browning Safes only uses UL-listed electromechanical safe locks" (its documents library covers S&G and SecuRam keypads); the lock model is not named on the product page.
Backup entryNone. Maker: the electromechanical locks "do not come with a key backup because they are designed to be secure and tamper-proof".
Bolt-downAnchoring instructions and hardware are covered in the owner's manual: "Placing your safe on a concrete floor and anchoring it to the floor provides the maximum protection for your valuables."
CA DOJNot claimed for this model. Browning's 2026 catalog names only one series for it: "The FMJ Series carries the California DOJ rating." Ask the dealer before buying into California.
Capacity40 long guns (10 on the door, 15 front row, 15 back row) plus 4 handguns, maker-stated; 30 cu ft
Exterior dimensions58 x 36 x 24.5 in (H x W x D; 27 in deep with the hub and handle); interior 53.5 x 33 x 18.5 in
Weight563 lb
Warranty5 years materials and workmanship; the combination lock carries a 5-year warranty from the lock maker; electrical and lighting accessories 90 days (paid 10-year and lifetime lock extensions are offered).
Burglary rating (label wording)Owner's manual: "Browning Safes with the UL tool attack label which certifies the design and construction have been tested by Underwriters Laboratories and passed the Residential Security Container test specifications." Check the label on the safe you are buying.
Locking bolts7 chrome-plated hardened steel bolts, 1 in, on both sides of the door only (no top or bottom bolts stated)
Warranty (fire and break-in)Lifetime repair or replace after an attempted break-in, a break-in or a fire, for the original purchaser of a safe built after January 1, 2006 — but only "provided the purchaser's homeowners insurance does not cover the claim". Needs a police or fire report, an insurance denial and proof of purchase; contents, acts of God, terrorism and war and commercial use are excluded; the replacement comes back curbside.
Recall checkSep 24, 2026: No CPSC recall found for Browning Safes or ProSteel Security Products. A CPSC recall-database search returns five Browning notices (pistol holsters 2020, a junior hoodie 2013, Umarex air pistols 2011, knife sheaths 2009, flashlight batteries 2004) and none for a safe; a search for ProSteel returns nothing.
How the 7.1 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
6.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
7.5
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
6.5

What the evidence supports

  • 30 cu ft and 36 inches of width at the bottom of Browning's range: more usable room than the Sporter for a similar weight.
  • The only series here Browning rates at 1,400°F rather than 1,200°F, which is the temperature most rivals quote.
  • 563 lb, so two people and a proper appliance dolly can realistically place it on a ground floor.
  • Carries the same range-wide UL RSC statement as Browning's expensive series.

Where it falls short

  • Seven bolts on two sides is the thinnest bolt coverage of any Browning we looked at; nothing is stated for the top or bottom of the door.
  • Standard adjustable shelving, not the AXIS system, and the page lists no interior light or outlet.
  • No country of manufacture stated, and the 60-minute fire time is the shortest in the range.

Skip this if…

…pry resistance is your first concern: seven bolts on two sides leaves the top and bottom of the door with nothing stated, and the Rawhide doubles the count for one step up.

See it at Browning Safes (maker's store)

Sold through dealers, not Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn a commission there.

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Liberty: maker-claimed, longest stated time here

Liberty Presidential 25

UL RSC8.2 /10

Liberty's heaviest series: a 7-gauge body, 1/2-in bars and a UL-listed S&G mechanical lock, UL RSC-rated per retailer Dean Safe's spec sheet, with a Liberty-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for buyers who want the most steel Liberty sells and accept maker-only fire evidence.

How the 8.2 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8.5
Construction (20%)
9.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
9
Fit & usability (10%)
8
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 7-gauge body, the thickest steel in Liberty's lineup, with twelve 1/2-in-thick locking bars on the 25, per Liberty.
  • UL-listed S&G mechanical lock standard, with Dormakaba or S&G Spartan electronic locks available at order.
  • Factory dehumidifier, motion-sensing lighting and a velvet-lined jewelry drawer are included, per Liberty.
  • Sold on Amazon as well as through Liberty dealers.

Where it falls short

  • The 2.5-hour fire rating is Liberty's own claim; no independent lab is named.
  • The RSC designation comes from a retailer's spec sheet; Liberty's page says only "UL-listed safe body".
  • 1,021 lb with a 26.5-in minimum doorway (per Liberty): plan floor load and delivery access.

Skip this if…

…you want a TL-15 or TL-30 commercial burglary rating: the Presidential is a residential RSC-class safe.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Liberty Presidential 25

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Steelwater: maker-claimed, highest stated temperature

Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Access box5.5 /10

A 12-gauge, 453 lb safe whose maker publishes an honest usable capacity (12-16 long guns, not just the 20-gun maximum), for a mid-size collection on a ground floor.

How the 5.5 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
6
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
8.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • The maker publishes a realistic 12-16 long-gun capacity next to the 20-gun maximum, and the usable interior depth
  • 12-gauge body, 1.5 in bolts on all four sides and a 4 7/8 in composite door
  • A bypass key covers a dead or damaged keypad
  • Anchor holes are reinforced with 1/4 in plate

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing is named; it is an unrated safe, however solid the specs
  • The 1,875°F fire figure is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • The product page gives two different anchor-hole sizes, so check before buying anchors

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or an independently verified fire rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Steelwater Heavy Duty 20 (SW592818)

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Winchester: maker-claimed, mid-range time

Winchester Legacy 53

UL RSC7.7 /10

Winchester's heaviest standard series: a 10-gauge body with a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate, 18 two-inch bolts, a maker-stated UL RSC listing and a maker-claimed 2.5-hour fire rating, for a buyer who wants the most steel Winchester sells and has a floor for 1,624 lb.

How the 7.7 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
8
Construction (20%)
9
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8.5
Fit & usability (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • 10-gauge body plus a 1/4-inch heat-treated outer door plate: the thickest steel in Winchester's standard range, per Winchester.
  • Winchester states the UL RSC listing outright and names the 9L60 classification.
  • 18 two-inch bolts, external vault hinges and double Palusol door seals, per Winchester.
  • Ships with a dehumidifier, a motion-sensing LED light kit and a power dock; sold on Amazon and through dealers.

Where it falls short

  • The 2.5-hour fire rating is Winchester's own claim with no outside lab named.
  • 1,624 lb and 72 in tall: this is a professional-delivery safe, and many wood-framed floors need checking first.
  • Amazon listings for this model have gone in and out of stock; a dealer may be the quicker route.

Skip this if…

…you can't confirm your floor and route can take a 1,624 lb, 42 x 30 in safe, or you'd rather pay for an independently verified fire rating than for claimed hours.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Winchester Legacy 53

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Kodiak / Rhino Metals: maker-claimed

Kodiak KGX5933W

UL RSC7.2 /10

Rhino Metals states a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance for this 12-gauge, 41-long-gun Kodiak, making it the largest listed burglary-rated safe here for a family with a growing collection.

How the 7.2 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
7.5
Construction (20%)
7.5
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
8
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • Maker states both a UL RSC certification and CA DOJ compliance on the product page
  • 12-gauge construction with a door-to-body interlock designed against prying
  • UL-listed electronic lock protected by a triple hard plate and relocker
  • Lifetime repair-or-replace promise after a burglary or fire

Where it falls short

  • The 60-minute fire rating is the maker's claim; no independent lab is named
  • At 536 lb (maker-stated, approximate) it needs floor-load and delivery planning, especially above the ground floor
  • 41 long guns is a rack count; scoped rifles will fit far fewer

Skip this if…

…your floor or stairs can't take a 536 lb safe, or you want an independently verified fire rating

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kodiak KGX5933W

Illustrative stock photo: heavy steel safes with manual locks and keys lined up side by sideStock photo

Sports Afield: maker-claimed, plus a waterproof seal claim

Sports Afield Haven SA5930HX

Access box5.0 /10

A 560 lb, 36-long-gun safe whose maker claims both 75 minutes of fire protection and water protection in 2 feet of standing water for 7 days, for a flood-prone basement, with the caveat that neither claim names a lab.

How the 5.0 score breaks down
Independent burglary certification (30%)
2
Construction (20%)
6
Fire protection evidence (20%)
5.5
Lock & entry (15%)
6
Fit & usability (10%)
7.5
Support & transparency (5%)
8

What the evidence supports

  • Carries a published water claim, and it ships with a waterproof bolt-down kit
  • Warranty explicitly covers natural flood as well as theft and fire
  • Backup keys cover a dead keypad
  • 10 bolts of 1.5 in working in four directions

Where it falls short

  • No UL RSC listing; 14-gauge steel is a mid-grade body
  • Both the fire and water ratings are maker claims with no lab named
  • The brand's biometric 4-gun safe was recalled in 2024; this keypad model is not on that recall, but avoid biometric variants unless you check the recall list

Skip this if…

…you want a UL-listed burglary rating or independently verified fire or water protection

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Sports Afield Haven SA5930HX

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Which gun safe brand has the best fire rating?
It depends whether you mean the largest number or the best evidence. AMSEC is the only brand we track with a fire rating an outside laboratory verified (ETL, on the SF6030). Liberty states the longest time of the brands here, but that figure is Liberty's own measurement.
Are gun safe fire ratings independently tested?
Usually not. Unlike home fire chests, which commonly carry UL 72 classifications, most gun safe fire ratings are run by the manufacturer. Of the seven brands audited here, one names an independent lab and one publishes its own protocol; the other five publish a number without either.
Is a 2-hour gun safe fire rating better than a 1-hour one?
Only if both were measured the same way, and usually they were not. Check the furnace temperature, the interior limit and who ran the test before comparing times. A verified 60 minutes tells you more than an unverified 150.
Do fireproof gun safes really protect documents?
They help, but the strongest fire evidence in this whole market is on small home chests, not gun safes. For irreplaceable paper, pair the gun safe with a UL-classified document chest kept elsewhere in the house.
What does ETL Verified mean on a gun safe?
It means Intertek, which issues the ETL mark, checked a specific performance claim rather than the manufacturer asserting it. Intertek describes the ETL Verified mark as "a symbol of performance integrity of the products that bear the mark". On the AMSEC SF6030 it backs the 60-minute fire rating.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  2. Intertek — ETL Verified Mark
  3. Dean Safe (authorized AMSEC retailer) — AMSEC SF6030E5 product page (ETL-verified fire rating)
  4. Browning Safes — Resources / documents library (fire protocol and lock policy)
  5. Steelwater Gun Safes — SW592818 product page
  6. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Gun Safes