Skip to content

Updated September 2026

How we rate

Bolt & Vault

The safe desk · Ratings before marketing

Home & Fire Safes · The rankings

Fireproof safes that look like furniture: one real option, and a better plan

Almost everything sold as a furniture safe has no fire rating at all, and almost everything with a fire rating looks like a safe. Here is the exception, and here is what to do instead.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: an electronic safe door with a keypad and a key in the lock
Rhino Longhorn LNX2620 Nightstand Safe

A 133 lb nightstand with a working drawer, 14-gauge steel, a UL-listed electronic lock and a rear outlet. Rhino claims 40 minutes at 1,400°F, with no laboratory named.

Best furniture-style safe with a fire claimAccess box7.3 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: an open document case with neatly ordered papers on a wooden table
SentrySafe CFW20201

UL Classified for a full hour at 1,700°F and ETL Verified against flood for 72 hours, in a box small enough to live in a sideboard or a wardrobe. Real certification, no styling.

Best hide-in-furniture chestFire chest6.3 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: an open document case with neatly ordered papers on a wooden table
SentrySafe 1170

0.61 cu ft, file-shaped, UL Classified for half an hour at 1,550°F. Slides onto a shelf behind a cupboard door and looks like nothing at all.

Best chest for a cabinet shelfFire chest4.3 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: gold and jeweled pieces arranged in an open jewelry box
Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe

Drawers and a keypad in a 115 lb body with 8 mm steel on the door. Its 30-minute fire claim names no testing lab, so treat it as a maker claim.

Best jewelry safe that lives in a wardrobeAccess box6.1 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: sunlit interior wall framing with exposed wooden studs
SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414

A 44 in in-wall safe with an 8-gauge door that disappears behind a picture. No fire rating at all, and it is honest about that.

Best if concealment matters more than fireAccess box6.7 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from certifications, published specs and recall records, not lab tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A warmly lit lamp on a white nightstand beside a bed
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

This is a search with a gap behind it. People want a safe that does not announce itself: something that reads as a side table or a nightstand rather than a grey steel box in the corner of a bedroom. That is a completely reasonable thing to want, and the market barely serves it.

The honest answer first

Why fire-rated furniture safes barely exist

  • Insulation is bulky. A fire rating needs a gypsum-based layer all the way round. In a nightstand-sized body, that layer eats the interior.
  • Weight gives the game away. The LNX2620 is 133 lb for 2.16 cu ft of exterior. Furniture that heavy is furniture nobody moves, which is good for security and awkward for a bedroom.
  • Certification does not pay here. UL 72 classifies record protection equipment by interior temperature (UL Standards & Engagement), and the testing cost is only worth it on high-volume chests.
  • The two buyers want different things. Someone buying concealment wants light and pretty. Someone buying fire protection wants heavy and rated. One product rarely satisfies both.

The picks side by side

EvidenceRhino Longhorn LNX2620 Nightstand SafeSentrySafe CFW20201SentrySafe 1170Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry SafeSnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414
TierAccess boxFire chestFire chestAccess boxAccess box
Fire ratingManufacturer claim: 40 minutes at 1,400 deg F with a heat-activated intumescent seal (no testing laboratory named)UL Classified: 1 hr at up to 1,700°F (UL-classified per maker)UL Classified: 1/2 hr at up to 1,550°F (UL-classified per maker)Manufacturer claim: 30 min at 1,400°F (testing lab not named)None stated by the maker
Water rating—ETL-verified: flood protection up to 72 hr (Intertek/ETL per maker)None (maker lists fire and security only)——
Burglary ratingNone stated by the maker (no UL RSC listing cited)Not stated; maker describes a privacy key lockNone: maker says these safes "provide basic protection and are not intended for tool attacks"Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Body steel14 gauge steel, with a hardened armor plate protecting the lockResin-cased fire insulation (no steel body)Resin-cased fire insulation (no steel body)3 mm steel16 gauge
Door steel———8 mm steel8 gauge
LockUL Listed TopLit electronic lock (the UL listing is on the lock, not the safe); SafeX anti-pry body-to-door interlockTubular key lockPrivacy key lockDigital keypad (retains 2 PIN codes); three solid steel locking boltsElectronic keypad with audio and LED low-battery warning; spring-assist door
Backup entryNot stated on the product page; confirm with the maker before you buy——2 backup keysKey backup
Bolt-downPre-drilled to bolt to the floor——4 pre-drilled mounting holes; mounting hardware includedInstalls between studs 16 in on center (confirm 14.5 in between studs); lag screws into the studs
CA DOJ"CA DOJ Certified Firearm Safety Device" (maker states)————
CapacityInterior 15.9 x 16.3 x 11.9 in (H x W x D), plus a separate drawer 5 x 13.25 x 13.25 in; adjustable shelf, handgun holder on the door back, upholstered leatherette interior0.28 cu ft (maker-stated); interior 4.4 x 12.8 x 8.5 in (H x W x D); letter/legal fit not stated0.61 cu ft (maker-stated); accommodates hanging files (not included; folder size not stated); interior 10.4 x 12 x 8.5 in (H x W x D)1.01 cu ft (maker-stated); 2 suede-lined jewelry drawers and a removable glass shelf; interior 9 x 14 x 13.2 in (D x W x H)Interior 41.6 x 11.8 x 3.6 in (H x W x D); removable shelves
Exterior dimensions25.4 x 20 x 18 in (H x W x D)6.6 x 15.4 x 14.3 in (H x W x D)13.6 x 15.3 x 12.1 in (H x W x D)14 x 18 x 17.5 in (D x W x H)44 x 16.25 x 4 in (H x W x D)
WeightAbout 133 lb20 lb27.99 lb115 lb66 lb
WarrantyLimited lifetime warranty with free repair or replacement after a burglary or fireLimited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement ProgramLimited one-year manufacturing warranty plus Limited Lifetime After-Fire Replacement Program1-year limited warrantyWarranted against material defects and workmanship for the life of the product
Score7.3/106.3/104.3/106.1/106.7/10
Figures as published by each maker; each value links to its source. Only the two SentrySafe chests carry a fire rating a named laboratory classified.

Read the Fire rating row carefully. The only UL-classified fire protection on this page belongs to the two plain chests. The furniture-shaped options carry maker claims, and the in-wall safe carries none at all and says so.

The two-box approach, which is what we would actually do

If the goal is "protect my documents from fire without a safe dominating the room", the strongest answer is not a furniture-shaped safe. It is a small, properly certified chest put somewhere nobody looks.

  1. Buy the certification. The SentrySafe CFW20201 is UL Classified for a full hour at 1,700°F and ETL Verified against flood damage for up to 72 hours (SentrySafe), in a box 6.6 in tall.
  2. Hide it in furniture you already own. The base of a wardrobe under folded linen, the back of a sideboard, a blanket box, the bottom drawer of a dresser. No styling premium, no compromise on the rating.
  3. Add weight or concealment separately if theft is a concern: a bolt-down safe elsewhere, or an in-wall safe such as the SnapSafe 75414 behind a picture.

That gets you better fire evidence than any furniture-styled product on the market, usually for less money. The only thing it does not give you is a nightstand you can open in two seconds at night, which is the one job the Rhino does that a hidden chest cannot.

How we ranked these

We have not handled, burned or opened any of these. Each is scored on the published rubric at how we rate for the job it does; the Rhino, Barska and SnapSafe are scored on the access-control rubric and the two chests on the fire and home-safe rubric, so compare within a category rather than across.

The Rhino LNX2620 leads because it is the only product that genuinely answers the query: a safe that looks like furniture and claims fire protection. The CFW20201 is second and is the pick we would actually buy, on certification. The 1170 is third for a cabinet shelf. The Barska is fourth: furniture-adjacent, with an unverified fire claim. The SnapSafe is fifth and is here as the honest alternative when concealment matters more than fire.

We searched CPSC recall notices on 2026-09-28 for every brand here. The only Rhino Metals recall found is a 2016 handgun security safe (recall 16-191), which does not cover the Longhorn nightstand range.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: an electronic safe door with a keypad and a key in the lockStock photo

Best furniture-style safe with a fire claim

Rhino Longhorn LNX2620 Nightstand Safe

Access box7.3 /10

A 133 lb nightstand with a working drawer, 14-gauge steel, a UL-listed electronic lock and a rear outlet. Rhino claims 40 minutes at 1,400°F, with no laboratory named.

How the 7.3 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
7
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
7.5
Child-access standards (20%)
7
Mounting (15%)
7.5
Support & transparency (10%)
7.5

What the evidence supports

  • Actually looks like a nightstand: a working drawer on full-extension glides, at end-table height
  • 14-gauge steel with a hardened plate over the lock and an anti-pry body-to-door interlock
  • CA DOJ certified as a firearm safety device, which most furniture-style boxes are not
  • Rear outlet with USB ports, so a dehumidifier or a phone charger runs without a trailing lead
  • Limited lifetime warranty including replacement after a fire

Where it falls short

  • The 40-minute fire rating names no laboratory: it is a maker claim, not a UL classification
  • No burglary rating, and at 133 lb it must be bolted down to be more than heavy
  • The product page does not state a backup entry route for a dead electronic lock

Skip this if…

…you need a fire rating an outside laboratory verified, or a burglary listing

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Rhino Longhorn LNX2620 Nightstand Safe

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: an open document case with neatly ordered papers on a wooden tableStock photo

Best hide-in-furniture chest

SentrySafe CFW20201

Fire chest6.3 /10

UL Classified for a full hour at 1,700°F and ETL Verified against flood for 72 hours, in a box small enough to live in a sideboard or a wardrobe. Real certification, no styling.

How the 6.3 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
9
Water rating evidence (15%)
8.5
Burglary resistance (20%)
1.5
Lock & entry (15%)
3.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
6.5
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified for a full hour at 1,700°F, double the CHW20221 30-minute rating
  • ETL-verified 72-hour flood protection
  • Carry handle; about 20 lb

Where it falls short

  • Privacy lock only: offers no resistance to someone taking the chest
  • Small 0.28 cu ft interior; no room for hanging files
  • One-year manufacturing warranty

Skip this if…

…you need to store file folders or keep the contents from being carried off

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe CFW20201

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: an open document case with neatly ordered papers on a wooden tableStock photo

Best chest for a cabinet shelf

SentrySafe 1170

Fire chest4.3 /10

0.61 cu ft, file-shaped, UL Classified for half an hour at 1,550°F. Slides onto a shelf behind a cupboard door and looks like nothing at all.

How the 4.3 score breaks down
Fire rating evidence (35%)
7
Water rating evidence (15%)
0
Burglary resistance (20%)
1.5
Lock & entry (15%)
3.5
Capacity & fit (10%)
7
Support & transparency (5%)
7

What the evidence supports

  • UL-classified 30-minute fire rating at an entry-level size
  • Takes hanging file folders
  • About 28 lb, easy to place

Where it falls short

  • No water rating: firefighting water or a flood can still ruin the contents
  • Maker says it is not intended for tool attacks
  • 30-minute rating only

Skip this if…

…your home is in a flood-prone area or you want protection from firehose water

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SentrySafe 1170

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: gold and jeweled pieces arranged in an open jewelry boxStock photo

Best jewelry safe that lives in a wardrobe

Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe

Access box6.1 /10

Drawers and a keypad in a 115 lb body with 8 mm steel on the door. Its 30-minute fire claim names no testing lab, so treat it as a maker claim.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
6.5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
7
Child-access standards (20%)
3.5
Mounting (15%)
7.5
Support & transparency (10%)
6

What the evidence supports

  • Two suede-lined drawers keep jewelry separated and unscratched
  • Published steel thickness: 3 mm body, 8 mm door
  • Keypad with two PINs, backup keys and pre-drilled mounting holes

Where it falls short

  • Fire claim names no testing lab
  • No water rating; maker recommends a dehumidifier
  • 1-year warranty

Skip this if…

…you want a lab-verified fire rating for papers stored alongside the jewelry

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Barska AX13106 Keypad Jewelry Safe

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: sunlit interior wall framing with exposed wooden studsStock photo

Best if concealment matters more than fire

SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414

Access box6.7 /10

A 44 in in-wall safe with an 8-gauge door that disappears behind a picture. No fire rating at all, and it is honest about that.

How the 6.7 score breaks down
Access reliability evidence (30%)
7.5
Construction & pry resistance (25%)
6.5
Child-access standards (20%)
3.5
Mounting (15%)
8
Support & transparency (10%)
9

What the evidence supports

  • Published 8-gauge door and 16-gauge body, heavier than most wall safes
  • Keypad with key backup and a low-battery warning
  • Lifetime warranty; left- or right-opening

Where it falls short

  • No fire or water rating
  • Interior is only 3.6 in deep
  • Needs a 42 in tall opening cut into the drywall

Skip this if…

…you need fire protection or deeper storage than 3.6 in

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to SnapSafe In-Wall Safe Tall 75414

What to look for in a furniture-style safe

  1. Who tested the fire rating. "40 minutes at 1,400°F" with no laboratory named is a maker claim. It may well be accurate; it is not certification.
  2. Which noun the UL listing attaches to. Rhino cites a UL-listed electronic lock. That is a listing of the lock, not of the safe.
  3. A published steel gauge. 14 gauge on the Rhino. Concealment furniture publishes nothing, which is the tell.
  4. A backup entry route. The Rhino's product page does not state one; ask before you buy. The Barska supplies two emergency keys.
  5. Weight, and whether you can anchor it. 133 lb is meaningful and pre-drilled anchor holes are more meaningful. Use them; see how to bolt down a safe.
  6. Whether it will still look right in a year. A safe that clashes with the room gets moved to the garage, which defeats the purpose.

Concealment furniture, honestly

We are not ranking trap-door shelves, hollow tables or flag cases, and it is worth saying why rather than pretending they do not exist. For the models on sale, makers do not publish a steel thickness, a lock standard, a pry-resistance figure or a child-access certification. There is nothing for us to compare.

That does not make them worthless. A shelf with an RFID latch mounted above a child's reach is a real improvement on a nightstand drawer, and for some households that is the honest bar. But treat it as concealment, not as a safe, and certainly not as fire protection. The same reasoning applies on our hidden gun safes page, which ranks only concealed storage that still publishes a lock and a gauge.

Making a chest disappear

  • Low and boring. The base of a wardrobe, under folded linen. Burglars search at eye level and in the obvious rooms.
  • Not the master bedroom or the study. Those are searched first.
  • Inside something that already has a reason to be closed. A blanket box, a filing cabinet, a sideboard.
  • Not the garage or the loft. Heat, damp and, in a fire, the worst place in the building.
  • Keep the key elsewhere. A concealed chest with the key on top of it is a chest.

Our guide to where to put a safe works through rooms and floors properly.

Common mistakes

  • Assuming anything sold as a "furniture safe" is fire rated. Almost none are.
  • Reading a UL listing on the lock as a listing on the safe.
  • Paying a styling premium and ending up with a weaker fire rating than a $60 chest.
  • Buying concealment furniture for documents, where the actual threat is fire rather than a burglar.
  • Leaving a 133 lb furniture safe unanchored because it is heavy enough.
  • Choosing a nightstand safe for a bedroom and then never checking whether it has a backup entry.

How we scored this

Safes we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they drilled, burned and flooded every safe they list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: check whether an independent lab listed the safe (UL for burglary under UL 1037, UL or Intertek for fire), read the maker's published steel, lock and bolt-down specs, search CPSC recalls, and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • Published. Rhino specs and fire claim quoted from the maker's page and dated 2026-09-28; CPSC recall searches run per brand.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are there fireproof safes that look like furniture?
Very few. The Rhino Longhorn nightstand range is the one we found that is genuinely styled as furniture and carries a fire claim, at a maker-stated 40 minutes at 1,400°F. Most products marketed as furniture safes are concealment furniture with no fire rating at all.
Is concealment furniture a real safe?
No. Trap-door shelves and hollow furniture are hiding places with a latch: their makers do not publish a steel thickness, a lock standard or a fire rating. They can keep something out of sight and out of reach, which has value, but they are not containers that resist attack or heat.
What is the best way to hide a fireproof safe in a room?
Buy a small UL-classified chest and hide it inside furniture you already own: the base of a wardrobe, a blanket box, the back of a sideboard. You get better fire certification than any furniture-styled product, usually for less money, and nothing about the room changes.
Is the Rhino Longhorn nightstand safe fire rated?
Rhino states 40 minutes at 1,400°F with a heat-activated intumescent seal, and names no testing laboratory for it. We publish that as a manufacturer claim rather than a certification. The UL listing Rhino does cite is on the electronic lock, not the safe body.
Can a nightstand safe be bolted down?
The Rhino LNX2620 is pre-drilled to bolt to the floor, and at 133 lb it should be. Anchoring is what turns a heavy piece of furniture into something a burglar cannot remove and a child cannot tip.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Rhino Metals — Longhorn LNX2620 nightstand safe product page
  2. SentrySafe — CFW20201 product page (UL 1 hr classification, ETL flood verification)
  3. SnapSafe (Hornady) — In-Wall Safes product page (item 75414)
  4. UL Standards & Engagement — UL 72, Tests for Fire Resistance of Record Protection Equipment
  5. CPSC — Rhino Metals recalls handgun security safes (2016, recall 16-191)
  6. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission — Recalls (searched 2026-09-28)

We don't lab-test safes and we don't pretend to. Ratings come from the listing body or the maker's own spec pages (linked on every product), recall status from CPSC searches, and law summaries from official sources. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Home & Fire Safes